Claims 1-20 filed on 01/17/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/17/2025 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 01/17/2025 has been reviewed and is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Joystick Remote Controller with Attitude Based Adjustment and Configuration for operating an Industrial System Comprising a Bridge Crane.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “the joystick” on line 4 should read “the first joystick” for the sake of consistency and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 9-16 are directed to a process. Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are directed to a machine or an article of manufacture.
With respect to Claim 1:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a first reference signal corresponding to the first direction; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a second reference signal corresponding to the second direction; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
a sensor configured to generate at least one feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a first command signal in a first direction for an axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a second command signal in the first direction for the axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
at least one joystick; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the at least one joystick is configured to be selectively deflected in a first direction and in a second direction, the second direction is opposite the first direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a memory configured to store a plurality of instructions; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
receive the at least one feedback signal from the sensor; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
receive the first and second reference signals from the at least one joystick; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
a transceiver configured to transmit the first and second command signals to a receiver for the material handling system; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
at least one joystick; (The additional features including a joystick as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the at least one joystick is configured to be selectively deflected in a first direction and in a second direction, the second direction is opposite the first direction; (The additional features including a defining a joystick deflecting in certain directions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a memory configured to store a plurality of instructions; (The additional features including a memory storing instructions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions; (The additional features including processor executing instructions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
receive the at least one feedback signal from the sensor; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
receive the first and second reference signals from the at least one joystick; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
a transceiver configured to transmit the first and second command signals to a receiver for the material handling system; (Receiving or transmitting data over a network has been deemed a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 1 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 2:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a third reference signal corresponding to the third direction; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a fourth reference signal corresponding to the fourth direction; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a third command signal in a first direction for a second axis of motion in the material handling system when the processor receives the third reference signal; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a fourth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system when the processor receives the fourth reference signal; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the axis of motion is a first axis of motion; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the at least one joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected in a third direction and in a fourth direction, the fourth direction is opposite the third direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
receive the third and fourth reference signals from the at least one joystick; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
the at least one feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
the at least one feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the axis of motion is a first axis of motion; (The additional features including defining an axis of motion as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the at least one joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected in a third direction and in a fourth direction, the fourth direction is opposite the third direction; (The additional features including a defining a joystick deflecting in certain directions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
receive the third and fourth reference signals from the at least one joystick; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
the at least one feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
the at least one feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 2 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 3:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
the first joystick generates the first and second reference signals for the first axis of motion; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the second joystick generates the third reference signal and the fourth reference signal for the second axis of motion; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
a first joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the first direction and the second direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a second joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction and the fourth direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
a first joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the first direction and the second direction; (The additional features including a defining a joystick deflecting in certain directions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
a second joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction and the fourth direction; (The additional features including a defining a joystick deflecting in certain directions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 3 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 4:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the at least one joystick includes a single joystick configured to be selectively deflected along the first direction and the second direction and the single joystick is also selectively deflected along the third direction and the fourth direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the at least one joystick includes a single joystick configured to be selectively deflected along the first direction and the second direction and the single joystick is also selectively deflected along the third direction and the fourth direction; (The additional features including a defining a joystick deflecting in certain directions as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 4 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 5:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
the single joystick generates the first reference signal, the second reference signal, the third reference signal, and the fourth reference signal as a function of a present position of the single joystick within the three hundred sixty degree arc; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the at least one joystick includes a single joystick selectively positioned within a three hundred sixty degree arc; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the at least one joystick includes a single joystick selectively positioned within a three hundred sixty degree arc; (The additional features including defining a joystick configuration as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 5 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 6:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 6 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 7:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, and a fourth segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, and a fourth segment; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (The additional features including a defining relative segments for the orientation of the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 7 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 8:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generate a fifth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a sixth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a seventh command signal in the first direction for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate an eighth command signal in the first direction for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 8 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 9:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generating a first command signal in a first direction for a first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generating a second command signal in the first direction for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
receiving a reference signal at a processor from a first joystick on a transmitter for the material handling system; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the reference signal is selectively a first reference signal when the first joystick is deflected in a first direction or a second reference signal when the joystick is deflected in a second direction; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
receiving a feedback signal at the processor from a sensor mounted in the transmitter, the feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
transmitting the first and the second command signals from the transmitter to a receiver for the material handling system; (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
receiving a reference signal at a processor from a first joystick on a transmitter for the material handling system; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
