DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 23rd and June 23rd, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (CN 105742793 A), herein referred to a Feng and further in view of Yang et al. (“Dual-Band Dual-Polarized Magneto-Electric Dipole Antenna with Dual-Layer Structure,” Progress in Electromagnetics Research M, Vol. 92, 193-202, total 10 pages (January 2020)), herein referred to as Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses an antenna (fig. 1A-D), comprising: a grounding plate (3, wraps around); a first electric dipole (121a); a first feeding unit (2), wherein the first feeding unit comprises a first coupling structure (21) coupled to the first electric dipole (121a), and the first feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the first electric dipole through the first coupling structure (page of translation, lines ); a second electric dipole (122a), wherein the second electric dipole (122a) is disposed between (see fig. 1C) the first electric dipole (121a) and the grounding plate (3); and a magnetic dipole (magnetic dipole module 11, 12, 13, 14), wherein the magnetic dipole is electrically connected to the grounding plate, the first electric dipole, and the second electric dipole (see fig. 1A).
Feng does not disclose a second feeding unit, wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure coupled to the second electric dipole, and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure.
However, Yang discloses a similar antenna with a second feeding unit (page 195 attached, lines 5-13), wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure (page 195, lines 5-13) coupled to the second electric dipole (page 195, lines 5-13), and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure (page 195 lines 5-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Feng with a second feeding unit, wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure coupled to the second electric dipole, and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure, as taught by Yang, to excite different polarizations (page 195, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 2, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng does not disclose wherein an included angle between a projection of the first coupling structure on the grounding plate and a projection of the second coupling structure on the grounding plate is 45°.
However, Yang further discloses that the angle of the second coupling structure is a results effective variable to determine the phase difference of the currents (page 197, lines 11-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein an included angle between a projection of the first coupling structure on the grounding plate and a projection of the second coupling structure on the grounding plate is 45°, in order to fine tune phase difference.
Regarding claim 3, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng does not disclose wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure.
However, Yang discloses (see fig. 2, page 195, lines 10-17) wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure, as taught by Yang, to induce orthogonal polarizations (page 195, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 5, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng also discloses wherein the first electric dipole (121) comprises four radiation patches (see fig. 1B), the four radiation patches are symmetrical with respect to a central axis of the antenna (See fig. 1B), and there is a cross-shaped slot between the four radiation patches (See fig. 1B); and the second electric dipole (122) comprises four radiation arms, and the four radiation arms are symmetrical with respect to the central axis of the antenna (See fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 5.
Feng also discloses wherein the first coupling structure (21) is opposite to one slot between the four radiation patches (See fig. 1B and 1C), the first coupling structure passes through the central axis of the antenna (see fig. 1B, 1C).
Feng does not disclose the second coupling structure is opposite to two radiation arms on a same straight line.
However, Yang discloses wherein the second coupling structure is opposite to two radiation arms on a same straight line (see fig. 1b, the 2nd coupling structure is on a line between/opposite any two of the radiation elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein the second coupling structure is opposite to two radiation arms on a same straight line, as taught by Yang, to equalize coupling of energy to the elements.
Regarding claim 13, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng also discloses wherein the magnetic dipole comprises a plurality of conductive pillars electrically connected to the first electric dipole and the second electric dipole, and a slot enclosed by the plurality of conductive pillars (see figs. 1A and 1C).
Regarding claim 14, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 13.
Feng also discloses wherein the conductive pillar comprises a first connection part and a second connection part, wherein the second electric dipole comprises a first end and a second end that are opposite to each other, the first end is electrically connected to the first electric dipole through the first connection part, and the second end is electrically connected to the grounding plate through the second connection part (see fig. 1a and 1c, the connection parts are the portions of the pillars wherein the dipoles are connected).
Regarding claim 15, Feng discloses an antenna (fig. 1A-D), comprising: a grounding plate (3, wraps around); a first electric dipole (121a); a first feeding unit (2), wherein the first feeding unit comprises a first coupling structure (21) coupled to the first electric dipole (121a), and the first feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the first electric dipole through the first coupling structure (page of translation, lines ); a second electric dipole (122a), wherein the second electric dipole (122a) is disposed between (see fig. 1C) the first electric dipole (121a) and the grounding plate (3); and a magnetic dipole (magnetic dipole module 11, 12, 13, 14), wherein the magnetic dipole is electrically connected to the grounding plate, the first electric dipole, and the second electric dipole (see fig. 1A).
Feng does not disclose a communication device, comprising a radio frequency module and said antenna; a second feeding unit, wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure coupled to the second electric dipole, and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure.
However, Yang discloses a communication device, comprising a radio frequency module (page 193, introduction para. 1, base station communication) with a similar antenna with a second feeding unit (page 195 attached, lines 5-13), wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure (page 195, lines 5-13) coupled to the second electric dipole (page 195, lines 5-13), and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure (page 195 lines 5-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Feng with a communication device, comprising a radio frequency module and an antenna; a second feeding unit, wherein the second feeding unit comprises a second coupling structure coupled to the second electric dipole, and the second feeding unit performs coupled feeding on the second electric dipole through the second coupling structure, as taught by Yang, to excite different polarizations (page 195, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 16, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Feng does not disclose wherein an included angle between a projection of the first coupling structure on the grounding plate and a projection of the second coupling structure on the grounding plate is 45°.
However, Yang further discloses that the angle of the second coupling structure is a results effective variable to determine the phase difference of the currents (page 197, lines 11-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein an included angle between a projection of the first coupling structure on the grounding plate and a projection of the second coupling structure on the grounding plate is 45°, in order to fine tune phase difference.
Regarding claim 17, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Feng does not disclose wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure.
