DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 3/6/25.
Claims 14-31 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/25 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission.
Claims 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Pat. 12256148 B2.
Even though instant application does not claim “and transmit, to the image capturing apparatus, the point-of-view information and storage destination information having a form of a uniform resource locator (“URL”), with the request for capturing the second wide-view image, and the image capturing apparatus further includes apparatus circuitry configured to store the second wide-view image and the point-of-view information in a storage destination indicated by the storage destination information which is in the form of the URL”, however not claiming this does not provide instant application a patentable distinction. Because lack of limitation makes the claim broad obvious variation of US Pat. 12256148 B2.
Even though US Pat. 12256148 B2 does not claim following limitations: includes first circuitry configured to: display a first wide-view image; in response to receiving an operation input to change a viewpoint of the first wide-view image by a user of the first communication terminal, display the first wide- view image at the changed viewpoint; and in response to receiving an operation to capture a wide-view image by the user of the first communication terminal, transmit viewpoint information corresponding to a currently being displayed viewpoint and an imaging request to the information processing system, the information processing system includes system circuitry configured to: in response to receiving the imaging request from the first communication terminal, and transmit the second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus and the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal to a second communication terminal.
However, this is well known in the art. Prior art Aikawa (U.S. Pub. No. 20200296284 A1) teach: includes first circuitry configured to: display a first wide-view image; (Aikawa FIG. 1: a site B, a site C, and a site D display) in response to receiving an operation input to change a viewpoint of the first wide-view image by a user (Aikawa FIG. 1 photographer 8) of the first communication terminal, (Aikawa [0068] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an overview of an operation of the image communication system 10, in which communication is taking place between four sites: a site A, a site B, a site C, and a site D. At the site A, a photographer 8 captures an omnidirectional image in real time with an image capturing device 5a, and transmits the omnidirectional image to the sites B to D via a communication network 100. The transmission of the omnidirectional image or another type of image is also possible from the sites B to D. The omnidirectional image may be transmitted with or without audio data. Further, the omnidirectional image may be a still image, or may be repeatedly transmitted to produce a video image. [0069] The photographer 8 is able to switch a mode of viewing the omnidirectional image captured by the image capturing device 5a (hereinafter referred to as the view mode) between two modes: a free viewpoint mode and a photographer's view mode. In the free viewpoint mode, a user is able to freely change the image of a predetermined area forming a part of the omnidirectional image (hereinafter referred to as the predetermined area image). In the photographer's view mode, the predetermined area image is displayed based on photographer's view information transmitted by the photographer 8)
display the first wide- view image at the changed viewpoint; (Aikawa FIG. 40) and in response to receiving an operation to capture a wide-view image by the user of the first communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 1 [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode. In some situations such as when the photographer 8 has a specific object to show the users, therefore, the photographer 8 may switch the view mode to the photographer's view mode to draw the attention of the users to the object.)
transmit viewpoint information corresponding to a currently being displayed viewpoint (Aikawa FIG. 1 [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode.) and an imaging request to the information processing system, the information processing system includes system circuitry configured to: in response to receiving the imaging request from the first communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 25 [0206] The communication terminals 2 to 4 at the sites B to D similarly transmit the participation request to the communication management system 50, and select the virtual meeting room selected by the communication terminal 1. Thereby, the communication terminals 1 to 4 participate in the same communication session to have a video call with each other.)
and transmit the second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus and the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal to a second communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 1 shows the communication terminals 2 to 4. [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine US Pat. 12256148 B2 and Aikawa (U.S. Pub. No. 20200296284 A1) with predictable results as these limitations are obvious in video conference.
Instant Application 19/026,642
US Pat. 12256148 B2
14. A communication system comprising:
a plurality of communication terminals each to display a wide-view image having a wide angle of view;
and an information processing system to transmit video to the plurality of communication terminals, wherein: a first communication terminal of the plurality of communication terminals
includes first circuitry configured to: display a first wide-view image; in response to receiving an operation input to change a viewpoint of the first wide-view image by a user of the first communication terminal,
display the first wide- view image at the changed viewpoint; and in response to receiving an operation to capture a wide-view image by the user of the first communication terminal,
transmit viewpoint information corresponding to a currently being displayed viewpoint and an imaging request to the information processing system, the information processing system includes system circuitry configured to: in response to receiving the imaging request from the first communication terminal,
transmit an imaging request to an image capturing apparatus that has captured the first wide-view image;
associate a second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus with the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal;
and transmit the second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus and the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal to a second communication terminal,
and wherein the second communication terminal includes second circuitry configured to display the second wide-view image at a viewpoint corresponding to the viewpoint information received from the information processing system.