wherein the reference signal is selectively a first reference signal when the first joystick is deflected in a first direction or a second reference signal when the joystick is deflected in a second direction; (The additional features including the deflection of the joystick as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
receiving a feedback signal at the processor from a sensor mounted in the transmitter, the feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter; (Arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter; (Arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
transmitting the first and the second command signals from the transmitter to a receiver for the material handling system; (Receiving or transmitting data over a network has been deemed a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 9 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 10:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generating a third command signal in a first direction for a second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generating a fourth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
receiving an additional reference signal at the processor; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the additional reference signal is selectively a third reference signal corresponding to a third direction or a fourth reference signal corresponding to a fourth direction; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
receiving an additional reference signal at the processor; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
wherein the additional reference signal is selectively a third reference signal corresponding to a third direction or a fourth reference signal corresponding to a fourth direction; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 10 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 11:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
wherein the second joystick generates the third reference signal and the fourth reference signal for the second axis of motion; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
wherein the transmitter includes a second joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction and the fourth direction; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the transmitter includes a second joystick configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction and the fourth direction; (The additional features including joystick configured to be deflected as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 11 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 12:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
selectively generate the third reference signal or the fourth reference signal; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
wherein the first joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected along the third direction and the fourth direction; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the first joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected along the third direction and the fourth direction; (The additional features including joystick configured to be deflected as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 12 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 13:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
selectively generating the first reference signal, the second reference signal, the third reference signal, and the fourth reference signal as a function of a present position of the first joystick within the three hundred sixty degree arc; (Mental process – generating a reference signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
selectively positioning the first joystick within a three hundred sixty degree arc; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
selectively positioning the first joystick within a three hundred sixty degree arc; (The additional features including positioning a joystick as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 13 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 14:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
determining that the transmitter is oriented within either a first segment or a second segment of the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation with the processor as a function of the feedback signal; (Mental process – determining is an evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including orientating the transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (The additional features including setting segments and orientations as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (The additional features including setting segments and orientations as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 14 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 15:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
determining that the transmitter is oriented within either a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, or a fourth segment of the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation with the processor as a function of the feedback signal; (Mental process – determining is an evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including setting segments and orientations as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (The additional features including setting segments and orientations as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (The additional features including setting segments and orientations as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 15 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 16:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generating a fifth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generating a sixth command signal in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generating a seventh command signal in the first direction for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generating an eighth command signal in the first direction for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the fourth reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the processor receives the third reference signal and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 16 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 17:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
a sensor configured to generate at least one feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a feedback signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a first command signal having a first polarity for a first axis of motion in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in a first orientation; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate the first command signal having a second polarity for the first axis of motion in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in a second orientation wherein the second polarity is opposite the first polarity; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate a second command signal having a first polarity for a second axis of motion in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in the first orientation; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate the second command signal having a second polarity for the second axis of motion in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in the second orientation wherein the second polarity for the second axis of motion is opposite the first polarity for the second axis of motion; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
a joystick mounted on the transmitter; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
wherein the joystick is configured to be selectively deflected forward and reverse in at least a first direction and a second direction; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
a joystick mounted on the transmitter; (The additional features including a joystick mounted on a transmitter as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
wherein the joystick is configured to be selectively deflected forward and reverse in at least a first direction and a second direction; (The additional features including a joystick deflection direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 17 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 18:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including a transmitter orientation as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the second segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 18 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 19:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, and a fourth segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation; (The additional features including a transmitter orientation as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, and a fourth segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment; (The additional features including a defining a coordinate of orientation direction as recited in the claim are recited so generically that they represent no more than the existence of the components that they represent no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or “field of use”-- see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, Claim 19 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 20:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generate the first command signal having the first polarity for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate the first command signal having the second polarity for the first axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate the second command signal having the first polarity for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
generate the second command signal having the second polarity for the second axis of motion in the material handling system; (Mental process – generating a command signal is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 20 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vinati et al. (US 20180341245 A1, herein Vinati)
Regarding claim 1, Vinati teaches a transmitter for a material handling system, comprising:
at least one joystick ([0036] control device 10),
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the embodiment of the control device 10 in a form of a keypad configuration. Vinati further introduces a possible embodiment in a joystick configuration ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device).
