DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0109314 to Stravinskas et al. (“Stravinskas”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,508,892 to Laczynski et al. (“Laczynski”).
Regarding claim 1, Stravinskas discloses a book (100, as shown in fig. 1 and discussed at para. 20) with backlit (para. 20) pages (108, as shown in fig. 1; note that per para. 9, the term “pages” can also refer to front cover 102 and back cover 104), wherein the book (100) comprises (compare figs. 1-2A; per para. 22, fig. 2A simply represents an exploded view of a page of the fig. 1 embodiment) two (fig. 2A) shielding (fig. 2A; note the manner in which overlay sheets 204 shield the inner LED lights 202) films (e.g. overlay sheets 204).
Stravinskas does not disclose: i) said two shielding films (204) being light impermeable, each of which having cut-outs; ii) two light-permeable print layers containing content graphics being attached to surfaces of the two shielding layers (204) facing away from the light conducting fibre (202) respectively; and iii) wherein at least part of the content graphics is aligned with at least part of the cut-outs to enable light from the light conducting fibre (202) to illuminate the at least part of the content graphics.
Laczynski teaches the concept of providing a shielding (compare figs. 2 and 6; note the manner in which support panel 55 shields the inner wiring of light fibres 100) film (e.g. support panel 55, as shown in fig. 2) that is light impermeable (the Office acknowledges paragraph 27 of Applicant’s filed specification, in which Applicant describes a desired “light-impermeable” film 6 as being one that includes cut-outs 61 therein- note that such cut-outs will actually allow some light to pass through; the Office also acknowledges paragraph 18 of Applicant’s filed specification, indicating that Applicant’s figure 5 provides an illustration of the desired construction- note the manner in which cut-outs 61 provide uninhibited visibility of underlying components, and thus allows light from light-conducting fibre 4 to pass through as well; note that in view of the foregoing and in accord with MPEP 2111.01, allowing an applicant to act as his own lexicographer, Applicant’s term “light impermeable film” is hereby interpreted as a film obscuring the passage of light in some regions, but also allowing light to be transmitted in other regions via cut-out portions, as opposed to a conventional interpretation of “a sheet that is completely opaque, allowing the transmission of zero light therethrough”), having cutouts (e.g. apertures 98, as shown in fig. 2).
Laczynski also teaches the concept of providing a light-permeable (per col. 4, lines 53-55, light from light fibers 100 housed in apertures 98 of support panel 55 forms backlighting for letters of the “Message” 99 indicia in display panel 54, as shown in fig. 2; note that as such, display panel 54 is at least partially light-permeable within its “Message” 99 portion) print layer (e.g. display panel 54, as shown in fig. 2; note the plurality of indicia printed thereon) containing content graphics (e.g. peripheral outline of “Message” 99 graphic, as shown in fig. 2), attached to (fig. 2) a surface (e.g. outward facing surface, as shown in figs. 2 and 6) of said shielding light impermeable layer (55) facing away from (figs. 2 and 6) a light conducting fibre (aforementioned underlying light fibers 100 housed in apertures 98).
Laczynski further teaches the concept of providing at least part of said content graphics (aforementioned peripheral outline of “Message” 99 graphic) being aligned with (fig. 2) at least part of (fig. 2) said cut-outs (98) to enable light from said light conducting fibre (100) to illuminate (fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 53-55) the at least part of the content graphics (aforementioned peripheral outline of “Message” 99 graphic).
Given that Stravinskas concerns a backlit display page assembly (see the configuration shown in Stravinskas fig. 2A) and Laczynski concerns a backlit panel assembly employing a similar arrangement (see the configuration shown in Laczynski fig. 2), both respective assemblies incorporating lights that provide backlighting and thereby enhance overlying printed designs, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Laczynski’s teachings to the Stravinskas assembly such that each instance of the Stravinskas overlay sheet 204 is replaced by the Laczynski combination of support panel 55 and overlying display panel 54, with the bulbs of underlying Stravinskas LED lights 202 being arranged to abut the respective Laczynski apertures 98 of each support panel 55, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant more interesting and aesthetically pleasing appearance for the overall Stravinskas assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the light conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) between the shielding light impermeable films (Laczynski 55) constitutes a ring of a rectangular shape.
However, such a shaping would be an obvious matter of design choice.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Stravinskas LED lights 202 in a rectangular ring shaping in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant aesthetic appearance as desired.
