DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 9-20 in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duanmu (US 2021/0387264 A1).
Regarding claim 9, in an embodiment, Duanmu teaches a system 1H (a system for thermal control of laser-based three dimensional (3D) powder fusion manufacturing) comprising a print chamber system including a print plate 2H, heater cartridges 3H inside the print plate, a print wall or side wall 8H contains a heater cartridge 9H, wherein a printed part 13H is formed on the print plate from powder 14H spread on the print plate (an enclosure defining a powder bed) (Fig 1H and ¶0064-0066). Thermal conditions can be maintained in the system 1H at least in part using conductive heat 15H from the heater cartridge in print plate and/or conductive heat 16H from heater cartridge in print wall (a secondary heating system) (Fig 1H and ¶0064-0066). Laser energy 17H can be proportional to print tile fill fraction (2×2 mm-10×10 mm) (an optical system to emit a laser beam toward the powder bed) (Fig 1H and ¶0061,0064-0066).
Duanmu teaches that part geometry and printing thermal load history 202 are fed as input parameters (¶0070). Duanmu teaches a system further comprising a feedforward controller 204 that uses part geometry and print thermal load history to proactively generate control signals and wherein laser energy 214 is applied to the powder layer 216 to melt the powder and facilitate the solidification process (controller configured to control the optical system to direct the laser beam into the powder bed for fabricating a 3D object by powder bed fusion; controller configured to control to analyze historical data and powder specifications relating to the 3D object and the powder in the powder bed) (Fig 2 and ¶0070).
While Duanmu teaches a system comprising a controller, Duanmu does not specify a controller configured to control the secondary heating system to dynamically adjust temperatures of powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed in accordance with analysis results to prevent microcrack formation in the 3D object.
However, Duanmu further teaches a system comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071). Isothermal manufacturing conditions can reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu such that the feedforward controller is a controller configured to control the secondary heating system to dynamically adjust temperatures of powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed in accordance with analysis results to prevent microcrack formation in the 3D object with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part by a system comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
Regarding claim 15, in an embodiment, Duanmu teaches a system 1H (a system for thermal control of laser-based three dimensional (3D) powder fusion manufacturing) comprising a print chamber system including a print plate 2H, heater cartridges 3H inside the print plate, a print wall or side wall 8H contains a heater cartridge 9H, wherein a printed part 13H is formed on the print plate from powder 14H spread on the print plate (an enclosure defining a powder bed) (Fig 1H and ¶0064-0066). Thermal conditions can be maintained in the system 1H at least in part using conductive heat 15H from the heater cartridge in print plate and/or conductive heat 16H from heater cartridge in print wall. Laser energy 17H can be proportional to print tile fill fraction (2×2 mm-10×10 mm) (an optical system to emit a laser beam toward the powder bed) (Fig 1H and ¶0061,0064-0066).
Duanmu teaches a system further comprising an additional laser source 18H (a secondary optical system to emit a secondary laser beam toward the powder bed) (Fig 1H and ¶0064-0066), wherein beam 19H is emitted, and wherein turning mirror 31H is used for directing light into the build chamber, or otherwise controlling where the laser light goes (Fig 2 and ¶0070). A laser beam 32H can reflect off of scanning mirror and be focused to a sub-portion of the print bed for thermal management of print bed (Fig 2 and ¶0070). Alternatively, a laser beam 33H reflecting off a fixed mirror can be focused to the full print bed area (or a substantial fraction of it) (Fig 2 and ¶0070).
Duanmu teaches that part geometry and printing thermal load history 202 are fed as input parameters (¶0070). Duanmu teaches a system further comprising a feedforward controller 204 that uses part geometry and print thermal load history to proactively generate control signals and wherein laser energy 214 is applied to the powder layer 216 to melt the powder and facilitate the solidification process (controller configured to control the optical system to direct the laser beam into the powder bed for fabricating a 3D object by powder bed fusion; controller configured to control to analyze historical data and powder specifications relating to the 3D object and the powder in the powder bed) (Fig 2 and ¶0070).
While Duanmu teaches a system comprising a controller, Duanmu does not specify a controller configured to control the secondary optical system to direct the secondary laser beam into the powder bed to dynamically adjust temperatures of powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed in accordance with analysis results to prevent microcrack formation in the 3D object.
However, Duanmu teaches a system further comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071). Isothermal manufacturing conditions can reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu such that the feedforward controller is a controller configured to control the secondary optical system to direct the secondary laser beam into the powder bed to dynamically adjust temperatures of powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed in accordance with analysis results to prevent microcrack formation in the 3D object with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part by a system comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, while Duanmu teaches a controller configured to control analyzing of the historical data and the powder specifications by the controller, Duanmu does not explicitly teach a controller configured to control analyzing of the historical data and the powder specifications by the controller comprising analyzing a cooling rate of the 3D object by the controller.
