DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the weight sensor and plurality of thin-film sensors must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, which is/are a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term(s) should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term(s) should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 14 should recite “the processing result”.
Claim 2 lines 1 and 5 should recite “the weight sensor”.
Claim 2 line 2 should recite “a center”.
Claim 2 line 4 should recite “lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region;” and will be treated as such for examination purposes.
Claim 4 line 3 should recite “the overall posture”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"data processing module comprises a pre-processing unit and an algorithm unit for receiving ... ” in claim 1 lines 7-9 and claim 9 lines 5-8.
“weight sensor ... for obtaining the plantar pressure data” in Claim 1 lines 4-5 and Claim 9 lines 3-4.
“wireless communication module ... for transmitting the plantar pressure data ... to an external device ...” in Claim 1 lines 10-12 and claim 9 lines 9-12;
“feedback module for real-time training feedback to the user while the user is performing rehabilitation training, to help the user correct optimize movement and posture in a timely manner” in claim 1 lines 17-19 and claim 9 lines 17-19.
The feedback module is defined, in para. [0083-0085] of the published specification – see US 20260207077 A1, as a vibration device inside the shoe emitting a slight vibration, external device for sound or visual feedback.
Regarding the data processing module, pre-processing unit, algorithm unit, weight sensor, and wireless communication module, the specification does not describe any sufficient corresponding structure for performing the claimed functions. As such, any structure that can carry out the specific functions of claims 1 and 9 is being interpreted as the requisite structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distribution" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “a distribution”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the overall posture" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “an overall posture”.
Claim 1 recites “an external device or a cloud” in line 12. It is unclear if this is the same external device or cloud or a different external device or cloud than recited in line 10. For examination purposes it will be treated as referring to the same external device or cloud that is recited in line 10 and the limitation is suggested to recite “the external device or the cloud”.
Claim 1 recites “a user” in line 12. It is unclear if this is the same user or a different user than recited in lines 8-9. For examination purposes it will be treated as a different user and lines 8-9 of claim 1 is suggested to recite “a/the patient” or line 12 is suggested to recite “a second user” or “rehabilitation doctor”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the user history data" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “combined with historical data of the user”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected by virtue of depending from rejected claim 1.
Claim 2 (claim 3 by virtue of dependency) recites “the plurality of highly sensitive thin-film sensors” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear if the plurality of highly sensitive thin-film sensors are in addition to or the same sensors as recited in claim 1. For examination purposes the limitation will be treated as referring to the same sensors recited in claim 1 and the limitation is suggested to recite “plurality of pressure thin-film sensors”.
Claim 4 recites “a third algorithm” in line 2. It is unclear how there is a third algorithm when a first and second algorithm have not been previously established. Claim 4 is suggested to recite “an algorithm” or claim 4 is suggested to depend from claim 3 and recite “a second algorithm”.
Claim 5 contains the trademark/trade name “Bluetooth” and “Wi-fi”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a wireless communication connection and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is construed to refer to any of the various Bluetooth® and Wi-Fi® communication variants.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the distribution" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “a distribution”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the overall posture" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “an overall posture”.
Claim 9 recites “a user” in line 10. It is unclear if this is the same user or a different user than recited in line 6. For examination purposes it will be treated as a different user and lines 8-9 of claim 1 is suggested to recite “a/the patient” or line 12 is suggested to recite “a second user” or “rehabilitation doctor”.
Claim 9 recites “an external device or a cloud” in lines 11-12 . It is unclear if this is the same external device or cloud or a different external device or cloud than recited in line 10. For examination purposes it will be treated as referring to the same external device or cloud that is recited in line 10 and the limitation is suggested to recite “the external device or the cloud”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the user history data" in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “combined with historical data of the user”.
Claim 9 recites “the training control module” in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear how the training control module is used in the adaptive rehabilitation training method. Examiner suggests relating the training control module to the generation of the personalized rehabilitation training program similar to claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected by virtue of depending from rejected claim 9.
