This action is in response to the communication filed on April 24, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 24, 2026 has been received, entered into the record and considered.
As a result of the amendment, claims 53-54, 58, 60-61, 63-65, 69 and 71-72 has been amended.
Claims 53-72 remain pending in this office action.
Claim Objections
As a result of the amendment to the claims, examiner withdrawn the pending objection to the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 53-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,235,908 B2 and claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,909,191 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application 19/026,176 and the patent 12,235,908 and 10,909,191 all are directed to searching or querying supplemental content item to remote database related to electronic media such an eBook. The current application just omitted some limitations from the patented claims. Such omitting does not change the scope the invention and can perform same functionality. Therefore, the current application is not patentable over the patent 12,235,908 and 10,909,191.
"A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). " ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53, 56, 60-62, 64, 67 and 71-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snodgrass et al (US 8,478,662 B1), in view of Pandey (US 2015/0121432 A1).
As per claim 1, Snodgrass discloses:
- a method comprising (a method comprising, Fig. 9, column 21, line 35-37, column 22, line 25-27),
- displaying, on a user device, text associated with a content item (text associated with an eBook displayed on a user device with content items, column 2, line 60-67, Fig. 5, item 502, Fig. 6, item 602, column 16, line 51-65),
- receiving, via a user interface of the user device, a selection of a portion of the text (user selects a portion of the text in the eBook, column 2, line 10-20, Fig. 2, item 204-208, column 8, line 1-15),
- retrieving parental control data associated with the user device (parental control data associated with individuals (i.e., user device), column 4, line 5-20),
- transmitting, from the user device, the query to a remote database, wherein the remote database is searched for the supplemental content item based on the query (query internet (i.e., remote database) for supplemental content item, column 5, line 30-35, column 10, line 15-30, column 19, line 23-35),
- receiving, at the user device, the supplemental content item (receiving supplemental content related to eBook, column 5, line 19-29, column 14, line 25-35, Fig. 9, item 902, column 20, line 45-55),
- generating for display, at the user device, the supplemental content item (displaying supplemental content at user device, Fig. 5, item 502, Fig. 6, item 602, column 17, line 50-60, column 18, line 1-10),
Snodgrass does not explicitly disclose determining whether to generate a query for a supplemental content item based at least in part on evaluating the selected portion of the text against the parental control data; and upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selected portion of the text are suitable: generating the query for the supplemental content item based at least in part on the selected portion of the text. However, in the same field of endeavor Pandey in an analogous art disclose determining whether to generate a query for a supplemental content item based at least in part on evaluating the selected portion of the text against the parental control data (Fig. 1, item 110, 102, Fig. 8, item 802, 122, Para [0057] – [0058], searching or browsing internet for supplemental content based on parental control data, and upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selected portion of the text are suitable (Fig. 1, item 110, 102, Fig. 8, item 802, 122, Para [0057] – [0058], Para [0067], determination for cross channel supplemental content based on user preference and rules such as parental control and parent approved content (i.e., determine the content suitability)), generating the query for the supplemental content item based at least in part on the selected portion of the text (Para [0058], [0062], Para [0018], line 13-15, request for supplemental content is generated (i.e., generating query for supplemental content)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the determination of parental control and searching for supplemental content suitable for parent and children device as taught by Pandey as the means for searching or querying remote database for supplemental content for an eBook in Snodgrass, (Snodgrass, column 2, line 10-20, Pandey, Fig. 8, Para [0058]. Snodgrass and Pandey are analogous prior art since they both deal with searching or querying supplemental content related to eBook or video content over the internet. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to enhance an individual’s experience and gain more knowledge about a particular subject when reading an eBook or any other electronic journal or when a user watching a video or a television show. This is because one aspect of Snodgrass invention provides an individual access to alternative storylines, reference materials, annotations, and so on. In this to enhance a reading experience of an individual by providing supplemental content that the individual may find interesting or helpful, as described at least in column 2, line 40-50. Determination of parental control data from the selected portion of the text for searching supplemental content retrieval is part of this process. However, Snodgrass doesn’t specify any particular manner in which parent and child device are determined for suitable child and parent specific supplemental content.
This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize parent and child device are for suitable child and parent specific supplemental content as taught by Pandey.
