DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 9 – 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim (WO 2025/147175) (hereinafter Lim).
Regarding claim 1 and 12, Lim teaches a method of video decoding and a method of video encoding, the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream including coded information of a current block in a current picture and of a plurality of reference pictures of the current picture in a reference list (e.g. Fig. 2 and pars. 93, 100 – 103: depicting and describing that the system receives a bitstream, the bitstream including encoded video data, the encoded video data having a current block in a current picture and a plurality of reference pictures [prediction based on information included in previous pictures, subsequent pictures, or the current picture]);
determining a plurality of intermediate vectors associated with one of the plurality of reference pictures, the plurality of intermediate vectors including an initial vector and a plurality of intermediate motion vectors (MVs), the initial vector being associated with the current picture, each of the plurality of intermediate MVs being defined between two respective reference pictures of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Figs. 28, and pars. 434 – 448: depicting and describing that the system determines a plurality of motion vectors associated with the plurality of reference pictures, the plurality of motion vectors including an initial motion vector [initial motion information] and a plurality of additional motion vectors [MV_2 and MV_3], the initial motion vector associated with the current picture [see, e.g. pars. 436 – 442: describing that the system determines initial motion information, the initial motion information associated with the current block in the current picture], the plurality of additional motion vectors being defined between two respective reference pictures of the plurality of reference pictures [see, e.g. pars. 444 – 447: describing that the additional motion vectors [MV_2 and MV_3] include reference picture index information from the first prediction block to a second prediction block, the first and second prediction blocks being in one of the plurality of reference pictures]);
determining a candidate motion vector predictor (MVP) for the current block based on a sum of the plurality of intermediate vectors (e.g. Figs. 27 and 28, and pars. 428 – 447 and 498 – 500: depicting and describing that the system determines a motion vector predictor candidate for the current block [see, e.g. pars. 498 – 500: describing that the derived motion candidate is a motion vector predictor candidate for a motion vector predictor candidate list], the MVP candidate determined based on a sum of the plurality of motion vectors, wherein the plurality of motion vectors is the equivalent of the plurality of intermediate vectors); and
reconstructing/encoding the current block based on an MVP candidate list that includes the candidate MVP (e.g. pars. 147 – 149: describing that the system reconstructs/encodes the current block based on a MVP candidate list, the MVP candidate list including the chain MVP candidate, wherein the chain MVP candidate is the equivalent of the candidate MVP).
Turning to claims 2 and 13, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the determining the plurality of intermediate vectors comprises:
determining the initial vector as a first MV from the current block to a first reference block in a first one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Fig. 28 and pars. 434 – 447: depicting and describing that the system determines an initial motion vector [initial motion information MV_1] from the current block to a first reference block in a second reference picture, wherein the second reference picture is the equivalent of the first one of the plurality of reference pictures), and
determining a first intermediate MV of the plurality of intermediate MVs as a second MV from the first reference block in the first one of the plurality of reference pictures to a second reference block in a second one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Fig. 28, and pars. 434 – 447: depicting and describing that the system determines first motion information [MV_2] of the plurality of additional motion vectors as a MV from the first reference block in the second reference picture to a second reference block in the first reference picture, wherein the second reference picture is the equivalent of the first one of the plurality of reference pictures and the first reference picture is the equivalent of the second one of the plurality of reference pictures).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2 and claims 12 and 13, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the determining the plurality of intermediate vectors comprises: determining that the plurality of intermediate vectors includes a block vector (BV) from the second reference block in the second one of the plurality of reference pictures to a third reference block in the second one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Fig. 29 and pars. 459 – 466: depicting and describing that the plurality of additional motion vectors includes a block vector (BV_1) from a first reference block in the second reference picture to a second reference block in the second reference picture, wherein the first reference block is the equivalent of the second reference block and the second reference block is the equivalent of the third reference block).