The claim limitations regarding the “data processing module, pre-processing unit, algorithm unit, weight sensor, and wireless communication module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Para. [0037, 0040] of the published specification (see US 20260207077 A1), teaches that the weight sensor is able to capture the total pressure across the entire sole of the foot during walking, standing or movement, data that is important for assessing the user's center of gravity shift, weight distribution and gait stability but does not define the structure that is capable of performing this function.
Para. [0049] of the published specification teaches that the data processing module comprising a pre-processing unit and an algorithm unit for receiving, pre-processing and analyzing the plantar pressure data but does not define the structure that is capable of performing these functions.
Para. [0072] of the published specification teaches that the wireless communication module is connected to an external device or a cloud and transmits plantar pressure data and processing results but does not define the structure that is capable of performing this function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Examiner note: A 101 analysis was performed on the claims but concluded it was not necessary because the claimed system/structures are not well understood, routine, and conventional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 102298633 English Translation) in view of Chen (WO 2024249309 A2), and further in view of Nie (US 20200390380 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an adaptive rehabilitation training system based on plantar pressure data (home gait rehabilitation device (1000), para. [0001, 0018, 0045], fig. 4), comprising a pressure sensor array (“plantar pressure sensor unit 210 ... installed in an array”, para. [0059], fig. 4), a data processing module (measurement data analysis unit (110) & gait state analysis unit (120), para. [0036-0037, 0065-0066], fig. 4), a wireless communication module (wireless network communication unit (170), para. [0026], fig. 4), a training control module (walking trainer management unit (310), para. [0027, 0044], fig. 4), and a feedback module (feedback unit (130), para. [0067], fig. 4); the pressure sensor array (210, figs. 4-5) comprises a plurality of pressure sensors (“plurality of pressure sensors ... array”, para. [0059], fig. 5) for obtaining the plantar pressure data (“magnitude ... pressure distribution”, para. [0059]) and transmitting the same synchronously to the data processing module (“transmits the measurement values”; “the measurement values of the plantar pressure sensor unit (210) ... according to synchronized time”, para. [0058, 0064-0065]); the data processing module (measurement data analysis unit (110) & gait state analysis unit (120), para. [0036-0037, 0065-0066], fig. 4) comprises a pre-processing unit (measurement data analysis unit (110), fig. 4) and an algorithm unit (gait state analysis unit (120), fig. 4) for receiving, pre-processing (“processing signals ... measurement data receiving unit (160) that receives the measurement values”; “numerical values calculated in the measurement data analysis unit (110)”, para. [0063-0064, 0109]) and analyzing the plantar pressure data to identify user gait patterns, analyze the distribution of plantar pressures, and assess the overall posture of the user (“determines the walking state of a walking trainee based on changes in sole pressure and dynamic changes in foot movement analyzed from the above measurement data analysis unit (110)”; “determine the balance of both feet ... calculates the error value between the center of pressure identified by the measurement data analysis unit (110) and the center of pressure of the reference/training walking pattern at each sampling stage using the following formula”, para. [0022, 0037, 0112-0138]); the wireless communication module (wireless network communication unit (170), para. [0026], fig. 4) is connected to an external device or a cloud (hospital server (300), fig. 4) for transmitting the plantar pressure data and a processing result of the data processing module to an external device or a cloud to facilitate remote monitoring by a user (“transmits at least one of the outputs of ... to a hospital server ... wireless network”; “doctor or rehabilitation trainer”, para. [0026, 0047, 0168]); the training control module (walking trainer management unit (310), para. [0027, 0044], fig. 4) comprises a training algorithm (walking trainer management unit (310), “receives and processes information”, para. [0027, 0044, 0071], fig. 4) for generating a personalized rehabilitation training program (“310 ... processes information ... generates a training walking pattern”, para. [0041, 0044, 0071-0074]) based on the plantar pressure data and the processing results of the data processing module, combined with the user history data, and adaptively adjusts the rehabilitation training program (“adjusts the training level or stage of the gait trainer to be higher or adjusts items with poor training results to improve, thereby directly or automatically generating a training gait pattern suitable for the gait trainer”; “previous walking training information ... selects a standard gait pattern from the standard gait pattern database (312) that matches the gait trainer's age and physical condition ... transmits the previously stored training gait pattern based on the login information”; “adjusts the training gait pattern ... automatically adjusts it ... 