1. A communication system comprising:
the plurality of communication terminal including a first communication terminal and first wide-view image to be displayed, an image capturing apparatus configured to capture a first wide-view image having a wide angle of view;
and an information processing system configured to transmit video including the first wide- view image captured by the image capturing apparatus to each of a plurality of communication terminals,
the information processing system including system circuitry configured to transmit an image capturing request to the image capturing apparatus in response to receiving a request for capturing a second wide-view image from the first communication terminal, the image capturing apparatus including an imaging device configured to capture the second wide-view image in response to the image capturing request for capturing a second wide-view image, the system circuitry being configured to:
associate the second wide-view image with point-of-view information for specifying a predetermined area of the first wide-view image to be displayed, the predetermined area being designated at the first communication terminal,
wherein: the plurality of communication terminals further include a second communication terminal, the system circuitry is configured to: receive, from the first communication terminal, point-of-view information designated for the first wide-view image by the first communication terminal, with the request for capturing the second wide-view image;
and transmit, to the image capturing apparatus, the point-of-view information and storage destination information having a form of a uniform resource locator (“URL”), with the request for capturing the second wide-view image, and the image capturing apparatus further includes apparatus circuitry configured to store the second wide-view image and the point-of-view information in a storage destination indicated by the storage destination information which is in the form of the URL.
9. Limitations of remaining claims of instant application are obvious over the claims of US Pat. 12256148 B2 in view of prior art discussed under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action. Same motivation described under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action is applicable for combining US Pat. 12256148 B2 and stated prior arts. Please note 35 U.S.C. 101 allows only one patent from one patent application or invention. In that aspect all dependent claims of instant application are obvious variation of independent claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16, 21-22 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikawa (U.S. Pub. No. 20200296284 A1), in view of Sakaki (U.S. Pub. No. 20120062695 A1).
Regarding to claim 14, 26 and 29:
Claim 14. Aikawa teach a communication system comprising: a plurality of communication terminals each to display (Aikawa FIG. 10 – 5b, 6c, 6d) a wide-view image having a wide angle of view; and an information processing system to transmit video to the plurality of communication terminals, (Aikawa FIG. 11 [0111] The imaging device 101 includes two fisheye lenses 102a and 102b and two imaging elements 103a and 103b corresponding thereto. The fisheye lenses 102a and 102b are wide-angle lenses each having an angle of view of at least 180 degrees for forming a hemispherical image)
wherein: a first communication terminal of the plurality of communication terminals includes first circuitry configured to: display a first wide-view image; (Aikawa FIG. 1: a site B, a site C, and a site D display) in response to receiving an operation input to change a viewpoint of the first wide-view image by a user (Aikawa FIG. 1 photographer 8) of the first communication terminal, (Aikawa [0068] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an overview of an operation of the image communication system 10, in which communication is taking place between four sites: a site A, a site B, a site C, and a site D. At the site A, a photographer 8 captures an omnidirectional image in real time with an image capturing device 5a, and transmits the omnidirectional image to the sites B to D via a communication network 100. The transmission of the omnidirectional image or another type of image is also possible from the sites B to D. The omnidirectional image may be transmitted with or without audio data. Further, the omnidirectional image may be a still image, or may be repeatedly transmitted to produce a video image. [0069] The photographer 8 is able to switch a mode of viewing the omnidirectional image captured by the image capturing device 5a (hereinafter referred to as the view mode) between two modes: a free viewpoint mode and a photographer's view mode. In the free viewpoint mode, a user is able to freely change the image of a predetermined area forming a part of the omnidirectional image (hereinafter referred to as the predetermined area image). In the photographer's view mode, the predetermined area image is displayed based on photographer's view information transmitted by the photographer 8)
display the first wide- view image at the changed viewpoint; (Aikawa FIG. 40) and in response to receiving an operation to capture a wide-view image by the user of the first communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 1 [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode. In some situations such as when the photographer 8 has a specific object to show the users, therefore, the photographer 8 may switch the view mode to the photographer's view mode to draw the attention of the users to the object.)
transmit viewpoint information corresponding to a currently being displayed viewpoint (Aikawa FIG. 1 [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode.) and an imaging request to the information processing system, the information processing system includes system circuitry configured to: in response to receiving the imaging request from the first communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 25 [0206] The communication terminals 2 to 4 at the sites B to D similarly transmit the participation request to the communication management system 50, and select the virtual meeting room selected by the communication terminal 1. Thereby, the communication terminals 1 to 4 participate in the same communication session to have a video call with each other.)