wherein:
the at least one joystick is configured to be selectively deflected in a first direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 4 is the left direction) and in a second direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 2 is the right direction), the second direction is opposite the first direction (as illustrated in FIG.1 pushbutton 4 and pushbutton 2 is in opposite directions),
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a first reference signal corresponding to the first direction ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.), and the at least one joystick is configured to generate a second reference signal corresponding to the second direction ([0062] The pushbutton 2 is associated with the “Right” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 45° and 135°.);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0037] For example, the indications “Forward” and “Back” may indicate the possible movements of the overhead crane as a whole, while the indications “Right” and “Left” may indicate the possible movements of one part of the overhead crane 20, in particular of the trolley 22.” Indicating the terms “Left” and “Right” indicate the movement signals. The Examiner interprets the buttons being coupled with the movements of the machine and the combination of the citations the buttons generate a reference signal.
a sensor configured to generate ([0042] In particular, the inertial platform 26 that includes a three-axis accelerometer 34 and a triaxial gyroscope 36, where both of the above components can be managed by the control unit 100, equipped with a microprocessor.)
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0041] In particular, internally to the casing 14, the control device includes a control unit 100 connected to an inertial platform 26”
at least one feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system ([0081] This reassignment of functions can take place automatically because, following the rotation in the horizontal plane of the control device 10, the algorithm described below computes the new direction value and communicates it to the control unit 100 which then provides the appropriate commands to the pushbuttons reassignment module 27.);
Examiner’s Note: the method for the calibrating the orientation is illustrated in FIG. 9. Vinati further teaches:
[0117] More in detail, with reference to FIG. 9, the method comprises the following steps:
[0118] preliminary estimation of the attitude of the control device using data from the accelerometer 34 and from the magnetometer 38 (block 200);
[0119] updating of the preliminary estimate of the attitude of the control device using data from the gyroscope (block 300).
a memory configured to store a plurality of instructions ([0081] This reassignment of functions can take place automatically because, following the rotation in the horizontal plane of the control device 10, the algorithm described below computes the new direction value and communicates it to the control unit 100 which then provides the appropriate commands to the pushbuttons reassignment module 27.);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches an algorithm to calibrate a controller’s direction with respect to the operating crane. One in the ordinary skill of art would recognize computation of an algorithm would require memory.
a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions to ([0042] In particular, the inertial platform 26 that includes a three-axis accelerometer 34 and a triaxial gyroscope 36, where both of the above components can be managed by the control unit 100, equipped with a microprocessor.):
receive the at least one feedback signal from the sensor ([0158] To ensure greater safety during use, it is also possible to add different light, sound or vibration signals, according to the situation of the inertial control device), receive the first and second reference signals from the at least one joystick, generate a first command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in a first direction for an axis of motion in the material handling system ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.)
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the directions indicated by quotations are the movements corresponding to crane 20 ([0037] For example, the indications “Forward” and “Back” may indicate the possible movements of the overhead crane as a whole, while the indications “Right” and “Left” may indicate the possible movements of one part of the overhead crane 20, in particular of the trolley 22.)
when the processor receives the first reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1),
and generate a second command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the axis of motion in the material handling system ([0086] to the pushbutton 2, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Left”.; [0093] The pushbuttons, whatever the orientation of the control device with respect to the bridge crane 20 is, will always correspond to what is indicated in the posters.; the citations illustrate the pushbutton 2 when orientated as illustrated in FIG. 3 will move the trolly left (e.g. the first direction for the axis of motion) when the processor receives the second reference signal and the at least one feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3));
a transceiver configured to transmit ([0059] In addition, the control device 10 can be operated remotely) the first and second command signals to a receiver for the material handling system ([0019] The control unit of the remote control receives signals relating to the orientation of the remote control relative to the vertical from a non-magnetic compass located on the same remote control, in such a way that a movement command issued according to a certain direction corresponds to a movement of the movable members of the lifting apparatus in the same direction or in a direction parallel to it.).
Regarding Claim 2, Vinati teachs The transmitter of claim 1.
