DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (US 2024/0095489) in view of Ricci (US 2014/0309879) and further in view of Blake et al. (US 2011/0263293).
Regarding claim 1:
Kopp dscloses:
Claim 1
Kopp
1. (currently amended) A device to interact with a user in a motor vehicle, comprising:
Paragraph 5: "for use in a vehicle"
an interaction unit arranged in an interior of the motor vehicle and configured to provide an interaction with a user; and
Paragraph 30: "communication behavior with the user"
a personalization unit configured to provide a user preference for the interaction with the interaction unit,
Paragraph 30
wherein the interaction unit is configured to modify a degree of interaction of the interaction unit in response to a user input,_and
Paragraph 22: "done manually be the user"
the personalization unit is arranged on the interaction unit or included in the interaction unit and configured such that the personalization unit is removable to be replaceable, to provide a user preference.
Not disclosed by Kopp
Kopp does not disclose:
(A) "the personalization unit is arranged on the interaction unit or included in the interaction unit" and
(B) "configured such that the personalization unit is removable to be replaceable, to provide a user preference"
Regarding (B):
Ricci discloses:
the personalization unit is configured such that the personalization unit is removable to be replaceable, to provide a user preference (as seen in, e.g., Fig. 2, there may be a user device 212 that has the profile data 252; this device might connect via "a direct connection" as per paragraph 371).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Kopp the elements taught by Ricci.
The rationale is as follows:
Kopp and Ricci are directed to the same field of art.
Ricci shows personalization data can be stored on a mobile device, allowing the user to, e.g., switch or transfer it. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Regarding (A):
Although Ricci discloses the personalization unit may have a direct connection, Ricci does not explicitly say it is "arranged on the interaction unit or included in the interaction unit"
Blake discloses:
A personal device may be arranged on the interaction unit or included in the interaction unit (paragraph 47)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Kopp in view of Ricci the elements taught by Blake.
The rationale is as follows:
Kopp, Ricci, and Blake are directed to the same field of art.
Kopp in view of Ricci already discloses the personalization unit can be a mobile device connected to the interaction unit. Blake shows such a device can be docked in the interaction unit. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
Wherein the degree of interaction includes one or more of a degree of connectivity, a degree of activity, and/or a degree of monitoring (Kopp paragraphs 31-34).
Regarding claim 7:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
Wherein the personalization unit is configured to be removable to replaceable by being slidable into engagement with the interaction unit (Blake paragraph 47; Fig. 3)
Regarding claims 10-11 and 16:
All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, 12-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp in view of Ricci and further in view of Blake, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2024/0051485).
Regarding claim 3:
Kopp, etc., discloses a device as discussed above.
Kopp, etc., does not disclose:
"wherein the interaction unit includes a display apparatus which is configured to provide an interaction with the user."
(Note that Kopp does mention displays in, e.g., paragraph 2, but never shows it, and Ricci shows displays, but Xu is relied on for this and the dependent claims below).
Xu discloses:
wherein the interaction unit includes a display apparatus which is configured to provide an interaction with the user (paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Kopp, etc., the elements taught by Xu.
The rationale is as follows:
Kopp, etc., and Xu are directed to the same field of art.
Kopp already discloses it is applicable to a display (paragraph 2). Xu shows what a display in a vehicle would be like. One of ordinary skill in the art could have included this with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
wherein the interaction unit is configured to perform a determination of where the user with whom the interaction unit is interacting is situated in the interior (e.g., Xu paragraphs 104-106) and, in response to the determination, to direct the interaction to the user (Xu paragraph 111).
Regarding claim 5:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
wherein the interaction unit includes a movement unit, and wherein the movement unit is configured to direct the interaction to the user (Xu paragraphs 119-120).
Regarding claim 8:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
wherein the interaction unit is configured to receive a touch input of the user for the interaction (Xu paragraph 109).
Regarding claims 12-14 and 17:
All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp in Kopp in view of Ricci and further in view of Blake, and further in view of Piao et al. (US 2019/0212819)
Regarding claim 8:1
Kopp, etc., discloses a device as discussed above.
Kopp, etc., does not disclose:
“wherein the interaction unit is configured to receive a touch input of the user for the interaction”
Piao discloses:
wherein the interaction unit is configured to receive a touch input of the user for the interaction (paragraph 308).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Kopp, etc., the elements taught by Piao.
The rationale is as follows:
Kopp, etc., and Piao are directed to the same field of art.
Kopp does not specify in any detail how the device is controlled. Piao provides a method that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Regarding claim 9:
Kopp, etc., discloses:
wherein the interaction unit is configured to provide the touch input of the user to a display unit arranged spaced apart from the interaction unit in the interior of the motor vehicle (as per Piao Fig. 9, the touch devices are 800a and 800b, but the display units are 251 h, e, d, or f.)
Regarding claims 17-18:
All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Kopp, or Kopp in view of Ricci, does not disclose the new language of the claims. The Examiner does not agree with applicant’s assessment of Ricci’s teaching, but regardless, Blake is now relied upon to teach the additional details. Therefore applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622
1 Note claims 8 and 17 were rejected as unpatentable over Kopp, etc., in view of Xu above. This is an alternate rejection of these claims.