Pandey describes a method which monitor child’s viewing activity and provide only approved content to search for supplemental content as described at least in Para [0058], as desired by Snodgrass.
As per claim 56, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated, and further Snodgrass discloses:
- wherein the query for the supplemental content item is generated further based on metadata associated with the content item (supplemental content based on metadata associated with the content, column 10, line 55-65, column 11, line 55-65, 12, line 1-10).
As per claim 60, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated, and further Snodgrass discloses:
- determining a point of progression corresponding to the selection of the portion of the text with respect to the content item (progress corresponding to content in electronic book, column 9, line 60-65),
- wherein the query for the supplemental content item is further based on the point of progression corresponding to the selection of the portion of the text (supplemental content based on progress on the electronic book, column 14, line 1-14). As per claim 61, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated, and further Snodgrass discloses:
- providing, to the use device, a selectable option for sharing the supplemental content item with a second user device (sharing and contributing supplemental content with second individuals (i.e., second user device), column 4, line 30-40, column 5, line 55-65),
- based on receiving, via the user interface, user input selecting the selectable option, generating, for display on the second user device, the supplemental content item (displaying selectable supplemental content to the second individual (i.e., second user device), Abstract, line 7-12, column 5, line 38-45).
As per claim 62, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated, and further Snodgrass discloses:
- wherein the content item comprises an ebook (content in an electronic book, Fig. 1, item 106, Fig. 7, item 702, Abstract, line 1-10).
As per claims 64, 67, and 71-72,
Claims 64, 67, and 71-72 are system claims corresponding to method claims 53, 56 and 60-61 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 53, 56 and 60-61.
Claims 54-55, 59, 65-66 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snodgrass et al (US 8,478,662 B1), in view of Pandey (US 2015/0121432 A1), as applied to claim 53 and 64 above, and further in view of in view of Myslinski (US 2013/0159127 A1).
As per claim 54, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly disclose upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selection of the portion of the text are not suitable: refraining from generating the query for the supplemental content item based at least in part on the selection of the portion of the text. However, in the same field of endeavor Myslinski in an analogous art discloses upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selection of the portion of the text are not suitable: refraining from generating the query for the supplemental content item based at least in part on the selection of the portion of the text (turning (i.e., refraining from generating the query) content appropriate for children, Para [0377]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of Myslinski by modifying Snodgrass such that child specific content and searched for additional information. The motivation for doing so would be detecting children specific content when a user is watching tv and a fact checker automatically detect child appropriate content, (Myslinski, Para [0437]).
As per claim 55, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly disclose wherein the parental control data defines at least one of (a) one or more terms that are suitable for a query for a supplemental content item or (b) one or more terms that are not suitable for a query for a supplemental content item. However, in the same field of endeavor Myslinski in an analogous art discloses wherein the parental control data defines at least one of (a) one or more terms that are suitable for a query for a supplemental content item or (b) one or more terms that are not suitable for a query for a supplemental content item (content appropriate for children (i.e., suitable for query supplemental content), Para [0378]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of Myslinski by modifying Snodgrass such that child specific content and searched for additional information. The motivation for doing so would be detecting children specific content when a user is watching tv and a fact checker automatically detect child appropriate content, (Myslinski, Para [0437]).
As per claim 59, rejection of clam 53 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly disclose wherein the supplemental content item comprises a children's version of the content item. However, in the same field of endeavor Myslinski in an analogous art discloses wherein the supplemental content item comprises a children's version of the content item (locating child-specific content, Fig. 54, item 5404, Para [0378]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of Myslinski by modifying Snodgrass such that child specific content and searched for additional information. The motivation for doing so would be detecting children specific content when a user is watching tv and a fact checker automatically detect child appropriate content, (Myslinski, Para [0437]).
As per claim 65-66 and 70,
Claims 65-66 and 70 are system claims corresponding to method claims 54-55 and 59 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 54-55 and 59 above
Claims 57-58 and 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snodgrass et al (US 8,478,662 B1), in view of Pandey (US 2015/0121432 A1), as applied to claim 53 and 64 above, and further in view of McCarty et al (US 8,312,484 B1).
