DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on January 16, 2025. Claims 1-3 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The independent claims, as filed, contain the language “wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block”. The written description support Examiner finds for such a limitation is in Applicant’s ¶535, which describes that when the reference picture of a spatial candidate is not identical to the reference picture of a current/target block (which may be a co-located picture containing a co-located block as detailed in Applicants ¶186), e.g., based on their POCs being different, the motion vector of the spatially adjacent neighboring block may be scaled to derive the motion vector of the current block. Accordingly, Examiner interprets this claim language to indicate that the motion vector of the spatially adjacent neighboring block is scaled to derived the motion vector of the current block when the reference picture of the spatially adjacent neighboring block is different from the reference picture of the current/target block, e.g., their POCs are different, and otherwise (when they are the same) is not scaled.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “it is determined a co-located block in the co-located image…” of the 3rd element should read “”a co-located block in the co-located image is determined…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,062 (the ‘062 patent) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,247,249 (“Chen 2”). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 6-8 of the ‘062 patent in view of Chen 2 and claims 1-3 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 6 of the ‘062 patent:
Instant Application 19/026,210
U.S. Patent No. 12,256,062
1. (Original) A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: obtaining a merge index of a current block through a bitstream;
1. Limitation 2: determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size;
1. Limitation 8. wherein based on the size of the current block being equal to or greater than a preset value, it is determined…
1. Limitation 3: based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitations 4-5: … determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block…; deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 8. wherein based on the size of the current block being equal to or greater than a preset value, it is determined that the merge candidate in the sub-block unit is derived, i.e., limitations 4-5 only happen based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size/value
1. Limitation 4: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 5: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 5: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 6: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 6: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list and the merge index;
1. Limitation 7: wherein the preset size is 8x8,
1. Limitation 8: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
6. wherein a location of the sub-block within the co-located block is derived based on the center location of a current sub-block within the current block…;
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
Claims 6-8 of the ‘062 patent do not explicitly recite obtaining a merge index through the bitstream for a current block and deriving motion information in the sub-block unit based on the merge candidate list and the merge index. Nor do they disclose that the preset size is 8x8 (although claim 15 does). However, these elements were well known in the art at the time of filing. For example, 8x8 was a well-known minimum size for a CU at the time of filing (see, e.g., Chen 2 11:22-27). In addition, it was well-known for encoders/decoders to use merge candidate lists and transmit an index indicating a selected candidate through the bitstream to allow the decoder to derive motion information for a sub-block based on this list and selection (see, e.g., Chen 2 Fig. 3, items 82, 92, “syntax elements”, 4:53-59, 11:17-21, 20:5-33). Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to have modified these claims to include such a well-known minimum size and transmit a candidate selection merge index for use along with the merge candidate list to determine motion information of the current block, e.g., in a sub-block unit, and would have been considered nothing more than the simple substitution of one prior art element for another according to known methods to achieve predictable results. Accordingly, in view of the level of skill in the art as evidenced by Chen 2, the claims of the ‘062 patent and claims 1-3 of the instant application cover substantially the same subject matter.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 19/026,098 (the ‘098 application) in view of Chen 2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-3 of the ‘098 application in view of Chen 2 and claims 1-3 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘098 application:
Instant Application 19/026,210
Co-Pending Application 19/026,098
1. (Original) A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: obtaining a merge index of a current block through a bitstream;
1. Limitation 2: determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size;
1. Limitation 3: based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 2: determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 4: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 3: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 5: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 4: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 6: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list and the merge index;
1. Limitation 5: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list;
1. Limitation 7: wherein the preset size is 8x8,
1. Limitation 8: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 9: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
1. Limitation 10: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
Claims 1-3 of the ‘098 application do not explicitly recite obtaining a merge index through the bitstream for a current block and deriving motion information in the sub-block unit based on the merge index. Nor do they disclose that the preset size is 8x8 (although claim 15 does). However, these elements were well known in the art at the time of filing. For example, 8x8 was a well-known minimum size for a CU at the time of filing (see, e.g., Chen 2 11:22-27). In addition, it was well-known for encoders/decoders to use merge candidate lists and transmit an index indicating a selected candidate through the bitstream to allow the decoder to derive motion information for a sub-block based on this list and selection (see, e.g., Chen 2 Fig. 3, items 82, 92, “syntax elements”, 4:53-59, 11:17-21, 20:5-33). Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to have modified these claims to include such a well-known minimum size and transmit a candidate selection merge index to determine motion information of the current block, and would have been considered nothing more than the simple substitution of one prior art element for another according to known methods to achieve predictable results. Accordingly, in view of the level of skill in the art as evidenced by Chen 2, the claims of the ‘098 application and claims 1-3 of the instant application cover substantially the same subject matter.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of co-pending Application No. 19/026,143 (the ‘143 application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-3 of the ‘210 application in view of Chen 2 and claims 1-3 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘143 application:
Instant Application 19/026,210
Co-Pending Application 19/026,143
1. (Original) A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: obtaining a merge index of a current block through a bitstream;
1. Limitation 2: determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size;
1. Limitation 2: determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size;
1. Limitation 3: based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 3: based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 4: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 4: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 5: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 5: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 6: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list and the merge index;
1. Limitation 7: wherein the preset size is 8x8,
1. Limitation 7: wherein the preset size is 8x8,
1. Limitation 8: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 8: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
Claims 1-3 of the ‘143 application do not explicitly recite obtaining a merge index through the bitstream for a current block and deriving motion information in the sub-block unit based on the merge candidate list and the merge index. However, these elements were well known in the art at the time of filing. For example, it was well-known for encoders/decoders to use merge candidate lists and transmit an index indicating a selected candidate through the bitstream to allow the decoder to derive motion information for a sub-block based on this list and selection (see, e.g., Chen 2 Fig. 3, items 82, 92, “syntax elements”, 4:53-59, 11:17-21, 20:5-33). Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to have modified these claims to include the transmission of a candidate selection merge index for use along with the merge candidate list to determine motion information of the current block, e.g., in a sub-block unit, and would have been considered nothing more than the simple substitution of one prior art element for another according to known methods to achieve predictable results. Accordingly, in view of the level of skill in the art as evidenced by Chen 2, the claims of the ‘143 application and claims 1-3 of the instant application cover substantially the same subject matter.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 19/026,277 (the ‘277 application) in view of Chen 2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-3 of the ‘277 application in view of Chen 2 and claims 1-3 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘277 application:
Instant Application 19/026,210
Co-Pending Application 19/026,277
1. (Original) A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. A method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: obtaining a merge index of a current block through a bitstream;
1. Limitation 2: determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size;
1. Limitation 3: based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 2: determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block;
1. Limitation 4: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 3: deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block;
1. Limitation 5: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 4: generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit;
1. Limitation 6: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list and the merge index;
1. Limitation 5: deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the… merge candidate list;
1. Limitation 7: wherein the preset size is 8x8,
1. Limitation 8: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 7: wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block;
1. Limitation 9: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
1. Limitation 8: wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block.
Claims 1-3 of the ‘277 application do not explicitly recite obtaining a merge index through the bitstream for a current block and deriving motion information in the sub-block unit based on the merge index. Nor do they disclose that the preset size is 8x8 (although claim 15 does). However, these elements were well known in the art at the time of filing. For example, 8x8 was a well-known minimum size for a CU at the time of filing (see, e.g., Chen 2 11:22-27). In addition, it was well-known for encoders/decoders to use merge candidate lists and transmit an index indicating a selected candidate through the bitstream to allow the decoder to derive motion information for a sub-block based on this selection (see, e.g., Chen 2 Fig. 3, items 82, 92, “syntax elements”, 4:53-59, 11:17-21, 20:5-33). Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to have modified these claims to include such a well-known minimum size and transmit a candidate selection merge index for use to determine motion information of the current block and would have been considered nothing more than the simple substitution of one prior art element for another according to known methods to achieve predictable results. Accordingly, in view of the level of skill in the art as evidenced by Chen 2, the claims of the ‘277 application and claims 1-3 of the instant application cover substantially the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation "a preset size" in the “where based on the current block being larger than…” element. It is not stated whether this “a preset size” is the same “a preset size” recited in the element prior and which “a preset size” the later recited “the preset size” refers to. For the purposes of this Action, it is presumed that “a preset size” in this element is “the preset size” and refers to the preset size recited in the element prior and thus the “the preset size is 8x8” element refers to the same preset size recited in both elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, which corresponds to a priority application dated February 2018, in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,247,249 (“Chen 2”). Examiner notes that although the current application claims priority to foreign applications filed March 2018 and September 2018, Applicant has not shown such priority applications to support the limitations of the claims in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Accordingly, for the purposes of this Action, the effective filing date is presumed to be that of the parent PCT application which was filed March 13, 2019.
