Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an input interface, a reconstruction unit, a reduction unit and a super-resolution unit, an interpolation unit, a matrix unit, a transformation unit, an augmentation unit, a back-transformation unit and a cropping unit) in claims 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (US9746538) hereafter Wang1 in view of Wang (US20200319283) hereafter Wang2.
1. Regarding claim 1, Wang1 discloses a method (fig 1 shows a method) for generating magnetic resonance image data of an object under examination with increased resolution, comprising:
receiving oversampled k-space data of a region of interest of the object under examination, wherein the oversampled k-space data has been obtained by oversampling in a phase-encoding direction with a predetermined oversampling factor greater than 1 (fig 1 step 12, 14 and 16, col 3 lines 43 through col 4 lines 46 shows and discloses receiving oversampled k-space data of a region of interest of the object under examination, wherein the oversampled k-space data has been obtained by oversampling in a phase-encoding direction with a predetermined oversampling factor greater than 1 (i.e for example oversampling by a factor of 2) meeting the claim limitations);
reconstructing magnetic resonance image data based on the oversampled k-space data, with an image region enlarged by the oversampling factor relative to the region of interest (col 4 lines 66 through col 5 lines 3 discloses “for example an oversampling factor of two may result in the region being twice the size (i.e enlarged) of the reduced field of view. Due to the line density or other changes, there may not be a 1:1 ratio of oversampling factor to the region size” and steps 24, 26 , col 6 lines 35-61 discloses the reconstruction of the magnetic resonance image data of the oversampled k-space data in the prior step 12,14 and 16 meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of reconstruction are not required by the current claim);
generating reduced magnetic resonance image data by reducing the enlarged image region in the phase-encoding direction (col 5 lines “The coil sensitivity is estimated for the region greater than the reduced field of view due to the oversampling. For example with an oversampling factor of two, the region is twice as large in real space than the reduced field of view size (i.e the region is enlarged). Where the field of view is reduced along more than one direction, the resulting estimates of coil sensitivity are for a region greater than the reduced field of view along those multiple directions. For example, the field of view is reduced along the axial and lateral directions relative to the patient (i.e generating the coil sensitivity data (MRI data) for the reduced FOV (i.e generating the reduced magnetic resonance image data reduced by reducing the enlarged image region in the phase encoding direction) meeting the above claim limitations);
Wang2 disclose generating image data with increased resolution by applying a super-resolution method to the reduced magnetic resonance image data (fig 6, paras 0053, 0091 shows and discloses
generating image data with increased resolution by applying a super-resolution method to the reduced magnetic resonance image data). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Wang2 and Wang1 are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved sharp image at para 0064. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Wang2 in the method of Wang1 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
2. Claim 11 is a corresponding device claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. Wang1 shows the device in fig 4.
3. Claim 13 is a corresponding system claim of claim 11. Wang1 shows the system in fig 4.
4. Claim 14 is a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. Wang1 discloses in col 8 lines 4-47 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method as claimed in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
/JAYESH PATEL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677