Vinati further teaches wherein:
the axis of motion is a first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
the at least one joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected in a third direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1 is the forward direction) and in a fourth direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 3 is the backward direction), the fourth direction is opposite the third direction (as illustrated in FIG. 1 buttons 1 and 3 correspond to the opposite direction (e.g. forward and back)),
the at least one joystick is configured to generate a third reference signal corresponding to the third direction ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.), and the at least one joystick is configured to generate a fourth reference signal corresponding to the fourth direction ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the directions indicated by quotations are the movements corresponding to crane 20 ([0037] For example, the indications “Forward” and “Back” may indicate the possible movements of the overhead crane as a whole, while the indications “Right” and “Left” may indicate the possible movements of one part of the overhead crane 20, in particular of the trolley 22.)
and the processor is further configured to:
receive the third and fourth reference signals from the at least one joystick, generate a third command signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) in a first direction for a second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated in the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) and the at least one feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1), and generate a fourth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion in the material handling system when the processor receives the fourth reference signal ([0083] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Forward”) and the at least one feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Regarding claim 3, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 2.
Vinati further teaches wherein the at least one joystick further comprises:
a first joystick ([0036] control device 10) configured to be selectively deflected in the first direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 4 is the left direction) and the second direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 2 is the right direction),
wherein the first joystick generates the first ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.) and second ([0062] The pushbutton 2 is associated with the “Right” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 45° and 135°.) reference signals for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated by the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
And a second joystick ([0036] control device 10) configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1 is the forward direction) and the fourth direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 3 is the backward direction)
wherein the second joystick generates the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) and the fourth reference signal ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.) for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
Regarding claim 4, Vinati in view of Rantala teaches the transmitter of claim 2.
Vinati further teaches wherein the at least one joystick ([0036] control device 10) includes a single joystick configured to be selectively deflected along the first direction (keypad 4) and the second direction (keypad2) and the single joystick is also selectively deflected along the third direction (keypad 1) and the fourth direction (keypad 3).
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated in FIG.1 control device 10 has 4 keypad buttons respectively in each direction. Vinati further introduces a possible embodiment in a joystick configuration ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device) which in combination of the illustrations of the keypad and the configuration of the joystick would lead the joystick to be deflected in the directions of the keypad.
Regarding claim 5, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 2.
Vinati further teaches wherein: the at least one joystick includes a single joystick selectively positioned within a three hundred sixty degree arc ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device.)
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner interprets the joystick itself would be positioned within a three hundred sixty degree arc.
and the single joystick ([0036] control device 10) generates the first reference signal ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.), the second reference signal ([0062] The pushbutton 2 is associated with the “Right” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 45° and 135°.), the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.), and the fourth reference signal ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.) as a function of a present position of the single joystick within the three hundred sixty degree arc ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.).
Regarding claim 7, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 2.
Vinati further teaches wherein: the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment, a second segment, a third segment, and a fourth segment ([0156] Once the heading angle is obtained, tolerance zones are preferably defined around the boundaries of the quadrants shown in FIG. 5);
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1); and
the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Regarding claim 8, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 7.
Vinati further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate a fifth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated in the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the first reference signal ([0077] to the pushbutton 4, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 1 namely “Forward”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
generate a sixth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated in the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the second reference signal ([0090] to the pushbutton 2, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Forward”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4));
generate a seventh command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the fourth reference signal ([0078] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 4 namely “Left”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
and generate an eighth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the third reference signal ([0089] to the pushbutton 1, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Left”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 9, Vinati teaches a method of controlling a material handling system, comprising the steps of:
receiving a reference signal at a processor from a first joystick ([0036] control device 10),
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the embodiment of the control device 10 in a form of a keypad configuration. Vinati further introduces a possible embodiment in a joystick configuration ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device).
on a transmitter for the material handling system, wherein the reference signal is selectively a first reference signal when the first joystick is deflected in a first direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 4 is the left direction) or a second reference signal when the joystick is deflected in a second direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 2 is the right direction);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0037] For example, the indications “Forward” and “Back” may indicate the possible movements of the overhead crane as a whole, while the indications “Right” and “Left” may indicate the possible movements of one part of the overhead crane 20, in particular of the trolley 22.” Indicating the terms “Left” and “Right” indicate the movement signals. The Examiner interprets the buttons being coupled with the movements of the machine and the combination of the citations the buttons generate a reference signal.
