This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 17/503,858.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fourth damping part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gravity compensation part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected (claims dependent on a rejected claim are rejected based on their dependence unless otherwise specified) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other end" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the sixth rotary shaft" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the arm" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "first to third damping parts" in line 2. The examiner can not determine if the “first to third damping parts” means “first, second, and third damping parts” or “first and third damping parts” therefore the claim is indefinite and confusing.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the rotational end part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the ground" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All words in a claim must be considered in determining the patentability of theclaim against the prior art. If no reasonably definite meaning can be ascribed to certainterms in the claim, the subject matter does not become obvious, the claim becomesindefinite. In re Wilson, 424F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). The examiner's analysis ofthe claims, in particular claim language within the claims as rejected under 35 USC 112 above, indicates that considerable speculation as to the meaning of the terms employed and assumptions as to the scope of the claims needs to be made, as the examiner does not understand what is exactly being claimed by the applicant. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 should not be based on such speculations and assumptions. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,862 (CCPA 1962); Ex parte Head, 214 USPQ 551 (Bd.App. 1981). Accordingly, the applicant should not assume that any claims not rejected using prior art is considered allowable since the examiner can not clearly determine the limitations of the claim due to indefiniteness. The applicant should be aware that once the claims have been corrected to remove the problems concerning indefiniteness, prior art may be used to reject the claims and the next action made final or if the application is in a final status the amendment after final may not be entered as requiring further search and/or consideration.
The claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 for the above reasons. Please note that the Examiner may not have pointed out each and every example of indefiniteness. The applicant is required to review all the claim language to make sure the claimed invention is clear and definite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,688. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and 12,245,688 disclose .
Claim 1. An arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having one end rotatably connected to the fixed part and the other end having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and an arm support module movably supported by the horizontal movement module.
Claim 2. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the horizontal movement module comprises: a first driving frame which has a first link rotatably connected to a first rotary shaft and rotatably connected to a second rotary shaft parallel with the first rotary shaft; a second driving frame which has a driving link rotatably connected to the first rotary shaft, a second link rotatably connected to a third rotary shaft parallel with the first rotary shaft, and a third link rotatably connected to a fourth rotary shaft spaced apart from the third rotary shaft in parallel with the third rotary shaft and rotatably connected to the second rotary shaft; a central connection part which is rotatably connected to the fixed part through a plurality of links; and a rotational end part which is rotatably connected to the central connection part through a plurality of links.
Claim 3. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises a fourth link which is rotatably connected to the second rotary shaft and is rotatably connected to a fifth rotary shaft parallel with the first rotary shaft, and wherein the fourth link is fixed to the third link so as to rotate around the second rotary shaft together.
Claim 4. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first driving frame further comprises a first protrusion member which is fixed to the first link to rotate around the first rotary shaft and has an edge radially protruding around the first rotary shaft, and wherein at least a portion of the driving link has an edge radially protruding around the first rotary shaft.
Claim 5. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises: a fifth link which is rotatably connected to the sixth rotary shaft spaced apart from the first rotary shaft in parallel with the first rotary shaft and is rotatably connected to a seventh rotary shaft spaced apart from the second rotary shaft in parallel with the second rotary shaft, and wherein the fifth link and the first link are parallel with each other.
Claim 6. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises: a sixth link which is rotatably connected to an eighth rotary shaft spaced apart from the second rotary shaft in parallel with the second rotary shaft, and is rotatably connected to a ninth rotary shaft spaced apart from the fifth rotary shaft in parallel with the fifth rotary shaft, and wherein the sixth link and the fourth link are parallel with each other.
Claim 7. An arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having two-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and a damping part which provides a resistance according to the two-degree-of-freedom movement of the horizontal movement module so as to control damping according to a horizontal movement of the arm.
Claim 8. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the damping part comprises: first to third damping parts which respectively adjust angular speeds of first and second rotary shafts and an arm rotary shaft equally so as to control damping according to the horizontal movement.
Claim 10. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the horizontal movement module comprises: a first driving frame having a first link which is rotatably connected to the first rotary shaft and is rotatably connected to a second rotary shaft parallel with the first rotary shaft; and a second driving frame having a driving link which is rotatably connected to the first rotary shaft, and wherein the first damping part forms a resistance when the first and second driving frames rotate around the first rotary shaft.
Claim 11. An arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and an arm support module which is supported by the horizontal movement module to be movable and compensates weight of a user's arm.
Claim 12. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the arm support module comprises: first and second arm supporters on which a user's arm is supported; a first support part rotatably connected to an arm rotary shaft formed at the rotational end part; a rotary link rotatably mounted to an inclination adjustment shaft formed at the first support part; and a gravity compensation part for providing elastic restoring force which increases as the rotary link gets further from the ground.
