DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the Application No. 19026276 filed on 04/14/2026. Claims 1-24 are presented for examination and are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on
04/14/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
4. The claim amendment of 04/14/2026 has overcome the 112(b) rejection of the previous office action. As a result, the 112(b) is withdrawn.
On page 9 of the remarks, the Applicant argued that “I. None of the cited references teach maintenance of spatiotemporal maps using adaptive kernel functions. For the limitation "maintain spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns of neurons in the core neural network using adaptive kernel functions, wherein the maps are updated in real-time," the examiner cites Kasabov's use of Gaussian activation functions for computing local fuzzy distances between input vectors and rule node centers. This citation conflates two distinct operations. In Kasabov's EFuNN, Gaussian functions serve as receptive field activation functions for individual rule nodes - they compute the degree to which an input vector falls within the receptive field of each rule node during learning and inference. See Kasabov, pg. 904 (right col.); pg. 906. These are scalar node-level matching functions, not "adaptive kernel functions" used to maintain "spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns" across the whole neural network. Furthermore, the Gaussian parameters (rule node centers) in EFuNN are updated through learning iterations, not through real-time adaptive kernel adjustment of a spatiotemporal map as the claims require. Thus, Kasabov does not teach maintenance of spatiotemporal maps using adaptive kernel functions. Guo and Shrivastava do not remedy the deficiencies of Kasabov in this regard. Therefore, none of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach the following limitation of the claimed invention: maintain spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns of neurons in the core neural network using adaptive kernel functions, wherein the maps are updated in real-time;”
The argument above is not persuasive because the Office Action clearly states
that Kasabov teaches (a slightly modified version of the algorithms described below is applied, mainly in terms of measuring Euclidean distance and using Gaussian activation functions (pg. 904, right col., second para.). This indicates that Kasabov uses Guassian functions which is a type of adaptive kernel functions that is applied to the EFuNN model and As EFuNN allows for continuous training on new data, further testing and also training of the EFuNN on the test data in an online mode leads to a significant improvement of the accuracy, pg. 916, left col., second para.). Kasabov also discloses that incremental learning on all data is possible (in many cases of what time series prediction it is) EFuNNs should be continuously evolved in an adaptive, life-long learning mode, always improving their performance, pg. 911, right col., second para.). Kasabov’s also teaches EFuNNs can learn spatial-temporal sequences in an adaptive way through one pass learning and automatically adapt their parameter values as they operate. Fuzzy or crisp rules can be inserted and extracted at any time of the EFuNN operation (abstract). Kasabov’s teachings broadly reads on “maintain spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns of neurons in the core neural network using adaptive kernel functions, wherein the maps are updated in real-time”.
On pages 9-10 of the remarks, the Applicant argued that “II. None of the cited references teach allocating codewords to input data in a dynamically maintained codebook. Claims 1 and 13 require allocating codewords to input data wherein "codewords are mapped to entries in a dynamically maintained codebook ... For this limitation, the examiner cites Kasabov's description of an LVQ comparison experiment: "The LVQ model has the following parameter values: 396 codebook vectors and 500 training iterations on the whole training set." Kasabov, pg. 916 (left col., first para.). This LVQ codebook is trained in an offline, batch mode over a fixed number of iterations on a predetermined training set. A codebook trained offline in 500 batch passes over the whole training set is not a "dynamically maintained codebook" in the sense described in the specification, for example at [0098] ... Accordingly, this limitation is also not met by the cited references. Thus, Kasabov does not teach allocating codewords to input data in a dynamically maintained codebook. Guo and Shrivastava do not remedy the deficiencies of Kasabov in this regard. Therefore, none of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach the following limitation of the claimed invention: allocate codewords to input data, wherein codewords are mapped to entries in a dynamically maintained codebook;"
The argument above is not persuasive because the Office Action clearly states
that Kasabov teaches … input vector is propagated through the EFuNN, pg. 908,
left col., fourth para.). This indicates input data is sent into the neural network during
operation which is a real time operation. Furthermore, as detailed in the Office Action,
Kasabov also teaches 396 codebook vectors and 500 training iterations on the
whole training set (pg. 916, left col., first para.). Importantly, iterations on the whole
training set which includes codebook vectors indicates a process of updates to the
codebook. As a result, the iterations indicate Kasabov’s codebook is not static, and the
teachings of Kasabov reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed
“dynamically maintained codebook”.
