DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochi US 5630376.
Regarding claim 1, Ochi discloses a leak-proof pee pad (abstract), comprising: an impermeable layer (6- impermeable backsheet, Col 2 lines 36-67); an absorbent layer (4- absorbent panel Col 2 lines 36-67), wherein the absorbent layer is provided on a surface of the impermeable layer (see fig 4 and Col 2 lines 36-67); and a side enclosing assembly (or overflow strips 5, fig 4 and Col 2 lines 36-67), wherein the side enclosing assembly is connected to the impermeable layer and/or the absorbent layer (see fig 4).
Regarding claim 2, Ochi discloses wherein the side enclosing assembly comprises: two first side enclosing members (see annotated figure below), wherein the two first side enclosing members are symmetrically arranged above the impermeable layer (see cross section figure 4), and the two first side enclosing members are partially fixedly connected to the impermeable layer and the absorbent layer (see element H2 and H4, and col 2 lines 36-67 which shows and adhesive attachment point); and two second side enclosing members (see annotated figure below), wherein the two second side enclosing members are symmetrically arranged above the impermeable layer (see cross section figure 4), two ends of each of the two second side enclosing members are fixedly connected to the two first side enclosing members, respectively, and the two second side enclosing members are partially fixedly connected to the impermeable layer and the absorbent layer (see element H2 and H4, and col 2 lines 36-67 which shows and adhesive attachment point and figure below).
Regarding claim 3, Ochi discloses each of the two first side enclosing members has a length greater than a length of a respective side of the impermeable layer; and each of the two second side enclosing members has a length greater than the length of the respective side of the impermeable layer (they are longer because they extend beyond the length of the impermeable layer to wrap around the impermeable layer).
Regarding claim 4, Ochi discloses a side of each of the two first side enclosing members adjacent to a center of the impermeable layer and a side of each of the two second side enclosing members adjacent to the center of the impermeable layer are fixedly connected to elastic members, respectively (Col 3 line 66- Col 4 line 3 discloses the use of elastic in the side enclosing members).
Regarding claim 5, Ochi discloses wherein each of the two first side enclosing members has a length equal to a length of a respective side of the impermeable layer; and each of the two second side enclosing members has a length equal to the length of the respective side of the impermeable layer (fig 1 shows an equal length).
Regarding claim 6, Ochi discloses wherein the two second side enclosing members are integrally formed with the impermeable layer (see fig 1 and 2 where element 5 is attached and therefor integral with the impermeable layer element 6, Col 2 lines 36-67).
Regarding claim 7, Ochi discloses wherein the side enclosing assembly comprises: two first side enclosing members (see annotated figure below), wherein the two first side enclosing members are symmetrically arranged above the impermeable layer (see cross section figure 4), and the two first side enclosing members are partially fixedly connected to the absorbent layer (see element H4, and col 2 lines 36-67 which shows and adhesive attachment point); and two second side enclosing members, wherein the two second side enclosing members are symmetrically arranged above the impermeable layer (see cross section figure 4), two ends of each of the two second side enclosing members are fixedly connected to the two first side enclosing members, respectively, and the two second side enclosing members are partially fixedly connected to the absorbent layer (see element H4, and col 2 lines 36-67 which shows and adhesive attachment point).
Regarding claim 8, Ochi discloses each of the two first side enclosing members has a length greater than a length of a respective side of the impermeable layer; and each of the two second side enclosing members has a length greater than the length of the respective side of the impermeable layer (they are longer because they extend beyond the length of the impermeable layer to wrap around the impermeable layer).
Regarding claim 9, Ochi discloses a side of each of the two first side enclosing members adjacent to a center of the impermeable layer and a side of each of the two second side enclosing members adjacent to the center of the impermeable layer are fixedly connected to elastic members, respectively (Col 3 line 66- Col 4 line 3 discloses the use of elastic in the side enclosing members).
Regarding claim 10, Ochi discloses wherein each of the two first side enclosing members has a length equal to a length of a respective side of the impermeable layer; and each of the two second side enclosing members has a length equal to the length of the respective side of the impermeable layer (fig 1 shows an equal length).
Regarding claim 11, Ochi discloses wherein the two second side enclosing members are integrally formed with the impermeable layer (see fig 1 and 2 where element 5 is attached and therefor integral with the impermeable layer element 6, Col 2 lines 36-67).
Conclusion
/GABRIELLA E BURNETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781