DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,9,10,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUQUN et al. CA 3156558.
CLAIM 1
YUQUN et al. discloses an aircraft power battery (FIG. 1), wherein the aircraft power battery is provided at a bottom end of an aircraft (this would be a design choice since applicant has not disclosed that position of power supply solves any stated problem), and comprises: a housing (FIG. 16, CASE 11), an upper cover body (FIG. 16, COVER BODY 111), and a cooling bottom plate (FIG. 12, THERMAL CONDUCTIVE PLATE 132), wherein N separate compartments arranged in rows and columns are provided inside the housing ( FIG. 4, ARRANGED IN ROWS AND COLUMNS IN FIG. 3), and M battery management system (BMS) modules are further provided inside the housing( FIG. 16, BATTERY MANAGEMENT UNIT 15); a battery box is accommodated in each of the N separate compartments, the upper cover body is located above the housing (FIG. 16, portion 113 may also cover the entire outer surface of the cover body 111.In some embodiments, the insulating portion 113 may also be integrally formed with the cover body 111), and the cooling bottom plate is located at a bottom end of the housing (the cooling plate is provided below the battery cell 20); and
YUQUN et al. does not disclose the battery boxes in each of the rows or each of the columns of the N separate compartments are connected in series and then connected to one of the M BMS modules to form M battery paths, wherein all the M battery paths are connected in parallel and currents of the M battery paths are combined to supply power to the aircraft, wherein N is greater than M, N is an integer, N is greater than or equal to 2, M is the integer and M is greater than or equal to 1.
YUQUN et al. discloses battery management unit 15 and an electrical connection portion 151 is used for electrical connection with a plurality of battery cells to temperature or voltage signals of the battery cells 20.
Interconnecting batteries in series and parallel to provide a desired voltage level and current level is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have electrically connect the battery modules in series to adjust a voltage to a desired level and connect the series modules in parallel to supply the desired current level to a load or system.
CLAIM 9
YUQUN et al. discloses 9. the aircraft power battery according to claim 1, wherein the cooling bottom plate is provided with a water channel pipe arranged in a manner of a flow channel along a surface of the cooling bottom plate, a first end of the water channel pipe is provided (FIG.10, the thermal management component 13 may also be called a cooling component, a cooling system or a cooling plate, etc. The fluid accommodated by the thermal management component 13 may also be called a cooling medium or a cooling fluid, and more specifically, may be called a cooling liquid or a cooling gas, wherein the cooling medium may be designed to flow in a circulating manner to achieve better temperature adjustment effects. The cooling medium may specifically use water, a mixture of water and ethylene)
YUQUN et al. does not disclose a liquid inlet, and a second end of the water channel pipe is provided with a liquid outlet, and an external cooling liquid is connected to the liquid inlet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the proper liquid inlets and outlets to connect to an external liquid source if more colling was required.
CLAIM 10
YUQUN et al. discloses the claimed invention of claim 1.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to locate the aircraft battery on the aircraft since applicant has not disclosed the location of the aircraft battery solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well in any location on the aircraft.
CLAIM 11
An aircraft power battery integrated power supply method is rejected by the same rejection as the aircraft power battery rejection for claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8,12-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
January 27, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836