On pages 10-11 of the remarks, the Applicant argued that “III. None of the cited references teach fusing of codewords of dissimilar data types into a unified codeword representation. The examiner concedes that modified Kasabov does not teach "fuse codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations" or "provide the unified codeword representations to the core neural network for processing." To fill this gap, the examiner turns to Guo, asserting that "In Fig. 5, z which is an output from speech signals s node is fused with P which is an output from text sequence t node . .. z and p are dissimilar datatypes." The applicant respectfully submits that this characterization of Guo is factually incorrect because Z and P are not dissimilar data types and are not fused. Z and P are not separate data types. In Guo's MSMC-TTS system, Z and P are both Multi-Stage Multi-Codebook Representations (MSMCR). Z is the MSMCR extracted from speech by the feature analyzer; P is the MSMCR predicted from text by the acoustic model. Critically, both Z and P are produced using the same shared codebook group C, and both consist of quantized codeword sequences representing acoustic features at multiple stages and time resolutions ... Because Z and P are both MSMCR sequences drawn from the same codebook C and both represent the same type of content (acoustic features of speech) they are the same data type, not dissimilar data types. The fact that Z was derived by analyzing a speech signal while P was derived by predicting from a text sequence does not render the resulting codeword sequences different in type. The claim requires fusing codewords from inputs of dissimilar data types ... Further, Z and P are not fused. The MSMC-TTS system in Guo operates with a switching mechanism between Z and P: "In synthesis, the neural vocoder generates speech signals B from Z or P according to the running mode (training or inference)." Guo, pg. 1815 (emphasis added). During training, Z (ground-truth MSMCR from the feature analyzer) is used. During inference, P (predicted MSMCR from the acoustic model) is used. At no point are Z and P combined or fused into a single unified representation. Figure 5 of Guo illustrates this switching architecture explicitly”.
Furthermore, on pages 11-12 of the remarks, the Applicant argued that “This is the opposite of what the claims require. Claims 1 and 13 require fusing codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations, which are then provided to the core neural network for processing. As described in the specification, projection network 2440 "serves as a fusion mechanism for the different types of codewords," combining codewords from textual data and codewords from numerical data "creating a unified representation that captures the interrelationships between these different data types," which is then "processed by machine learning core 1240." Guo teaches nothing resembling this architecture”.
The Applicant also argued on page 12 that “The examiner additionally cites the passage "codebook C from speech signal S node is received by text sequence" as evidence of fusion. This passage describes codebook sharing - the text- prediction acoustic model uses the same codebook vocabulary that was learned during speech analysis - not the fusion of codewords from different data types. Sharing a common vocabulary between two pathways is categorically different from combining codeword outputs from those pathways into a unified representation. Because Guo does not teach fusing codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations, and does not teach providing such unified representations to a core neural network for processing, the combination of Kasabov, Shrivastava, and Guo fails to render the independent claims obvious. Dependent claims 4-12 and 16-24, all of which incorporate these limitations by dependency, are likewise patentable on this basis. Thus, Guo does not teach fusing codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations. Kasabov and Shrivastava do not remedy the deficiencies of Guo in this regard. Therefore, none of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach the following limitation of the claimed invention: fuse codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations;”
The arguments above are not persuasive because as detailed in the Office
Action, in Fig. 5 of Guo, z which is an output from speech signals s node is fused
with P which is an output from text sequence t node, pg. 1815, this citation reads
on the broadest reasonable interpretation of dissimilar data types. Since the claims do
not recite specific “data types”, Guo’s fusion of speech signals output and text
sequence output in Figure 5 clearly reads on the claimed fuse codewords of dissimilar
data types into unified codeword representations (In Fig. 5, codebook C from speech
signal s node is received by text sequence, pg. 1815, left col., last para.).
Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Guo reads on reads on the claimed limitations, since lines 1-33 of independent claims 1 and 13 do not appear to recite the source of the dissimilar data types, the process that led to the generation of
the dissimilar datatypes, or anything related to data types. It is noted that only the second to the last line (lines 34) of independent claims 1 and 12 recites limitations about
datatypes.
