DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arzoumanidis et al. (US 2020/0300785 A1; pub. Sep. 24, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: A system (fig.1), comprising:
a testing fixture (fig.1 item 100), the testing fixture comprising:
a control system (para. [0056]);
a mounting assembly (fig.1 items 140 & 145);
a bottom plate (fig.1 item 145);
a linear actuator assembly communicatively coupled to the control system (para. [0057]-[0058]), wherein the linear actuator assembly facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate (para. [0057]-[0058]);
a motor communicatively coupled to the control system (para. [0057]-[0058]), wherein the motor is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate (para. [0057]-[0058]); and
a load cell (fig.1 item 150) operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system.
Regarding claim 2, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the testing fixture further comprises:
a top plate spaced from the bottom plate along the longitudinal axis to define a target scan zone positioned between the bottom and top plates (fig.1 items 140 & 145, para. [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the testing fixture further comprises: a shroud positioned between the bottom plate and the top plate (para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the testing fixture further comprises:
a rotating assembly (fig.1 item 135 rotates around 160), wherein the rotating assembly is selectively rotatable about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotating assembly comprises:
a slip ring connector (para. [0056], a ring encoder);
the mounting assembly (fig.1 items 140 & 145);
the linear actuator assembly (fig.1 item 130);
the load cell (fig.1 item 150); and
wherein the rotating assembly is in electrical communication with a power source through the slip ring connector (para. [0056]; applying a voltage to the ring encoder to rotate).
Regarding claim 5, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: a rotating platform (fig.1 item 130) operatively coupled to the motor and the mounting assembly (fig.1 items 140 & 145) to facilitate selective rotation of the mounting assembly about the longitudinal axis with the motor (para. [0052], [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the linear actuator assembly is mounted to the rotating platform (fig.1 item 130).
Regarding claim 7, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: a digital image acquisition system defining an enclosure, wherein the testing fixture is positioned within the enclosure (fig.3 items 310 & 320).
Regarding claim 8, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the digital image acquisition system is a computer tomography (CT) scanner comprising an emitter and a detector, and wherein the testing fixture is positioned between the emitter and the detector (para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: a computing system in communication with the control system of the testing fixture, wherein the computing system comprises a user interface for receiving a motion profile, wherein the motion profile defines a rotation parameter for the mounting assembly and a linear actuation parameter of the mounting assembly (para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the computing system is configured to: communicate with the control system to control the mounting assembly based on the motion profile and receive data collected by the load cell (para. [0061], [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the computing system is configured to: receive positional feedback data from the control system, wherein the positional feedback data comprises linear positional data and rotational positional data (para. [0054], the electrical signal collected represents torsional or axial/linear force and displacement data, which is rotational position and linear positional data).
Regarding claim 13, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: the data collected by the load cell comprises torsional data and linear data (para. [0054], the electrical signal collected represents torsional or axial/linear force and displacement data, which is rotational position and linear positional data).
Regarding claim 14, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: A testing fixture comprising: a control system;
a mounting assembly;
a bottom plate;
a load cell operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system;
one or more motion drivers communicatively coupled to the control system, wherein the one or more motion drivers comprises
a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator that is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate; and
a motor operatively coupled to the mounting assembly that facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate; and
wherein the one or more motion drivers execute a motion profile (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: a top plate spaced from the bottom plate along the longitudinal axis to define a target scan zone positioned between the bottom and top plates (fig.1 items 140 & 145).
Regarding claim 16, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: a rotating assembly, wherein the rotating assembly is selectively rotatable about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotating assembly comprises:
a slip ring connector; the mounting assembly; the linear actuator assembly; the load cell; and
wherein the rotating assembly is in electrical communication with a power source through the slip ring connector (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4).
Regarding claim 17, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: A system, comprising:
a computing system in communication with a testing fixture;
the testing fixture comprising:
a control system;
a rotatable mounting assembly;
a load cell operatively coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system; and
a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator, wherein the linear actuator assembly is coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the actuator of the linear actuator assembly facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the rotatable mounting
assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator are rotatable about the longitudinal axis,
a bottom plate, wherein the mounting assembly translates along the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate, and wherein the mounting assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator translate along the longitudinal axis rotate relative to the bottom plate; and
wherein the linear actuator assembly executes a motion profile provided by the computing system (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, additionally see para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Arzoumanidis et al. disclose: data collected by the load cell comprises torsional data and linear data (para. [0054], the electrical signal collected represents torsional or axial/linear force and displacement data, which is rotational position and linear positional data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzoumanidis et al. (US 2020/0300785 A1; pub. Sep. 24, 2020) in view of Asano et al. (US 2019/0277780 A1; pub. Sep. 12, 2019).
