DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application U.S. provisional application 62234981 and U.S. nonprovisional application 15282557 and 1783668, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/10/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. A concise explanation of relevance has not been provided for CN101124572A and CN103380602A.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites, “wherein the message is an a control message.”. This is being considered as a typographical error and the limitation is being interpreted to recite, “wherein the message is
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US11360502B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant application # 19/026,939
Reference Patent No # US11360502B2
1. A load control system, comprising:
a control-target device configured to control an electrical load associated with one or more of a lighting system, a heating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or a motorized window shade system;
a control-source device for sending control instructions to the control-target device; and
a system controller configured to:
listen to determine that a message has been sent by the control-source device to the control-target device;
determine a content of the message; and
using content of the message, update information stored at the system controller without querying the control-target device.
1. A load control system, comprising:
a control-target device configured to control an electrical load;
at least two control-source devices for sending control instructions to the control-target device, wherein each control-source device has been associated with the control-target device; and
a system controller configured to:
determine that a message has been sent by at least one of the control-source devices directly to the control-target device, wherein the message is an association message or a message comprising control instructions; and
determine to update information stored at the system controller without querying the control-target device based on the message.
2. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the electrical load is associated with one or more of a lighting system, a heating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or a motorized window shade system.
2. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an association message.
determine that a message has been sent by at least one of the control-source devices directly to the control-target device, wherein the message is an association message or a message comprising control instructions;
3. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an a control message.
1. determine that a message has been sent by at least one of the control-source devices directly to the control-target device, wherein the message is an association message or a message comprising control instructions;
Claim 1 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 2 of the US patent US11360502B2. The differences between the claim 1 of the instant application and claim 2 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 1 is broader than the claim 1 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim 2 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 2 of the US patent US11360502B2. The differences between the claim 2 of the instant application and claim 2 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 2 is broader than the claim 2 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim 3 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 2 of the US patent US11360502B2. The differences between the claim 3 of the instant application and claim 2 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 3 is broader than the claim 2 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US12292754B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant application # 19/026,939
Reference Patent No # US12292754B2
1. A load control system, comprising:
a control-target device configured to control an electrical load associated with one or more of a lighting system, a heating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or a motorized window shade system;
a control-source device for sending control instructions to the control-target device; and
a system controller configured to:
listen to determine that a message has been sent by the control-source device to the control-target device;
determine a content of the message; and
using content of the message, update information stored at the system controller without querying the control-target device.
1. A load control system, comprising:
a control-target device configured to control an electrical load associated with one or more of a lighting system, a heating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or a motorized window shade system;
at least two control-source devices for sending control instructions to the control-target device to control the electrical load, wherein each control-source device has been associated with the control-target device; and
a system controller configured to:
listen for and determine that a message has been sent by at least one of the control-source devices directly to the control-target device;
determine a content of the message; and
determine to update information stored at the system controller based on the content of the message without querying the control-target device.
2. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an association message.
2. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an association message.
3. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an a control message.
10. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is a message comprising control instructions.
Claim 1 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 1 of the US patent US12292754B2. The differences between the claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 1 is broader than the claim 1 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim 2 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 2 of the US patent US12292754B2. The differences between the claim 2 of the instant application and claim 2 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 2 is broader than the claim 2 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim 3 of instant application recites similar limitation as claim 10 of the US patent US12292754B2. The differences between the claim 3 of the instant application and claim 10 of the patent is that the instant application claim doesn’t limit the message to be directly sent from control target devices to control source device. Therefore, the instant application claim 3 is broader than the claim 2 of the patent and the instant claim fully encompasses patent and is anticipated by the patent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killo et. al. (US20130222122A1) hereinafter Killo and further in view of Verberkt et. al. (US20160091217A1) hereinafter Verberkt.
Regarding claim 1,
Killo teaches, A load control system, comprising: a control-target device configured to control an electrical load associated with one or more of a lighting system, a heating and air conditioning (HVAC) system, or a motorized window shade system; (¶0036 teaches a load control device 306 that is adapted to be coupled in series electrical connection between an AC power source 302 and an electrical load 304 for controlling the power delivered to the electrical load 304. ¶0036 teaches, For example, the electrical load 304 may be a lighting load)
a control-source devices for sending control instructions to the control-target device; and (¶0037 teaches, The load control device 306 may be associated with one or more remote control devices, such as a remote control 312, an occupancy sensor 314, a daylight sensor 316, or any other remote control device that is capable of controlling the load 304 through transmission of digital messages to the load control device 306.)
Killo doesn’t explicitly teach, a system controller configured to listen to determine that a message has been sent by at least one of the control-source devices to the control-target device; (Verberkt in ¶0094 teaches, Environment manager module 110 (control-source device) transmits environment control command to gateway module 130 (system controller). Gateway module 130 stores data associated with the environment control command, such as identification information associated with the IP luminaire(s) (control target device) that will respond to the user's desired change in lighting level and communicate via link L5 to instruct IP luminaire 150 and/or IP luminaire 140 to adjust their illumination to produce the light level requested by the user)
determine a content of the message; (Verberkt in ¶0094 teaches, Environment manager module 110 (control-source device) transmits environment control command to gateway module 130 (system controller). Gateway module 130 stores data associated with the environment control command, such as identification information associated with the IP luminaire(s) (control target device) that will respond to the user's desired change in lighting level. Therefore, gateway module can determine the content of the message.)
and determine to update information stored at the system controller based on the content of the message without querying the control target device. (Verberkt in ¶0094 teaches, Environment manager module 110 (control-source device) transmits environment control command to gateway module 130 (system controller). Gateway module 130 stores data associated with the environment control command, such as identification information associated with the IP luminaire(s) (control target device) that will respond to the user's desired change in lighting level. ¶0089 also teaches, gateway module 130 logs and stores all or a subset of received environment control commands)
Verberkt is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, systems and methods for adjusting environmental conditions based on automatically and manually generated requests (See Abstract). A combination of Verberkt with Killo would allow a gateway (system controller) to update information based on messages sent from Environment manager module 110 (control-source device) to IP luminaire(s) (control target device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Verberkt with Killo. One would have been motivated to do so because by doing so would allow maintaining an exact overview of the state of all the commissioned devices at any given time (as taught by Verberkt in ¶0089).
Regarding claim 2,
Killo and Verberkt teaches, The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an association message. (Verberkt in ¶0094 teaches, the environment control request may encode the user's desire to increase the level of light in a work zone such as a table top, as well as identification information from the coded light signals received by environment control device 160 and the environment control command comprises the information encoded in the environment control request. Therefore, the environment control command includes identification information (association message))
Regarding claim 3,
Killo and Verberkt teaches, The load control system of claim 1, wherein the message is an a control message. (Verberkt in ¶0094 teaches, the environment control command may contain specific instructions (control instruction) that, when processed by a group of IP luminaires, cause the IP luminaires to effect specific changes in illumination)
Conclusion
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116