and transmit the second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus and the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal to a second communication terminal, (Aikawa FIG. 1 shows the communication terminals 2 to 4. [0072] When the communication terminals 2 to 4 do not receive the photographer's view information, the users at the sites B to D are able to freely change the predetermined area of the omnidirectional image in the free viewpoint mode.)
and wherein the second communication terminal includes second circuitry configured to display the second wide-view image (Aikawa FIG. 10 – 5b, 6c, 6d) at a viewpoint corresponding to the viewpoint information received from the information processing system. (Aikawa [0068] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an overview of an operation of the image communication system 10, in which communication is taking place between four sites: a site A, a site B, a site C, and a site D. At the site A, a photographer 8 captures an omnidirectional image in real time with an image capturing device 5a, and transmits the omnidirectional image to the sites B to D via a communication network 100. The transmission of the omnidirectional image or another type of image is also possible from the sites B to D. The omnidirectional image may be transmitted with or without audio data. Further, the omnidirectional image may be a still image, or may be repeatedly transmitted to produce a video image. [0069] The photographer 8 is able to switch a mode of viewing the omnidirectional image captured by the image capturing device 5a (hereinafter referred to as the view mode) between two modes: a free viewpoint mode and a photographer's view mode. In the free viewpoint mode, a user is able to freely change the image of a predetermined area forming a part of the omnidirectional image (hereinafter referred to as the predetermined area image). In the photographer's view mode, the predetermined area image is displayed based on photographer's view information transmitted by the photographer 8)
Aikawa do not explicitly teach transmit an imaging request to an image capturing apparatus that has captured the first wide-view image; associate a second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus with the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal;
However Sakaki teach transmit an imaging request to an image capturing apparatus that has captured the first wide-view image; (Sakaki Fig. 2 [0081] Next, the operation of displaying the first panorama image and the second panorama image will be described. At the start of the operation, the control unit 310 sends to the camera terminal device 200 the command signal CM requesting the first panorama image signal DF, the second panorama image signal DP, the camera position information signal PM, and the video encoded signal DV.) associate a second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus with the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal; (Sakaki [0020] there is provided a program for causing a computer to function as first means for performing control so as to display a panorama image display area in which a panorama image captured with a camera is displayed and an enlarged image display area in which an enlarged image is displayed, the enlarged image being obtained by enlarging an area corresponding to a position specified on the panorama image, and second means for performing control so as to capture with the camera an image of the area corresponding to the position specified on the panorama image.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Aikawa, further incorporating Sakaki in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate transmit an imaging request to an image capturing apparatus that has captured the first wide-view image; associate a second wide-view image captured by the image capturing apparatus with the viewpoint information received from the first communication terminal. This functionality will improve user efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, wherein the system circuitry is configured to: transmit storage destination information to the first communication terminal; and transmit the storage destination information to the second communication terminal (Aikawa [0162] FIG. 20, Fig. 23 is a conceptual diagram illustrating the predetermined area management table. In the predetermined area management table, the IP address of the transmitter terminal, the IP address of the destination terminal, and the predetermined area information are stored and managed in association with each other. Aikawa [0163] For example, when the IP address of the communication terminal 3 is "1.2.1.3," the information managed in the first to third rows of the predetermined area management table in FIG. 20 indicates that the captured image data transmitted from the communication terminal 3 has been transmitted, via the
communication management system 50, to the communication terminal 4
corresponding to the IP address "1.2.2.3," the communication terminal 2 corresponding
to the IP address "1.3.1.3," and the communication terminal 1 corresponding to the IP
address "1.3.2.3." The information further indicates that the communication terminal 4 is
a transmitter terminal having transmitted predetermined area information (r=10, 8=20,
cp=30), that the communication terminal 2 is a transmitter terminal having transmitted
predetermined area information (r=20, 8=30, cp=40), and that the communication
terminal 1 is a transmitter terminal having transmitted predetermined area information
(r=30, 8=40, cp=50). That is, the predetermined area management table manages the
predetermined area information used by the communication terminals 1, 2, and 4 to
display the omnidirectional image) in response to receiving a request for sharing the storage destination information from the first communication terminal. (Aikawa [0079] Based on the operation signal US and the display state of the monitor 310, the control unit 310 determines what kind of process the user has selected and what kind of process the user has requested for execution. Based on the determination result, the control unit 310 generates a command signal CTm and supplies it to each unit to control the operation of the center server 300. Further, based on the determination result, the control unit 310 generates a command signal CM and supplies it to the camera terminal device 200 via the network interface unit 301 to control the operation of the camera terminal device 200. Furthermore, the control unit 310 generates a GUI display control signal CTg and supplies it to the display processing unit 305.)
