DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 20, in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the wall” in the last line. The claim previously introduced “walls” (plural), such that the limitation directed to the singular wall is unclear as to which wall is being referenced.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the flaps” in the first line. Claim 1 introduced “one or more flaps” (singular or plural flaps), such that the limitation in claim 10 is unclear as to whether it requires plural flaps and, if so, if the subsequent limitation refers to all of the plural flaps or some, or if intends to refer to the one or more flaps.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein forming the shell and/or the specialized feature comprises applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition,” which is unclear as to the encompassed step of forming “the shell” by applying “the polymeric thermoformable material” over a mold. Claim 10 introduced that “the polymeric thermoformable material” made up the material of the flaps/specialized feature but the claims have not required that the shell and the specialized feature are formed of the same material or that the shell is formed of the polymeric thermoformable material. As such, forming “the shell” by applying “the polymeric thermoformable material (of the flaps)” over a mold is unclear.
The indicated dependent claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kopelman, US 20150216627 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kopelman discloses a method of forming a dental appliance (orthodontic appliance, Abstract; fabricating the appliance, [0168]), the method comprising:
Forming a shell (shell, [0084]-[0085], shell is fabricated, [0170]) to have one or more cavities that are configured to receive a patient’s dentition (having a plurality of cavities shaped to receive teeth, [0085]), wherein the shell is configured to reposition one or more teeth of the patient’s dentition toward a new configuration (the shell being configured to exert appropriate forces on the teeth in order to achieve desired positioning of teeth, [0084]); and
Folding one or more flaps of material (discontinuities 1008 defining a flap surrounding a protrusion on each side of the appliance, [0142], Figs. 10A-10B, 10G, the flaps/protrusions being deflected outwards and folded, Fig. 10B) to form a specialized feature of the dental appliance (discontinuities, [0110], [0142], forming the discontinuities during or after fabrication of the shell, [0170]), the specialized feature configured to impart one or more specialized forces to one or more specific locations of the patient’s dentition or dental arch (the discontinuities being used to control forces applied to a patient’s teeth, [0110], [0142]).
Regarding claim 2, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein folding the one or more flaps of material creates a thicker portion of the dental appliance corresponding to the specialized feature (the folded region being relatively thicker than other areas of the shell due to the layers of the folds, Fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 3, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the dental appliance has an arch shape (the shell generally having an arch shape, Fig. 1A) with the one or more cavities formed along the arch shape (Fig. 1A), wherein the one or more flaps are folded over at least a portion of the arch shape (being located/folded at a tooth area, Figs. 10A-10B, and thus being folded over at least a portion of the arch shape).
Regarding claim 4, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more flaps of material includes a first flap (right or left side of folded material at 1002 in Fig. 10B) and a second flap (other of right or left side of folded material at 1002 in Fig. 10B), wherein the first flap is folded over the second flap to form the specialized feature (Fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 5, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the shell includes a plurality of cavities that are configured to receive a plurality of teeth of the patient’s dentition (Fig. 1A, [0085]), wherein the specialized feature reinforces one or more of the plurality of cavities (Fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 6, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the shell includes walls that define the one or more cavities (walls defining cavities that receive teeth, Figs. 1A, 10B), wherein the specialized feature reinforces at least a portion of the wall (Fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 9, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specialized feature includes multiple layers of the material of the one or more flaps (layers of right and left side of fold at region 1002, Fig. 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman, US 20150216627 A1, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1. In the referenced embodiment, Kopelman does not specifically disclose the specialized feature corresponds to a palate expansion structure that is configured to expand the patient’s dental arch.
Kopelman further discloses that specialized features can correspond to palate expansion structures configured to expand the patient’s dental arch for orthodontic repositioning (can be applied to space expansions in the upper dental arch, [0127]) and repositioning achieved by such devices can be selected based on where palatal expansion is desirable ([0106]). Kopelman teaches that space expansion can be beneficial for various dental procedures, such as for implants or treatment of impacted teeth ([0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kopelman such that the specialized feature corresponded to a palate expansion structure configured to expand the patient’s dental arch so that it could be applied to achieve space expansions in the upper dental arch for suitable dental procedures and/or treatments as taught by Kopelman.
