DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on 07/28/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered but are held unpersuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Summary of Arguments:
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues:
“(1) Rapaka Lacks of Teachings on Cross-Row CDF Table Propagation Rapaka describes Wavefront Parallel Processing (WPP) where a limited number of parallel processing cores (e.g., 4 cores) are utilized. Rapaka paragraph [0125] notes that when one of the 4 cores completes a row, it may transition to process a 5th CTB row. However, this disclosure relates strictly to a core circuits execution timeline or task scheduling order. Rapaka is entirely silent regarding any propagation logic for entropy coding models, such as cumulative distribution function (CDF) tables or arithmetic coding probability models. Rapaka's core concern in paragraph [0125] is determining and signaling a valid decoded region (CTB's) for picture prediction (e.g., Intra Block Copying) to ensure memory access validity for pixel data. Rapaka merely teaches that a core can pick up a new task when idle; it provides no instruction or architecture showing that the first superblock of a current row should dynamically capture, reference, or initialize its probability registers based on the CDF table generated by a specific row processed M lines prior (where M > 1).” [Remarks: Page 8]
“(2) Chaudhari Teaches 1D Continuous Pipeline Propagation, Not Multi-Core Cross-Row Handovers The Examiner relies on Chaudhari to bridge the gap regarding CDF updates. However, Chaudhari's dataflow is limited to a single continuous pipeline processing order. Chaudhari states: 'For example, CDF tables that are updated based on superblock N-1 (i.e., the CDF tables that were updated based on the superblock that is immediately prior to the current superblock in the partition processing order) may be used for encoding superblock N.' Chaudhari explicitly defines this sequence in Column 8: 'For example, the partition processing order is the order followed by processing sequentially the superblocks of a frame of video from top to bottom and from left to right...' Crucially, because Chaudhari follows a traditional, sequential 1D raster-scan order (from left to night, top to bottom), the block 'Immediately prior' to the first superblock of a given row under Chaudhari's order is inevitably the last superblock of the immediately preceding row. Chaudhari contains absolutely no teaching, suggestion, or structural layout for initializing the start of a new row using a CDF table from a row processed M rows prior (where M > 1). Chaudhari has no concept of an M-core parallel system where block boundaries cross multiple vertical tiers simultaneously.” [Remarks: Page 8-9]
“(3) The Combination of Rapaka and Chaudhari Cannot Yield the Claimed Invention If a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (PHOSITA) were to implement Chaudhari's CDF forwarding architecture into Rapaka's multi-core environment, the first superblock of the (M+1)-th row would look to the standard sequential coding order for its context. Under a normal sequential raster scan order, the block preceding the (M+1)-th row is the last block of the M-th row. In sharp contrast, claim 1 explicitly requires that the first superblock of the (M+1)-th row uses the CDF table generated by the last superblock of the first row of superblocks. In a system where M > 1 (e.g., M=3 or M=4), the first row and the M-th row are separated by multiple intervening rows. Neither Rapaka nor Chaudhari teaches or suggests a data path that retains, tracks, or routes the CDF table over a vertical distance of M rows to initialize a newly scheduled core. Because the specific cross-row dataflow logic mapped out in claim 1 is entirely missing from both cited references, the combination fails to render the claimed invention obvious. Withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 is respectfully requested.” [Remarks: Page 9-10]
Regarding claims 2-15, the Applicant argues:
“Claims 2-8 are dependent upon claim 1, and should be allowed if claim 1 is found allowable.” [Remarks: Page 10]
“In light of the above arguments of claim 1, the applicant believes that claim 9 should be found allowable over the cited references. Withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 is respectfully requested.” [Remarks: Page 10]
“Claims 10-15 are dependent upon claim 9, and should be allowed if claim 9 is found allowable.” [Remarks: Page 10]
Examiner’s Response:
Regarding claim 1, the Examiner contends:
The argument fails because it improperly attacks Rapaka in isolation (MPEP § 2145; In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981)). The Examiner did not rely on Rapaka for updating or propagating cumulative distribution function (CDF) tables; rather, the Examiner explicitly cited Chaudhari for updating the CDF table during the encoding process of each superblock and utilizing the updated table for subsequent encoding. Non-obviousness cannot be established by attacking references individually when the rejection is based on the combination of teachings. Furthermore, Rapaka explicitly contemplates entropy context propagation in wavefront parallel processing (WPP), teaching that CABAC probabilities are propagated across rows (e.g., from the second CTU of the previous row) and that a core completing one of the initial rows transitions to process a subsequent row (e.g., the 5th CTU row) while predicting from regions decoded from the previous rows.
