DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/15/2026
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin (US 2016/0045010 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a nail polish removal system (1, abstract) comprising:
a base portion (1) comprising a heating element (3, 302) and a storage tray (4), the storage tray being operable to receive a fluid and receive thermal energy from the heating element ([0055]);
a lid portion (2+6) that is selectively detachable from the base portion ([0049]), the lid portion comprising at least one opening providing access to a treatment space at least partially defined by an internal volume between the storage tray and the lid portion (see Figures 1, 3, 5 and at least [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the lid portion comprises at least four spaced apart openings operable to receive a plurality of a user's fingers or toes (see Figures and at least [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the opening comprises at least one of a petal and a flap to provide a sealing function (6; [0016], [0050]; silicone rubber sealing ring having flap openings).
Regarding claim 4, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above), further comprising a second lid portion and wherein the second lid portion comprises a distinct arrangement of one or more openings relative to the lid portion (see Figures 8-9 and [0051]; such that there may be different rings (6) of the lid portion that have different opening configurations).
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above), further comprising a user- interface portion in communication with the heating element to control power to the heating element (153, see Figure 15 and see at least [0067], [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the lid portion comprises a convex structure (see Figures 2, 4, 6; the lid portion 2 has a dome shape and a convex underside).
Regarding claim 8, Jin teaches a nail polish removal system (abstract) comprising:
a base portion (1) comprising a heating element (3, 302) and a storage tray (4), the storage tray being operable to receive a fluid and receive thermal energy from the heating element ([0055]);
a lid portion (2+6) that is selectively detachable from the base portion ([0049]) and operable to communicate with a user (the user inserts his/her fingers through the lid openings), the lid portion comprising at least one opening (See Figures); an at least partially sealed treatment space extending between the storage tray and an inner portion of the lid portion (see Figures 1, 3, 5 and at least [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above), wherein the lid portion comprises at least four spaced apart openings operable to receive a plurality of a user's fingers or toes (see Figures and at least [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above), wherein the at least one opening comprises at least one of a petal and a flap to provide a sealing function for evaporated fluid (6; [0016], [0050], [0061]; silicone rubber sealing ring having flap openings).
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above), further comprising a second lid portion and wherein the second lid portion comprises a distinct arrangement of one or more openings relative to the lid portion (see Figures 8-9 and [0051]; such that there may be different rings (6) of the lid portion that have different opening configurations).
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above), further comprising a user- interface portion in communication with the heating element to control power to the heating element (153, see Figure 15 and see at least [0067], [0069]).
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above), wherein the lid portion comprises a substantially rigid portion (2) and a flexible portion (6) (see figures and [0061]; the sealing portion of the lid is made of a silicone rubber while 2 is part of the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2016/0045010 A1), in view of Walker (US 5,855,212).
Regarding claim 7, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 1 (see rejection above). Jin teaches that the system may have a rotating connection but is does not teach wherein at least one of the lid portion and the base portion comprises at least one of a ramp and a thread and the lid portion is rotatably securable to the base portion.
Walker teaches a nail polish remover device comprising a base (12) and a lid (18) and the lid being rotatably threaded to the base via threads 22 (Col. 4 lines 24-30 and Col. 5 lines 25-31).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the connection between the lid and the base to be a threadable connection, as taught by Walker, because it would involve ordinary skill in the art as it is one well-known variation for a securing connection for attaching a cap/lid to a base.
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches the nail polish removal system of claim 8 (see rejection above). Jin teaches that the system may have a rotating connection but is does not teach wherein at least one of the lid portion and the base portion comprises at least one of a ramp and a thread and the lid portion is rotatably securable to the base portion.
Walker teaches a nail polish remover device comprising a base (12) and a lid (18) and the lid being rotatably threaded to the base via threads 22 (Col. 4 lines 24-30 and Col. 5 lines 25-31).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the connection between the lid and the base to be a threadable connection, as taught by Walker, because it would involve ordinary skill in the art as it is one well-known variation for a securing connection for attaching a cap/lid to a base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached to this office action.
/LINA FARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772