Detailed Action
This office Action is in response to an application filed on 01/17/2025, which is a CON of 18/430,963 filed on 02/02/2024 (PAT 12284367), which is a CON of 17/345,295 filed on 06/11/2021 (PAT 11924438), which is a CON of PCT/CN2019/125393 filed on 12/13/2019, in which claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(a)-(d). Claimed foreign priority to CHINA 201811539678.1 filed on 12/15/2018 and CHINA 201811585506.8 filed on 12/24/2018. The certified copy of priority has been filed on 07/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
This information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, and similar dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Conflicting Patent PAT US 11,924,438 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the Conflicting Patent and is covered by the Patent since the Patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, below is a list of limitations that perform the same function, however, different terminology may be used in both sets to describe the limitations, as follows, Claim 8 is used as an example to analyze the common subject matter:
Conflicting Patent No. US 11,924,438 B2
Instant Application:-19/026,849
1. A picture reconstruction method, comprising: obtaining a prediction mode of a current coding unit; obtaining a prediction partition mode of the current coding unit, wherein the current coding unit comprises a luma coding block and a chroma coding block, and the prediction partition mode is a mode of splitting the current coding unit into prediction blocks or prediction units; obtaining a transform block of the current coding unit based on the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode; and generating a reconstructed picture block of the current coding unit based on the transform block, wherein obtaining the transform block of the current coding unit based on the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode further comprises: when the prediction mode is the intra prediction mode and the prediction partition mode of the luma coding block is either a vertical quartering partition or a vertical asymmetric binary split, splitting the luma coding block through the vertical quartering partition to obtain a luma transform block, and skipping splitting the chroma coding block and using the chroma coding block as a chroma transform block; or when the prediction mode is the intra prediction mode and the prediction partition mode of the luma coding block is either a horizontal quartering partition or a horizontal asymmetric binary split, splitting the luma coding block through the horizontal quartering partition to obtain a luma transform block, and skipping splitting the chroma coding block and using the chroma coding block as a chroma transform block, and wherein obtaining the transform block of the current coding unit based on the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode further comprises: when the prediction mode is the inter prediction mode, skipping splitting the current coding unit and using the current coding unit as a transform unit.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an encoded bitstream for a video signal stored therein, the encoded bitstream including prediction mode of a current coding unit and a prediction partition mode of the current coding unit, wherein the current coding unit comprises a luma coding block and a chroma coding block, and the prediction partition mode is a mode of splitting the current coding unit into at least two prediction blocks or prediction units based on size information of the current coding unit, and wherein the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode are used to obtain a transform block of the current coding unit, and wherein, when the prediction mode is the intra prediction mode and the prediction partition mode of the luma coding block is either a vertical quartering partition, splitting the luma coding block through the vertical quartering partition to obtain a luma prediction block; obtaining the transform block of the current coding unit based on the luma prediction block; and skipping splitting the chroma coding block and using the chroma coding block as a chroma transform block; when the prediction mode is the intra prediction mode and the prediction partition mode of the luma coding block is either a horizontal quartering partition, splitting the luma coding block through the horizontal quartering partition to obtain a luma prediction block; obtaining a transform block of the current coding unit based on the luma prediction block; and skipping splitting the chroma coding block and using the chroma coding block as a chroma transform block; wherein the transform block is used to generate a reconstructed picture block of the current coding unit.
As demonstrated, the claim of US patent US 11,924,438 B2 anticipate the features of the claim of instant application 19/026,849.
A nonstatutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope or filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-3, and 9-10 refer to "A method”, Claims 4-6, and 11-12 refer to "An apparatus”, Claims 7, and 13-14 refers to "A non-transitory storage medium”, and Claim 8 refers to “A non-transitory storage medium”. Claims 4-8 and 11-14 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 1-3, and 9-10, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 1-3, and 9-10, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senzaki et al. (US 20210029363 A1), hereinafter Senzaki, in view of Lee et al. (US 20190028733 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Senzaki discloses a method comprising (Fig. 1): obtaining a prediction mode of a current coding unit and a prediction partition mode of the current coding unit (Fig. 7, element S303), wherein the current coding unit comprises a luma coding block and a chroma coding block ([0011]), and the prediction partition mode is a mode of splitting the current coding unit into at least two prediction blocks or prediction units based on size information of the current coding unit ([0046]).
Senzaki discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Senzaki does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section a chroma coding block; obtaining a transform block of the current coding unit based on the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode.
However, Lee from the same or similar endeavor teaches a chroma coding block; obtaining a transform block of the current coding unit based on the prediction partition mode and the prediction mode ([0064], Fig. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Senzaki to incorporate the teachings of Lee to improve coding efficiency (Lee, [0005]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Senzaki in view of Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the prediction mode of the current coding unit further comprises: obtaining the prediction mode from a bitstream through parsing or derivation, wherein the prediction mode comprises an intra prediction mode and an inter prediction mode (Senzaki, Fig. 7, [0046], Lee, Fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 3, Senzaki in view of Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the prediction partition mode of the current coding unit further comprises: determining, based on a size of the current coding unit, candidate prediction partition modes that are allowed to be used for the current coding unit; and determining the prediction partition mode from the candidate prediction partition modes that are allowed to be used (Senzaki, Fig. 7,[0048], Lee, Fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 4-14, See Examiner’s Note.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487