receiving a feedback signal at the processor from a sensor mounted in the transmitter ([0158] To ensure greater safety during use, it is also possible to add different light, sound or vibration signals, according to the situation of the inertial control device), the feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling system ([0156] Once the heading angle is obtained, tolerance zones are preferably defined around the boundaries of the quadrants shown in FIG. 5);
generating a first command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in a first direction for a first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated by the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the first reference signal ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.) and the feedback signal defines a first orientation of the transmitter ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
generating a second command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the second reference signal ([0086] to the pushbutton 2, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Left”.; [0093] The pushbuttons, whatever the orientation of the control device with respect to the bridge crane 20 is, will always correspond to what is indicated in the posters.; the citations illustrate the pushbutton 2 when orientated as illustrated in FIG. 3 will move the trolly left (e.g. the first direction for the axis of motion) and the feedback signal defines a second orientation of the transmitter ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3));
and transmitting the first and the second command signals from the transmitter to a receiver for the material handling system ([0059] In addition, the control device 10 can be operated remotely).
Regarding claim 10, Vinati teaches the method of claim 9.
Vinati further teaches further comprising the steps of:
receiving an additional reference signal at the processor wherein the additional reference signal is selectively a third reference signal corresponding to a third direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1 is the forward direction) or a fourth reference signal corresponding to a fourth direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 3 is the backward direction);
generating a third command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in a first direction for a second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) and the feedback signal is in the first orientation of the transmitter ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
and generating a fourth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the fourth reference signal ([0083] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Forward”) and the feedback signal is in the second orientation of the transmitter ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Regarding claim 11, Vinati teaches the method of claim 10.
Vinati further teaches wherein the transmitter includes a second joystick ([0036] control device 10) configured to be selectively deflected in the third direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1 is the forward direction) and the fourth direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 3 is the backward direction),
wherein the second joystick generates the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) and the fourth reference signal ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.) for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
Regarding claim 12, Vinati teaches the method of claim 10.
Vinati further teaches wherein the first joystick is further configured to be selectively deflected along the third direction([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1 is the forward direction) and the fourth direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 3 is the backward direction) to selectively generate the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) or the fourth reference signal ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.).
Regarding claim 13, Vinati teaches the method of claim 10.
Vinati further teaches further comprising the steps of:
selectively positioning the first joystick within a three hundred sixty degree arc ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device.);
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner interprets the joystick itself would be positioned within a three hundred sixty degree arc.
And selectively generating the first reference signal ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.), the second reference signal ([0062] The pushbutton 2 is associated with the “Right” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 45° and 135°.), the third reference signal ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.), and the fourth reference signal ([0063] The pushbutton 3 is associated with the “Back” function which corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 135° and 225°.) as a function of a present position of the first joystick within the three hundred sixty degree arc ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.)
Regarding claim 15, Vinati teaches the method of claim 9
Vinati further teaches further comprising the steps of:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
And determining that the transmitter is oriented within either a first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1,), a second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2) ), a third segment ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)), or a fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4) ) of the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0156] Once the heading angle is obtained, tolerance zones are preferably defined around the boundaries of the quadrants shown in FIG. 5) with the processor as a function of the feedback signal ([0158] To ensure greater safety during use, it is also possible to add different light, sound or vibration signals, according to the situation of the inertial control device), wherein:
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1); and the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Regarding claim 16, Vinati teaches the method of claim 15
Vinati further teaches further comprising the steps of:
generating a fifth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated in the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the first reference signal ([0077] to the pushbutton 4, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 1 namely “Forward”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
generating a sixth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated in the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the second reference signal ([0090] to the pushbutton 2, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Forward”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4));
generating a seventh command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the fourth reference signal ([0078] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 4 namely “Left”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
and generating an eighth command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) in the first direction for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the processor receives the third reference signal ([0089] to the pushbutton 1, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Left”) and the at least one feedback signal indicates the transmitter is in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 17, Vinati teaches a transmitter for a material handling system, comprising:
a joystick ([0036] control device 10) mounted on the transmitter ([0059] In addition, the control device 10 can be operated remotely),
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the embodiment of the control device 10 in a form of a keypad configuration. Vinati further introduces a possible embodiment in a joystick configuration ([0111] In a further embodiment of the invention, in place of a control device 10 as described above, it is possible to employ a joystick or other similar device).
wherein the joystick is configured to be selectively deflected forward and reverse in at least a first direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 2, 4 are movements for left and right) and a second direction ([0038] the quadrant showing buttons 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the actuation of the overhead crane 20 according to four operating directions.; as illustrated in FIG. 1 pushbutton 1,3 are movements for forward and backwards);
a sensor configured to generate ([0042] In particular, the inertial platform 26 that includes a three-axis accelerometer 34 and a triaxial gyroscope 36, where both of the above components can be managed by the control unit 100, equipped with a microprocessor.)
