Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 01/17/2025.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benliyan et al. (DE102010054218).
Claim 1. A console module (Fig. 1-6) comprising:
a case (functional element 1, Fig. 1-3) positioned below a dashboard of a vehicle (1 is below 10 cockpit or dashboard, Fig. 3); and
a connection portion configured to connect the case to the dashboard and allow the case to move between a non-use position and a use position (swivel arm 2 couples 1 to 3 and moves between non-use and use; Fig. 3, 5),
wherein, when moved to the use position, the case protrudes further in a rearward direction than when the case is moved to the non-use position (Fig. 2-3).
Claim 2. Benliyan discloses: The console module of claim 1, wherein the case is configured to pivot between the non-use position and the use position with the connection portion functioning as a pivot point (2 pivot about axis AA, Fig. 2).
Claim 8. Benliyan discloses: A vehicle cockpit (cockpit or dashboard of a motor vehicle, [0007]) comprising:
a dashboard positioned in an interior space of a vehicle (Fig. 1-3); and
a console module comprising:
a case positioned below the dashboard; and
a connection portion configured to connect the case to the dashboard and allow the case to move between a non-use position and a use position,
wherein, when moved to the use position, the case protrudes further in a rearward direction than when the case is moved to the non-use position (see previously rejected claim 1).
Claim 9. Benliyan discloses: The vehicle cockpit of claim 8, further comprising:
a driver seat positioned behind the dashboard in the interior space of the vehicle; and
a passenger seat disposed adjacent to the driver seat,
wherein, when moved to the use position, the case is positioned between the driver seat and the passenger seat (structure of driver and passenger seats as depicted in Fig. 1-2; 1 is positioned between the seats, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benliyan et al. (DE102010054218) in view of Hwang (US9,840,172).
Claim 3. Benliyan discloses: The console module of claim 1.
Benliyan does not disclose: a side table including a flat plate portion configured to pivot between a horizontally lying position and an upright position that intersects the horizontally lying position, wherein the side table is supported on the case.
Hwang discloses a multipurpose armrest for a vehicle including a console box mounted on a guide rail to be slidable forward and backward along the guide rail and tables mounted on both sides of the console box to be horizontally unfolded.
Hwang teaches: a side table (table 13, Fig. 1) including a flat plate portion (13 is flat, Fig. 1) configured to pivot between a horizontally lying position and an upright position that intersects the horizontally lying position, wherein the side table is supported on the case (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the console of Benliyan by including the folding side table and lid over storage compartment as taught by Hwang with a reasonable expectation of success in order for a console to provide various functions as taught by Hwang (Col. 1, lines 14-17).
Claim 4. Benliyan discloses: The console module of claim 1, further comprising a pocket installed on the case (storage compartment 4, Fig. 3).
Benliyan does not disclose: a pocket door configured to be open or closed.
Hwang further teaches: a pocket door configured to be open or closed (12 armrest opens or closes access to consol box 10, Fig. 1).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benliyan et al. (DE102010054218) in view of Ki et al. (US11,260,727).
Claim 5. Benliyan discloses: The console module of claim 1.
Benliyan does not disclose: an electronic device installed in the case.
Ki discloses a refrigerator in a console of a vehicle.
Ki teaches: an electronic device (refrigerator 7, Fig. 2) installed in the case (console 3, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the console of Benliyan by including a refrigerator as taught by Ki with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a refrigerated space to store food as taught by Ki (Col. 2, lines 39-47).
Claim 6. Benliyan in view of Ki teach: The console module of claim 5, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of a refrigerator (Ki: 7, Fig. 2), a cooling cup holder and a heating cup holder.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benliyan et al. (DE102010054218) in view of Hipshier et al. (US8,215,688).
Claim 7. Benliyan discloses: The console module of claim 1, wherein the case comprises:
an outer housing (outer surface of 1, Fig. 3).
Benliyan does not disclose: an inner frame inserted into the outer housing and having a portion protruding from the outer housing.
Hipshier discloses a vehicle floor console is provided that includes a support structure and a retaining feature pivotally biased toward the support structure.
Hipshier teaches: an inner frame (storage compartment 1160 or storage drawing 1170, Fig. 11) inserted into the outer housing (frame 1106, Fig. 11) and having a portion protruding from the outer housing (1160 or 1170 slide out from 1106, Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the console of Benliyan by including slide out drawers as taught by Hipshier with a reasonable expectation of success to provide expandable storage as taught by Hipshier (Col. 1, lines 39-43).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benliyan et al. (DE102010054218) in view of Wieczorek et al. (DE102018122653)
Claim 10. Benliyan discloses: The vehicle cockpit of claim 8.
Benliyan does not disclose: an actuator configured to provide power to move the case between the non-use position and the use position.
Wieczorek discloses a moveable console for a vehicle comprising of an electric motor that moves the console from a first to second position and vice versa.
Wieczorek teaches: an actuator (drive 49, Fig. 4) configured to provide power to move the case between the non-use position and the use position (49 moves console 20 from non-use to use position, Fig. 2a-2b, 4; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the console of Benliyan by including the actuator as taught by Wieczorek with a reasonable expectation of success in order move the console from a non-use to a use position as taught by Wieczorek (Fig. 2a-2b).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676