Regarding claim 10, Arzoumanidis et al. are silent about: the computing system comprises a mobile communications device in wireless communication with the control system.
In a similar field of endeavor Asano et al. disclose: the computing system comprises a mobile communications device in wireless communication with the control system (para. [0075]) motivated by the benefits for improved portability and enabling remote testing.
In light of the benefits for improved portability and enabling remote testing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mobile computer of Asano et al. in the apparatus of Arzoumanidis et al.
Regarding claim 19, Arzoumanidis et al. and Asano et al. disclose: the computing system comprises a mobile communications device in wireless communication with the control system (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 10).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzoumanidis et al. (US 2020/0300785 A1; pub. Sep. 24, 2020) in view of Sedgewick et al. (US 2002/0074052 A1; pub. Jun. 20, 2002).
Regarding claim 18, Arzoumanidis et al. are silent about: the computing system comprises a user interface for receiving the motion profile, wherein the motion profile defines a rotation parameter for the mounting assembly and a linear actuation parameter of the mounting assembly.
In a similar field of endeavor Sedgewick et al. disclose: the computing system comprises a user interface for receiving the motion profile, wherein the motion profile defines a rotation parameter for the mounting assembly and a linear actuation parameter of the mounting assembly (para. [0022]) motivated by the benefits for improved testing accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved testing accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Arzoumanidis et al. with the teachings of Sedgewick et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-3, 5, 7-9, 13-17, 19, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,302 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the limitations claimed in claims 1-14, 17 of the present application are obvious in view of limitations claimed in claims 1, 2-3, 5, 7-9, 13-17, 19, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,302 B2 .
The table below shows the similarities (underlined) between the present application and U.S. Patent No. 12,222,302 B2.
19/027,083 (Present Application)
12,222,302 B2
Claim 1
A system, comprising:
a testing fixture, the testing fixture comprising:
a control system;
a mounting assembly;
a bottom plate;
a linear actuator assembly communicatively coupled to the control system,
wherein the linear actuator assembly facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate;
a motor communicatively coupled to the control system, wherein the motor is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate; and
a load cell operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system.
Claim 1
A system, comprising:
a testing fixture, the testing fixture comprising:
control system;
a mounting assembly;
a bottom plate;
a linear actuator assembly communicatively coupled to the control system,
wherein the linear actuator assembly comprises an actuator that is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate,
wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the translation of the mounting assembly along the longitudinal axis;
a motor communicatively coupled to the control system, wherein the motor is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate,
wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis; and
a load cell operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system.
Claim 2
the testing fixture further comprises:
a top plate spaced from the bottom plate along the longitudinal axis to define a target scan zone positioned between the bottom and top plates.
Claim 2
the testing fixture further comprises: a top plate spaced from the bottom plate along the longitudinal axis to define a target scan zone positioned between the bottom and top plates.
Claim 3
the testing fixture further comprises: a shroud positioned between the bottom plate and the top plate.
Claim 3
the testing fixture further comprises: a shroud positioned between the bottom plate and the top plate.
Claim 4
the testing fixture further comprises:
a rotating assembly, wherein the rotating assembly is selectively rotatable about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotating assembly comprises:
a slip ring connector;
the mounting assembly;
the linear actuator assembly;
the load cell; and
wherein the rotating assembly is in electrical communication with a power source through the slip ring connector.
Claim 5
the testing fixture further comprises: a rotating assembly, wherein the rotating assembly is selectively rotatable about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotating assembly comprises:
a slip ring connector;
the mounting assembly;
the linear actuator assembly;
the load cell; and
wherein the rotating assembly is in electrical communication with a power source through the slip ring connector.
Claim 5
a rotating platform operatively coupled to the motor and the mounting assembly to facilitate selective rotation of the mounting assembly about the longitudinal axis with the motor.
Claim 7
a rotating platform operatively coupled to the motor and the mounting assembly to facilitate selective rotation of the mounting assembly about the longitudinal axis with the motor.
Claim 6
the linear actuator assembly is mounted to the rotating platform.