310”, para. [0168-0180, 0182-0183]); the feedback module (feedback unit 130, fig. 4) for real-time training feedback to the user while the user is performing rehabilitation training, to help the user correct optimize movement and posture in a timely manner (“easily identify and correct their walking pattern or the balance of both feet ... process the sensor unit's signal in real time and notify the pedestrian”, para. [0023-0025, 0048, 0151, 0190]). Kim further discloses that the user's weight can be detected through the above-mentioned plantar pressure sensor unit (210) (para. [0060]).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the pressure sensor array comprising a weight sensor and a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Chen directed to wearable force sensing insoles with automatic calibration discloses a pressure sensor array (insole apparatus 100 including flexible pressure sensor array 110, fig. 3) comprising a weight sensor (wearable force plate 120 comprising accurate and stable micro load cells 122; “body weight scales”, para. [0022-0024]) and a plurality of pressure sensors (“flexible pressure sensor array 110 ... 2 mm”, fig. 3, para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the pressure sensor array comprises a weight sensor and the plurality of pressure sensors, in view of the teachings of Chen, as this would aid in supplying an absolute force measurement as reference to allow for automatic calibration of the pressure sensor array (Chen, para. [0020]).
Kim, as modified by Chen hereinabove, does not expressly disclose pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Nie directed to a testing system for a human stress reaction including a plantar pressure test module 60 discloses a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors (“plurality of thin-film pressure sensors ... mounted on the insole”, para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen hereinabove, such that the pressure sensor array comprises a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors, in view of the teachings of Nie, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the plurality of pressure sensors of Kim for the plurality of thin-film pressure sensors of Nie to measure the distribution of the foot pressure.
Regarding claim 8, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses the adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 1, wherein the training feedback comprises vibration feedback, sound feedback, or visual feedback (display unit 140; speak unit 150; “visual or auditory means”, para. [0023-0025, 0181]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses an adaptive rehabilitation training method based on plantar pressure data (“home gait rehabilitation device and method”, para. [0001, 0018, 0045]), comprising: obtaining the plantar pressure data (“plantar pressure sensor unit 210 ... installed in an array ... magnitude ... pressure distribution”, para. [0059]) and transmitting the same synchronously (“transmits the measurement values”; “the measurement values of the plantar pressure sensor unit (210) ... according to synchronized time”, para. [0058, 0064-0065]) to a data processing module (measurement data analysis unit (110) & gait state analysis unit (120), para. [0036-0037, 0065-0066], fig. 4) through a pressure sensor array (“plantar pressure sensor unit 210 ... installed in an array”, para. [0059], fig. 4); receiving, pre-processing (“processing signals ... measurement data receiving unit (160) that receives the measurement values”; “numerical values calculated in the measurement data analysis unit (110)”, para. [0063-0064, 0109]) and analyzing the plantar pressure data to identify user gait patterns, analyze the distribution of plantar pressures, and assess the overall posture of the user through the data processing module (“determines the walking state of a walking trainee based on changes in sole pressure and dynamic changes in foot movement analyzed from the above measurement data analysis unit (110)”; “determine the balance of both feet ... calculates the error value between the center of pressure identified by the measurement data analysis unit (110) and the center of pressure of the reference/training walking pattern at each sampling stage using the following formula”, para. [0022, 0037, 0112-0138]), the data processing module (measurement data analysis unit (110) & gait state analysis unit (120), para. [0036-0037, 0065-0066], fig. 4) comprises a pre-processing unit (measurement data analysis unit (110), fig. 4) and an algorithm unit (gait state analysis unit (120), fig. 4); transmitting the plantar pressure data and processing results of the data processing module to an external device or a cloud to facilitate remote monitoring by a user (“transmits at least one of the outputs of ... to a hospital server ... wireless network”; “doctor or rehabilitation trainer”, para. [0026, 0047, 0168]) through a wireless communication module (wireless network communication unit (170), para. [0026], fig. 4), the wireless communication module (wireless