On pages 12-13 of the remarks, the Applicant argued that “For the foregoing reasons, the applicant respectfully submits that none of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach the following limitations of the independent claims:
maintain spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns of neurons in
the core neural network using adaptive kernel functions, wherein the maps are updated in real-time; allocate codewords to input data, wherein codewords are mapped to entries in a dynamically maintained codebook; fuse codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations; As none of the cited references teach each and every limitation of the independent claims, the independent claims are patentable over the cited references, and all dependent claims are patentable at least as they depend from the patentable independent claims. Therefore, the applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the § 103 rejection”.
It is evident in the Examiner’s detailed response above that Kasabov in view of Shrivastava in view of Guo discloses the limitations of independent claims 1 and 13.
The Examiner notes dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 which depend directly or
indirectly from independent claims 1 and 13 are not patentable because the Applicant’s
argument are not persuasive for similar reasons argued above regarding independent
claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-13, 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasabov ("Evolving fuzzy neural networks for supervised/unsupervised online knowledge-based learning," in IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics, Part B (Cybernetics), vol. 31, no. 6, pp. 902-918, Dec. 2001, doi: 10.1109/3477.969494) in view of Shrivastava et al. (US20200311548) and further in view of Guo et al. ("MSMC-TTS: Multi-stage multi-codebook VQ-VAE based neural TTS." IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing 31 (2023): 1811-1824)
Regarding claim 1, Kasabov teaches a computer system (The EFuNN (evolving fuzzy neural networks) methods and the ECOS (evolving connectionist systems) can be implemented in software and/or in hardware with the use of either conventional or new computational techniques … This includes (1) computer systems that learn speech and language, pg. 916, right col., last para.),
maintain a core neural network (Fig. 3. Evolving fuzzy neural network EFuNN, pg. 904) comprising a plurality of interconnected neurons arranged in layers (EFuNNs have a five-layer structure, pg. 903, right col., last para.),
wherein the core neural network is configured to process codeword representations (396 codebook vectors and 500 training iterations on the whole training set (pg. 916, left col., first para.); … input vector is propagated through the EFuNN, pg. 908, left col., fourth para.);
execute a hierarchical supervisory network (A block diagram of the ECOS framework is given in Fig. 2. ECOS are multilevel, multimodular structures where many neural network modules (NNM) are connected with interconnections and intraconnections, pg. 903, left col., third para.) comprising:
a plurality of low-level supervisory nodes (2) Representation (Memory) Part Where Information (Patterns) are Stored, pg. 903, left col., third para., Fig. 2), each monitoring a subset of neurons in the core neural network (It is a multimodular, evolving structure of NNMs organized in groups, pg. 903, left col., third para.);
at least one mid-level supervisory node ((5) Knowledge-Based Part:, 903, right col., Fig. 2) monitoring a group of low-level supervisory nodes (This part extracts compressed abstract information from the representation modules and from the decision modules in different forms of rules, abstract associations, etc. This part requires that the NNM should operate in a knowledge-based learning mode and provide knowledge about the problem under consideration, pg. 903, right col., Fig. 2); and
at least one high-level supervisory node ((6) Adaptation Part:, 903, right col., Fig. 2) monitoring one or more mid-level supervisory nodes (This part uses statistical, evolutionary (e.g., genetic algorithms (GAs) …) and other techniques to evaluate and optimize the parameters of the ECOS during its operation, 903, right col., Fig. 2);
wherein each supervisory node ((2) Representation (Memory) Part, (5) Knowledge-Based Part, and (6) Adaptation Part, Fig. 2) is configured to:
collect activation data and information flow patterns from nodes monitored by the supervisory node (The EFuNN system was explained so far with the use of one rule node activation (the winning rule node for the current input data) (pg. 906, right col., last para.); Fig. 5(b) shows how the center … of the rule node adjusts (after learning each new data point) to its new positions … when one pass learning is applied. Fig. 5(c) shows how the rule node position would move to new positions …, … and if another pass of learning was applied, pg. 906, left col., third para.);
perform statistical and spatiotemporal analysis on the collected data (EFuNNs can learn spatial-temporal sequences in an adaptive way through one pass learning and automatically adapt their parameter values as they operate (abstract); As a statistical model the EFuNN performs clustering of the input space, pg. 915, left col., second to the last para.); and
make decisions regarding a plurality of architectural modifications based on the statistical and spatiotemporal analysis (The ratio spatial-similarity/temporal-correlation can be balanced for different applications through two parameters and Ss and Tc (pg. 906, right col., second para.); EFuNNs allow for meaningful rules to be extracted and inserted at any time of the operation of the system thus providing the knowledge about the problem and reflecting changes in its dynamics. In this respect, the EFuNN is a flexible, online, knowledge engineering and statistical model, pg. 915, left col., second to the last para.);
