DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image processor module” in claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “image processor module”, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minnigh et al (US 8,213,572 B2).
Regarding claims 1, Minnigh et al discloses a system to create a reconstructed long view image (long-length x-ray image) of a subject (See Abstract), comprising: an imager having a detector (40) configured to move from at least a first position to a second position to acquire a first image at a first position relative to a subject (12) and a second image data at the second position (See Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 38-55 and col. 5, lines 6-17); an image processor module configured to execute instructions to: determine an overlap region between the first image data and the second image data (col. 5, lines 18-35); reconstruct the long view image based at least in part on the overlap region (col. 6, lines 3-12); output the reconstructed long view image of the subject (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Minnigh et al discloses further comprising: an input system to receive an input regarding a portion of the subject to be imaged (col. 5, lines 36-42); and an imaging processor module (48) (i.e. control processor) configured to execute instructions to select at least the first position and the second position based on the input portion (col. 5, lines 6-17 and lines 18-35).
Regarding claim 3, Minnigh et al discloses wherein the imaging processor module is configured to execute further instructions to determine a motion profile to move the detector form the first position to the second position (See Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 38-55).
Regarding claim 4, Minnigh et al discloses wherein the input includes a length or number of vertebrae to be image (i.e. full-spine and full-leg exams) (col. 9, lines 48-49).
Regarding claims 12, Minnigh et al discloses a method to create a reconstructed long view image (long-length x-ray image) of a subject (See Abstract) with acquired image data, comprising: acquiring a first image data at a first position relative to a subject (12); acquiring a second image data at a second position relative to the subject (12) (See Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 38-55 and col. 5, lines 6-17); determining an overlap region between the first image data and the second image data (col. 5, lines 18-35); generating an intermediate image based on the determined overlap region (col. 6, lines 3-12); reconstructing the long view image based at least in part on the generated intermediate image (col. 6, lines 3-12); and outputting the reconstructed long view image of the subject (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Minnigh et al discloses further comprising: receiving an input regarding a portion of the subject to be imaged (col. 5, lines 36-42); and selecting at least the first position and the second position based on the input portion (col. 5, lines 6-17 and lines 18-35).
Regarding claim 20, Minnigh et al discloses further comprising: selecting a portion of the subject; and determining a motion profile to move the detector from the first position to the second position (See Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 38-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11, 14-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnigh et al (US 8,213,572 B2) in view of Jouhikainen et al (US 2016/0220207 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Minnigh et al discloses a collimator(26) (See Fig. 1) however Minnigh et al is silent with regards to filtering the beam of x-rays as claimed. Jouhikainen et al discloses panoramic imaging using a multi-spectral x-ray source comprising: filtering an emitted x-ray from the source (81) into at least a first x-ray beam portion (90) and a second x-ray beam portion (92); wherein each of acquired image data includes projections from each of first beam and second beam ([0056]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Minnigh et al so filter the x-ray beam as taught supra by Jouhikainen et al, so as to enable a plurality of projections of a subject in a linear path.
Regarding claims 6-7, Minnigh et al in view of Jouhikainen et al discloses wherein dividing the emitted x-rays from the source into at least the first x-ray beam portion (90) and the second x-ray beam portion (92) further comprises: passing the emitted x-rays through a slotted filter (112) to impinge on the image detector at least the first x-ray beam portion and the second x-ray beam portion at about 5 degrees from the first slot to 10 degrees relative to the second slot ([0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Minnigh et al in view of Jouhikainen et al discloses wherein filtering the emitted x-rays from the source into at least the first x-ray beam portion (90) and the second x-ray beam portion (92) further comprises: filtering the emitted x-rays into at least a third beam portion (97) and the first beam portion and the second beam portion; and passing the emitted x-rays through a slotted filter having at least a first slot, a second slot, and a third slot ([0056], [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Minnigh et al discloses wherein further comprising: a detector moving system configured to move the detector (40) along a path (50) relative to the subject from the first position to the second position; wherein a plurality of image data portions are operable to be collected at a plurality of intermediate positions between the first position and the second position (See Figs. 1, 2 and col. 4, lines 38-55 and col. 5, lines 6-17).
Regarding claim 10, Minnigh et al discloses wherein collecting the plurality of image data portions at the plurality of intermediate positions, further comprises: emitting x-rays from a source (20) (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Minnigh et al wherein the collimator (26) further includes a filter assembly configured to move the filter between first and second position (col. 5, lines 49-61).
Regarding claim 14, Minnigh et al discloses a collimator(26) (See Fig. 1) however, Minnigh et al is silent with regards to filtering the beam of x-rays as claimed. Jouhikainen et al discloses panoramic imaging using a multi-spectral x-ray source comprising: filtering an emitted x-ray from the source (81) into at least a first x-ray beam portion (90) and a second x-ray beam portion (92); wherein each of acquired image data includes projections from each of first beam and second beam ([0056]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Minnigh et al so filter the x-ray beam as taught supra by Jouhikainen et al, so as to enable a plurality of projections of a subject in a linear path.
Regarding claims 15-16, Minnigh et al in view of Jouhikainen et al discloses wherein providing the filter includes providing a filter with at least a first and second slot (slotted filter (112)); and wherein the first beam (90) of x-rays passes through the first slot and the second beam (92) of x-rays passes through the second slot; wherein the first slot is formed at an angle of about 5 degrees to about 10 degrees relative to the second slot ([0056], [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Minnigh et al in view of Jouhikainen et al discloses providing a filter with at least a first slot, a second slot, and a third slot; providing the first slot is formed at an angle of about 5 degrees to about 10 degrees relative to the second slot; and providing the third slot is formed at an angle of about 5 degrees to about 10 degrees, relative to the second slot ([0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Minnigh et al discloses further comprising: collecting a plurality of image data portions at a plurality of intermediate positions between the first position and the second position ([0056], [0058]).
Regarding claim 19, Minnigh et al discloses wherein the first image data, the second image data, and the plurality of image data portions are acquired based on emitting x-rays (90) from a source (paragraphs [0056], [0058]).
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884