DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 13 August 2025 for application number 19/026,247. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 4/30/25; 7/21/25.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-7, 10-15, 18-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,294. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 2, ‘294 discloses a method for video decoding, the method comprising:
receiving, in a coded video bitstream, prediction information of a current block in a current picture, the prediction information indicating that the current block including a plurality of subblocks is coded in a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode (claim 1);
obtaining motion vector difference (MVD) information of the current block that indicates an MVD to an initial displacement vector (DV);determining a DV of the current block based on the initial DV and the MVD of the current block, the determined DV indicating a location of a collocated block in a collocated reference picture (claim 1, where MVO corresponds to MVD);
deriving respective SbTMVP information of the plurality of subblocks based on at least motion information of corresponding subblocks in the collocated block indicated by the determined DV (claim 1); and
reconstructing the plurality of subblocks in the SbTMVP mode based on the respective SbTMVP information of the plurality of subblocks (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, see teachings of claim 2. ‘294 further discloses wherein the determining the DV comprises determining the DV to be a vector sum of the initial DV and the MVD (claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, see teachings of claim 2. ‘294 further discloses wherein the MVD information includes the MVD signaled in the coded video bitstream (claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, see teachings of claim 2. ‘294 further discloses wherein: the MVD information indicates at least one index indicating a magnitude of the MVD and a direction of the MVD (claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, see teachings of claims 2 and 5. ‘294 further discloses wherein: the at least one index includes a distance index that indicates the magnitude of the MVD that is one of a set of pre-defined distances and a direction index that indicates the direction of the MVD that is one of a set of pre-defined directions (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, see teachings of claims 2, 5, and 6. ‘294 further discloses wherein: the set of pre-defined distances and the set of pre-defined directions are used in a merge motion vector difference (MMVD) mode (claim 6).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Claims 8, 9, 16, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,294 in view of Takahiro et al. (JP2011009887).
Regarding claim 8, see teachings of claims 2, 5, and 6. ‘294 does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of pre-defined directions comprises four directions including a direction along an X-axis, a direction opposite to the X-axis, a direction along a Y-axis, and a direction opposite to the X-axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahiro discloses wherein the set of pre-defined directions comprises four directions including a direction along an X-axis, a direction opposite to the X-axis, a direction along a Y-axis, and a direction opposite to the X-axis (par. 48).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify ‘294 to include the teachings of Takahiro in order to divide the image (Takahiro, par. 48).
Regarding claim 9, see teachings of claims 2, 5, and 6. ‘294 does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of pre-defined distances comprises one of (i) 4 pixels and 8 pixels and (ii) 16 pixels and 32 pixels.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahiro discloses wherein the set of pre-defined distances comprises one of (i) 4 pixels and 8 pixels and (ii) 16 pixels and 32 pixels (par. 65).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify ‘294 to include the teachings of Takahiro in order to divide the image (Takahiro, par. 48).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9. The encode/decode differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0078441).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses a method for video decoding, the method comprising:
receiving, in a coded video bitstream, prediction information of a current block in a current picture, the prediction information indicating that the current block including a plurality of subblocks is coded in a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode (pars. 222, 224, 227);
obtaining motion vector difference (MVD) information of the current block that indicates an MVD to an initial displacement vector (DV) (par. 245);
determining a DV of the current block based on the initial DV and the MVD of the current block, the determined DV indicating a location of a collocated block in a collocated reference picture (par. 223);
deriving respective SbTMVP information of the plurality of subblocks based on at least motion information of corresponding subblocks in the collocated block indicated by the determined DV (pars. 222, 227, 242); and
reconstructing the plurality of subblocks in the SbTMVP mode based on the respective SbTMVP information of the plurality of subblocks (pars. 46-47).
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486