DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ger et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0102151).
Referring to claim 1, Ger et al. discloses comprising an organ chip and a magnetic field
generating module, the organ chip comprising a first body, a second body, and a magnetically-driven porous membrane (paragraphs 0029 & 0042), wherein: the magnetically-driven porous membrane is disposed between the first body and the second body and forms a channel system with the first body and the second body, the magnetically-driven porous membrane comprises a magnetic material and a membrane body, and the magnetic material is disposed in the membrane body (paragraphs 0029 & 0042) and the magnetic field generating module is disposed outside the organ chip and is adapted to generate a magnetic field, the magnetic field passes through the magnetically-driven porous membrane and causes the magnetically-driven porous membrane to stretch, deform, or a combination thereof in response to a magnetic force in the magnetic field (paragraphs 0029 & 0042).
Referring to claim 2, Ger et al. discloses further comprising a power supply, wherein the power supply is electrically connected to the magnetic field generating module and is adapted to supply power to the magnetic field generating module (Figs. 3 & 4).
Referring to claim 3, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic field generating module comprises an electromagnet, the power supply further supplies an electric current, and the electric current is adapted to cause the electromagnet to have a magnetic effect and generate a magnetic field.
Referring to claim 4, Ger et al. discloses wherein the electromagnet is adapted to generate a magnetic force of 0 Kg to 30 Kg and a voltage of 12 V to 110 V (Figure 8)
Referring to claim 5, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic material comprises a plurality of particles of iron, cobalt, nickel, or alloys or compounds thereof, the membrane body is made of a hydrophilic polymer material, and the plurality of particles of the magnetic material is distributed in the membrane body (Fig. 8).
Referring to claim 6, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic material is a carbonyl magnetic iron powder, the membrane body is made from hydrogel, and a weight ratio of the carbonyl magnetic iron powder to the hydrogel is 0.5:1 to 4:1 (paragraph 0029 & 0042).
Referring to claim 7, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic force in the magnetic field is adapted to attract the magnetic material to drive the magnetically-driven porous membrane to stretch, deform, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0029 & 0042).
Referring to claim 8, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic force in the magnetic field is adapted to repel the magnetic material to drive the magnetically-driven porous membrane to stretch, deform, or a combination thereof (Figure 8).
Referring to claim 9, Ger et al. discloses wherein the magnetic field generating module is further disposed on the first body or the second body of the organ chip (paragraphs 0029 & 0042).
Referring to claim 10, Ger et al. discloses wherein the channel system comprises a first channel and a second channel, the first channel is located between the first body and the magnetically-driven porous membrane, the second channel is located between the second body and the magnetically-driven porous membrane, and a stretching of the magnetically-driven porous membrane comprises stretching toward the first channel or toward the second channel (paragraphs 0029 & 0042).
Referring to claim 11, Ger et al. discloses wherein the stretching of the magnetically-driven porous membrane toward the first channel compresses the first channel, and the stretching toward the second channel compresses the second channel (Fig. 2 & 3).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715