DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
2. The preliminary amendment filed to claims from 1/21/2026 has been accepted and is examined below.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-17 are pending in the present application.
4. Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 at lines 6-7 recites the second selectable option but lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination a second selection option is treated as a second selectable option. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
7. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cherif Atia Algreatly (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0193972 A1).
8. Regarding Claim 1 (Currently amended), Algreatly discloses A method comprising: (Abstract reciting “Disclosed is a method for converting a freehand drawing into a 3D model corresponding to the freehand drawing in real time. …”) at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices: (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”
Touchscreen corresponds to a display generation component. The computer is an electronic device that is in communication with the touchscreen. The stylus is one or more input devices.)
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input for generating a two-dimensional object; (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”)
in response to receiving the user input for generating the two-dimensional object, displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the two-dimensional drawing object that was generated based on the user input; (see FIG. 2; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 …” In response to the stylus drawing on the touchscreen, a two-dimensional (2D) square 470 object is displayed via the touchscreen.)
after receiving the user input and while displaying the representation of the two-dimensional object, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more selectable options; (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of options, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” The pyramid and cube are one or more selectable options.)
while displaying the one or more selectable options, detecting selection of a respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options; (paragraph [0045] reciting “… As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” A user selection of the cube or pyramid can be detected.) and in response to detecting selection of the respective selectable option, replacing display of the representation of the two-dimensional object with a three-dimensional object with an appearance that is determined based on an appearance of the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.”
Thus, the user can select a cube or pyramid and that cube or pyramid will replace the square 470. The appearance of the square is taken into consideration to generate the cube and pyramid because the square can be the top view of either a cube or a pyramid. Therefore, the appearance of the 3D object is determined based on the appearance of the 2D object, square 470, in this instance.)
9. Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more selectable options include a first selectable option and a second selection option, and: (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” Cube is a first selectable option and pyramid is a second selectable option.)
in accordance with a determination that the respective selectable option is the first selectable option of the one or more selectable options, the three-dimensional object is a first three-dimensional object; (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.”)
and in accordance with a determination that the respective selectable option is the second selectable option of the one or more selectable options, different from the first selectable option, the three-dimensional object is a second three-dimensional object, different from the first three-dimensional object. (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.”
The cube and pyramid are both 3D objects and different from each other.)
10. Regarding Claim 4 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options includes a representation of the three-dimensional object with the appearance that is determined based on the appearance of the two-dimensional object. (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” The 3D cube or pyramid is based on the appearance of the 2D square, which can be top of a cube or a pyramid.)
11. Regarding Claim 5 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more selectable options include one or more of:
a first option that is selectable to replace display of the two-dimensional object with a representation of a respective shape corresponding to the two-dimensional object, wherein a path of a border of the representation of the respective shape is different from a path of a border of the two-dimensional object; (see FIG. 28 wherein the first selectable option is a cube with straight lines which is different from the border of 470 which is slightly curved.)
a second option that is selectable to fill an interior of the two-dimensional object;
a third option that is selectable to replace display of the two-dimensional object with a first three-dimensional object that includes a first side and a second side, opposite of the first side, that have shapes corresponding to the two-dimensional object;
a fourth option that is selectable to replace display of the two-dimensional object with a second three-dimensional object that corresponds to a representation of a respective three-dimensional object, wherein the two-dimensional object corresponds to a two-dimensional object of the respective three-dimensional object; or a fifth option that is selectable to replace display of the two-dimensional object with font-based text corresponding to the two-dimensional object.
12. Regarding Claim 12 (Currently amended), Algrealty further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the three-dimensional object is parametrically generated based on the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0044] reciting “In another embodiment, once the 3D model is created, the user can assign dimensions to each part of the 3D model so that the model developed is correctly scaled to meet the specific purposes. If a dimension of a part of the 3D model is missing, the method of the present invention detects this missing dimension by comparing the length ratios of the 3D model parts relative to each other.” The dimension of a 3D model is parametrically generated based on surrounding facts and is not hardcoded into the data of 3D models.)
13. Regarding Claim 13 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the three-dimensional object is selected, based on the two-dimensional object, from a predetermined library of three-dimensional objects. (paragraph [0016] reciting “FIG. 22 illustrates checking the freehand drawing against the database of the 3D model.”)
14. Regarding Claim 14 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the three-dimensional object includes a first side and a second side, opposite of the first side, (see FIG. 28 wherein object 500 has a first side and second side opposite the first side.) that have shapes corresponding to the two-dimensional object, (see FIG. 28 wherein the shape of both sides are square like drawing 470.) a path of a border of the first side and the second side corresponds to one or more properties of the two-dimensional object, (see FIG. 28 wherein both first side and second side has 4 corners like image 470.) and the path of the border of the first side and the second side is different from a path of a border of the two-dimensional object. (see FIG. 28 wherein the border of the first and second surface are straight which is different from the curved lines of drawing 470.)