Regarding claim 3, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein at least one light-permeable print layer (e.g. an instance of Laczynski display panel 54 disposed on a front side of a Stravinskas page 108 assembly pursuant to the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) containing (Laczynski fig. 2) the content graphics (Laczynski “Message” 99) is attached to (at least indirectly- see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) another light-permeable print layer (e.g. an instance of Laczynski display panel 54 disposed on a rear side of a Stravinskas page 108 assembly pursuant to the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) containing (Laczynski fig. 2) the content graphics (Laczynski “Message” 99).
Regarding claim 4, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (e.g. chain formed by aforementioned Stravinskas LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 2, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (e.g. chain formed by aforementioned Stravinskas LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 3, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (e.g. chain formed by aforementioned Stravinskas LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 7, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein the light-permeable print layers (Laczynski 54) arranged on two sides (e.g. front and rear sides, pursuant to the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) of the light conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) are illuminated (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that Laczynski does not disclose “a light conducting fiber is arranged between the two shielding light impermeable films” recited in claim 1 (Arguments/Remarks pg. 2), the Office respectfully asserts that pursuant to the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, a “light conducting fiber” element represented by the chain of Stravinskas LED lights 202 of fig. 2A will be arranged between two “shielding light impermeable film” elements represented as instances of Laczynski support panel 55 of fig. 2 that are attached to respective front and rear surfaces of the aforementioned chain of Stravinskas LED lights 202.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “the intermediate support panel 55 is used to hold the output ends or ‘tails’ of the light fibers, … that is, they are not arranged behind the apertures 98” (Arguments/Remarks pg. 3), the Office respectfully asserts that pursuant to the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, the chain of Stravinskas LED lights 202 of fig. 2A will be disposed/arranged behind instances of Laczynski support panel 55 of fig. 2 that are attached to respective front and rear surfaces of the aforementioned chain of Stravinskas LED lights 202, with their LED bulbs arranged to abut the respective Laczynski apertures 98 of each support panel 55.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Laczynski does not disclose “two shielding light impermeable films” recited in claim 1 (Arguments/Remarks pg. 3), the Office acknowledges paragraph 27 of Applicant’s filed specification, in which Applicant describes a desired “light-impermeable” film 6 as being one that includes cut-outs 61 therein- note that such cut-outs will actually allow some light to pass through. The Office also acknowledges paragraph 18 of Applicant’s filed specification, indicating that Applicant’s figure 5 provides an illustration of the desired construction- note the manner in which cut-outs 61 provide uninhibited visibility of underlying components, and thus allows light from light-conducting fibre 4 to pass through as well. In view of the foregoing and in accord with MPEP 2111.01, allowing an applicant to act as his own lexicographer, Applicant’s term “light impermeable film” is hereby interpreted as a film obscuring the passage of light in some regions, but also allowing light to be transmitted in other regions via cut-out portions, as opposed to a conventional interpretation of “a sheet that is completely opaque, allowing the transmission of zero light therethrough”. As mapped in the rejection of claim 1, supra, Laczynski’s support panel 55 indeed provides the requisite structure (as understood in view of Applicant’s description set forth within the originally filed specification). Applicant is encouraged to see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra.
In response to Applicant’s argument that both Stravinskas and Laczynski do not refer to a cutout through which light emitted from the light conducting fiber behind two shielding light impermeable films will be propagated (Arguments/Remarks pg. 4), the Office respectfully asserts that as presently drawn, Applicant’s claims include no limitation of “cutout through which light emitted from the light conducting fiber behind two shielding light impermeable films will be propagated”. However, if Applicant indeed desires such a configuration, Applicant is encouraged to duly amend the claim language to establish such, provided that it is fully supported by the content of the originally filed specification.
In response to Applicant’s argument that those skilled in the art would not even have a motivation to employ the support panel 55 for holding tails of light conducting fibers in Laczynski (Arguments/Remarks pg. 4), the Office respectfully encourages Applicant to see the actual combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra. The content of Applicant’s argument suggests that Applicant might currently misunderstand the physical nature of the actual proposed combination of prior art references. In view of this, the instant Office Action has been written in a manner attempting to state the nature of the prior art combination as clearly as possible. In the event that Applicant’s Representative would like additional assistance in understanding such, Applicant’s Representative is absolutely welcome to telephone Examiner at any time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637