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A method of decoding an image (see Abstract, Figs. 9-10, ¶¶62, 88-89, describing a decoder that decodes an image), the method comprising:
obtaining a merge index of a current block through a bitstream (see Figs. 9-10, items 990, “candidate selection”, ¶¶6, 32-33, 35, 85, 90, 97, 102, describing that, for merge mode, the bitstream sent from the encoder to the decoder, arriving at parser 990, may include a candidate selection signal, i.e., merge index, of a current block);
determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size (see ¶¶4, 53, describing that the system may split CUs until a pre-defined minimum size is reached, i.e., it is determined whether the current block/CU is larger than the predefined minimum size);
based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to element above and ¶¶63-72, describing determining a co-located location/sub-PU/block in a collocated picture, i.e., co-located image, based on an initial motion vector, i.e., motion information, of a spatially neighboring block, i.e., a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block and citations above, describing that the mode setting may be dependent upon the CU having a size greater than or equal to a preset size, e.g., 4x4);
deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block (see ¶¶6, 35-36, 48, 63-73, 106, describing deriving merge candidates, e.g., sub-PU TMVP candidates, in units of sub-PUs from a sub-block within the co-located block);
generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit (see ¶¶6, 33, 35-36, 48, 63, 73, 102, 106, describing generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidates in sub-block units); and
deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list and merge index (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above and Figs. 9-10, items 913, 940, “predicted MV”, “reference MV”, “MC MV”, “merge candidate information”, “candidate selection”, ¶¶6, 33, 35-36, 48, 63, 73, 85, 88, 90, 94-95, 97, 101-102, 106, describing deriving MVs/motion information based on MVs of candidate predictors in a merge candidate list, selects one candidate based on candidate selection data/merge index, and that these MVs may be derived in the sub-block unit);
…
wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block (see ¶¶63-71, describing that the initial motion vector (which determines the sub-PU/sub-block within the co-located block), is based on availability checking in a collocated picture search around a center-position/center-pixel of the center sub-PU current PU, i.e., a center position of a current sub-block within the current block), and
wherein based on [] a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as [] the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block (see ¶¶67-73, describing that the initial motion vector, which as detailed above is the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block, is used to determine a position of the sub-PU/sub-block within the collocated picture and that this initial motion vector is scaled to derive the motion vector of the current block when the reference picture of the initial motion vector (a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block) is NOT, i.e., is different from, the current reference picture, i.e. the reference picture of the current target block – see also claim interpretation section above).
Chen does not explicitly recite determining whether two reference pictures are the same/different using their picture order count nor does it explicitly recite wherein the preset size is 8x8.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen 2 discloses that it was known to determine whether two reference pictures are the same/different using the images’/pictures’ respective picture order count (see 6:17-20, 7:24-40, describing determining whether two reference pictures are the same or different using their picture order counts). Chen 2 further discloses that it was known for the minimum CU size to be 8x8, i.e., wherein the preset size is 8x8 (see 11:22-27, describing that CU size may be from 8x8 up, i.e., the minimum preset size may be 8x8).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with determining whether two reference images are the same or different and have understood that, as evidenced by Chen 2, that this is often accomplished using picture order count (POC). Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, using such a metric to determine whether the reference picture of a spatially adjacent neighboring block is the same or different from the reference picture of a current/target block would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In addition, Chen discloses a preset size of 4x4 “or another size” as a minimum. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood the sizing options for such “another size”. Including, as evidenced by Chen 2, 8x8 (see citation above). Accordingly, to such a person, using a preset minimum size of 8x8 for the CU to apply the methods of Chen would have represented nothing more than the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for determining whether the reference picture of the spatially adjacent neighboring block is the same or different from the reference picture of the current/target block by using their POCs in the coding system of Chen as taught by Chen 2. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for using 8x8 as the minimum CU/block size to apply Chen’s methods in the coding system of Chen as taught by Chen 2.
With respect to claim 2, Chen discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Chen in view of Chen 2 discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Chen/Chen 2 additionally discloses:
A method of encoding an image (see Abstract, Figs. 7-8, ¶¶62, 74-75, describing an encoder for encoding an image), the method comprising:
determining whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above and Chen ¶62, describing that the inter-prediction method may be implemented in an encoder or decoder);
based on the current block being greater than or equal to the preset size, determining a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above and Chen ¶62, describing that the inter-prediction method may be implemented in an encoder or decoder);
deriving the merge candidate in the sub-block unit from a sub-block within the co-located block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above Chen ¶62, describing that the inter-prediction method may be implemented in an encoder or decoder);
generating a merge candidate list based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above and Chen ¶62, describing that the inter-prediction method may be implemented in an encoder or decoder);
deriving motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block based on the merge candidate list (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above and Chen ¶62, describing that the inter-prediction method may be implemented in an encoder or decoder); and
encoding image information including a merge index representing a merge candidate of the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above),
wherein the preset size is 8x8 (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above),
wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above), and
wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Chen discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Chen in view of Chen 2 discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Chen/Chen 2 additionally discloses:
A transmission method of data for image (see Chen Figs. 7, 9, item 795, 995, ¶¶74, 76, 82-83, 88, 90, describing transmitting a bitstream including image data), the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream of image information including a merge index representing a merge candidate of a current block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
transmitting the data including the bitstream of the image information including the merge index (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 2 above);
wherein it is determined whether a current block is larger than or equal to a preset size (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
wherein based on the current block being larger than or equal to a preset size, it is determined a co-located block in a co-located image based on motion information of a block that is spatially adjacent to the current block, and a merge candidate in the sub-block unit is derived from a sub-block within the co-located block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
wherein a merge candidate list is generated based on the merge candidate in the sub-block unit, and motion information in the sub-block unit of the current block is derived based on the merge candidate list (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
wherein the preset size is 8x8 (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above),
wherein the sub-block within the co-located block is determined based on a center location of a current sub-block within the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above), and
wherein based on a picture order count of a reference picture indicated by the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block being the same as a picture order count of the co-located image of the current block, the motion information of the block that is spatially adjacent to the current block is used to determine a position of the sub-block within the co-located block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 3.
Conclusion
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481