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, wherein the system circuitry is configured to: provide, to at least one of the plurality of communication terminals, a screen that allows a user to input start or stop of transmission of a wide-view image by the image capturing apparatus; and request the image capturing apparatus to start transmitting the wide-view image in response to a transmission start request from the communication terminal or stop transmitting the wide-view image in response to a transmission stop request from the communication terminal. (Aikawa [0206] The communication terminals 2 to 4 at the sites B to D similarly transmit the participation request to the communication management system 50, and select the virtual meeting room selected by the communication terminal 1. Thereby, the communication terminals 1 to 4 participate in the same communication session to have a video call with each other. The communication session participation method described above with FIGS. 25 and 26 is illustrative. For example, the photographer 8 may establish a communication session by specifying identification information of a destination communication terminal or user. In this case, the communication session is established when the destination communication terminal or user specified as the destination (i.e., address) responds to a call from the photographer 8. It is obvious that video call has start and stop transmission)
Regarding to claim 21:
21. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, wherein the wide-view image includes a spherical image. (Aikawa [0081] FIG. 4A is a diagram illustrating a front hemispherical image captured by the image capturing device 5a. FIG. 4B is a diagram illustrating a rear hemispherical image captured by the image capturing device 5a. FIG. 4C is a diagram illustrating an image generated from the hemispherical images by equidistant cylindrical projection (hereinafter referred to as the equidistant cylindrical image). FIG. 5A is a conceptual diagram illustrating the equidistant cylindrical image covering a sphere. FIG. 5B is a diagram illustrating an omnidirectional image obtained from the equidistant cylindrical image)
Regarding to claim 22, 28 and 31:
22. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, further comprising: the first communication terminal including terminal circuitry configured to transmit the point-of-view information to the information processing system. (Aikawa [0068] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an overview of an operation of the image communication system 10, in which communication is taking place between four sites: a site A, a site B, a site C, and a site D. At the site A, a photographer 8 captures an omnidirectional image in real time with an image capturing device 5a, and transmits the omnidirectional image to the sites B to D via a communication network 100. The transmission of the omnidirectional image or another type of image is also possible from the sites B to D. The omnidirectional image may be transmitted with or without audio data. Further, the omnidirectional image may be a still image, or may be repeatedly transmitted to produce a video image. [0069] The photographer 8 is able to switch a mode of viewing the omnidirectional image captured by the image capturing device 5a (hereinafter referred to as the view mode) between two modes: a free viewpoint mode and a photographer's view mode. In the free viewpoint mode, a user is able to freely change the image of a predetermined area forming a part of the omnidirectional image (hereinafter referred to as the predetermined area image). In the photographer's view mode, the predetermined area image is displayed based on photographer's view information transmitted by the photographer 8)
Regarding to claim 27 and 30:
27. Aikawa teach the information processing system according to Claim 26, Aikawa do not explicitly teach further comprising: circuitry configured to transmit to the second communication terminal a thumbnail image of the second wide-view image.
However Sakaki teach further comprising: circuitry configured to transmit to the second communication terminal (Sakaki Fig. 2 [0081] Next, the operation of displaying the first panorama image and the second panorama image will be described. At the start of the operation, the control unit 310 sends to the camera terminal device 200 the command signal CM requesting the first panorama image signal DF, the second panorama image signal DP, the camera position information signal PM, and the video encoded signal DV.) a thumbnail image of the second wide-view image. (Sakaki [011 O] FIG. 13 shows each menu displayed when "Preset position," "Trigger," "Other," or "information" is clicked. "Preset position" is a thumbnail display of images shot in a plurality of predetermined shooting directions. When one of the thumbnail images is clicked and selected, the camera terminal device 200 can be made to face the direction of the selected thumbnail image.)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 17-20 and 23-25:
Claims 17-20 and 23-25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account. Please note double patent rejection is applied for all claims.
Regarding to claim 17-20:
17. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, (Aikawa [0162] FIG. 20, Fig. 23). Prior art does not teach this wherein the system circuitry is configured to: accept registration of the image capturing apparatus in a tenant; provide, to the communication terminal, a list indicating a communication group registered in advance in the tenant and information on the image capturing apparatus registered in the tenant; and associate the image capturing apparatus for which selection is accepted by the communication terminal with the communication group for which selection is accepted by the communication terminal, because the concept of tenant registration as explained in the claim above as per Fig. 15 A and specification PGPUB para 172 is not obvious from prior art search.
Regarding to claim 23-25:
23. Aikawa teach the communication system according to claim 14, Prior art does not teach this wherein: the image capturing apparatus includes circuitry configured to transmit a URL ("uniform resource locator") request to the image processing system; the image processing system includes circuitry to transmit the URL to the image capturing apparatus in response to the URL request.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896