DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Application dated 1/16/25 claims priority of date 1/31/2024.
2. Claim 1-20 cancelled and Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3. Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U. S. Patent No. 12,228985.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is substantially similar in nature with the Claim limitations of the patent for example
Instant application
Patent No: 12,228985
21. A system for providing power from a USB-C PD connection, comprising:
a USB-C power delivery (PD) port, wherein the USB-C PD port is configured to provide a plurality of output voltages;
a power cable configured to be electrically connected with the USB-C PD port, wherein the power cable is configured to transmit at least one output voltage of the plurality of output voltages to a peripheral device, wherein the power cable is configured to transmit data to or from the peripheral device;
a housing coupled with the power cable, wherein the housing includes a USB-C connector configured to be removably coupled with the USB-C PD port to electrically connect the power cable with the USB-C PD port;
1.A system for providing power from a USB-C PD connection, comprising:
a USB-C power delivery (PD) port, wherein the USB-C PD port is configured to provide a plurality of output voltages;
a power cable configured to be electrically connected with the USB-C PD port, wherein the power cable is configured to transmit at least one voltage of the plurality of output voltages to a peripheral device;
a housing coupled with the power cable, wherein the housing includes a USB-C connector configured to be removably coupled with the USB-C PD port to electrically connect the power cable with the USB-C PD port;
a control circuit assembly electrically connected with the housing, wherein the control circuit assembly is configured to negotiate an output voltage of the plurality of output voltages between the peripheral device and the USB-C PD port; and
a control circuit assembly electrically connected with the housing, wherein the control circuit assembly is configured to negotiate an output voltage of the plurality of output voltages between the peripheral device and the USB-C PD port;
a receiving orifice arranged about the USB-C PD port; and
a mechanical securing assembly extending from the housing and arranged about the USB-C connector, wherein the mechanical securing assembly includes a shroud arranged at least partially circumferentially around the USB-C connector.
a mechanical securing assembly extending from the housing and arranged about the USB-C connector, wherein the mechanical securing assembly is configured to be removably received in the receiving orifice to securely couple the housing about the USB-C PD port, wherein the mechanical securing assembly is spaced apart from the USB-C connector,
wherein the mechanical securing assembly includes at least one shroud arranged at least partially circumferentially around the USB-C connector, wherein the at least one shroud is configured to be removably received in the receiving orifice, and wherein the at least one shroud defines an open space between the mechanical securing assembly and the USB-C connector.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 21 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent where claim 1 of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 21 of the instant application. Therefore, Claim 21 of the instant application is not patently distinct from the earlier parent claim and as such is unpatentable for nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 21-23, 27 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sultenfuss et al. (“Sultenfuss”), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0234393.
Regarding Claim 21, Sultenfuss teaches a system for providing power from a USB-C PD connection [Fig-2A(210)], comprising:
a USB-C power delivery (PD) port (210g), wherein the USB-C PD port is configured to provide a plurality of output voltages [Para: 0022(“USB-C power adapter may support transmission of voltages … 5V, 9V, 15V, 20V), thus providing multimode charging outputs” via USB-C port 210g as “USB-C power adapters that utilize the various pins supported by USB-C connectors”) and 0049(“multimode AC power adapter may support … supply voltages raging from nominal voltages from 54 volts to 56 volts”)];
a power cable (210d) configured to be electrically connected with the USB-C PD port, wherein the power cable is configured to transmit at least one output voltage of the plurality of output voltages to a peripheral device [Para: 0050(“DC power cord 210d that supplies the DC output via a connector that is received by a port of the laptop” 205)], wherein the power cable is configured to transmit data to or from the peripheral device [Para” 0054(“controller 210i … may initiate USB-PD communications via a data pin of the USB-C coupling in determining the USB-PD … communications conducted between controller 210i and the USB controller of IHS 205 via a data pin of the USB-C coupling” via port 210g) and 0056(“controller 210i may utilize a data pathway 210k in receiving data line communications by port 210g” where (both cases) port 210g connected with cable 210d )];
a housing coupled with the power cable [Fig-2B(housing for 210c)], wherein the housing includes a USB-C connector (210f) configured to be removably coupled with the USB-C PD port (210g) to electrically connect the power cable with the USB-C PD port [Para: 0051(“DC plug 210f is a USB-C … DC plug 210e on the opposite end of DC cord 210d may be an identical to DC plug 210f and may thus also be a USB-C connector that is received by a USB-C port 205b of IHS 205”)];
a control circuit assembly (210i) electrically connected with the housing, wherein the control circuit assembly is configured to negotiate an output voltage of the plurality of output voltages between the peripheral device and the USB-C PD port [Para: 0050(“negotiating with IHS 205 to determine the parameters of the DC output supply voltage generated by converter 210c”) and 0054(“controller 210i … may initiate USB-PD communication … negotiating a USB-PD output (e.g., 5V, 9V, 15V, 20V) to be supplied to IHS 205 by converter 210c”)] ; and
a mechanical securing assembly extending from the housing and arranged about the USB-C connector [Fig-2A (see the coupling of USB 210g with connector 210f)], wherein the mechanical securing assembly includes a shroud arranged at least partially circumferentially around the USB-C connector [Fig-2A (see shrouded covering of at the juncture of 210g and 210f)].