Regarding claim 8, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1. In the referenced embodiment, Kopelman is silent as to the one or more flaps including one or more folding features that are configured to facilitate bending of the one or more flaps, wherein the one or more folding features correspond to one or more thinned or scored portions of the one or more flaps.
Kopelman further teaches the inclusion of biasing features such as partially penetrating grooves or engraved lines used in combination with discontinuities such as flaps in order to improve control over the deformation of the appliance by the formation of these structures defining specific locations where desired deformation, such as bending, should occur ([0166]-[0167]). Kopelman teaches such features increase the local compliance of the material to reduce its resistance to deformation at the specified locations and cause it to preferentially deform at those locations when appropriate forces are applied ([0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specialized feature of Kopelman to include one or more folding features that are configured to facilitate bending of the one or more flaps, wherein the one or more folding features correspond to one or more thinned or scored portions of the one or more flaps in order to define specific locations where desired deformations such as bending are intended to occur so as to modulate the deformation when appropriate forces are applied, as taught by Kopelman.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman, US 20150216627 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Phan et al., US 6572372 B1, provided in Applicant’s IDS.
Regarding claim 10, Kopelman discloses the method of claim 1. Kopelman discloses the material of the shell being polymeric material ([0104]) and the specialized feature/flaps being formed as part of the shell ([0110], [0142]), i.e., of the same material. Kopelman does not specifically disclose the material is thermoformable.
In the analogous art of dental appliances for orthodontic treatments (Abstract), Phan discloses that such polymeric positioning appliances are typically made from thermoformable polymer materials (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 10). Phan discloses that such materials can be thermoformed over a dental mold to form the appliance (col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the polymeric material of the flaps of Kopelman was thermoformable such that the appliance could be easily shaped by thermoforming over a dental mold as taught by Phan. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has been shown to support a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kopelman discloses the method of claim 10, wherein forming the specialized feature comprises heating, applying pressure, and/or applying vacuum to the polymeric thermoformable material (Kopelman: at least applying pressure to generate the movement and fold of the flaps, Figs. 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kopelman discloses the method of claim 10. Kopelman discloses the appliance can be fabricated based on positive or negative models of the patient’s teeth generated by impression, scanning, and the like ([0104]). Kopelman is silent as to forming the shell and/or the specialized feature comprising applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition.
Phan as applied above further discloses forming a shell and corresponding specialized features by applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition (col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 17). Phan illustrates that forming over a dental mold was a known technique for making personalized dental appliances.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify that the shell and/or the specialized feature in Kopelman was formed by applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition since Kopelman discloses the appliance being fabricated based on a model of the patient’s teeth and Phan teaches that molding the polymeric thermoformable over a model of the patient’s dentition in the form of a dental mold was a known technique for forming personalized polymeric dental appliances.
Regarding claim 20, Kopelman discloses a method of forming a dental appliance (orthodontic appliance, Abstract; fabricating the appliance, [0168]), the method comprising:
Forming a shell (shell, [0084]-[0085], shell is fabricated, [0170]) to have one or more cavities that are configured to receive a patient’s dentition (having a plurality of cavities shaped to receive teeth, [0085]), wherein the shell is configured to reposition one or more teeth of the patient’s dentition toward a new configuration (the shell being configured to exert appropriate forces on the teeth in order to achieve desired positioning of teeth, [0084]); and
Folding one or more flaps (discontinuities 1008 defining a flap surrounding a protrusion on each side of the appliance, [0142], Figs. 10A-10B, 10G, the flaps/protrusions being deflected outwards and folded, Fig. 10B) of polymeric material (the shell being polymeric material ([0104]) and the specialized feature/flaps being formed as part of the shell ([0110], [0142]), i.e., of the same material) to form a specialized feature of the dental appliance (discontinuities, [0110], [0142], forming the discontinuities during or after fabrication of the shell, [0170]), the specialized feature configured to impart one or more specialized forces to one or more specific locations of the patient’s dentition or dental arch (the discontinuities being used to control forces applied to a patient’s teeth, [0110], [0142]), wherein forming the specialized feature comprises heating, applying pressure, and/or vacuum to the polymeric material (at least applying pressure to generate the movement and fold of the flaps, Figs. 10A-10B).