The argument fails because it attacks Chaudhari in isolation for lacking a multi-core parallel architecture and vertical tier management, features that were already provided by Rapaka. Chaudhari was cited for its teaching of dynamic CDF table adaptation, wherein the CDF table updated from the completed partition immediately prior in the processing order is utilized to encode the next partition (Chaudhari, Col. 8, ll. 55–65; Col. 9, ll. 46–50). In Rapaka’s multi-core allocation, each individual core processes tasks in a dedicated sequence: Core 1 encodes Row 1, and upon completion of Row 1, Core 1 transitions to encode Row (M+1). Within Core 1’s execution pipeline, the superblock completed immediately prior to the first superblock of Row (M+1) is precisely the last superblock of Row 1. Applying Chaudhari’s principle to Core 1's workload pipeline directly results in Core 1 using the CDF table updated from the last superblock of Row 1 to encode the first superblock of Row (M+1). Moreover, Chaudhari is not limited to strict 1D raster scanning, as it explicitly teaches using CDF tables and rate statistics derived from partitions located on rows above the current partition (Chaudhari, Col. 9, ll. 8–20).
The argument fails because it rests on a flawed premise regarding how parallel execution operates in Rapaka. In Rapaka’s multi-core system, rows 1 through M are encoded concurrently in parallel across M separate cores. Because Core 1 finishes Row 1 while other cores are still actively encoding their respective rows (such as Row M), the last superblock of Row M has not completed encoding and is unavailable to Core 1 when it begins Row (M+1). Thus, Core 1 would not look to the last block of Row M for context. Instead, retaining and referencing the CDF table generated by the last block of Row 1 inside Core 1 when Core 1 begins Row (M+1) requires no complex “routing over vertical distance”; it is the natural consequence of Core 1 retaining its local register state between sequentially assigned tasks (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)). Combining Chaudhari’s CDF update mechanism with Rapaka’s task-reallocated cores represents a predictable application of known elements to maintain context probabilities while maximizing parallel hardware throughput.
Regarding claims 2-15, the Examiner contends:
The rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained, claims 2-8 remain unpatentable.
Applicant offered no independent patentability arguments for claim 9 and relied entirely on the arguments presented for claim 1. Because those arguments fail to overcome the combination of Rapaka and Chaudhari, claim 9 is likewise unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
See arguments above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al., hereinafter referred to as Rapaka (US 2016/0105682 A1) in view of Chaudhari et al., hereinafter referred to as Chaudhari (US 11,582,443 B1).
As per claim 1, Rapaka discloses an encoder (Rapaka: Abstract.), comprising:
M core circuits, configured to encode a first row of superblocks to a M-th row of superblocks of an image frame (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses “in most multi-core systems, it is typical that only limited number of parallel processing cores [claimed M core circuits] are used (e.g., 4). In this scenario, only 4 CTB rows [claimed first row of superblocks to a M-th row of superblocks] are processed in parallel”.), where M is a positive integer greater than 1 (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses parallel processing cores (e.g 4) [claimed positive integer greater than 1].); and
further configured to encode a (M+1)-th row of superblocks to a (2*M)-th row of superblocks of the image frame (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses a 5th CTB row [claimed (M+1)-th row] is processed after completion of one of the above 4 CTB rows and up to 17 CTB rows can be processed in parallel (i.e., includes encoding to a (2*M)-th row of superblocks of the image frame).), (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses a core circuit moving to the (M+1)-th row after completing its processing of the first row [i.e., includes using a last superblock of the first row of superblocks to encode a first superblock of the (M+1)-th row of superblocks].).
However, Rapaka does not explicitly disclose “… and to update a cumulative distribution function (CDF) table correspondingly during an encoding process of each superblock … and to update the CDF table correspondingly during the encoding process of each superblock, wherein a first core circuit of the M core circuits uses the CDF table generated during the encoding process …”.
Further, Chaudhari is in the same field of endeavor and teaches to update the CDF table correspondingly during the encoding process of each superblock, wherein a first core circuit of the M core circuits uses the CDF table generated during the encoding process (Chaudhari: Col 9, ll. 46-50 disclose “For example, CDF tables that are updated based on superblock N-1 (i.e., the CDF tables that were updated based on the superblock that is immediately prior to the current superblock in the partition processing order) may be used for encoding superblock N”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Rapaka and Chaudhari before him or her, to modify the encoding system of Rapaka to include the updating CDF table feature as described in Chaudhari. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve hardware architecture and techniques in video coding by providing a configuration that maintains contextual probabilities while maximizing parallel hardware utilization and pipelining throughput.
As per claim 2, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 1, wherein the M core circuits are configured to encode the first row of superblocks to the M-th row of superblocks of the image frame in parallel, and to encode the (M+1)-th row of superblocks to the (2*M)-th row of superblocks of the image frame in parallel (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses the M core circuits moving to the (M+1)-th row after completing processing of the first row and up to 17 CTB rows can be processed in parallel (i.e., includes encoding to a (2*M)-th row of superblocks of the image frame).).