Regarding Claim 22, Sultenfuss teaches a receiving orifice arranged about the USB-C PD port [Fig-2A (see shrouded orifice covering of at the juncture of USB-C connector 210g and 210f)].
Regarding Claim 23, Sultenfuss teaches wherein the mechanical securing assembly is configured to be removably received at least partially within the receiving orifice to securely couple the housing about the USB-C PD port [0051(as “DC plug 210f is a USB-C … DC plug 210e on the opposite end of DC cord 210d” is received at least partially within the receiving orifice, see fig 2A)].
Regarding Claim 27, Sultenfuss teaches wherein the shroud is configured to be removably received in the receiving orifice [Fig-2A (see shrouded orifice covering of at the juncture of USB-C connector 210g and 210f)].
Regarding Claim 35, Sultenfuss teaches an electrical connector defined at an end of the power cable opposite the housing (cable 210d), wherein the electrical connector is configured to connect with a peripheral device to deliver the output voltage of the plurality of output voltages to the peripheral device [Para: 0050(“DC output generated by converter 210c is provided to laptop 205 via a DC power cord 210d that supplies the DC output via a connector that is received by a port of the laptop”) and Fig-2A].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 24-25, 28-32 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultenfuss and Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0061483.
Regarding Claim 24, Sultenfuss teaches further including: a second metal or magnetic member arranged about the USB-C PD port [Fig-2A (see metal surrounding around 210f)].
Sultenfuss is not clear about a first metal or magnetic member coupled with the housing; and
wherein the first metal or magnetic member and the second metal or magnetic member are configured to be removably coupled with each other to securely couple the housing about the USB-C PD port.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., power supply system including USB-C interfacefor supplying power to connected devices), Kim teaches a first metal or magnetic member coupled with the housing [Fig-17(see outer shroud arranged layer around USB-C port 1740)]; and
a second metal or magnetic member arranged about the USB-C PD port (inner layer of USB-C port 1740),
wherein the first metal or magnetic member and the second metal or magnetic member are configured to be removably coupled with each other to securely couple the housing about the USB-C PD port [Fig-17(where the outer and inner layer are removable and securely couple housing of USB-C port with connector and also see para: 0104-0105)].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sultenfuss’s teachings of first metal or magnetic member coupled with the housing system for providing power from USB-C PD connection with Kim’s teachings of USB-C connector with first metal or magnetic member coupled with the housing and a second metal or magnetic member arranged about the USB-C PD port would allow Sultenfuss to provide multiple voltages from one power adapter through PD port based on USB-C PD requirement in order to have an efficient adapter for a power system.
Regarding Claim 25, Kim teaches wherein the first metal or magnetic member is arranged on the shroud [Fig-17(see outer shroud arranged layer around USB-C port 1740)].
Regarding Claim 28 and 29, Kim teaches wherein a slot is defined in the receiving orifice and extends outwardly from the receiving orifice [Fig-17(see the extended part of USB type C port)].
Regarding Claim 30, Kim teaches wherein the mechanical securing assembly is configured to removably and securely couple the housing about the USB-C PD port and includes at least one of a press-fit connection between the housing and the USB-C PD port [Fig-17(see connection between USB type C port with connector 1730)], a snap-fit connection between the housing and the USB-C PD port, a tab and slot connection between the housing and the USB-C PD port, a quick-release connection between the housing and the USB-C PD port, or a detent ball connection between the housing and the USB-C PD port .