Turning to claims 4 and 15, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the determining the plurality of intermediate vectors comprises:
determining the plurality of intermediate vectors includes a block vector (BV) from the current block to a first reference block in the current picture (e.g. Fig. 29 and pars. 459 – 466: depicting and describing that the chain MVP candidate is derived using a combination of block vectors and motion vectors, the block vector being a vector from a block in a first picture to a reference block in the first picture, wherein the block is the equivalent of the current block, the reference block is the equivalent of the first reference block, and the first picture is the equivalent of the current picture); and
determining a first intermediate MV of the plurality of intermediate MVs as a MV from the first reference block in the current picture to a second reference block in a first one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Fig. 29, and pars. 459 – 466: depicting and describing that the system further determines a plurality of additional vectors, the plurality of additional vectors including a motion vector [MV_2] from the reference block in the first picture to a second reference block in a third reference picture, wherein the reference block is the equivalent of the first reference block, the first picture is the equivalent of the current picture, and the third reference picture is the equivalent of the first one of the plurality of reference pictures).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein a first one of the plurality of intermediate MVs is defined from a first reference block in a first reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures to a second reference block in a second reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Fig. 28, and pars. 434 – 447: depicting and describing that the system determines first motion information [MV_2] of the plurality of additional motion vectors as a MV from the first reference block in the second reference picture to a second reference block in the first reference picture, wherein the second reference picture is the equivalent of the first one of the plurality of reference pictures and the first reference picture is the equivalent of the second one of the plurality of reference pictures), and
wherein the second reference block is a prediction block of the first reference block (e.g. Fig. 28, and pars. 434 – 447: depicting and describing that the second reference block is a prediction block of the first reference block).
Turning to claims 6 and 17, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the determining the plurality of intermediate vectors further comprises:
determining a plurality of candidate motion field positions in a first one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. pars. 469 - 474: describing that the system determines a search field in the reference picture based on the motion information, wherein the search field in the reference picture is the equivalent of the plurality of candidate motion field positions in the first one of the plurality of reference pictures);
scanning the plurality of candidate motion field positions to determine a plurality of candidate MVs from the plurality of candidate motion field positions to a second one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. pars. 469 – 474: describing that the system searches the search area for potential candidate motion vectors surrounding the reference position); and
determining a first intermediate MV of the plurality of intermediate MVs as a first one of the plurality of candidate MVs that is an un-scaled MV (e.g. pars. 469 – 474: describing that the system selects the position and corresponding vector with the lowest cost as the motion vector, the motion vector being unscaled).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 6, and claims 12 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the plurality of candidate motion field positions includes:
a center position of a reference block indicated by the initial vector in the first one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. pars. 469 – 474: describing that the search field is centered at the positions of the reference block indicated by the initial motion vector in the reference picture indicated by the initial motion vector), and
four corners of the reference block in the first one of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. pars. 469 – 474: describing that the search field includes a template around the reference block, wherein a template around the reference block reasonably suggests four corners of the reference block).
Turning to claim 9, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the determining the plurality of intermediate vectors further comprises: determining a MV from a first reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures to a third reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures; determining a scaled MV by scaling the MV with a temporal scaling factor; and deriving a MV from the first reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures to a second reference picture of the plurality of reference pictures based on the scaled MV (e.g. pars. 500 – 504: describing that the plurality of motion vectors and the chain motion vector predictor are derived by scaling each obtained [in the case of the initial motion vector] or derived [in the case of the one or more additional motion vectors] based on a temporal distance between the current picture and the reference picture).
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein the reference list is one of a forward reference list and a backward reference list with respect to the current picture (e.g. Figs. 4 – 6, and pars. 131 – 137: depicting and describing that the reference lists include a backward reference list [L0 reference pictures] and a forward reference picture list [L1 reference pictures]).
Turning to claim 11, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
wherein a total number of the plurality of intermediate vectors that is defined between the current picture and the one of the plurality of reference pictures associated with the plurality of intermediate vectors is determined according to a maximum trace depth (e.g. par. 481 - 484: describing that a maximum number of additional motion information is set such that chain MVP is derived based on the initial motion vector and a threshold number of additional motion vector information).