As per claim 3, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 1, wherein the M core circuits use multiple CDF tables generated during the encoding process of the last superblocks in the first row of superblocks to the M-th row of superblocks, to encode the first superblock of the (M+1)-th row of superblocks to the (2*M)-th row of superblocks, respectively (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses the subsequent rows predict from the regions that are already decoded from the previous rows and Chaudhari: Col 9, ll. 46-50 disclose that the data used for this encoding process are the CDF tables.).
As per claim 4, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 3, wherein the M core circuits use an initial CDF table to encode the first superblocks of the first row of superblocks to the M-th row of superblocks (Rapaka: Para. [0094] discloses starting the WPP processing at the beginning of the picture and Chaudhari: Col 6, ll. 28-29 disclose that the CDF tables are updated symbol-to-symbol, meaning the very first blocks processed utilize the initial, un-updated CDF tables.).
As per claim 5, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 3, wherein a second core circuit to the M-th core circuit of the M core circuits use the CDF tables generated during the encoding process of second superblocks in the first row of superblocks to the (M-1)-th row of superblocks, to encode the first superblock of the second row of superblocks to the M-th row of superblocks, respectively (Rapaka Paras. [0093], [0095] disclose under WPP, probabilities are propagated from the second CTU of the previous row to begin the next row and Chaudhari: Col 8, ll. 18-26 disclose that these probabilities are the CDF tables.).
As per claim 6, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 3, wherein for a B-th superblock in the A-th row of superblocks within the (M+1)-th to (2*M)-th row of superblocks, and the B-th superblock is neither the first superblock nor the last superblock, the corresponding core circuit encodes the B-th superblock in the A-th row of superblocks according to a first updated CDF table generated during the encoding process of the (B+1)-th superblock in the (A-1)-th row of superblocks and a second updated CDF table generated during the encoding process of the (B-1)-th superblock in the A-th row of superblocks, wherein A and B are positive integers (Rapaka Para. [0176] discloses utilizing prediction regions that include a diagonally located CTB to the right and above the current block (B+1, A-1), as well as previously decoded blocks sequentially preceding the current block and Chaudhari: Col 9, ll. 46-50 disclose the data extracted from these prior blocks are the CDF tables.).
As per claim 7, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 6, wherein the CDF table used for encoding the B-th superblock in the A-th row of superblock is obtained by performing a weighted averaging or averaging operation on the first updated CDF table and the second updated CDF table (Chaudhari: Col 9, ll. 24-36 disclose applying corrections/estimations to the rate and probabilities by utilizing an average correction factor derived from multiple previously processed superblocks (e.g., averaging the data from the superblocks one row above).).
As per claim 8, Rapaka-Chaudhari disclose the encoder of claim 1, wherein the encoder supports an AV1 video coding format defined by Alliance for Open Media (AOMedia) (Chaudhari: Col 6, ll. 28-29 disclose the video encoder supports the video coding format AV1.).
As per claim 9, Rapaka discloses an encoding method of an encoder (Rapaka: Abstract.), comprising:
encoding a first row of superblocks to a M-th row of superblocks in an image frame, respectively, where M is a positive integer greater than 1 (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses “in most multi-core systems, it is typical that only limited number of parallel processing cores are used (e.g., 4) [claimed M is a positive integer greater than 1]. In this scenario, only 4 CTB rows [claimed first row of superblocks to a M-th row of superblocks] are processed in parallel”.); and
encoding a (M+1)-th row of superblocks to a (2*M)-th row of superblocks in the image frame, respectively (Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses a 5th CTB row [claimed (M+1)-th row] is processed after completion of one of the above 4 CTB rows and up to 17 CTB rows can be processed in parallel (i.e., includes encoding to a (2*M)-th row of superblocks of the image frame).); and
(Rapaka: Para. [0125] discloses a core circuit moving to the (M+1)-th row after completing its processing of the first row [i.e., includes using a last superblock of the first row of superblocks to encode a first superblock of the (M+1)-th row of superblocks].).
However, Rapaka does not explicitly disclose “… during an encoding process of each superblock to the (2*M)-th row of superblocks, updating a cumulative distribution function (CDF) table correspondingly … uses the CDF table generated during the encoding process …”.
Further, Chaudhari is in the same field of endeavor and teaches “during an encoding process of each superblock to the (2*M)-th row of superblocks, updating a cumulative distribution function (CDF) table correspondingly” and “uses the CDF table generated during the encoding process” (Chaudhari: Col 9, ll. 46-50 disclose “For example, CDF tables that are updated based on superblock N-1 (i.e., the CDF tables that were updated based on the superblock that is immediately prior to the current superblock in the partition processing order) may be used for encoding superblock N”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Rapaka and Chaudhari before him or her, to modify the encoding system of Rapaka to include the updating CDF table feature as described in Chaudhari. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve hardware architecture and techniques in video coding by providing a configuration that maintains contextual probabilities while maximizing parallel hardware utilization and pipelining throughput.
As per claim 10-15, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 2-8 above respectively, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEET DHILLON whose telephone number is (571)270-5647. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 5am-1:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 09-182026