DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanba et al. (WO2019/168183 A1).
At the outset, it is noted that US 11,767,379 B2 is treated as the English equivalent of the WIPO publication.
Regarding claims 1-5, Nanba teaches the following:
(Ab, ref. claims).
Additionally, disclosed Example 1 is drawn to polymerizing tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) in the presence of a homopolymer of monomer (a) shown below:
said homopolymer having a number average molecular weight of 90,000, to provide for an aqueous dispersion having a solids concentration of 20.8 % by mass, and diluted to about 10% by mass. Disclosed monomer (a) reads on formula (1A); Rf=CFCF3, A=NR74= NH4 (claim 2).
Nanba teaches fluoropolymers, such as fluoroelastomers including perfluoroelastomers, formed in the presence of 0.0001 to 20 % by mass of polymer (1), by polymerizing tetrafluoroethylene with comonomers, such as hexafluorobutene and perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ethers) (col. 36, 3-19, col. 65, line 10-col. 66, 28, col. 67, 15-16, col. 68, lines14-59).
Nanba is silent on a composition comprising a perfluoroelastomer in a single embodiment as claimed.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching in Nanba on compositions comprising a fluoropolymer as an aqueous dispersion that may be prepared in the presence of polymer (1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare a composition comprising any fluoropolymer within the scope of Nanba, including a perfluoroelastomer as in the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Nanba teaches a production method wherein the fluoromonomer is preferably polymerized substantially in the absence of a fluorine- containing surfactant (col. 3, lines 21-22, col.31, lines 10-12).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Nanba teaches a fluoroelastomer composition comprising a curing agent, such as peroxides and organotins, that is crosslinked during molding (col. 69, lines 57-64).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,767,379 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 1 is as follows:
Although patent claims are silent on a method of forming a composition comprising a perfluoroelastomer, those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438,164 USPQ 619,622 (CCPA 1970). To that end, the reference patent teaches copolymerization with perfluoromonomers, capable of producing perfluoroelastomers, and polymerization in the presence of polymer (1) in specific amounts providing for aqueous dispersions (col. 36, 3-19, col. 65, line 10-col. 66, 28, col. 67, 15-16, col. 68, lines 14-59, Examples). Thus, as supported by the reference patent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for an aqueous composition comprising a perfluoroelastomer prepared in the presence of polymer (1) by the method of the patent claims.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US 12,410,266 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claims 1 and 9 are as follows:
The patent claims are silent on a method wherein the fluoropolymer is a perfluoroelastomer as claimed. However, relying on the reference patent for reasons discussed above in paragraph 13, the patent disclosure teaches polymerization of monomers, such as perfluoromonomers, in an aqueous medium in the presence of polymer (1), in a specific amount, capable of producing perfluoroelastomers as aqueous dispersions (col. 65, line 16-col. 67, line 36, Examples). Thus, in view of the teaching in the reference patent on polymerizing fluoromonomers for providing fluoropolymers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for an aqueous composition comprising a perfluoroelastomer prepared in the presence of polymer (1) by the method of the patent claims.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone
are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-
7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to
the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762