As per claim 57, rejection of claim 56 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly disclose wherein metadata associated with the content comprises parental guidance data. However, in the same filed of endeavor McCarty in an analogous art disclose wherein metadata associated with the content comprises parental guidance data (metadata with media guidance associated with parental control data, Abstract, line 1-12, Fig. 7, column 16, line 15-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of McCarty by modifying Snodgrass such that parental control rating using metadata are implemented for child related content. The motivation for doing so would be detecting children specific content and blocking inappropriate or undesired content from viewing efficiently, (MacCarty, column 1, line 10-15, column 4, line 31-40).
As per claim 58, rejection of claim 57 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly disclose identifying one or more keywords from the selection of the portion of the text; determining, based on metadata associated with the content item, that the one or more keywords is associated with a particular significance with respect to the parental guidance data; and wherein the query for the supplemental content item is further based on the one or more keywords. However, in the same field of endeavor McCarty in an analogous art disclose identifying one or more keywords from the selection of the portion of the text (identifying certain words (i.e., keyword) from closed captioning, column 2, line 32-40), determining, based on metadata associated with the content item, that the one or more keywords is associated with a particular significance with respect to the parental guidance data (parental control for certain content (i.e., beer, alcohol) significant for not viewing my children device, column 2, line 32-40, 45-60), and wherein the query for the supplemental content item is further based on the one or more keywords (searching (i.e., querying) for additional information for word from closed captioning, column 3, line 30-50, column 6, line 15-20,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of McCarty by modifying Snodgrass such that parental control rating using metadata are implemented for child related content. The motivation for doing so would be detecting children specific content and blocking inappropriate or undesired content from viewing efficiently, (MacCarty, column 1, line 10-15, column 4, line 31-40).
As per claims 68-69,
Claims 68-69 are system claims corresponding to method claims 57-58 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 57-58 above.
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snodgrass et al (US 8,478,662 B1), in view of Pandey (US 2015/0121432 A1), as applied to claim 53 above, and further in view of Li et al (US 10,116,719 B1).
As per claim 63, rejection of claim 53 is incorporated,
Combined method of Snodgrass and Pandey does not explicitly discloses wherein metadata associated with the content item is stored in a manifest file of the ebook. However, in the same field of endeavor Li in an analogous art disclose wherein metadata associated with the content item is stored in a manifest file of the ebook (manifest file of an eBook with metadata, Abstract, line 1-5, Fig. 10, item 1002, 1004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Snodgrass, as previously modified with Pandey, with the teaching of Li by modifying Snodgrass such that metadata in a manifest file is used to locate media content in an electronic media when viewer or user request media content. The motivation for doing so would be detecting desired media content and providing media content quickly and reliably to the users, (Li, column 1, line 15-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/24, 2026 with respect to claims 53-72 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
In response to applicant’s argument in page 8, applicants argued that, the alleged incorporation still fails to teach or suggest a system that determines to generate a query "based at least in part on evaluating the selected portion of the text against the parental control data," and only generating the query "upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selection of the portion of the text are suitable … in page 9 applicant’s argued that, Myslinski fails to teach or suggest receiving a "selection of a portion of the text" and evaluating that specific selection for suitability.
Examiner respectfully response that, after an updated search, examiner found Pandey reference, which teaches determining whether to generate a query for a supplemental content item based at least in part on evaluating the selected portion of the text against the parental control data in Fig. 1, item 110, 102, Fig. 8, item 802, 122, Para [0057] – [0058], searching or browsing internet for supplemental content based on parental control data, and upon a determination, based on the parental control data, that the words within the selected portion of the text are suitable in Fig. 1, item 110, 102, Fig. 8, item 802, 122, Para [0057] – [0058], Para [0067], determination for cross channel supplemental content based on user preference and rules such as parental control and parent approved content (i.e., determine the content suitability)), generating the query for the supplemental content item based at least in part on the selected portion of the text in Para [0058], [0062], Para [0018], line 13-15, request for supplemental content is generated (i.e., generating query for supplemental content)).
Therefore, examiner firmly believe that, Snodgrass and Pandey alone or in combination reasonably teaches the argued limitation and claim 53 and 64 as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MOHAMMED R UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2167