Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,8-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forslund USPN 3,908,336 in view of Wang CN212654635 (English translation of specification attached).
Regarding claim 1, Forslund discloses an automatic packaging mechanism, comprising:
a hot melting assembly (heat sealing jaws 38,39), wherein the hot melting assembly comprises a hot melting base and a heating structure arranged on the hot melting base (sealing jaws 38 and 39 are mounted on arms 41,42,43,44 supported in the frame of the feeding device; col.3 lines 3-34);
a gathering assembly (19 with feeding disks 11,12,13,14; col.2 lines 52-65), wherein the gathering assembly comprises a gathering base and a pressing base (cams 31,32,33,34 rotate and with arms 45 ,46 to move the jaws to press the jaws together; col.4 lines 1-31), and the pressing base is arranged on the gathering base (figs.2b,4), a garbage bag passage is formed between the pressing base and the heating structure, a material strip of a garbage bag opened passes through the garbage bag passage (see bag 20 pass through mandrel 9 and then through pressing and gathering passage seen in figures 31-3c)
and the gathering base is configured to be driven by a gathering drive member to move toward or away from the heating structure (drive shaft 30 and 37 rotate gears 35 and 36; col.2 lines 55-68); and
a buffer assembly, wherein the buffer assembly is slidably sleeved over an outer periphery of
the hot melting base (spacer sleeves 47,48; springs 51, springs 55,56 mounted on rod arms 45,46) that work with cams 21,32,33 and 34), and when the gathering drive member (30) drives the gathering base to move toward the heating structure (moves sealing jaws 38,39 together and away), the pressing base first comes into contact with the buffer assembly and then comes into contact with the heating structure (col.4 lines 1-26), and an opening of a garbage bag (20) to be heat- sealed is gathered between the pressing base and the heating structure by the gathering base (horizontal part 23; col.2 lines 27-44); and an upper part and a lower part of the heating structure are configured to simultaneously seal two garbage bags adjacent to each other (col.2 lines 27-60),
Forslund teaches heat sealing between section of endless bag to form a plurality of sealed pouches, Forslund fails to explicitly disclose a middle part of the heating structure is configured to cut the two sealed garbage bags apart from each other through melting.
However Wang teaches a waterless toilet with heat sealing including a cutting middle part two separate two bags through melting (See translation lines 131-146; hot melt sealing and cutting component 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heat-sealing device as taught by Forslund with the configuration to be able to cut between the sealed bags during the same operation to efficiently hot melt seal and cut with a streamlined structure (Wang lines 77-81).
Regarding claim 2, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 1, wherein Forslund further discloses the buffer assembly comprises a buffer base and an clastic member (springs 55,56,51), the buffer base (frame) is slidably sleeved over the outer periphery of the hot melting base (springs 55,56 are sleeved over rod portions 45,46), and the elastic member is arranged between the buffer base and the hot melting base (fig.4; col.3 lines 3-34).
Regarding claim 3, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 2, wherein the buffer assembly further comprises a guide rod (45,46), the buffer base is slidably sleeved over the guide rod, a limiting member is arranged on the guide rod (spacing sleeves 47,48), and the buffer base is arranged between the limiting member and the elastic member (fig.4; col.3 lines 3-34).
Regarding claim 4, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 3, wherein gathering portions are respectively arranged at an upper part and a lower part of the gathering base, the pressing base is arranged between the gathering portions at the upper part and the lower part of the gathering base, and each of the gathering portions has a flared shape toward the heating structure (flared mandrel 9 where the gathering portions of the continuous bag 20 pass around into the pressing and sealing area; figs 3a-3c).
Regarding claim 5, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 4, wherein Forslund further teaches the gathering drive member (30) comprises a synchronous belt structure (gear structure to continuously gather bag 20) and a gathering motor (62), an output end of the gathering motor is drivingly connected to an input end of the synchronous belt structure (coupled to cam 31 and operating shaft 57), a left end and a right end of the gathering base are connected to the synchronous belt structure, and the gathering base is slidably sleeved over the guide rod of the buffer assembly (col.3 lines 35-68).