15. Regarding Claim 16 (Currently amended), Algreatly discloses An electronic device, (paragraph [0025] reciting “Once a user draws one of the aforementioned seven drawings on a computer display, the drawing is analyzed by the computer system to determine the geometrical shapes of its polygons and the arrangement of these geometrical shapes relative to each other. …”) comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (A computer system inherent possesses processors/memory; paragraph [0008] reciting “The main advantages of the present invention are the ease-of-use, speed of production, and most importantly, encouraging the user's creatively through an intuitive, simple input method. For example, when the present invention is implemented in software on a computer, tablet, or mobile phone with a touchscreen, the graphical user interface of the software includes no icons or menus at all for drawing. By utilizing the user's freehand sketch, it is possible to draw simple or complex shapes without any drawing tools. Once a user draws a two-dimensional view of a 3D model, the 3D model is automatically created in real time, thus dramatically increasing the user's productivity. Constructing a 3D model as quickly as the user can think up additions for the 3D model empowers the user's creativity, as will be described subsequently.”) receiving, via one or more input devices, a user input for generating a two-dimensional object; (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”)
in response to receiving the user input to for generating the two-dimensional object, displaying, via a display generation component, a representation of the two-dimensional object that was generated based on the user input; (see FIG. 2; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 …” In response to the stylus drawing on the touchscreen, a two-dimensional (2D) square 470 object is displayed via the touchscreen.)
after receiving the user input and while displaying the representation of the two-dimensional object, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more selectable options; (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” The pyramid and cube are one or more selectable options.)
while displaying the one or more selectable options, detecting selection of a respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options; (paragraph [0045] reciting “… As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” A user selection of the cube or pyramid can be detected.) and in response to detecting selection of the respective selectable option, replacing display of the representation of the two-dimensional object with a three-dimensional object with an appearance that is determined based on an appearance of the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.”
Thus, the user can select a cube or pyramid and that cube or pyramid will replace the square 470. The appearance of the square is taken into consideration to generate the cube and pyramid because the square can be the top view of either a cube or a pyramid. Therefore, the appearance of the 3D object is determined based on the appearance of the 2D object, square 470, in this instance.)
16. Regarding Claim 17 (Currently amended), Algreatly discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising: (paragraph [0008] reciting “The main advantages of the present invention are the ease-of-use, speed of production, and most importantly, encouraging the user's creatively through an intuitive, simple input method. For example, when the present invention is implemented in software on a computer, tablet, or mobile phone with a touchscreen, the graphical user interface of the software includes no icons or menus at all for drawing. By utilizing the user's freehand sketch, it is possible to draw simple or complex shapes without any drawing tools. Once a user draws a two-dimensional view of a 3D model, the 3D model is automatically created in real time, thus dramatically increasing the user's productivity. Constructing a 3D model as quickly as the user can think up additions for the 3D model empowers the user's creativity, as will be described subsequently.” Every computer inherently has physical memory and processor that executes programs/software stored in the physical memory.) receiving, via one or more input devices, a user input for generating a two-dimensional object; (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”)
in response to receiving the user input corresponding to for generating the two- dimensional object, displaying, via a display generation component, a representation of the two-dimensional object that was generated based on the user input; (see FIG. 2; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 …” In response to the stylus drawing on the touchscreen, a two-dimensional (2D) square 470 object is displayed via the touchscreen.) after receiving the user input and while displaying the representation of the two- dimensional object, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more selectable options; (see FIG. 28; paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of options, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” The pyramid and cube are one or more selectable options.)
while displaying the one or more selectable options, detecting selection of a respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options; (paragraph [0045] reciting “… As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.” A user selection of the cube or pyramid can be detected.) and in response to detecting selection of the respective selectable option, replacing display of the representation of the two-dimensional object with a three-dimensional object with an appearance that is determined based on an appearance of the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0045] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, if the user's freehand drawing is not clear enough or it can possibly interpreted as multiple different 3D models in the database, then the present invention presents a list of options presenting these differing 3D model from which the user can select whatever 3D model they feel is most suitable. For example, FIG. 28 illustrates a freehand sketch of a square 470 drawn by a user on a computer display 480 where a list of options 490 are presented to the user, including a cube 500 and pyramid 510. As shown in the figure, the freehand sketch or square may represent a top view of a cube or pyramid, and accordingly the list of options presents these two options of a cube or pyramid. If the user selects the cube from the list of option, the 3D model of the cube replaces the freehand sketch. If the user selects the pyramid from the list of option, the 3D model of the pyramid replaces the freehand sketch.”
Thus, the user can select a cube or pyramid and that cube or pyramid will replace the square 470. The appearance of the square is taken into consideration to generate the cube and pyramid because the square can be the top view of either a cube or a pyramid. Therefore, the appearance of the 3D object is determined based on the appearance of the 2D object, square 470, in this instance.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algreatly in view of Guld et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0113597 A1).