maintain spatiotemporal maps that continuously track activation patterns of neurons in the core neural network (As EFuNN allows for continuous training on new data, further testing and also training of the EFuNN on the test data in an online mode leads to a significant improvement of the accuracy, pg. 916, left col., second para.) using adaptive kernel functions, wherein the maps are updated in real-time (a slightly modified version of the algorithms described below is applied, mainly in terms of measuring Euclidean distance and using Gaussian activation functions (pg. 904, right col., second para.); incremental learning on all data is possible (in many cases of what time series prediction it is) EFuNNs should be continuously evolved in an adaptive, life-long learning mode, always improving their performance, pg. 911, right col., second para.);
determine optimal placement of new neurons using geometric optimization that considers network topology (In terms of online neuron allocation, the EFuNN model is similar to the resource allocating network (RAN) … The RAN model allocates a new neuron for a new input example if the input vector is not close in the input space to any of the already allocated radial basis neurons (centers), pg. 902, right col., last para.), information density distribution (calculating in an online mode the histogram of each variable and placing the centers of its MFs (membership functions) at the middle of the areas that are of highest density, pg. 910, left col., second para.), and connectivity patterns (After a certain time (when a certain number of examples have been presented) some neurons and connections may be pruned or aggregated, pg. 907, left col., third para.);
manage real-time integration of new neurons during inference operations while maintaining operational continuity (At any time (phase) of the evolving (learning) process, fuzzy or exact rules can be inserted and extracted. Insertion of fuzzy rules is achieved through setting a new rule node for each new rule, such that the connection weights and of the rule node represent this rule, pg. 908, left col., last para.);
implement the plurality of architectural modifications decided by the hierarchical supervisory network (Adaptation can be achieved through the analysis of the behavior of the system or through a feedback connection from higher level modules in the ECOS architecture, pg. 915, left col., first para.);
execute neurogenesis operations through controlled connection establishment (New connections and new neurons are created during the operation of the system, abstract);
manage gradual activation of new neurons while maintaining network stability (a weighted sum input function and a saturated linear activation function is used for the neurons to calculate the membership degrees to which the output vector associated with the presented input vector belongs to each of the output MFs (membership functions), pg. 904, right col., first para.);
allocate codewords to input data, wherein codewords are mapped to entries in a dynamically maintained codebook (The LVQ model has the following parameter values: 396 codebook vectors and 500 training iterations on the whole training set (pg. 916, left col., first para.); … input vector is propagated through the EFuNN, pg. 908, left col., fourth para.);
Kasabov does not explicitly teach comprising a hardware memory, wherein the computer system is configured to execute software instructions stored on nontransitory machine-readable storage media that: detect processing bottlenecks in information flow between layers of the core neural network using information theory metrics including entropy rate calculations and channel capacity estimations; fuse codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations; and provide the unified codeword representations to the core neural network for processing.
Shrivastava teaches a computer system comprising a hardware memory, wherein the computer system is configured to execute software instructions stored on nontransitory machine-readable storage media that (The processes and logic flows described in this specification can be performed by one or more programmable processors executing one or more computer programs to perform actions by operating on input data and generating output. The processes and logic flows can also be performed by, and apparatus can also be implemented as, special purpose logic circuitry, e.g., an FPGA (field programmable gate array) or an ASIC (application-specific integrated circuit) [0090]; Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a processor for performing actions in accordance with instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data [0091]):
detect processing bottlenecks in information flow between layers of the core neural network (The described approach includes identifying the features layer as a bottleneck, where the target objective encourages information flow [0034]) using information theory metrics including entropy rate calculations (In some implementations, generating the intermediate representation 135 includes applying an entropy term to the loss function L to obtain an augmented loss function. The intermediate representation 135 can be generated by using the augmented loss function to compute features at the bottleneck layer of the neural network [0049]) and channel capacity estimations (In case of bottlenecks with a spatial configuration, system 100 is configured such that spatial elements within a same channel have the same distribution (e.g., parameters of the density model were shared across space [0058]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kasabov to incorporate the teachings of Shrivastava for the benefit of identifying the features layer as a bottleneck, where the target objective encourages information flow (Shrivastava [0034])
Modified Kasabov does not explicitly teach fuse codewords of dissimilar data types into unified codeword representations; and provide the unified codeword representations to the core neural network for processing.
