DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-25 are pending.
This action is Non-Final.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 15/213712 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 15/213712, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, at least the features of claims 5 and 24 do not find any basis in the parent application at all. For example, there is no mention of fuse as claimed. As such, the instant application introduces new material beyond that of the parent application. Applicant should remove the new matter. All other claims are entitled to priority to parent: effective filing date 7/19/2016.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23, 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12201414 view of O’Brien et al. (O’Brien, US 2006/0287602) or Najafi et al. (Najafi, US 7,686,762). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are a product and the instant claims are steps for assembling a similar product where similar functions are completed in each, in view of references to O’Brien et al. (O’Brien, US 2006/0287602) or Najafi et al. (Najafi, US 7,686,762), the inclusion of a coil would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for wireless communications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant application is a CON, claim 5 contains the following features which are not supported by the parent at the time the effective filing date and is new matter. This includes “opening a fuse” which is not expressly recited and does not appear to have implied or inherent support. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the invention was effectively filed.
For similar reasons, claim 24 is rejected.
Claims 2, 4, 6-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the step". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the perimeter of said cavity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said integral base" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the step". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “The method of claim 9 further comprising inserting a coil into the cavity adjacent to a bottom side of the base.” It is not clear if this is before or after the hermetically sealing. This makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear, which renders the claim indefinite.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Brien et al. (O’Brien, US 2006/0287602).
Regarding claim 1, O’Brien teaches a method of assembling an implant comprising:
forming a housing that defines a cavity (see at least Figure 16 618, [0115]);
positioning a base in proximity to a diaphragm to form a sensor (see at least Figure 16 606/610);
attaching said diaphragm to said housing such that said base is positioned within said cavity (see at least Figure 16, [0115]);
attaching a coil to said sensor (see at least Figure 16, [0117]);
forming a hermetic seal about the cavity (see at least Figure 16, [0012], [0117]); and
transmitting energy through the housing to inside the cavity to adjust implant parameters after forming said hermetic seal (see at least [0077]-[0078] reads on reenergizing of the sensor).
Regarding claim 2, O’Brien teaches wherein the step of forming said housing is selected from: welding a plurality of side walls together, or machining said housing from a single material (see at least Figure 16 618, [0115]).
Regarding claim 3, O’Brien teaches said base is made of a different material than said diaphragm (see at least Figure 116 electrode and wafer are different materials).
Regarding claim 4, O’Brien teaches wherein said diaphragm is hermetically attached to said housing by at least one laser weld about the perimeter of said cavity (see at least Figure 16, [0100]).
Regarding claim 9, O’Brien teaches a method of assembling a wireless implant comprising:
providing a housing that defines a cavity (see at least Figure 16 618, [0115]);
attaching a diaphragm to the housing (see at least Figure 16, [0115]);
positioning a base entirely within the cavity (see at least Figure 16 606, [0115]);
forming a capacitive gap between the diaphragm and a top side of the base to form a sensor (see at least Figure 16 606/610);
hermetically sealing the cavity of the housing (see at least Figure 16, [0012], [0117]); and
transmitting energy through the housing to inside the cavity to modify at least a part of an adjustable implant component's adjustable parameter after hermetically sealing the cavity of the housing (see at least [0077]-[0078] reads on reenergizing of the sensor).
Regarding claim 10, O’Brien teaches further comprising inserting a coil into the cavity adjacent to a bottom side of the base (see at least Figure 16).
Regarding claim 11, O’Brien teaches wherein the step of hermetically sealing the cavity of the housing comprises attaching a bottom wall to the housing (see at least Figure 16, 608).
Regarding claim 12, Obrien teaches wherein the housing is formed from a single material (see at least Figure 16, 618).
Regarding claim 13, O’Brien teaches wherein the base is made of a different material than the diaphragm (see at least Figure 116 electrode and wafer are different materials).
Regarding claim 14, O’Brien teaches wherein the diaphragm is attached to the housing by at least one laser weld about a perimeter of the cavity (see at least Figure 16, [0100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 15-17, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Brien et al. (O’Brien, US 2006/0287602) as applied to claims 1, 9 above, and further in view of Cook et al. (Cook, US 7,146,861).
Regarding claim 5, O’Brien teaches further comprising a capacitor (see Figure 16 electrode plates 606 and 604 form capacitor element 602), except the features of wherein said implant parameters are adjusted by at least one of: ablating portions of electrodes on said sensor; ablating portions of a capacitor; ablating portions of tracks on a substrate; curing an adhesive; curing a coating; modifying an optically sensitive chemical; modifying a thermally sensitive chemical; attaching items by welding; separating items by cutting; ablating a coating, film, or structure; sterilizing the interior of said housing; opening a fuse; and causing solder to reflow are not directly taught.