20. Regarding Claim 6 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the two-dimensional object (see FIG. 28 wherein object 470 can correspond to either 500 or 510 determined by a user selection.)
and in accordance with a determination that the two-dimensional object (see FIG. 28 wherein object 470 can correspond to either 500 or 510 determined by a user selection.) While not explicitly disclosed by Algreatly, Guld discloses corresponds to a two-dimensional object of a first respective three-dimensional object, the three-dimensional object corresponds to a representation of the first respective three-dimensional object; (paragraph [0049] reciting “In one embodiment, the file explorer 3D resource control with the one or more control elements operates to generate a selectable icon for an augmented reality control, the augmented reality control operates to transition from selecting the 3D object into an augmented reality control interface where the 3D object is viewable as a hologram in a real world environment.”
A first icon can be selected. A first icon is a 2D object of a first respective 3D object that is associated with that first icon. When the first icon is selected, a displayed 3D object is a representation of that first respective 3D object.)
corresponds to a two-dimensional object of a second respective three-dimensional object, different from the first respective three-dimensional object, the three-dimensional object corresponds to a representation of the second respective three-dimensional object. (paragraph [0049] reciting “In one embodiment, the file explorer 3D resource control with the one or more control elements operates to generate a selectable icon for an augmented reality control, the augmented reality control operates to transition from selecting the 3D object into an augmented reality control interface where the 3D object is viewable as a hologram in a real world environment.” A second icon can be selected. A second icon is a 2D object of a second respective 3D object that is associated with that second icon. When the second icon is selected, a displayed 3D object is a representation of that second respective 3D object.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Algreatly with Guld so that the FIG. 28 of Algreatly comprises icons for selecting the respective 3D images. Once an icon is selected the respective 3D object associated with that icon is then displayed in position of object 470. This is clearly and obviously beneficial modification since icons are small 2D images and many of them can be placed in the user interface for selection and the user in Algreatly in paragraph [0046] has the ability to select whichever object most closely fits their 2D drawing.
21. Regarding Claim 7 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 6, wherein in accordance with a determination that the two-dimensional object (see FIG. 28 wherein object 470 can correspond to either 500 or 510 determined by a user selection. However, FIG. 28 can be modified by paragraph [0046] where thre can be even more options, such as 4 options.)
the one or more selectable options include: (paragraph [0046] reciting “Using the list of options is critical in cases when comparing the outlines of the freehand drawings of the user with the outlines of the images of the 3D models stored in the database. For example, a freehand drawing representing an animal, such as a lion, could be similar to the outlines of potentially accurate 3D models of a lion, tiger, dog and cat. In this case, the list of options presents the four choices of “lion, tiger, dog and cat”, allowing the user to select one of them. Once the user selects one of these four options, the 3D model of the selected animal replaces the freehand drawing of the user.” There can be more than 2 selectable, such as 4 selectable options.)
Guld further discloses corresponds to a two-dimensional object of the first respective three-dimensional object and also corresponds to a two-dimensional object of a third respective three-dimensional object, different from the first respective three-dimensional object, (paragraph [0049] reciting “In one embodiment, the file explorer 3D resource control with the one or more control elements operates to generate a selectable icon for an augmented reality control, the augmented reality control operates to transition from selecting the 3D object into an augmented reality control interface where the 3D object is viewable as a hologram in a real world environment.” There is a plurality of icons. Each icon is 2D object of a first, second, third, fourth etc. respective 3D object different from each other.) the respective selectable option that is selectable to replace display of the two-dimensional object with the representation of the first respective three-dimensional object, (paragraph [0049] reciting “In one embodiment, the file explorer 3D resource control with the one or more control elements operates to generate a selectable icon for an augmented reality control, the augmented reality control operates to transition from selecting the 3D object into an augmented reality control interface where the 3D object is viewable as a hologram in a real world environment.” Once a first, second, third, fourth, etc. icon is selected, the 3D object associated with that icon is displayed to replace the 2D drawing in Algreatly with a representation of the respective 3D object for that 2D icon.) and a second respective selectable option that is selectable to replace display of the two- dimensional object with a representation of the third respective three-dimensional object. (paragraph [0049] reciting “In one embodiment, the file explorer 3D resource control with the one or more control elements operates to generate a selectable icon for an augmented reality control, the augmented reality control operates to transition from selecting the 3D object into an augmented reality control interface where the 3D object is viewable as a hologram in a real world environment.” Once a first, second, third, fourth, etc. icon is selected, the 3D object associated with that icon is displayed to replace the 2D drawing in Algreatly with a representation of the respective 3D object for that 2D icon.)
22. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algreatly in view of Hosenpud et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/010279 A1).
