DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hoyle (USPN 8082620).
A squeezing device for a mop bucket, comprising a first squeezer (32), a squeezing frame (30/46) and a water passage (42), wherein the first squeezer is configured to squeeze a wiper on a mop head; the water passage extends from a first side of the squeezing frame (surface shown in figure 4) to a second side of the squeezing frame (opposite side of surface shown in figure 4) and the first side of the squeezing frame is opposite to the second side of the squeezing frame, and the squeezing device is so configured that water squeezed out by the first squeezer flows from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame through the water passage, and thus flows out of a squeezing water section of the mop bucket.
With regards to claim 2, the water passage is located on/in the squeezing frame (via 56).
With regard to claim 3, the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame (via 56).
With regards to claim 4, the first squeezer has a squeezing side (top) and a connecting side (figure 4; arms 54), and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame (54 is attached to frame via 56), and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head.
With regards to claim 5, the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the first side of the squeezing frame (46 is considered first side).
With regards to claim 6, the first squeezer has a squeezing side (top) and a connecting side (figure 4; arms 54), and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the first side of the squeezing frame (arms 54 are adjacent to 46).
With regards to claim 7, the squeezing frame has a squeezing port (v-shape opening between 30 and 32 in figure 5) for receiving the mop head of a flat mop, and the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the squeezing port; and the first squeezer has a squeezing side (top) and a connecting side (arms 54), the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer protrudes out of an edge of the squeezing port (the edge of the port is formed by the first squeezer).
With regards to claim 8, the first squeezer is a squeezing strip or a squeezing sheet or a squeezing plate.
With regards to claim 10, there is a cleaning frame (24; figure 12).
With regards to claim 11, the cleaning frame and the squeezing frame are integrated with each other and disposed at a top of the mop bucket (figure 12; 24 connects with 94).
With regards to claim 12, an end of the water passage is communicated with the cleaning frame (since 30 connects to 24, then the water passages are communicated with the cleaning frame since they are integral).
With regards to claim 13, an end of the water passage is connected to a cleaning port for receiving the mop head in the cleaning frame (front surface of squeezing frame is in connection with the cleaning port which is the v-shaped opening between 32 and 30).
With regards to claim 14, the cleaning frame is located lower than the squeezing frame (the squeezing frame sits on top of the cleaning frame; therefore it would be lower).
With regards to claim 16, a mop bucket (12) for use with the squeezing device according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li (CN 201675888).
Li teaches a squeezing device for a mop bucket, comprising a squeezing frame (34), a cleaning frame (33), a first squeezer (37), and a second squeezer (39); wherein the squeezing frame has a squeezing port for receiving flat mop, the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the squeezing port, and the first squeezer is configured to squeeze a wiper on a mop head; and the cleaning frame has a cleaning port for receiving the flat mop, the second squeezer is disposed adjacent to the cleaning port, and the second squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head (figure 14).
With regards to claim 18, the first squeezer exposes out of the squeezing port, the second squeezer exposes out of the cleaning port, at least one of the first squeezer and the second squeezer comprises squeezing strips or squeezing sheets or squeezing plates; the cleaning frame and the squeezing frame are integrated with each other and disposed at a top of the mop bucket (figure 14).
With regards to claim 19, the squeezing frame and the cleaning frame are disposed side by side (figure 14).
With regards to claim 20, the first squeezer is slightly higher than the second squeezer (figure 15 shows that the squeezer 37 is slightly higher than 39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyle (‘620) in view of Li (‘888).
Hoyle teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach the cleaning frame has a cleaning port for receiving the mop head, a second squeezer is disposed adjacent to the cleaning port, and the second squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head. Li teaches a cleaning frame (33) with a port to receive a mop head with a second squeezer (39) disposed in the port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoyle so that the device comprises a second squeezer as taught by Li to allow for further removal of debris from the mop.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 includes the limitation that the first squeezer is a squeezing strip, a water port is formed on the first squeezer, the water port forms a water inlet of the water passage, and the water squeezed by the first squeezer flows into the water passage through the water port. Hoyle teaches that the squeezer has water ports (52) however, the water ports do not form a water inlet of the water passage and water squeezed by the squeezer does not flow into the water passage through the water port.
It would not have been obvious to modify the prior art to achieve the claimed invention since there is no motivation or teaching to do so. Therefore, the claim is free from the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of copending Application No. 19223097. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current application:
19223097: (underlined is what is not included in current application)
Claim A squeezing device for a mop bucket, comprising a first squeezer, a squeezing frame and a water passage, wherein the first squeezer is configured to squeeze a wiper on a mop head; the water passage extends from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame, and the first side of the squeezing frame is opposite to the second side of the squeezing frame, and the squeezing device is so configured that water squeezed out by the first squeezer flows from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame through the water passage, and thus flows out of a squeezing water section of the mop bucket.
