CTNF 19/026,992 CTNF 83370 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2017/0374299 A1) . Claim 1, Liu teaches a system, comprising: an upstream component configured to produce red, green, blue and infrared (RGB-IR) pixel data (RGB-IR sensor 102; paragraph 0018 and Fig. 1); and a pattern conversion component (color correction system 104; paragraph 0021 and Fig. 3) configured to: receive the RGB-IR pixel (see Fig. 1); demosaic the RGB-IR pixel data into red, green and blue (RGB) pixel data and infrared (IR) pixel data (demosaic circuit 302 demosaics RGBIR data into RGB 320 and IR 322 components; Fig. 3 and paragraph 0021); remosaic the RGB pixel data into a RGB pattern (remosaic circuit 306; Fig. 3) and the IR pixel data into an IR pattern (IR data is extracted in to IR stream 112; Fig. 3); and remove IR contamination from the RGB pixel data of the RGB pattern (“IR compensation circuit 304 may be configured to correct for IR contamination of the pixels of each of the full resolution red, green, and blue frames;” paragraph 0026). Claims 8 is analyzed and rejected as a system comprising circuitry to perform the functions of the system of claim 1. Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected as a method for performing the functions of the system of claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-5, 9-12, and 16-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ma (US 2021/0297608 A1) . Claim 2, Liu teaches the system of claim 1, but is silent regarding wherein to demosaic the RGB-IR pixel data into the RGB pixel data and the IR pixel data, the pattern conversion component is configured to: for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data: identify a context of the pixel; interpolate, based on the context of the pixel, one of a red, green, or blue pixel value for the RGB pixel data; and interpolate, based on the context of the pixel, an IR pixel value for the IR pixel data. Ma teaches wherein to demosaic RGB-IR pixel data into the RGB pixel data and the IR pixel data, the pattern conversion component is configured to: for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data: identify a context of the pixel (brightness information of neighboring pixels is used for the interpolation of each pixel; see paragraph 0016-0017); interpolate, based on the context of the pixel, one of a red, green, or blue pixel value for the RGB pixel data (see discussion of the interpolation of red, green, and blue pixels in paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0019, respectively); and interpolate, based on the context of the pixel, an IR pixel value for the IR pixel data (see interpolation of IR pixels in paragraph 0020). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Ma with that of Liu in order to improve full-color images for computer visual processing (see paragraph 0004-0005 of Ma). Claim 3, Ma further teaches wherein the context comprises information of the RGB-IR pixel data at a location associated with a pixel and information of neighboring pixels, with respect to the pixel, of the RGB-IR pixel data (interpolation is performed using brightness information of neighboring pixels; see paragraph 0017-0020). Claim 4, Ma further teaches wherein to remosaic the RGB pixel data into the RGB pattern and the IR pixel data into the IR pattern (individual pixels are interpolated and output as RGB and IR images; paragraph 0039 and Fig. 2), the pattern conversion component is configured to: map the interpolated red, green, and blue pixel values to locations in the RGB pattern (the interpolated pixels have coordinates that are preserved when reconstituted into an RGB image, see paragraph 0021-0036); and map the interpolated IR pixel values to locations in the IR pattern (the interpolated pixels have coordinates that are preserved when reconstituted into an IR image, see paragraph 0025, 0027, 0033, 0035). Claim 5, Liu further teaches wherein the pattern conversion component is further configured to determine, for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data, a first amount of the IR contamination of the pixel (IR compensation circuit 304 corrects for IR contamination of each RGB pixels by subtracting IR contamination for each pixel; paragraph 0026). Claims 9-12 are analyzed and rejected as systems comprising circuitry to perform the functions of the systems of claims 2-5, respectively. Claims 16-19 are analyzed and rejected as methods for performing the functions of the systems of claims 2-5, respectively . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ma, and further in view of Dabral (US 2024/0054601 A1) . Claim 6, Liu in view of Ma teaches the system of claim 5, but is silent regarding wherein the pattern conversion component is further configured to determine, for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data, whether an interpolated pixel value of the pixel exceeds a threshold value. Dabral teaches wherein for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data, whether an interpolated pixel value of the pixel exceeds a threshold value (programmable threshold is set for RGB and IR pixels; paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Dabral with that of the cited prior art in order to prevent color artifacts and to prevent color inversion (see paragraph 0032 of Dabral). Claim 7, Dabral further teaches wherein the pattern conversion component is further configured to, for each pixel of the RGB-IR pixel data, subtract the first amount of the IR contamination from the interpolated pixel value of the pixel based on the interpolated pixel value not exceeding the threshold value (if RGB pixel value does not exceed a threshold, then IR subtraction is performed using the corresponding IR value; paragraph 0034), and subtract a second amount of the IR contamination from the interpolated pixel value based on the interpolated pixel value exceeding the threshold value, wherein the second amount is less than the first amount (if RGB pixel value exceeds the threshold, a clipped IR value is used for IR subtraction; paragraph 0034). Claims 13-14 are analyzed and rejected as systems comprising circuitry to perform the functions of the systems of claims 6-7, respectively. Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected as a method for performing the functions of the system of claim 7 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHIAWEI A CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1707. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 12:00pm - 9:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sinh Tran can be reached at (571)272-7564. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 2 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 3 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 4 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 5 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 6 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/026,992 Page 7 Art Unit: 2637