However, Yang discloses (see fig. 2, page 195, lines 10-17) wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a first vertical arm and a first feeding end, wherein the first vertical arm is configured to connect the first coupling structure and the first feeding end, and the first coupling structure and the first vertical arm form a first inverted L-shaped structure; and the second feeding unit further comprises a second vertical arm and a second feeding end, wherein the second vertical arm is configured to connect the second coupling structure and the second feeding end, and the second coupling structure and the second vertical arm form a second inverted L-shaped structure, as taught by Yang, to induce orthogonal polarizations (page 195, lines 10-13).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng and Yang and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111883910 A), herein referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng does not disclose further comprising a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer, and a third dielectric layer that are stacked, wherein the first electric dipole and the first coupling structure are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first dielectric layer; the second electric dipole and the second coupling structure are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the second dielectric layer; and the grounding plate is disposed on a surface of the third dielectric layer that is away from the second dielectric layer.
However, Zhang discloses a similar antenna (fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprising a first dielectric layer (101), a second dielectric layer (102), and a third dielectric layer (103) that are stacked (see fig. 1), wherein the first electric dipole (104) and the first coupling structure (105) are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first dielectric layer (101); the second electric dipole (106) and the second coupling structure (105) are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the second dielectric layer (102); and the grounding plate (107) is disposed on a surface of the third dielectric layer (103) that is away from the second dielectric layer (102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng further comprising a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer, and a third dielectric layer that are stacked, wherein the first electric dipole and the first coupling structure are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first dielectric layer; the second electric dipole and the second coupling structure are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the second dielectric layer; and the grounding plate is disposed on a surface of the third dielectric layer that is away from the second dielectric layer, as taught by Zhang, in order to widen the bandwidth (page, line, of included translation).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng and Yang and further in view of Le (US 20200335881 A1), herein referred to as Le.
Regarding claim 10, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng does not disclose wherein a first radiating element comprises a first filter circuit, and the first filter circuit comprises a first inductive member connected in series to the first feeding unit.
However, Le discloses a similar antenna wherein a first radiating element (340a) comprises a first filter circuit (para. 0033), and the first filter circuit comprises a first inductive member (350a) connected in series to the first feeding unit (see fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein a first radiating element comprises a first filter circuit, and the first filter circuit comprises a first inductive member connected in series to the first feeding unit, as taught by Le, to radiate in specific bands and not in others (para. 0067).
Regarding claim 11, Feng, Yang, and Le render obvious all limitations of base claim 10.
Feng does not disclose wherein the first filter circuit further comprises a first capacitive member connected in parallel to the first feeding unit.
However, Le discloses wherein the first filter circuit further comprises a first capacitive member (360a) connected in parallel to the first feeding unit (see fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein the first filter circuit further comprises a first capacitive member connected in parallel to the first feeding unit, as taught by Le, to radiate in specific bands and not in others (para. 0067).
Regarding claim 12, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Feng does not disclose wherein a second radiating element comprises a second filter circuit, and the second filter circuit comprises a second capacitive member connected in series to the second feeding unit.
However, Le discloses wherein a second radiating element (340a, see fig. 3D, multiple arms) comprises a second filter circuit (para. 0033), and the second filter circuit comprises a second capacitive member (360a) connected in series to the second feeding unit (see fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Feng wherein a second radiating element comprises a second filter circuit, and the second filter circuit comprises a second capacitive member connected in series to the second feeding unit as taught by Le, to radiate in specific bands and not in others (para. 0067).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng and Yang and further in view of Paulotto et al. (US 20190027838 A1), herein referred to as Paulotto.
Regarding claim 18, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Feng does not disclose wherein the communication device comprises a rear housing, and the antenna is disposed on the rear housing.
However, Paulotto discloses a communication device wherein the communication device comprises a rear housing, and the antenna is disposed on the rear housing (para. 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Feng wherein the communication device comprises a rear housing, and the antenna is disposed on the rear housing, as taught by Paulotto, to suitably place antenna for transmission (para. 0044).
Regarding claim 19, Feng and Yang render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Feng does not disclose wherein the communication device further comprises a middle frame, the middle frame comprises a bearing plate and a side frame around the bearing plate, and the antenna is disposed on the side frame.
However, Paulotto discloses a communication device wherein the communication device further comprises a middle frame (para. 0022, internal frame structure), the middle frame comprises a bearing plate (the main portion of the internal frame structure) and a side frame around the bearing plate (structures that form exterior housing surfaces, para. 0022), and the antenna is disposed on the side frame (para. 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Feng wherein the communication device further comprises a middle frame, the middle frame comprises a bearing plate and a side frame around the bearing plate, and the antenna is disposed on the side frame, as taught by Paulotto, to suitably place antenna for transmission (para. 0044).
Regarding claim 20, Feng, Yang, and Paulotto render obvious all limitations of base claim 19.
Feng does not disclose wherein a printed circuit board (PCB) is disposed on the bearing plate, and the first feeding unit, the second feeding unit, and the grounding plate are disposed on the PCB.
However, Paulotto discloses wherein a printed circuit board (PCB) (120, para. 0052) is disposed on the bearing plate, and devices feeding units and the grounding plate are disposed on the PCB (fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Feng wherein a printed circuit board (PCB) is disposed on the bearing plate, and the first feeding unit, the second feeding unit, and the grounding plate are disposed on the PCB, as suggested by the teachings of Paulotto, to provide structural support for the PCB and the antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, wherein the first feeding unit further comprises a third coupling structure, the third coupling structure is coupled to another slot between the four radiation patches, and the third coupling structure passes through the central axis of the antenna; and the second feeding unit further comprises a fourth coupling structure, wherein the fourth coupling structure is coupled to the other two radiation arms of the second electric dipole.
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845