Kopelman does not specifically disclose the polymeric material is thermoformable.
In the analogous art of dental appliances for orthodontic treatments (Abstract), Phan discloses that such polymeric positioning appliances are typically made from thermoformable polymer materials (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 10). Phan discloses that such materials can be thermoformed over a dental mold to form the appliance (col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the polymeric material of the flaps of Kopelman was thermoformable such that the appliance could be easily shaped by thermoforming over a dental mold as taught by Phan. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has been shown to support a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10150244 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 1, reference claims 1 and 11 recite a method of forming a dental appliance (preamble), comprising forming a shell to have one or more cavities that are configured to receive a patient’s dentition, wherein the shell is configured to reposition one or more teeth of the patient’s dentition toward a new configuration (forming a shell having a number of tooth apertures configured to receive and reposition a number of teeth of a patient); and folding one or more flaps of material to form a specialized feature of the dental appliance (claim 1: the shell having a number of specialized components formed from folding multiple sections of a first sheet of material over each other; claim 11: folding multiple sections of the first sheet of material over each other to form one or more specialized features). The reference claims do not explicitly recite the specialized feature is configured to impart one or more specialized forces to one or more specific locations of the patient’s dentition or dental arch; however, the reference claims recite that the specialized feature is part of the shell that is configured to reposition teeth such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the specialized feature(s) is/are intended to impart specialized forces to the patient’s dentition and/or dental arch in order to achieve said repositioning.
Regarding instant claim 2, reference claim 11 includes that folding the one or more flaps creates a thicker portion corresponding to the specialized feature (folding to form the one or more specialized features having a thickness that is thicker).
Regarding instant claim 4, reference claims 1-2 and 11-12 read on the one or more flaps including a first flap and a second flap, wherein the first flap is folded over the second flap to form the specialized feature (folding sections of the first sheet of material over each other, bending a portion of the first sheet of material over itself to form first and second folded layers of material).
Regarding instant claim 8, reference claim 3 reads on the one or more flaps including one or more folding features (score line) that are configured to facilitate bending of the one or more flaps (for facilitating the folding of the sheet), wherein the one or more folding features correspond to one or more thinned or scored portions of the one or more flaps (score line).
Regarding instant claim 9, reference claims 1-2 and 11-12 read on the specialized feature including multiple layers of the material of the one or more flaps (folding multiple sections of the first sheet of material over each other to form the specialized feature, bending a portion of the first sheet over itself to form first and second folded layers of material).
Claim(s) 3, 5-7, 10-12, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10150244 B2 in view of Phan et al., US 6572372 B1, provided in Applicant’s IDS.
Regarding instant claim 3, the reference claims do not specifically recite that the dental appliance has an arch shape with the one or more cavities formed along the arch shape, wherein the one or more flaps are folded over at least a portion of the arch shape. In the analogous art, Phan discloses a dental appliance having an arch shape (positioning appliance 10 having an arch shape, Fig. 1) with the one or more cavities formed along the arch shape (Fig. 1), wherein the one or more flaps are folded over at least a portion of the arch shape (Fig. 11, including a feature comprised of folded flaps of material over a portion of the arch). Phan evidences that an arch shape was typical for a dental appliance and the folded flaps of Fig. 11 form a spring 60 that can be used for transmitting repositioning force to one or more teeth (col. 10, lines 18-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the dental appliance has an arch shape with the one or more cavities formed along the arch shape, wherein the one or more flaps are folded over at least a portion of the arch shape, in order to form a conventional dental appliance shape for fitting over the upper or lower teeth of a person with the specialized feature configured to function as a spring as taught by Phan.
Regarding instant claim 5, reference claims 1 and 11 read on the shell including a plurality of cavities that are configured to receive a plurality of teeth of the patient’s dentition (the shell having a number of tooth apertures configured to receive a number of teeth of a patient). The reference claims do not specifically recite that the specialized feature reinforces one or more of the plurality of cavities. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses the specialized feature reinforces one or more of the plurality of cavities (Fig. 11, col. 10, lines 18-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further recite that the specialized feature reinforces one or more of the plurality of cavities so as to utilize the specialized feature as a spring for transmitting repositioning force to one or more teeth as taught by Phan.