Guo teaches fuse codewords of dissimilar data types (In Fig. 5, z which is an output from speech signals s node is fused with P which is an output from text sequence t node, pg. 1815. The Examiner notes that z is fused with p, z and p are dissimilar datatypes) into unified codeword representations (In Fig. 5, codebook C from speech signal s node is received by text sequence; This model is first trained to minimize the loss function Lmsmc, and then provides MSMCR Z and codebook group C for synthesis and prediction, pg. 1815, left col., last para.); and
provide the unified codeword representations to the core neural network for processing (The output sequence is also processed by another neural network based module X for prediction, pg. 1814, right col., last para.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Modified Kasabov to incorporate the teachings of Guo for the benefit of using VQ-VAE (Vector-Quantized Variational AutoEncoder) which aims to learn a discrete latent representation from target data with an encoder-decoder model (pg. 1812, right col., section A. Vector Quantized Variational AutoEncoder)
Regarding claim 4, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Shrivastava teaches wherein detecting processing bottlenecks (The described approach includes identifying the features layer as a bottleneck, where the target objective encourages information flow [0034]) comprises calculation of local entropy rates for constraint identification (In some implementations, generating the intermediate representation 135 includes applying an entropy term to the loss function L to obtain an augmented loss function. The intermediate representation 135 can be generated by using the augmented loss function to compute features at the bottleneck layer of the neural network [0049]) alongside channel capacity estimation (In case of bottlenecks with a spatial configuration, system 100 is configured such that spatial elements within a same channel have the same distribution (e.g., parameters of the density model were shared across space [0058]) for regional saturation detection, using dynamic thresholds that adapt based on network state and performance requirements (using an adaptive probabilistic approach [0084]; the prediction performance can be improved by increasing the number of possible states …For example, when the number of possible states in {circumflex over (z)} is reduced (e.g., by scaling down the outputs of f1), the bit rate R can be reduced [0049]. The number of possible states is the threshold).
The same motivation to combine independent claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 5, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the geometric optimization for new neuron placement employs a comprehensive analysis incorporating local network topology (In terms of online neuron allocation, the EFuNN model is similar to the resource allocating network (RAN) … The RAN model allocates a new neuron for a new input example if the input vector is not close in the input space to any of the already allocated radial basis neurons (centers), pg. 902, right col., last para.), information density distribution (calculating in an online mode the histogram of each variable and placing the centers of its MFs (membership functions) at the middle of the areas that are of highest density, pg. 910, left col., second para.), existing connectivity patterns (After a certain time (when a certain number of examples have been presented) some neurons and connections may be pruned or aggregated, pg. 907, left col., third para.), and
activity gradient fields in a unified optimization framework (centers will be adapted to minimize the error for the example through a gradient descent algorithm. In terms of adaptive optimization of many individual linear units, EFuNN is close to the receptive field weight regression (RFWR) model).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the software instructions further: implement connection cloning that copies connection patterns from parent neurons with controlled mutations to the copied patterns; establish adaptive random connections with short-time-scale plasticity (Adaptation can be achieved through the analysis of the behavior of the system or through a feedback connection from higher level modules in the ECOS architecture, pg. 914, left col., first para.): and
compute connectivity patterns between neurons based on information flow analysis (The learned temporal associations can be used to support the activation of rule nodes based on temporal pattern similarity. Here, temporal dependencies are learned through establishing structural links, pg. 906, right col., second para.).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Guo teaches wherein the core neural network is a latent transformer model (VQ-VAE aims to learn a discrete latent representation from target data with an encoder-decoder model (pg. 1812, right col., last para.); MSMC-VQ-VAE is implemented based on Feed-Forward Transformer in FastSpeech, pg. 1816, right col., third para.).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the subsystem comprises software instructions further: integrate error detection and recovery mechanisms that continuously monitor network stability during neurogenesis while implementing rollback procedures (If the chosen error threshold E was smaller (e.g., 0.05 or 0.02) more rule nodes would have been evolved and better prediction accuracy could have been achieved (pg. 911, left col., third para.); After a certain time (when a certain number of examples have been presented) some neurons and connections may be pruned or aggregated, pg. 907, left col., third para.); and