network communication unit (170), para. [0026], fig. 4) is connected to an external device or a cloud (hospital server (300), fig. 4, para. [0026]); generating a personalized rehabilitation training program (“310 ... processes information ... generates a training walking pattern”, para. [0041, 0044, 0071-0074]) based on the plantar pressure data and the processing results of the data processing module, combined with the user history data, and adaptively adjusts the rehabilitation training program (“adjusts the training level or stage of the gait trainer to be higher or adjusts items with poor training results to improve, thereby directly or automatically generating a training gait pattern suitable for the gait trainer”; “previous walking training information ... selects a standard gait pattern from the standard gait pattern database (312) that matches the gait trainer's age and physical condition ... transmits the previously stored training gait pattern based on the login information”; “adjusts the training gait pattern ... automatically adjusts it ... 310”, para. [0168-0180, 0182-0183]), the training control module comprises a training algorithm (walking trainer management unit (310), para. [0027, 0044, 0071], fig. 4); real-time training feedback to the user while the user is performing rehabilitation training, to help the user correct optimize movement and posture in a timely manner (“easily identify and correct their walking pattern or the balance of both feet ... process the sensor unit's signal in real time and notify the pedestrian”, para. [0023-0025, 0048, 0151, 0190]) through a feedback module (feedback unit 130, fig. 4). Kim further discloses that the user's weight can be detected through the above-mentioned plantar pressure sensor unit (210) (para. [0060]).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the pressure sensor array comprises a weight sensor and a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Chen directed to wearable force sensing insoles with automatic calibration discloses a pressure sensor array (insole apparatus 100 including flexible pressure sensor array 110, fig. 3) comprising a weight sensor (wearable force plate 120 comprising accurate and stable micro load cells 122; “body weight scales”, para. [0022-0024]) and a plurality of pressure sensors (“flexible pressure sensor array 110 ... 2 mm”, fig. 3, para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the pressure sensor array comprises a weight sensor and the plurality of pressure sensors, in view of the teachings of Chen, as this would aid in supplying an absolute force measurement as reference to allow for automatic calibration of the pressure sensor array (Chen, para. [0020]).
Kim, as modified by Chen hereinabove, does not expressly disclose pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Nie directed to a testing system for a human stress reaction including a plantar pressure test module 60 discloses a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors (“plurality of thin-film pressure sensors ... mounted on the insole”, para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen hereinabove, such that the pressure sensor array comprises a plurality of pressure thin-film sensors, in view of the teachings of Nie, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the plurality of pressure sensors of Kim for the plurality of thin-film pressure sensors of Nie to measure the distribution of the foot pressure.
Claims 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and Nie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Everett (US 20220395229 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses the adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 1. Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole, the plurality of highly sensitive pressure thin-film sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole, the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region; wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Chen discloses wherein the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole (as seen in figs. 3-4, “positioned in the insole 102 such that all the load forces go through the part of the load cell where its deformation is sensed”, para. [0024]), the plurality of pressure sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole (“sensors 112 in the heel, midfoot, and forefoot areas”, para. [0049]); wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure sensors (as seen in fig. 3). Chen further discloses that the sensors are distributed over the area of the foot when the insole is worn, the sensors 112 in the heel, midfoot, and forefoot areas (para. [0049], fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole, the plurality of highly sensitive pressure thin-film sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole; wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure thin-film sensors, in view of the teachings of Chen, as this would aid in distributing the pressure sensors over a surface area of the insole and supplying an absolute force measurement as reference to allow for automatic calibration of the pressure sensor array (Chen, Abstract, para. [0020]).
Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose that the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region.