Regarding claim 8, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 1, wherein Forslund teaches a heating and sealing jaws but fails to explicitly teach the heating structure comprises a heating sheet and a thermally conductive sheet, the hot melting base, the heating sheet, and the thermally conductive sheet are arranged facing the gathering base in sequence, a middle part of the thermally conductive sheet is provided with a protruding portion extending toward the gathering base, and the protruding portion is configured to cut the two sealed garbage bags apart from each other through melting.
However Wang teaches a heating sheet (12) and a thermally conductive sheet (T shaped copper sheet 14), the hot melting base (11), the heating sheet, and the thermally conductive sheet are arranged facing the gathering base in sequence (fig.1 translation lines 131-137), a middle part of the thermally conductive sheet is provided with a protruding portion extending toward the gathering base, and the protruding portion is configured to cut the two sealed garbage bags apart from each other through melting (fig.2; translation lines 139-146).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heat-sealing device as taught by Forslund with the configuration to be able to cut between the sealed bags during the same operation to efficiently hot melt seal and cut with a streamlined structure (Wang lines 77-81).
Regarding claim 9, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 8, wherein Forslund fails to teach the thermally conductive sheet is T-shaped.
However Wang teaches a heating sheet (12) and a thermally conductive sheet (T shaped copper sheet 14), (figs.1-2; translation lines 131-146).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heat-sealing device as taught by Forslund with the configuration to be able to cut between the sealed bags during the same operation to efficiently hot melt seal and cut with a streamlined structure (Wang lines 77-81).
Regarding claim 10, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 8, wherein Forslund fails to teach the thermally conductive sheet is made of copper.
However Wang teaches a heating sheet (12) and a thermally conductive sheet (T shaped copper sheet 14), the hot melting base (11), (fig.1-2; translation lines 131-146).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heat-sealing device as taught by Forslund with the configuration to be able to cut between the sealed bags during the same operation to efficiently hot melt seal and cut with a streamlined structure (Wang lines 77-81).
Regarding claim 11, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 8, wherein Forslund fails to teach a high-temperature
resistant diaphragm is attached to each of an inner side and an outer side of the thermally conductive sheet.
However Wang teaches a high temperature resistant diaphragm (13) attached to each of an inner side and outer side of the thermally conductive sheet 14 (translation lines 131-146).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heat-sealing device as taught by Forslund with the configuration to be able to cut between the sealed bags during the same operation to efficiently hot melt seal and cut with a streamlined structure (Wang lines 77-81).
Regarding claim 13, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising a garbage bag pull-down assembly (feeding discs 11-14; figs 3a-3c; col.2 lines 20-65), wherein the garbage bag pull-down assembly (of sleeve 20) is arranged above the garbage bag passage (figs 3a-3c), and is configured to convey the material strip of the garbage bag opened toward the garbage bag passage in turn (passes around mandrel 9 through opening and through sealing jaw area).
Regarding claim 14, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 13, further comprising a supporting base (bottom plate 17), wherein the hot melting assembly, the gathering assembly, and the garbage bag pull-down assembly are arranged in the supporting base (guide rails 18 and feeding device are fixed to the bottom plate 17; col.2).
Regarding claim 15, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches an intelligent waterless toilet (col.1 lines 4-10), comprising the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 13, wherein the automatic packaging mechanism further comprises a supporting base (17), the hot melting assembly, the gathering assembly(19 with feeding disks 11,12,13,14; col.2 lines 52-65), and the garbage bag pull-down assembly are arranged in the supporting base (17), and the supporting base is arranged in a housing (1) of the intelligent waterless toilet (col.2 lines 4-67).
