DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0109314 to Stravinskas et al. (“Stravinskas”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,508,892 to Laczynski et al. (“Laczynski”).
Regarding claim 1, Stravinskas discloses a book (100, as shown in fig. 1 and discussed at para. 20) with backlit (para. 20) pages (108), wherein the book (100) comprises two shielding (fig. 2A) films (e.g. overlay sheets 204), a light conducting fibre (e.g. LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A and discussed at para. 22) is arranged between (fig. 2A) the two shielding films (204).
Stravinskas does not disclose the two shielding films (204) being light impermeable, each of which having cut-outs, and two light-permeable print layers containing content graphics being attached to surfaces of the two shielding films (204) facing away from the light conducting fibre (202) respectively, wherein at least part of the content graphics is aligned with at least part of the cut-outs to enable light from the light conducting fibre (202) to illuminate the at least part of the content graphics.
Laczynski teaches the concept of providing a shielding (fig. 2) light impermeable (figs. 2 and 6; note the manner in which apertures 98 must be provided within intermediate support panel 55 to allow any illumination from light fibres 100 to be visible therethrough, thus implying that the remainder of the panel 55 must be light-impermeable) film (e.g. intermediate support panel 55, as shown in figs. 2 and 6) having cut-outs (e.g. apertures 98, as shown in fig. 2), a light conducting fibre (e.g. light fibres 100, as shown in fig. 6 and discussed at col. 4, lines 53-55) is arranged behind (fig. 6) the shielding light impermeable film (55), and a light-permeable print layer (e.g. front effect panel 54, as shown in figs. 2 and 6) containing content graphics (e.g. “Message” 99, as shown in fig. 2) is attached to (fig. 2) a surface (e.g. outward facing surface, as shown in fig. 2) of the shielding light impermeable film (55) facing away from (figs. 2 and 6) the light conducting fibre (100), wherein at least part of the content graphics (aforementioned “Message” 99) is aligned with (fig. 2) at least part of the cut-outs (98) to enable light from the light conducting fibre (100) to illuminate (compare figs. 2 and 6) the at least part of the content graphics (aforementioned “Message” 99).
Given that Stravinskas and Laczynski both concern backlit display panel assemblies incorporating lights into overlying printed designs (compare Stravinskas fig. 2A and Laczynski fig. 2), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the Laczynski teachings to Stravinskas, using Laczynski support panel 55 and front effect panel 54 pairs in lieu of the Stravinskas overlay sheets 204 and disposing the Stravinskas LED lights 202 within the Laczynski apertures 98, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant more aesthetically pleasing appearance for the overall assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the light conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) between the shielding light impermeable films (Laczynski 55) constitutes a ring of a rectangular shape.
However, such a shaping would be an obvious matter of design choice.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Stravinskas LED lights 202 in a rectangular ring shaping in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant aesthetic appearance as desired.
Regarding claim 3, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein at least one light-permeable print layer (e.g. instance of Laczynski 54 disposed on front of Stravinskas translucent sheet 200) containing the content graphics (Laczynski “Message” 99) is attached to (at least indirectly- see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) another light-permeable print layer (e.g. instance of Laczynski 54 disposed on rear of Stravinskas translucent sheet 200) containing the content graphics (Laczynski “Message” 99).
Regarding claim 4, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (aforementioned Stravinskas chain of LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 2, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (aforementioned Stravinskas chain of LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 3, wherein the light-conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) is a side-emitting optical fibre or a LED light chain (aforementioned Stravinskas chain of LED lights 202, as shown in fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 7, Stravinskas in view of Laczynski discloses the book with backlit pages according to claim 1, wherein the light-permeable print layers (Laczynski 54) arranged on two sides (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) of the light conducting fibre (Stravinskas 202) are illuminated (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s material claim amendments, a new understanding of the exact nature of the claimed invention has been gleaned. Accordingly, a further search of the pertinent areas of prior art has been executed. Within said search, the aforementioned Laczynski reference was identified. As such, Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection, based on the combination of references relied upon herein, is not specifically challenged in Applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637