However, Everett directed to a method of manufacturing an insert system for footwear discloses that key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region (as seen in fig. 4, “sensors CP41 are placed in the insole strategically ... first metatarsal-phalangeal (MTP) joint CP46 ... other MTP joints, toes (such as great toe CP42), the heel CP43 and the lateral side of the foot ... arch CP44”, para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region, in view of the teachings of Everett, as this would aid in strategically placing sensors in key areas of the foot to acquire pressure data for a patient-specific gait analysis (Everett, para. [0082-0083]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, as modified by Chen, Nie, and Everett hereinabove, discloses the adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 2, wherein the algorithm unit (gait state analysis unit (120), fig. 4) analyzes dynamic changes in the plantar pressure data to identify the user gait patterns (“120 ... determines the walking state of a walking trainee based on changes in sole pressure and dynamic changes in foot movement ... calculates the difference between the training walking pattern verified by a doctor or rehabilitation trainer and the actual walking pattern”, para. [0066]); the user gait patterns comprise a stride length, a stride speed, a center of gravity transfer trajectory, and a two-legged gait comparison (“center of gravity shift”; “center of pressure on the soles of the feet is identified and compared for both feet, the degree of gait balance between the two feet can also be determined”; “two-foot walking balance level”; “center of pressure trajectory ... stride length, and stride speed”, para. [0078, 0099, 0110, 0150, 0174]).
Kim, as modified by Chen, Nie, and Everett hereinabove, does not expressly disclose a first algorithm.
However, Everett discloses an algorithm (“algorithms, enabling the input device to measure parameters”; “an algorithm for a pressure sensor data conversion”, para. [0074, 0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen, Nie, and Everett hereinabove, such that the algorithm unit comprises a first algorithm, in view of the teachings of Everett, as this would aid in measuring parameters and pressure sensor data conversion for determining the walking state of the walking trainee.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses the plantar pressure measurement method of claim 9. Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole, the plurality of highly sensitive pressure thin-film sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole, the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region; wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure thin-film sensors.
However, Chen discloses wherein the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole (as seen in figs. 3-4, “positioned in the insole 102 such that all the load forces go through the part of the load cell where its deformation is sensed”, para. [0024]), the plurality of pressure sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole (“sensors 112 in the heel, midfoot, and forefoot areas”, para. [0049]); wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure sensors (as seen in fig. 3). Chen further discloses that the sensors are distributed over the area of the foot when the insole is worn, the sensors 112 in the heel, midfoot, and forefoot areas (para. [0049], fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the weigh sensor is mounted in the center of a sole, the plurality of highly sensitive pressure thin-film sensors are embedded in key areas of the sole; wherein the weigh sensor is located below the plurality of pressure thin-film sensors, in view of the teachings of Chen, as this would aid in distributing the pressure sensors over a surface area of the insole and supplying an absolute force measurement as reference to allow for automatic calibration of the pressure sensor array (Chen, Abstract, para. [0020]).
Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose that the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region.
However, Everett directed to a method of manufacturing an insert system for footwear discloses that key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region (as seen in fig. 4, “sensors CP41 are placed in the insole strategically ... first metatarsal-phalangeal (MTP) joint CP46 ... other MTP joints, toes (such as great toe CP42), the heel CP43 and the lateral side of the foot ... arch CP44”, para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the key areas comprise a heel region, a front metatarsal region, a lateral foot region, and a metatarsal arch region, in view of the teachings of Everett, as this would aid in strategically placing sensors in key areas of the foot to acquire pressure data for a patient-specific gait analysis (Everett, para. [0082-0083]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and Nie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Segal (US 20240115159 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 1, wherein the overall posture of the user comprising a center of gravity balance, a gait symmetry, and an abnormal pressure distribution (“total CoP error during the stance phase”; “the center of gravity shift”; “pressure distribution ... Center of Pressure”, “two-foot walking balance level,”, para. [0043-0044, 0078, 0092, 0099, 0150]).
Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the algorithm unit comprises a third algorithm for assessing the overall posture of the user and determining whether the posture is correct and whether there is a posture deviation.
However, Segal directed to gait and posture detection and correction discloses an algorithm unit comprises a third algorithm (“algorithm”, para. [0002, 0072]) for assessing the overall posture of the user and determining whether the posture is correct and whether there is a posture deviation (“assessing balance, posture, COP, COG and/or gait deviations and classifying severity ... determining a correct application and calibration of a foot positioning system”; “posture imbalance/abnormality with deviation and severity assessment”, para. [0056-0058, 0072-0073, 0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the algorithm unit comprises a third algorithm for assessing the overall posture of the user and determining whether the posture is correct and whether there is a posture deviation, in view of the teachings of Segal, as this would aid in assessing balance, posture, COP, COG and/or gait deviations and classifying the severity by incorporating the algorithm of Segal into the gait status analysis unit of Kim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and Nie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blades (US 20230165484 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 1.
Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the wireless communication module is connected to the external device or the cloud through Bluetooth or Wi-fi, the external device comprising a smartphone, a tablet computer.
However, Blades directed to a system, method, and computer program product for analyzing force sensor data discloses a wireless communication module (“wireless communication module”, para. [0338]), wherein the wireless communication module (“wireless communication module”, para. [0338]) is connected to the external device or the cloud through Bluetooth or Wi-fi (“electronics module 104 can be communicatively coupled to one or more remote processing devices 108a-108n, e.g. using a wireless communication module (e.g., Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low-Energy, Wi-Fi, ANT+ IEEE 802.11, etc.) ... remote processing device 108 and optional remote cloud server 110”, para. [0338]), the external device comprising a smartphone, a tablet computer (“108 ... tablet, and a mobile device such as a smartphone”, para. [0338]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the wireless communication module is connected to the external device or the cloud through Bluetooth or Wi-fi, the external device comprising a smartphone, a tablet computer, in view of the teachings of Blades, as this would aid in providing and analyzing sensor data on a remote processing device or remote cloud server that may provide additional processing resources not available on the input unit or the remote processing device (Blades, para. [0342-0343]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and Nie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fang (CN 114983392 A English Translation).
Regarding claim 6, Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, discloses the adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 1. Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the rehabilitation training programs comprises a training content, a training intensity, a training frequency, a training duration, and a personalized rehabilitation recommendation.
However, Fang directed to the field of rehabilitation shoe technology, and in particular to a gait correction system based on a chaotic algorithm discloses rehabilitation training programs (“training program”; “exercise prescription”, para. [n0022, n0024]) wherein the rehabilitation training programs (“training program”; “exercise prescription”, para. [n0022, n0024]) comprises a training content, a training intensity, a training frequency, a training duration, and a personalized rehabilitation recommendation (“customized exercise prescription ... orthotic movement patterns, training intensity, training frequency, and training duration.”, para. [n0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the rehabilitation training programs comprises a training content, a training intensity, a training frequency, a training duration, and a personalized rehabilitation recommendation, in view of the teachings of Fang, as this would aid in providing a customized training program/exercise prescription for improving the effectiveness of rehabilitation training (Fang, para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, as modified by Chen, Nie, and Fang hereinabove, discloses the adaptive rehabilitation training system of claim 6. Kim, as modified by Chen, Nie, and Fang hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the training content comprises gait conditioning, balance training or strength training; the personalized rehabilitation recommendation comprises posture adjustment, gait optimization, training intensity control.
However, Fang directed to the field of rehabilitation shoe technology, and in particular to a gait correction system based on a chaotic algorithm discloses wherein the training content comprises gait conditioning, balance training or strength training (“gait correction”; “balance training”, para. [n0012, n0022, n0049]); the personalized rehabilitation recommendation comprises posture adjustment, gait optimization, training intensity control (“customized exercise prescription ... training intensity”; “posture adjustment ... level of the exercise mode ... exercise mode level range”, para. [n0022, n0024, n0044, n0048-n0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim, as modified by Chen and Nie hereinabove, such that the rehabilitation training programs comprises a training content, a training intensity, a training frequency, a training duration, and a personalized rehabilitation recommendation, in view of the teachings of Fang, as this would aid in providing a customized training program/exercise prescription for improving the effectiveness of rehabilitation training (Fang, para. [0015]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chahine (US 20210361239 A1) directed to a multi-functional health monitoring mat.
Guo (CN-115337003-A English translation) directed to a multidimensional lower limb rehabilitation assessment device and method for stroke patients.
Tian (CN-105675104-AEnglish translation) directed to a shoe-integrated piezoresistive weight sensor.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791