Claim 13. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the gravity compensation part comprises: an elastic body of which the length is changed according to a change in angle of the rotary link and which is arranged in parallel with the longitudinal direction of the rotary link; and a wire of which one end is fixed to the other end of the elastic body and the other end is connected to the first support part above the inclination adjustment shaft.
Claim 14. The arm rest apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the rotary link comprises a guide pulley for guiding the wire so that tensile force transferred to the elastic body from the wire is parallel with the longitudinal direction of the rotary link.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The recitation of the arm support module comprises: first and second arm supporters on which a user’s arm is supported positively claims a human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Angold et al. (Angold) 2017/0173783. Angold discloses (Claim 1) an arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part (145) fixed to an external object (115A) ; a horizontal movement module (211) having one end rotatably (206) connected to the fixed part and the other end (156) having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and an arm support module (226, 231,246, 236) movably supported by the horizontal movement module.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Angold et al. (Angold) 2017/0173783. Angold discloses (Claim 7) An arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part (145) fixed to an external object (115A); a horizontal movement module (211) having two-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and a damping part (400 and 410) which provides a resistance according to the two-degree-of-freedom movement of the horizontal movement module so as to control damping according to a horizontal movement of the arm.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Angold et al. (Angold) 2017/0173783. Angold discloses (Claim 11) An arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part (145) fixed to an external object (115A); a horizontal movement module (211/210) having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part; and an arm support module (225,226,231,230, 246, 235, 236) which is supported by the horizontal movement module to be movable and compensates weight of a user's arm; (Claim 12) The arm rest apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the arm support module comprises: first (235) and second arm supporters (236) on which a user's arm is supported; a first support part (246) rotatably connected to an arm rotary shaft (within 231) formed at the rotational end part; a rotary link (246) rotatably mounted to an inclination adjustment shaft (within 231) formed at the first support part (246); and a gravity compensation part (400 and 410) for providing elastic restoring force which increases as the rotary link gets further from the ground.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yi et al. (hereafter Yi) KR20140103655. Yi discloses (see figures 2-6) (Claim 1) an arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part (stand attachment part) fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having one end rotatably connected to the fixed part and the other end having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part, an arm support module movably supported by the horizontal movement; (Claim 2) The arm rest apparatus to claim 1, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises: a first driving frame which has a first link (211) rotatably connected to a first rotary shaft (216) and rotatably connected to a second rotary shaft (215) parallel with the first rotary shaft (216); a second driving frame which has a driving link (231a) rotatably connected to the first rotary shaft (216), a second link (231b) rotatably connected to a third rotary shaft (231d) parallel with the first rotary shaft (215), and a third link (231c) rotatably connected to a fourth rotary shaft (231e) spaced apart from the third rotary shaft (231c) in parallel with the third rotary shaft (231c) and rotatably connected to the second rotary shaft (215); a central connection part which is rotatably connected to the fixed part through a plurality of links (232a, 219); and a rotational end part (232b) which is rotatably connected to the central connection part through a plurality of links (232, 232b); and an arm support module (M) movably supported by the horizontal movement module; (Claim 3) The arm rest apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises a fourth link which is rotatably connected to the second rotary shaft and is rotatably connected to a fifth rotary shaft parallel with the first rotary shaft, and wherein the fourth link is fixed to the third link so as to rotate around the second rotary shaft together (see figure 5); (Claim 5) The arm rest apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises: a fifth link which is rotatably connected to a sixth rotary shaft spaced apart from the first rotary shaft in parallel with the first rotary shaft and is rotatably connected to a seventh rotary shaft spaced apart from the second rotary shaft in parallel with the second rotary shaft, and wherein the fifth link and the first link are parallel with each other (see figures 5 or 6, additional links and shafts); (Claim 6) The arm rest apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the horizontal movement module further comprises: a sixth link which is rotatably connected to an eighth rotary shaft spaced apart from the second rotary shaft in parallel with the second rotary shaft, and is rotatably connected to a ninth rotary shaft spaced apart from the fifth rotary shaft in parallel with the fifth rotary shaft, and wherein the sixth link and the fourth link are parallel with each other (see figures 5 and 6, see additional links and shafts); (Claim 7) an arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having two-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part, and a damping part (counter weights) which provides a resistance according to the two-degree-of-freedom movement of the horizontal movement module so as to control damping according to a horizontal movement of an arm; (Claim 11) an arm rest apparatus comprising: a fixed part (stand attachment part) fixed to an external object; a horizontal movement module having two-translational-degree-of-freedom movement with respect to the fixed part, an arm support module movably supported by the horizontal movement module to be movable and compensates weight of a user’s arm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional armrest supports.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631