Regarding claim 20, Lim teaches a method of processing visual media data, the method comprising:
processing a bitstream of the visual media data according to a format rule (e.g. Fig. 2 and pars. 91 - 113: depicting and describing that the system processes a bitstream),
wherein:
the bitstream includes coded information of a current block in a current picture and of a plurality of reference pictures of the current picture in a reference list (e.g. Fig. 2 and pars. 93, 100 – 103: depicting and describing that the bitstream includes encoded video data, the encoded video data having a current block in a current picture and a plurality of reference pictures [prediction based on information included in previous pictures, subsequent pictures, or the current picture]); and
the format rule specifies that:
a plurality of intermediate vectors associated with one of the plurality of reference pictures is determined, the plurality of intermediate vectors including an initial vector and a plurality of intermediate motion vectors (MVs), the initial vector being associated with the current picture, each of the plurality of intermediate MVs being defined between two respective reference pictures of the plurality of reference pictures (e.g. Figs. 28, and pars. 434 – 448: depicting and describing that the system determines a plurality of motion vectors associated with the plurality of reference pictures, the plurality of motion vectors including an initial motion vector [initial motion information] and a plurality of additional motion vectors [MV_2 and MV_3], the initial motion vector associated with the current picture [see, e.g. pars. 436 – 442: describing that the system determines initial motion information, the initial motion information associated with the current block in the current picture], the plurality of additional motion vectors being defined between two respective reference pictures of the plurality of reference pictures [see, e.g. pars. 444 – 447: describing that the additional motion vectors [MV_2 and MV_3] include reference picture index information from the first prediction block to a second prediction block, the first and second prediction blocks being in one of the plurality of reference pictures]);
a candidate motion vector predictor (MVP) for the current block is determined based on a sum of the plurality of intermediate vectors (e.g. Figs. 27 and 28, and pars. 428 – 447 and 498 – 500: depicting and describing that the system determines a motion vector predictor candidate for the current block [see, e.g. pars. 498 – 500: describing that the derived motion candidate is a motion vector predictor candidate for a motion vector predictor candidate list], the MVP candidate determined based on a sum of the plurality of motion vectors, wherein the plurality of motion vectors is the equivalent of the plurality of intermediate vectors); and
the current block is processed based on an MVP candidate list that includes the candidate MVP (e.g. pars. 147 – 149: describing that the system reconstructs/encodes the current block based on a MVP candidate list, the MVP candidate list including the chain MVP candidate, wherein the chain MVP candidate is the equivalent of the candidate MVP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (WO 2025147175) (hereinafter Lim) as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, above, and further in view of Park et al. (WO 2019/107916) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Lim teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Lim further teaches:
constructing the MVP candidate list based on a plurality of MVP candidates, the plurality of MVP candidates including an un-scaled MVP from a spatial neighboring coded block of the current block, the candidate MVP arranged subsequent to the un-scaled MVP, and a scaled MVP arranged subsequent to the candidate MVP, a picture order count (POC) associated with the scaled MVP being not equal to a POC of the one of the plurality of reference pictures associated with the candidate MVP (e.g. pars. 141 – 157 and 498 – 504: describing that the system constructs an MVP candidate list containing a number of MVP candidates, the list constructed by adding an MVP from a spatial neighboring block and an MVP from a spatial neighboring block in a different picture than the current picture, the MVP from the spatial neighboring block being an unscaled MVP and the MVP from the spatial neighboring block in a picture other than the current picture being scaled based on a difference in the picture order count of the reference picture and the current picture, the system further adding a chain MVP candidate, the chain MVP candidate being the equivalent of the candidate MVP).
Lim does not explicitly teach:
reordering the plurality of MVP candidates based on template costs of the plurality of MVP candidates.
Park, however, teaches a method of video encoding and decoding:
reordering the plurality of MVP candidates based on template costs of the plurality of MVP candidates (e.g. par. 187: describing that the system reorders the MVP candidates in the candidate list based on template cost of the MVP candidates).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lim by adding the teachings of Park in order to reorder the plurality of MVP candidates based on template costs of the plurality of MVP candidates. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO2011/050997 – describes general knowledge of predicting a current pixel or block using a chain of motion vectors.
WO2023/172243 – describes using multiple pieces of motion information for predicting a current block in a current frame
US2024/0073438 – describes using a chain of motion vectors for coding of virtual reference frames
WO2025/150305 – describes generating a merge candidate list, the merge candidate list including a merge candidate derived using chained motion vector prediction, and reordering the merge candidate list according to template cost.
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487