However, Duanmu further teaches that once the printing process in completed, the heating devices can be used to control the cool down of the part, or a lid/thermal insulation can be closed over the top of the print chamber 2A to maintain uniform cooling rates from all sides (¶0051).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu such that the feedforward controller is a controller configured to control analyzing of the historical data and the powder specifications by the controller comprising analyzing a cooling rate of the 3D object by the controller with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain uniform cooling rates from all sides of the completed part (¶0051).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, Duanmu teaches a system further comprising sensors 6A can be used to calibrate or provide feedback control during manufacture, wherein sensors 6A can include pyrometers, thermal cameras, or visual cameras (sensors to monitor temperatures within the powder bed in real-time prior to, during and following the fabricating of the 3D object) (¶0040,0044).
Duanmu does not explicitly teach a controller configured to control the dynamically adjusting of the temperatures of the powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed is executed by the controller in accordance with results of the monitoring of the temperatures by the sensors.
However, Duanmu teaches a system further comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071). Isothermal manufacturing conditions can reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu such that the feedforward controller is a controller configured to control the secondary heating system and the secondary optical system to control the dynamically adjusting of the temperatures of the powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed is executed by the controller in accordance with results of the monitoring of the temperatures by the sensors with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part by a system comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, Duanmu does not explicitly teach a system wherein the dynamically adjusting of the temperatures of the powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed is executed by the controller prior to, during and following the fabricating of the 3D object.
However, Duanmu teaches a system further comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071). Isothermal manufacturing conditions can reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu such that the feedforward controller is a controller configured to control the secondary heating system and the secondary optical system to control the dynamically adjusting of the temperatures of the powder surrounding the 3D object in the powder bed is executed by the controller prior to, during and following the fabricating of the 3D object with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce layer to layer variance in average heat load, prevent or reduce spatially dependent thermal warpage in all three dimensions, reduce higher residual stresses, and even prevent cracking of a printed part by a system comprising a combination of thermal load from differing sources being balanced to maintain substantially isothermal conditions for a printed part (Fig 3 and ¶0071).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duanmu (US 2021/0387264 A1), as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, and in view of Coeck (US 2018/0169948 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, Duanmu teaches a system wherein feedforward controller 204 uses part geometry to proactively generate control signal (wherein the historical data and the powder specifications relating to the 3D object comprise dimensions of the 3D object) (¶0070).
Although Duanmu teaches a system wherein feedforward controller 204 uses print thermal load history to proactively generate control signal (wherein the historical data and the powder specifications relating to the powder in the powder bed) (¶0070), Duanmu does not explicitly specify wherein the historical data and the powder specifications relating to the powder in the powder bed comprise at least one or more of a melting point, a specific heat and a thermal conductivity of the powder in the powder bed.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (thermal histories in additive manufacturing systems; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Coeck discloses systems and methods described herein may be used to check part quality based on how long each point in the manufacture part has stayed above the melting temperature (¶0057). If the thermal history associated with a point in the part reveals that it was above the melting point for an insufficient amount of time, it can reveal that the part is likely to have too much porosity; similarly, if the temperature was above the melting point for too long of a time, it can provide an indication that there may be distortions in the part due to excess melting (known technique of historical data and the powder specifications relating to the powder in the powder bed comprise at least one or more of a melting point of the powder in the powder bed) (¶0057).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu by applying the known technique of historical data and the powder specifications relating to the powder in the powder bed comprise at least one or more of a melting point of the powder in the powder bed disclosed in Coeck to the system comprising a controller disclosed in Duanmu with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duanmu (US 2021/0387264 A1), as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, and in view of Nelson (US 2025/0276380 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, as applied to claims 9 and 15 respectively, Duanmu does not explicitly teach a system wherein the analyzing of the historical data and the powder specifications by the controller comprises developing a model for predicting microcrack formation in the 3D object by the controller.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (predicting material properties of additively manufactured components; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Nelson discloses that heat sensor or sensors may be configured to capture data over time (e.g., at a first point in time, a second point in time, a third point in time, etc.), and the captured data may be stored and analyzed by a computing device of the additive manufacturing system (¶0027). The captured data may correspond to a portion of the additively-manufactured component and/or the system during some or all of the additive manufacturing process (¶0027). Thus, the captured data from the heat sensor(s) may be used to determine a thermal history of the component (e.g., by comparing the data captured at the first point in time to the data captured at the second point in time) (¶0027). The determined thermal history may be compared to a model, material properties, or the like to determine or predict material properties (e.g., a strength, a hardness, a ductility, a porosity, a microstructure, a cracking behavior, or the like) of the portion of the component (known technique of developing a model for predicting microcrack formation in the 3D object) (¶0027).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Duanmu by applying the known technique of developing a model for predicting microcrack formation in the 3D object disclosed in Nelson to the system comprising a controller disclosed in Duanmu with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fockele (US 2014/0332507 A1) teaches the known technique wherein the sequence of irradiation points can be selected for the irradiation of a respective layer taking into consideration the dimension determined from the geometry description data for the thermal conductivity of the defined, three-dimensional, immediate surrounding regions of the irradiation points (¶0026).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743