ensure performance improvements through systematic modification evaluation (Both changing the number and the shape of MFs may be needed for a better performance of an EFuNN, pg. 910, left col., second para.).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the low-level supervisory nodes (2) Representation (Memory) Part Where Information (Patterns) are Stored, pg. 903, left col., third para., Fig. 2) are configured to initiate fine-grained neurogenesis operations for individual neurons or small clusters (It is a multimodular, evolving structure of NNMs organized in groups. This is the most important part of ECOS. One realization of a NNM is the EFuNN, presented in the next section (pg. 903, left col., fourth para.); multimodular structures where many neural network modules (NNM) are connected with interconnections and intraconnections, pg. 903, left col., third para.).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the mid-level supervisory nodes ((5) Knowledge-Based Part:, 903, right col., Fig. 2) are configured to coordinate neurogenesis operations across local regions of the network (Another knowledge-based technique applied to EFuNNs is rule node aggregation. Through this technique several rule nodes are merged into one as it is shown in Fig. 7(a)–(c) on an example of three rule nodes , and (only the input space is shown there), pg. 908, right col., section D. Rule Node Aggregation and Membership Function Modification).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the high-level supervisory nodes ((6) Adaptation Part:, 903, right col., Fig. 2) are configured to manage global resource allocation for neurogenesis operations (EFuNNs are adaptive rule-based systems. Manipulating rules is essential for their operation. This includes rule insertion, rule extraction, and rule adaptation, pg. 908, left col., last para.).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Kasabov teaches wherein the supervisory nodes at different levels ((2) Representation (Memory) Part, (5) Knowledge-Based Part, and (6) Adaptation Part, Fig. 2) coordinate neurogenesis decisions through information exchange about resource availability and network capacity (EFuNNs deal with the process of interactive, online adaptive learning of a single system that evolves from incoming data or through interaction with the environment. The system can either have its parameters (genes) predefined or self-adjusted during the learning process starting from some initial values, pg. 916, left col., second to the last para.).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is similar to claim 1. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying. Further, Kasabov teaches computer-implemented method (The EFuNN (evolving fuzzy neural networks) methods and the ECOS (evolving connectionist systems) can be implemented in software and/or in hardware with the use of either conventional or new computational techniques … This includes (1) computer systems that learn speech and language, pg. 916, right col., last para.) for adapting neural network architecture in real-time time series forecasting (The example here demonstrates that an EFuNN can learn a complex chaotic function online evolving from one-pass data propagation. But the real strength of the EFuNNs is in learning time series that change their dynamics through time, e.g., changing values for the parameter, pg. 911, left col., fourth para.),
comprising the steps of: maintaining a core neural network (Fig. 3. Evolving fuzzy neural network EFuNN, pg. 904) comprising a plurality of interconnected neurons arranged in layers (EFuNNs have a five-layer structure, pg. 903, right col., last para.),
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is similar to claim 4. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar to claim 5. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 18, Modified Kasabov teaches the method of claim 13, Kasabov teaches wherein implementing the step of executing neurogenesis operations comprises a flexible connection strategy system combining connection cloning with controlled mutation from parent neurons (The supervised learning in EFuNN is based on the above explained principles, so when a new data example is presented, the EFuNN either creates a new rule node to memorize the two input and output fuzzy vectors and or adjusts the winning rule node (or rule nodes, respectively). After a certain time (when a certain number of examples have been presented) some neurons and connections may be pruned or aggregated, pg. 907, left col., second para.),
adaptive random connections with short-time-scale plasticity, and computed connectivity based on information flow analysis (EFuNNs deal with the process of interactive, online adaptive learning of a single system that evolves from incoming data or through interaction with the environment. The system can either have its parameters (genes) predefined or self-adjusted during the learning process starting from some initial values, pg. 916, left col., second to the last para.).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is similar to claim 7. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is similar to claim 8. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similar to claim 9. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is similar to claim 10. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is similar to claim 11. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 24, Modified Kasabov teaches the method of claim 13, Kasabov teaches wherein the step of implementing a second plurality of architectural modifications determining architectural modifications (Another knowledge-based technique applied to EFuNNs is rule node aggregation … Through this technique several rule nodes are merged into one as it is shown in Fig. 7(a)–(c) on an example of three rule nodes , and (only the input space is shown there), pg. 908, right col., section D. Rule Node Aggregation and Membership Function Modification) comprises coordinating neurogenesis decisions through information exchange about resource availability and network capacity across different levels of the hierarchical supervisory network (Through node creation and consecutive aggregation, an EFuNN system can adjust over time to changes in the data stream and at the same time preserve its generalization capabilities, pg. 909, right col., second to the last para.).
5. Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kasabov ("Evolving fuzzy neural networks for supervised/unsupervised online knowledge-based learning," in IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics, Part B (Cybernetics), vol. 31, no. 6, pp. 902-918, Dec. 2001, doi: 10.1109/3477.969494) in view of Shrivastava et al. (US20200311548) in view of Guo et al. ("MSMC-TTS: Multi-stage multi-codebook VQ-VAE based neural TTS." IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing 31 (2023): 1811-1824) and further in view of Meng et al. ("Parameterization of point-cloud freeform surfaces using adaptive sequential learning RBF networks." Pattern Recognition 46.8 (2013): 2361-2375)
Regarding claim 2, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Modified Kasabovdoes not explicitly teach wherein the maintenance of spatiotemporal maps comprises using topology- aware distance metrics that account for both structural and functional relationships between neurons.
Meng teaches wherein the maintenance of spatiotemporal maps comprises using topology- aware distance metrics that account for both structural and functional relationships between neurons (This criterion aims to ensure that neurons are inserted at a distance of at least DK from each other, so as to guarantee a well spread and balanced neuron distribution in the network space, pg. 2364, right col., first full para. The Examiner notes that the activity map is maintained in the network space using distance).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Modified Kasabov to incorporate the teaching of Meng for the benefit of a neural network which solves the problem of point-cloud surface parameterization, it employs a dynamic structure through adaptive learning, allows Gaussian neurons to be fitted according to the novelty of inputs, while also being fully adjustable on their locations, widths and weights and achieved a high compression ratio and a comparable level of accuracy (Meng, conclusion)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is similar to claim 2. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
6. Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kasabov ("Evolving fuzzy neural networks for supervised/unsupervised online knowledge-based learning," in IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics, Part B (Cybernetics), vol. 31, no. 6, pp. 902-918, Dec. 2001, doi: 10.1109/3477.969494) in view of Shrivastava et al. (US20200311548) in view of Guo et al. ("MSMC-TTS: Multi-stage multi-codebook VQ-VAE based neural TTS." IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing 31 (2023): 1811-1824) and further in view of Eddahech et al. (“Hierarchical neural networks based prediction and control of dynamic reconfiguration for multilevel embedded systems”, Journal of Systems Architecture, Volume 59, issue 1, 2013, pages 48-59)
Regarding claim 3, Modified Kasabov teaches the computer system of claim 1, Modified Kasabov does not explicitly teach wherein the statistical and spatiotemporal analysis comprises simultaneous monitoring of multiple time scales together with gradient field computation for tracking information movement and velocity field analysis that combines structural weights with functional activations.
Eddahech teaches wherein the statistical and spatiotemporal analysis comprises simultaneous monitoring of multiple time scales together with gradient field computation for tracking information movement and velocity field analysis that combines structural weights with functional activations (The number of neurons in the hidden layer and activation functions may also be modified to fit the training data more accurately (pg. 58, left col., last para.); The network weights,
, are updated using the following gradient descent rules: (pg. 50, right col., second para.); the prediction window and the transfer function are the following; Number of inputs neurons: 5, Number of Hidden neurons: 7, Prediction window: 3, Training algorithm: error back propagation training rule, The network transfer function is a sigmoid function, expressed as:, pg. 51, left col., third para.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Modified Kasabov to incorporate the teaching of Eddahech for the benefit of using a reconfigurable architectures are more efficiently and dynamic allocation which shows many advantages such as performance improvement as well as energy saving (Eddahech, pg. 48, right col., second to the last para.)
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is similar to claim 3. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Conclusion
/M.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148