Regarding Claims 31-32, Sultenfuss teaches wherein the control circuit (210i) assembly is arranged inside the housing [Para: 0052(“Based on configurations provided by a controller 210i of the converter 210c, multimode regulator 210m may supply a regulated supply of DC power …” where 210i is in the housing)]. One of ordinary skill in the art would put the control circuit in or on the housing or on a second housing which is spaced a part from the housing based on user requirement in order to have user friendly device.
Regarding Claim 36, Sultenfuss wherein the plurality of output voltages includes about 5, 9, and 15 volts [Para: 0022]. One of ordinary skill in the art would provide plurality of output voltages including about 9 volts, about 12 volts, about 24 volts, about 28 volts, about 36 volts, and about 48 volts based on user requirement to achieve intended goal.
6. Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultenfuss and Udi Josef Tirosh (“Tirosh”), U.S. Patent No. 10,935221.
Regarding Claim 33, Sultenfuss teaches all the limitations of claim 33 as rejecting claim 21 above. Sultenfuss does not disclose expressly wherein the USB-C PD port is arranged in a cinematography battery pack.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., a rechargeable power including USB coupling for
photography and cinematography), Tirosh teaches wherein a USB-C PD port is arranged in a
cinematography battery pack [col-2 lines: 1-45("power circuit includes one or more rechargeable
batteries The power circuit is operatively connected to a charging socket in various
implementations. The socket can comprise a USB-based form factor" where the USB form
factor includes "USB-C" where the USB form factor includes "USB-C" can be used for "cinematography" as recited in col-1 lines: 20- 21)].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the invention to modify Sultenfuss's teachings of a USB-C power delivery (PD) port configured to provide plurality of voltages with Tirosh's teachings of wherein a USB-C PD port is arranged in a cinematography battery pack for the purpose of providing "portable lighting that has the ability to adhere to various surfaces and supporting members" [col-1 lines: 33-45].
Regarding Claim 34, Tirosh teaches wherein the USB-C PD port is arranged in a battery mount plate for a cinematography battery pack [col-1 lines: 20-67 ("rechargeable batteries" can be used for "photography and cinematography")].
7. Claim(s) 26 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultenfuss and Sun et al. (“Sun”), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0198248.
Regarding Claim 38, Sultenfuss teaches all the limitations of claim 38 as rejecting claim 21 above. Sultenfuss does not disclose expressly or not clear wherein the housing of the power cable includes at least one of a video interface.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., power delivery system including USB interface among USB-C ports), Sun teaches a power delivery system (140) with a USB-C port (142) coupled to housing (100) wherein the housing of the power cable includes at least one of a video interface [Para: 0019(“universal serial bus Type-C (USB-C) travel adapter including a base module with video connectors (e.g., VGA, HDMI DispalyPort”)].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the invention to modify Sultenfuss's teachings of a USB-C power delivery (PD) port configured to provide plurality of voltages with Sun's teachings of a USB-C PD port coupled to housing of power cable includes at least one of a video interface for the purpose of providing a housing to facilitate mechanical and electrical coupling for USB-C port power delivery system in audio/video environment.
Regarding Claim 26, Sun teaches wherein a space is defined between an inner surface of the shroud and an outer surface of the USB-C connector [Fig-4(see USB-C connector 222 has space between inner connector shroud and outer surface)].
Regarding Claim 37, Sun teaches a plurality of visual indicators (170) arranged on the housing, wherein the visual indicators of the plurality of visual indicators are configured to indicate the output voltage of the plurality of output voltages [Para: 0028 and (“In the event that the voltage at node B provided by node A is insufficient to properly operate the expansion port (or additional devices connected thereto), one or more indicators (e.g., indicators 170) can be activated to notify the user of this condition”)].
Regarding Claims 39-40, Sun teaches a audio/video interface of the power delivery system (140) with a USB-C port (142) coupled to housing (100) as set forth above. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize the power delivery system for a camera to be used and wherein the audio/video interface is configured to display the visual and/or sound output from a camera connected to the power cable as intended to use based on need.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176