Claim 9
the linear actuator assembly is mounted to the rotating platform
Claim 7
a digital image acquisition system defining an enclosure, wherein the testing fixture is positioned within the enclosure.
Claim 10
a digital image acquisition system defining an enclosure, wherein the testing fixture is positioned within the enclosure.
Claim 8
the digital image acquisition system is a computer tomography (CT) scanner comprising an emitter and a detector, and wherein the testing fixture is positioned between the emitter and the detector.
Claim 11
the digital image acquisition system is a computer tomography (CT) scanner comprising an emitter and a detector, and wherein the testing fixture is positioned between the emitter and the detector.
Claim 9
a computing system in communication with the control system of the testing fixture, wherein the computing system comprises a user interface for receiving a motion profile, wherein the motion profile defines a rotation parameter for the mounting assembly and a linear actuation parameter of the mounting assembly.
Claim 13
a computing system in communication with the control system of the testing fixture, wherein the computing system comprises a user interface for receiving a motion profile, wherein the motion profile defines a rotation parameter for the mounting assembly and a linear actuation parameter of the mounting assembly
Claim 10
the computing system comprises a mobile communications device in wireless communication with the control system.
Claim 14
the computing system comprises a mobile communications device in wireless communication with the control system.
Claim 11
the computing system is configured to: communicate with the control system to control the mounting assembly based on the motion profile and receive data collected by the load cell.
Claim 15
the computing system is configured to: communicate with the control system to control the mounting assembly based on the motion profile and receive data collected by the load cell.
Claim 12
the computing system is configured to: receive positional feedback data from the control system, wherein the positional feedback data comprises linear positional data and rotational positional data.
Claim 16
the computing system is configured to: receive positional feedback data from the control system, wherein the positional feedback data comprises linear positional data and rotational positional data.
Claim 13
the data collected by the load cell comprises torsional data and linear data.
Claim 17
the data collected by the load cell comprises torsional data and linear data.
Claim 14
A testing fixture comprising: a control system;
a mounting assembly;
a bottom plate;
a load cell operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system;
one or more motion drivers communicatively coupled to the control system, wherein the one or more motion drivers comprises
a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator that is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate; and
a motor operatively coupled to the mounting assembly that facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate; and
wherein the one or more motion drivers execute a motion profile.
Claim 19
A testing fixture comprising:
a control system;
a mounting assembly;
a bottom plate;
a load cell operatively coupled to the mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system;
one or more motion drivers communicatively coupled to the control system, wherein the one or more motion drivers comprises
(i) a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator that is operatively coupled to the mounting assembly and facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate,
wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the translation of the mounting assembly along the longitudinal axis and
(ii) a motor operatively coupled to the mounting assembly that facilitates selective rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate,
wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the rotation of the mounting assembly and the linear actuator assembly about the longitudinal axis; and wherein a component of the one or more motion drivers is rotatable about the longitudinal axis;
and wherein the one or more motion drivers execute a motion profile.
Claim 17
A system, comprising:
a computing system in communication with a testing fixture;
the testing fixture comprising:
a control system;
a rotatable mounting assembly;
a load cell operatively coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system; and
a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator, wherein the linear actuator assembly is coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the actuator of the linear actuator assembly facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the rotatable mounting
assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator are rotatable about the longitudinal axis,
a bottom plate, wherein the mounting assembly translates along the longitudinal axis relative to the bottom plate, and wherein the mounting assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator translate along the longitudinal axis rotate relative to the bottom plate; and
wherein the linear actuator assembly executes a motion profile provided by the computing system.
Claim 21
A system, comprising:
a computing system in communication with a testing fixture;
the testing fixture comprising:
a control system;
a rotatable mounting assembly;
a load cell operatively coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the load cell is communicatively coupled to the control system; and
a linear actuator assembly comprising an actuator, wherein the linear actuator assembly is coupled to the rotatable mounting assembly, wherein the actuator of the linear actuator assembly facilitates selective translation of the mounting assembly along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the rotatable mounting
assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator are rotatable about the longitudinal axis,
a bottom plate, wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the translation of the mounting assembly along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the bottom plate remains stationary during the rotation of the mounting assembly, the linear actuator assembly, and the actuator about the longitudinal axis; and wherein the linear actuator assembly executes a motion profile provided by the computing system.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884