Regarding claim 16, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the intelligent waterless toilet according to claim 15, further comprising a fixed base (17), and the housing (1) of the intelligent waterless toilet is connected to the fixed base (col.2 lines 4-67).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forslund USPN 3,908,336 in view of Wang CN212654635 (English translation of specification attached) in further view of XIAO et al. US 2025/0083851 (hereinafter XIAO).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein an exhaust sheet is
arranged below the gathering base, a drawer is arranged below the garbage bag passage, the
gathering base is configured to move toward the heating structure in a rear-to-front direction, and
the exhaust sheet is arranged to be inclined forward in a top-to-bottom direction, and wherein the exhaust sheet is hingedly connected to the gathering base by a damping hinge, the exhaust sheet has a T-shape with a larger bottom and a smaller top, and a plurality of exhaust holes are formed through the exhaust
sheet.
However XIAO teaches an exhaust sheet (5) is arranged below the gathering base (7), a drawer is arranged below the garbage bag passage (par 0041), the gathering base is configured to move toward the heating structure in a rear-to-front direction, and the exhaust sheet is arranged to be inclined forward in a top-to-bottom direction, and wherein the exhaust sheet is hingedly connected to the gathering base by a damping hinge (fig.3; exhaust rotating shaft 5-1), the exhaust sheet has a T-shape with a larger bottom and a smaller top (12), and a plurality of exhaust holes (7-1) are formed through the exhaust sheet (par 0036-0038).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the automatic packaging mechanism as taught by Forslund in view of Wang with a hingedly attached exhaust sheet as taught by XIAO in order to remove excess air from the packaging tube.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forslund USPN 3,908,336 in view of Wang CN212654635 (English translation of specification attached) in further view of Johnson US2021/0237923.
Regarding claim 12, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the automatic packaging mechanism according to claim 11, wherein Forslund as modified by Wang fails to explicitly teach the hot melting assembly further comprises a temperature sensor arranged on the hot melting base.
However Johnson teaches an apparatus for hot melting and sealing and a temperature sensor 127; par 0084 for continuously measuring the heating elements 106a,b.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the heating elements as taught by Forslund and Wang with the addition of a temperature sensor in order to maintain and monitor the heat of the elements to heat the elements to the optimal temperature.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forslund USPN 3,908,336 in view of Wang CN212654635 (English translation of specification attached) in further view of Livingston et al. US 2014/0208499 (hereinafter Livingston).
Regarding claim 17, Forslund as modified by Wang substantially teaches the intelligent waterless toilet according to claim 15, Forslund as modified by Wang fails to explicitly teach further comprising a rotary base, wherein the intelligent waterless toilet is arranged in a recreational vehicle, and the housing of the intelligent waterless toilet is connected to the rotary base.
However Livingston teaches an intelligent waterless toilet which utilizes a rotary base and is arranged for use in a recreational vehicle and the housing 80 is arranged on the rotary base support 82; fig2; par 0041.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the waterless toilet of Forslund in view of Wang with the rotary base of Livingston as a simple substitution between bases used in a waterless toilet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious and intelligent waterless toilet comprising a turntable, and a slide buckle drive member, the slide buckle drive member comprises a button, a lever assembly, and slide buckles, an annular groove is provided on an upper surface of the base body, the turntable is rotatably arranged in the annular groove, the turntable comprises a limiting flange extending outward along a radial direction of the turntable, the slide buckles are slidably arranged on the base body, the button and the lever assembly are arranged on the base body, an input end of the lever assembly is connected to the button, an output end of the lever assembly is connected to the slide buckles to drive the slide buckles to slide toward or away from the turntable, a first elastic reset member is arranged between the button and the base body, a second elastic reset member is arranged between each of the slide buckles and the base body, and when the slide buckles slide toward the turntable, the slide buckles hook the limiting flange to restrict an axial movement of the turntable, and each of the slide buckles radially presses against the turntable under an action of the second elastic reset member, along with all the remaining limitations in the claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 depend from allowable claim 18.
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731