Cook teaches a related system of a wireless pressure sensor (see title) and teaches that a capacitor can be laser trimmable (see entire document, especially abstract, col. 3 lines 50-53, 64-66 “Calibration can be accomplished utilizing, for example, a laser trimming mechanism for laser trimming the capacitor and/or inductor.” “The capacitor can be implanted as an adjustable, trimmable or variable capacitor. The inductor may also be provided as an adjustable or variable inductor.” claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as an obvious substitution of one known capacitor electrode for another to obtain predictable results of including a trimmable capacitor in order to allow for calibrations of the measurements.
Regarding claims 15-17, 22, O’Brien teaches further comprising a capacitor (see Figure 16 electrode plates 606 and 604 form capacitor element 602), except the features of wherein the adjustable parameters are adjusted by ablating portions of electrodes on the sensor; wherein the adjustable parameters are adjusted by ablating portions of a capacitor; wherein the adjustable parameters are adjusted by ablating portions of tracks on a substrate; wherein the adjustable parameters are adjusted by ablating a coating, film, or structure are not directly taught.
Cook teaches a related system of a wireless pressure sensor (see title) and teaches that a capacitor can be laser trimmable which reasonably teaches the different forms of ablation claimed in the different claims (see entire document, especially abstract, col. 3 lines 50-53, 64-66 “Calibration can be accomplished utilizing, for example, a laser trimming mechanism for laser trimming the capacitor and/or inductor.” “The capacitor can be implanted as an adjustable, trimmable or variable capacitor. The inductor may also be provided as an adjustable or variable inductor.” claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as an obvious substitution of one known capacitor electrode for another to obtain predictable results of including a trimmable capacitor in order to allow for calibrations of the measurements.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Brien et al. (O’Brien, US 2006/0287602) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of McKay et al. (McKay, US 2011/0217382).
Regarding claim 23, O’Brien teaches manufacturing an implant (see Figure 16, abstract), where in use, sterilization is inherent or obvious process, however, for compact prosecution, the limitations of wherein the adjustable parameters are adjusted by sterilizing the cavity of the housing is not directly taught.
McKay teaches that gamma radiation is a commonly used sterilization process and has certain advantages (see at least [0123] gamma radiation is used in the terminal sterilization step, which involves utilizing ionizing energy from gamma rays that penetrate deeply in the device. Gamma rays are highly effective in killing microorganisms, they leave no residues nor have sufficient energy to impart radioactivity to the device. Gamma rays can be employed when the device is in the package and gamma sterilization does not require high pressures or vacuum conditions, thus, package seals and other components are not stressed. In addition, gamma radiation eliminates the need for permeable packaging materials.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way in order to safely sterilize a medical implant using gamma radiation without adverse changes to the device.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courcimault (US 2007/0267708) in view of Najafi et al. (Najafi, US 7,686,762).
Regarding claim 6, Courcimault teaches a method of assembling an implant comprising:
providing a housing from a continuous material that defines a cavity having a base with a top side and a bottom side (see at least Figure 27, [0064] three substrates joined together, reads on the middle substrate joined to the top and bottom substrates, where each relative dimension of substrates being micromachined prior to attachment is design choice to form the overarching structure);
attaching a diaphragm to said housing such that a capacitive gap is formed between said diaphragm and said top side of said base to form a sensor (see at least Figure 26, [0064] attachment of the middle substrate to the bottom substrate, where each relative dimension of substrates being micromachined prior to attachment is design choice to form the overarching structure);
attaching a bottom wall to the housing to form a hermetic seal about said cavity (see at least Figure 26, [0064] attachment of the middle substrate to the top substrate, where each relative dimension of substrates being micromachined prior to attachment is design choice to form the overarching structure); however, the limitation of inserting a coil into said cavity adjacent to said bottom side of said integral base is not directly taught.
Najafi teaches a related system (see title and abstract) and teaches that an implant can include a coil connected to sensor via electronics section for wireless communications of data which reasonably teaches inserting a coil into said cavity adjacent to said bottom side of said integral base (see entire document, especially Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of including wireless communications to an implant in order to allow for more robust communications external to an implant environment.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations are met by Courcimault in view of Najafi, where Courcimault teaches at least one of the following steps: providing a through hole through said base; electrically connecting said coil to said sensor through said through hole; and connecting said coil to said base with at least one through substrate via (TSV) (see Figure 26 236, 237 [0061]).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations are met by Courcimault in view of Najafi, where Najafi teaches further comprising transmitting energy through the housing to inside the cavity to adjust implant parameters after forming said hermetic seal (see at least Figure 3 col. 3 lines 61-col. 4 lines 7 reasonably reads on the taught communication system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of including wireless communications to an implant in order to allow for more robust communications external to an implant environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-21, 25 would be allowable with terminal disclaimer, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the features in claims 18-21, 25 may generally be known techniques, the inclusion with the required features upon which the claims each depend from are not taught, suggested, or reasonably made obvious through combination with the art on record.
Conclusion
No art has been applied to claim 24, but the claim is not allowable due to the rejection under 112(a).
/MICHAEL R BLOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791