Regarding instant claim 6, the reference claims do not specifically recite that the shell includes walls that define the one or more cavities and the specialized feature reinforces at least a portion of the wall. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses that the shell includes walls that define the one or more cavities (Figs. 1 and 11) and the specialized feature reinforces at least a portion of the wall (col. 10, lines 18-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the shell includes walls that define the one or more cavities and the specialized feature reinforces at least a portion of the wall, in order to configure the dental appliance shape for fitting closely over individual teeth and so as to utilize the specialized feature as a spring for transmitting repositioning force to one or more teeth as taught by Phan.
Regarding instant claim 7, the reference claims do not specifically recite that the specialized feature corresponds to a palate expansion feature that is configured to expand the patient’s dental arch. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses the specialized feature comprised of folded material corresponding to a palate expansion feature that is configured to expand the patient’s dental arch (Fig. 13, col. 10, lines 29-42). Phan teaches the configuration can provide additional support for the appliance and/or orthodontic functions (col. 10, lines 29-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the specialized feature corresponds to a palate expansion feature that is configured to expand the patient’s dental arch in order to provide additional support for the appliance and/or additional orthodontic functions as taught by Phan.
Regarding instant claim 10, reference claim 5 includes applying heat to transition the material to a formable state (i.e., thermoformable material) but the reference claims do not specifically recite that the material of the flaps comprises a polymeric thermoformable material. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses the use of polymeric thermoformable material for achieving transparency, improved cosmetic appearance, and substantial force and stiffness (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the thermoformable material was polymeric in order to achieve transparency, improved cosmetic appearance, and substantial force and stiffness as taught by Phan. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has been shown to support a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding instant claim 11, reference claims 1-16 read on forming the specialized feature comprising heating and/or applying pressure (folding/bending sections over each other, applying heat, imparting a force during/after bending, positioning against a template for forming).
Regarding instant claim 12, the reference claims do not specifically recite that forming the shell and/or the specialized feature comprises applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses forming the shell and/or the specialized feature comprises applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition (col. 10, lines 6-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify forming the shell and/or the specialized feature comprises applying the polymeric thermoformable material over a dental mold of the patient’s dentition as a known technique for predictably forming a shell and/or specialized feature of a personalized dental appliance as taught by Phan.
Regarding instant claim 20, reference claims 1-16 read on a method of forming a dental appliance (claims 1, 11: preamble), comprising forming a shell to have one or more cavities that are configured to receive a patient’s dentition, wherein the shell is configured to reposition one or more teeth of the patient’s dentition toward a new configuration (claims 1, 11: forming a shell having a number of tooth apertures configured to receive and reposition a number of teeth of a patient); and folding one or more flaps (claim 1: the shell having a number of specialized components formed from folding multiple sections of a first sheet of material over each other; claim 11: folding multiple sections of the first sheet of material over each other to form one or more specialized features) of thermoformable material (claim 5: sheet material that is formable via heating) to form a specialized feature of the dental appliance (claim 1: number of specialized components are formed from folding multiple sections of a first sheet of material over each other; claim 11: to form one or more specialized features), wherein forming the specialized feature comprises heating, applying pressure, and/or applying vacuum to the thermoformable material (claims 1-16: folding/bending sections over each other, applying heat, imparting a force during/after bending, positioning against a template for forming). The reference claims do not specifically recite the specialized feature is configured to impart one or more specialized forces to one or more specific locations of the patient’s dentition or dental arch; however, the reference claims recite that the specialized feature is part of the shell that is configured to reposition teeth such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the specialized feature(s) is/are intended to impart specialized forces to the patient’s dentition and/or dental arch in order to achieve said repositioning. The reference claims do not specifically recite that the material of the one or more flaps comprises a polymeric material. In the analogous art, Phan as applied above discloses the use of polymeric thermoformable material for achieving transparency, improved cosmetic appearance, and substantial force and stiffness (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the thermoformable material was polymeric in order to achieve transparency, improved cosmetic appearance, and substantial force and stiffness as taught by Phan. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has been shown to support a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170156823 A1, Roein Peikar et al. disclose techniques for forming dental appliance structures including cutting portions from a flat sheet of polymeric material and bending the structure into 3D shapes, optionally with application of heat.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754