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0041] In particular, internally to the casing 14, the control device includes a control unit 100 connected to an inertial platform 26”
at least one feedback signal corresponding to an orientation of the transmitter with respect to a plane of travel for the material handling ([0081] This reassignment of functions can take place automatically because, following the rotation in the horizontal plane of the control device 10, the algorithm described below computes the new direction value and communicates it to the control unit 100 which then provides the appropriate commands to the pushbuttons reassignment module 27.);
and a processor operative to ([0042] In particular, the inertial platform 26 that includes a three-axis accelerometer 34 and a triaxial gyroscope 36, where both of the above components can be managed by the control unit 100, equipped with a microprocessor.):
generate a first command signal having a first polarity for a first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated by the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction ([0064] The pushbutton 4 is associated with the “Left” function that corresponds, with reference to the orientation of FIG. 1, to the sector included between 225° and 315°.) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in a first orientation ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati teaches the directions indicated by quotations are the movements corresponding to crane 20 ([0037] For example, the indications “Forward” and “Back” may indicate the possible movements of the overhead crane as a whole, while the indications “Right” and “Left” may indicate the possible movements of one part of the overhead crane 20, in particular of the trolley 22.)
generate the first command signal having a second polarity for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated in the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction ([0084] to the pushbutton 4, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Right”; [0093] The pushbuttons, whatever the orientation of the control device with respect to the bridge crane 20 is, will always correspond to what is indicated in the posters.) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in a second orientation ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3));
wherein the second polarity is opposite the first polarity (as illustrated by the comparison of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, actions for pressing button 4 provides opposite movements when configured in different orientations);
generate a second command signal having a first polarity for a second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction ([0061] The pushbutton 1 is associated with the “Forward” function that corresponds to the indication with the “Forward” arrow printed on signs and the area included between 315° and 45° considering the 360° value as directed upwards in FIG. 1.) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in the first orientation ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
generate the second command signal having a second polarity for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction ([0085] to the pushbutton 1, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Back”) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is in the second orientation ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)) wherein the second polarity for the second axis of motion is opposite the first polarity for the second axis of motion (as illustrated by the comparison of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, actions for pressing button 1 provides opposite movements when configured in different orientations).
Regarding claim 19, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 17.
Vinati further teaches wherein: the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1), a second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2)), a third segment ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)), and a fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4));
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
and the second orientation of the transmitter lies within the third segment ([0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Regarding claim 20, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 19.
Vinati further teaches wherein the processor is further operative to:
generate the first command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) having the first polarity for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated by the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction ([0078] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 4 namely “Left”) and sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
generate the first command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) having the second polarity for the first axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10);
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the first axis of motion is illustrated by the Y direction (e.g. operating the machine left and right).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the second direction ([0091] to the pushbutton 3, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Right”) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4));
generate the second command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) having the first polarity for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction ([0080] to the pushbutton 1, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function of the pushbutton 2 namely “Right”.) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the second segment ([0076] In case instead the operator rotates by 90° degrees to the right together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 90° degrees to the right (direction F2 in FIG. 2));
generate the second command signal ([0092] As it can be guessed the control device 10 always performs the movements corresponding to the direction indicated by the pushbutton or by the arrow pushbutton with respect to the direction assumed by the control device 10 itself with respect to the overhead crane 20.) having the second polarity for the second axis of motion ([0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.; [0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26, the control unit 100 is always informed of the orientation of the control device 10)
Examiner’s Note: As illustrated by the coordinate system in FIG. 6, the second axis of motion is illustrated by the X direction (e.g. operating the machine forward and back).
in the material handling system when the joystick is selectively deflected in the first direction ([0089] to the pushbutton 1, the pushbuttons reassignment module 27 will assign the function “Left”.) and the sensor indicates the transmitter is oriented in the fourth segment ([0087] Finally, in case the operator rotates by 270° degrees with respect to the initial direction (or toward his left of 90°) together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 270°) degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F4 in FIG. 4)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Vinati in view of Rantala (US 20180237274 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 2.