23. Regarding Claim 8 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the user input for generating the two-dimensional object is received using a pointing device in communication with the electronic device, (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”)
While not explicitly disclosed by Algreatly, Hosenpud discloses and detecting selection of the respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options includes determining, via an eye tracking device in communication with the electronic device, that a gaze of a user of the electronic device is directed to the respective selectable option when a selection input is received at the pointing device. (paragraph [0093] reciting “… The tools may be selectable by means of a keyboard input from the user, selection via the user's hand, selection via the user's gaze (e.g., via intersection of a line of sight vector from the user's eye(s) with the tool, a control of the stylus, and/or an indication (e.g., a selection) by the stylus.” Therefore, a stylus and gaze are both used to select an virtual object such as a tool.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Algreatly with Hosenpud so that the other 3D options to select to replace the 2D drawn image is based on gaze and stylus selection. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it ensures that the right object is selected without haste.
24. Regarding Claim 9 (Currently amended), Algreatly further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the user input for generating the two-dimensional object is received using a pointing device in communication with the electronic device, (paragraph [0005] reciting “In one embodiment of the present invention, the freehand sketch is drawn by the user's finger or stylus on the touchscreen of a computer. …”)
While Algreatly does not explicitly disclose, Hosenpud discloses and detecting selection of the respective selectable option of the one or more selectable options includes determining that the pointing device is directed to the respective selectable option when a selection input is received at the pointing device. (paragraph [0073] reciting “One or more of the user input devices (e.g., the keyboard 120, the mouse 125, the stylus 130, pointing device, user control device, user hand/fingers, etc.) may be used to interact with the presented 3D scene. For example, the user input device 130 (shown as a stylus) or simply the user's hands may be used to directly interact with virtual objects of the 3D scene (via the viewed projected objects). …” The stylus in Algreatly can be used to select an option based on the teachings of Hosenpud.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Algreatly with Hosenpud so that the other 3D options to select to replace the 2D drawn image is based on stylus selection. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it ensures that the right object is selected using a stylus which is intuitive.
25. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algreatly in view of Hosenpud and further in view of Westerinen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0267182 A1).
26. Regarding Claim 10 (Original), while the combination of Algreatly and Hosenpud does not explicitly disclose, Westerinen discloses The method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to receiving the selection input at the pointing device, causing a tactile output to be generated at the pointing device. (paragraph [0024] reciting “… For example, the vibrations may be configured to provide a different “feel” to contact of a stylus 110 with the display device 106, feedback to indicate selection of an object using the stylus 110, and so on. …”
Therefore, the stylus in Algreatly can be modified by Westerinen to have vibration when used to select a virtual object like the images 500 and 501 of FIG. 28.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Algreatly and Hosenpud with Westerinen so that selection of a virtual object provides tactile feedback such as through vibration. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it allows the user to know intuitive a selection has happened.
27. Regarding Claim 11 (Currently amended), Algrealty further discloses The method of claim 10, wherein a color of the three-dimensional object is based on a color of the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0040] reciting “… The colors, texture and appearance of the corresponding models are taken from the picture to generate a 3D model of the home that matches the picture.”)
28. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algreatly in in view of Stafford et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0358141 A1).
29. Regarding Claim 15 (Currently amended), while Algreatly does not explicitly disclose, Stafford discloses The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the one or more selectable options is performed in response to determining, via an eye tracking device in communication with the electronic device, that a gaze of a user of the electronic device is directed to the representation of the two-dimensional object. (paragraph [0133] reciting “… For example, a trigger event may be initiated at the HMD when it is determined that the user's gaze is directed to a particular object or point on the display screen for at least a pre-defined period of time (e.g., 2 seconds, 5 seconds, etc.). …” Displaying of the matching 3D objects in FIG. 28 of Algreatly can be modified so that it is triggered by a gaze for a period of time upon the drawn object 470.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Algreatly with Stafford so that the displaying of 3D selectable matching images is triggered by user staring at the drawn object 470 of FIG. 28. This is an obviously beneficial modification because waiting for the user to gaze at the object allows the system to wait until the user is done drawing before delivering the 3D options for selection.
Allowable Subject Matter
30. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
31. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 recites the limitation wherein: in accordance with a determination that the two-dimensional object corresponds to a first shape, the one or more selectable options includes a first set of selectable options based on the first shape; and in accordance with a determination that the two-dimensional object corresponds to a second shape, different from the first shape, the one or more selectable options includes a second set of selectable options, different from the first set of selectable options, based on the second shape and does not include the first set of options which is neither disclosed nor suggested by the cited references, either singly or in combination. The closest art of reference is Algreatly, but Algreatly fails to disclose this limitation. Algreatly does not separate the presented 3D options into different lists based on the shape of the drawing. Instead, Algreatly lists all of the options into a single list to choose from.
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611