DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
See the Terminal Disclaimer review decision on 09/08/2026.
-2 TDs disapproved with this filing date.
-The incorrect TD forms were submitted. Please resubmit on PTO/AIA /25 (04-13) for pending reference or PTO/AIA /26 (04-14) for prior patent. No additional fees are required with the resubmissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hartenstein et al. (US 6,711,470) in view of Sharp et al. (US 7,302,313).
Regarding claim 1: Hartenstein discloses an air quality monitoring system comprising: a memory (22) to store machine instructions; and a processor (21), coupled to the memory, that executes the machine instructions to perform operations (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 1-67), comprising: receiving an ambient value of ambient values from a sensor device (sensor array (82) data is output to the acquisition module (84); col. 9, line 66-col. 10, line 9) of a group of sensor devices relating to indoor air quality of a habitable structure (indoor air quality of a building; col. 7, lines 15-32; thus; a building is a habitable structure) affecting healthcare, wherein the sensor device is located in a habitable structure, the sensor device comprising at least one of a particulate sensor, a temperature sensor, a relative humidity sensor, a volatile organic compounds sensor, a nitrogen oxides sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a combustible gas sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, and a formaldehyde sensor (col. 8, lines 24-40); as a function of the ambient value, establishing a baseline threshold value (array signatures in database, 88) for the habitable structure; based on the baseline threshold value for the habitable structure, adjusting the parameter value associated with the sensor device; and a notification component that provides a notification to take remedial measures when the ambient value exceeds the baseline threshold value (col. 10, lines 1-26). Hartenstein does not disclose utilizing artificial intelligence (AI) for performing the processing of the sensor data. Sharp discloses an air quality monitoring system which generate programs and parameters for operating the air monitoring unit utilizes artificial intelligence (AI) to analyze the sensor data (col. 13, lines 13-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize AI as taught by Sharp in a system as disclosed by Hartenstein to effectively and accurately determine the air quality of the environment.
Regarding claim 2: Hartenstein discloses the operations further comprise, establishing the base line threshold value as a function of a historical baseline threshold value of historical baseline threshold values associated with the habitable structure (col. 4, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 3: Sharp discloses the notification component uses e-mail (col. 2, lines 48-53).
Regarding claim 4: Hartenstein discloses in response to a change in the parameter value, the sensor device facilitates a change in operating state associated with a climate control device (col. 11, lines 5-37).
Regarding claim 5: Hartenstein discloses adjusting the parameter value in response to determining that a benefit associated with adjusting the parameter value is greater that a cost associated with adjusting the parameter value (col. 11, lines 5-37).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 10 and 11: Hartenstein discloses the sensor array (82) include any number of sensors including carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitrogen oxides, humidity, pressure, temperature (col. 8, lines 25-39). It would have been obvious that their ambient values are different from one another and therefore, would obviously include the first, second or more baselines with respect to the number of sensors being used.
Regarding claims 7 and 9: Sharp discloses the wireless communication of the sensors (col. 3, lines 20-30; col. 19, lines 7-17).
Regarding claims 12 and 18: See claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13: Hartenstein discloses facilitating the server device to generate, based on the aggregation data, an environmental fingerprint associated with a defined area within the residential structure (the array signature data of the area; col. 10, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 14: Hartenstein discloses the operations further comprise facilitating the server device to return the environmental fingerprint data to a sensor device of the group of sensor devices (the array signature data of the area; col. 10, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 15: Hartenstein discloses the operations further comprise facilitating the sensor device to change, based on the environmental fingerprint data, a state associated with a climate control device from a first state to a second state (col. 10, lines 7-26.
Regarding claim 19: See claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 20: See claim 3 above.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hartenstein et al. (US 6,711,470) in view of Sharp et al. (US 7,302,313) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Park (US 2009/0307255).
Regarding claims 16 and 17: Hartenstein and Sharp do not disclose the digital camera. Park discloses a building automation system which controls the building’s HVAC and includes a digital camera and motion sensor [0043, 0054]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the digital camera and the motion sensor as taught by Park in a system as disclosed by Hartenstein and Sharp to effectively control the air quality as well as controlling the power usage.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,235,252 and claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,680,935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because They all claimed the same subject matter. The same subject matter involves receiving the ambient values from the sensor device; establish the baseline threshold; based on the baseline value, adjust the parameter value associated with the sensor device; and provide a notification to take remedial measures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that the sensing of an indoor air quality of a habitable structure and a baseline threshold value for the habitable structure is not taught by Hartenstein; thus, the habitable structure is a building in which one lives. Hartenstein clearly teaches the indoor air quality monitoring of a building (habitable structure) (col. 5, lines 6-16; indoor air quality of a building; col. 7, lines 15-32; thus, a building is a habitable structure. Hartenstein also teaches “Data acquisition module 84 functions to produce an array signature which is indicative of the contaminants in the air sampled by sensor array 82. Data acquisition module 84 may employ compression and decompression techniques as well as analog/digital signal conversions. This information is then passed to inference engine 86. In this embodiment, inference engine 86 receives the information through a newel neural net 130. Next, the array signature is placed within the n-dimensional space by matrix 131. Recognition module 132 compares the array signature in matrix 131 with the array signatures in database 88 (indicative of the reference/threshold value). If this comparison is a new signature in step 133, then the array signature is labeled or rejected in step 135. If the comparison produces a known signature, then identity module 134 identifies the contaminant and HVAC control 90 then takes corrective actions, which may include adjusting the recirculation rate, selecting an alternative outside or makeup air source, adjusting the air flow rate, selecting a mitigation module, or issuing an alert or evacuation signal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 10/16/26