DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment of 6/6/2025 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claims 40-59 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 40-59 are new.
Claims 1-39 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-46, 48-56, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marlow et al. (US 2014/0068654).
Regarding claims 40 and 50, Marlow teaches: A computer-implemented method and a system [(abstract, Fig. 39)], comprising:
identifying, on a social media platform, a plurality of friends of a user [determining the user’s friends on the social network (par. 88-89, Fig. 5)],
wherein each friend of the plurality of friends is associated with a respective social media profile [The social networking system 160 stores user profiles describing the users of a social network in a user profile store 240 (par. 52, Fig. 2)]
identifying a subset of the plurality of friends of the user who have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for a video [determining one or more users, such as friends 101a-e, who have posted that indicate particular content such as a TV show or movie that the user is currently watching, is planning to watch, is liked by the user, or looks interesting to the user (par. 102, Fig. 7). The number of friends 101a-e of user 101 who have liked the specific program or who are currently watching the specific program (par. 235, 237, 253, 287)]
determining that a quantity of a plurality of users of the social media platform who have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for the video exceeds a threshold; and based at least in part on the determining that the quantity of the plurality of users exceeds the threshold, generating, for display on a device associated with the user, a recommendation comprising: (a) an identifier of the video, (b) a name of at least one friend of the subset of the plurality of friends of the user that have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for the video; and (c) a number indicative of the quantity [Fig. 11, 25, 29, and 31 demonstrate that when there is more than one friend that has indicated they are interested in a video, such as they like the video, the video may be recommended to the user and indicate the name of the video, a name of at least one of the friends, and a number indicative of the quantity (par. 231-244, 253, 278, 288)].
Regarding claims 41 and 51, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the plurality of users exceeds the threshold, one or more names of one or more friends in the subset are not generated for display, despite the one or more friends having provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for the video [Fig. 11, 25, 29, and 31 demonstrate that only one or two names of friends are displayed and the remaining friends who indicated interest in the video are not displayed.].
Regarding claims 42 and 52, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the plurality of users who have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for the video includes users that are not friends of the user on the social media platform [the plurality of users may be the total number of users of social networking system 160 who have liked the specific program or who are currently watching the specific program (par. 236, 238, 253, and 257)].
Regarding claims 43 and 53, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the plurality of users includes one or more friends from the subset [one or more of the friends, such as Friend A (Fig. 31)].
Regarding claims 44 and 54, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the input to the social media platform indicating the preference for the video comprises input selection of a "Like" option in relation to the video [clicking or selecting a "Like" icon with respect to the video (par. 83, 102, 235-236, and 267, Fig. 7, 27, 29, and 31)].
Regarding claims 45 and 55, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the recommendation is a first recommendation, the video is a first video, the subset is a first subset, the plurality of users is a first plurality of users, and the method further comprises: identifying a second subset of the plurality of friends of the user who have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for a second video; determining that a quantity of a second plurality of users of the social media platform who have provided input to the social media platform indicating a preference for the second video does not exceed the threshold; and based at least in part on the determining that the quantity of the plurality of second users does not exceed the threshold, generating, for display on the device associated with the user, a second recommendation comprising: an identifier of the second video and a name of each friend included in the subset [Fig. 25 demonstrates recommendations of movies, TV shows, or other content including displaying a recommendation with a quantity of friends when there are more than one friend that have shown interest in the program, and displaying a recommendation with just the one friend’s name without any quantity when only one friend has shown the interest in the program (par. 232)].
Regarding claims 46 and 56, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the recommendation is provided to the device in a trending video category of the social media platform [determining shows that are trending of a social networking system for a recommendation playlist (par. 257, Fig. 25 and 31)].
Regarding claims 48 and 58, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the video is a live video [the program may be a live TV show (par. 114 and 253)].
Regarding claims 49 and 59, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the video is a video-on-demand (VOD) video [the program may be on-demand programming (par. 253 and 286-287)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marlow et al. (US 2014/0068654) in view of Reyna et al. (US 2012/0311453).
Regarding claims 47 and 57, Marlow teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 40; Marlow further teaches: the recommendation is included in a plurality of video recommendations provided to the device of the user [Fig. 25 and 31 demonstrate a plurality of recommendations on the device.],
the method further comprising: determining a number of selections of a "Like" option associated with each respective video recommendation of the plurality of video recommendations [Fig. 29 and 31 demonstrate a number of friends or users that liked each recommended program.].
While Marlow discloses a predetermined number of the top-ranked shows may then be presented to user 101 in playlist 2510 (par. 243), Marlow does not explicitly disclose: causing the plurality of video recommendations to be ordered based at least in part on the number of selections of a "Like" option associated with each respective video recommendation of the plurality of video recommendations.
Reyna teaches: causing the plurality of video recommendations to be ordered based at least in part on the number of selections of a "Like" option associated with each respective video recommendation of the plurality of video recommendations [displaying a ranked list of titles of movies that are most liked from the social network of the user (par. 75)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Marlow and Reyna before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer-implemented method of Marlow by incorporating the teaching of Reyna for causing the plurality of video recommendations to be ordered based at least in part on the number of selections of a "Like" option associated with each respective video recommendation of the plurality of video recommendations. The motivation for doing so would have been to sort the videos by how popular they are on the social network, such as amongst the friends of the user, to help the user more easily find a video they would like to watch (Reyna – par. 29 and 75). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Marlow and Reyna to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER BOYD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424