Claim 1: A squeezing device for a mop bucket, comprising a first squeezer, a squeezing frame and a water passage, wherein the first squeezer is configured to squeeze a wiper on a mop head; the water passage is located on the squeezing frame or in the squeezing frame; the water passage extends from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame, and the first side of the squeezing frame is opposite to the second side of the squeezing frame; the squeezing device is so configured that water squeezed out by the first squeezer flows from the first side of the squeezing frame to the second side of the squeezing frame through the water passage, and thus flows out of the squeezing frame; and a baffle is provided on a side of the water passage, and the baffle is configured to prevent the water squeezed out by the first squeezer from flowing out of the water passage.
Claim 2: the water passage is located on/in the squeezing frame.
Claim 2: the water passage is located on an upper surface of the squeezing frame.
Claim 3: the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame
Claim 3: the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame
Claim 4: the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head.
Claim 4: the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head.
Claim 5: the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the first side of the squeezing frame.
Claim 5: the connecting side of the first squeezer is attached to the first side of the squeezing frame.
Claim 6: the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the first side of the squeezing frame.
Claim 6: the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer; and the connecting side of the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the first side of the squeezing frame
Claim 7: the squeezing frame has a squeezing port for receiving the mop head of a flat mop, and the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the squeezing port; and the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer protrudes out of an edge of the squeezing port.
Claim 7: the squeezing frame has a squeezing port for receiving the mop head of a flat mop, and the first squeezer is disposed adjacent to the squeezing port; and the first squeezer has a squeezing side and a connecting side, the squeezing side of the first squeezer is opposite to the connecting side of the first squeezer, and the squeezing side of the first squeezer protrudes out of an edge of the squeezing port.
Claim 8: the first squeezer is a squeezing strip or a squeezing sheet or a squeezing plate.
Claim 8: the first squeezer is a squeezing strip or a squeezing sheet or a squeezing plate.
Claim 9: the first squeezer is a squeezing strip, a water port is formed on the first squeezer, the water port forms a water inlet of the water passage, and the water squeezed by the first squeezer flows into the water passage through the water port
Claim 9: the first squeezer is a squeezing strip, a water port is formed on the first squeezer, the water port forms a water inlet of the water passage, and the water squeezed out by the first squeezer flows into the water passage through the water port.
Claim 10: further comprising a cleaning frame.
Claim 10: further comprising a cleaning frame.
Claim 11: the cleaning frame and the squeezing frame are integrated with each other and disposed at a top of the mop bucket.
Claim 11: the cleaning frame and the squeezing frame are integrated with each other and disposed at a top of the mop bucket.
Claim 12: an end of the water passage is communicated with the cleaning frame.
Claim 12: an end of the water passage is connected with the cleaning frame.
Claim 13: an end of the water passage is connected to a cleaning port for receiving the mop head in the cleaning frame.
Claim 13: an end of the water passage is connected to a cleaning port for receiving the mop head in the cleaning frame.
Claim 14: the cleaning frame is located lower than the squeezing frame.
Claim 14: the cleaning frame is located lower than the squeezing frame.
Claim 15: the cleaning frame has a cleaning port for receiving the mop head, a second squeezer is disposed adjacent to the cleaning port, and the second squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head.
Claim 15: the cleaning frame has a cleaning port for receiving the mop head, a second squeezer is disposed adjacent to the cleaning port, and the second squeezer is configured to squeeze the wiper on the mop head.
Claim 1, 3, 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21, 23, 26 of copending Application No. 18784990. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
18/784990:
Current application:
Claim 21: A squeezing device for squeezing a flat mop, comprising a squeezer, a squeezing frame and a water passage, wherein the squeezer is configured to squeeze a mop head of the flat mop when the flat mop moves up and down in a squeezing state, so as to squeeze out water from a wiper of the mop head; the water passage is located on the squeezing frame or in the squeezing frame; the water passage extends from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame, and the first side of the squeezing frame is opposite to the second side of the squeezing frame; and the squeezing device is so configured that water squeezed out by the squeezer flows from a first edge of the squeezing frame to a second edge of the squeezing frame through the water passage, and thus flows out of the squeezing frame.
Claim 1: A squeezing device for a mop bucket, comprising a first squeezer, a squeezing frame and a water passage, wherein the first squeezer is configured to squeeze a wiper on a mop head; the water passage extends from a first side of the squeezing frame to a second side of the squeezing frame, and the first side of the squeezing frame is opposite to the second side of the squeezing frame, and the squeezing device is so configured that water squeezed out by the first squeezer flows from the first side of the squeezing frame to the second side of the squeezing frame through the water passage, and thus flows out of a squeezing water section of the mop bucket.
Claim 23: the squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame
Claim 3: the first squeezer is attached to the squeezing frame
Claim 26: the squeezer is a squeezing strip or a squeezing sheet or a squeezing plate.
Claim 8: the first squeezer is a squeezing strip or a squeezing sheet or a squeezing plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723