Vinati further teaches wherein: the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1); and the second orientation of the transmitter lies [[opposite of the first segment]] [0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Vinati teaches dividing the orientation of the controller into quadrants but does not explicitly teach the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; and
Rantala discloses [abstract] A method and equipment for controlling a lifting device, wherein a main steering direction of the control device.
Rantala further teaches the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment ([0038] FIG. 1 shows a simplified figure of a use case 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 1 shows a first usage situation wherein, seen from the above, an operator 110 is positioned in a first direction.) and a second segment (illustrated in FIG. 1; [0040] FIG. 1 also presents a second usage situation, wherein the operator 110 is positioned in a second direction, such as facing one end of a factory hall.)
Rantala further teaches (as illustrated in FIG. 1) a direction indicator representative of the steering direction hereby teaching and ([0040] This time, in the operator's front direction, there is a second mark 140′ of a main steering direction, which is a mark formed to be distinguishable from the mark 140 of the first main steering direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control device of Vinati to incorporate the teachings of Rantala so as to include dividing the orientations into two segments. As set forth in MPEP § 2143 (I)(E)(See Examples 1-9), as established by Rantala ([0053] Optionally, the main steering direction can be selected from four different main steering directions.), there are a number of different methodologies to divide up an orientation axis, and choosing a particular method from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is considered an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 14, Vinati teaches the method of claim 9
Vinati further teaches further comprising the steps of:
selectively orienting the transmitter within three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
The processor as a function of the feedback signal ([0158] To ensure greater safety during use, it is also possible to add different light, sound or vibration signals, according to the situation of the inertial control device), wherein:
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1);
and the second orientation of the transmitter lies [[opposite of the first segment]] [0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Vinati teaches dividing the orientation of the controller into quadrants but does not explicitly teach And determining that the transmitter is oriented within either a first segment or a second segment of the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation with
Rantala discloses [abstract] A method and equipment for controlling a lifting device, wherein a main steering direction of the control device.
Rantala further teaches And determining that the transmitter is oriented within either a first segment ([0038] FIG. 1 shows a simplified figure of a use case 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 1 shows a first usage situation wherein, seen from the above, an operator 110 is positioned in a first direction.) or a second segment (illustrated in FIG. 1; [0040] FIG. 1 also presents a second usage situation, wherein the operator 110 is positioned in a second direction, such as facing one end of a factory hall.)
Rantala further teaches (as illustrated in FIG. 2) a direction indicator representative of the steering direction hereby teaching of the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation with the processor as a function of the feedback signal ([0049] The indicator may comprise a mark attached to a wall or a structure, such as the mark of the main steering direction 140, 140′.).
Rantala further teaches (as illustrated in FIG. 1) a direction indicator representative of the steering direction hereby teaching and the transmitter lies within the second segment ([0040] This time, in the operator's front direction, there is a second mark 140′ of a main steering direction, which is a mark formed to be distinguishable from the mark 140 of the first main steering direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control device of Vinati to incorporate the teachings of Rantala so as to include dividing the orientations into two segments. As set forth in MPEP § 2143 (I)(E)(See Examples 1-9), as established by Rantala ([0053] Optionally, the main steering direction can be selected from four different main steering directions.), there are a number of different methodologies to divide up an orientation axis, and choosing a particular method from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is considered an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 18, Vinati teaches the transmitter of claim 17.
Vinati further teaches wherein: the transmitter is configured to be selectively oriented in three hundred sixty degrees of rotation ([0107] Since the control device 10 operates in the space X, Y, Z (as schematically represented in FIG. 6), by virtue of the inertial platform 26);
Examiner’s Note: Vinati further teaches “[0107] So whatever its orientation in space is, the control device 10 is able to operate as if it were on the two axes X and Y that define the horizontal plane.” hereby illustrating the Z axis orientation is hereby negligible.
the first orientation of the transmitter lies within the first segment ([0075] Once the setting has been performed, until the operator 40 keeps the control device 10 oriented substantially according to the direction F1 in FIG. 1); and the second orientation of the transmitter lies [[opposite of the first segment]] [0082] In case instead the operator rotates by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction together with the control device 10 itself or rotates only the control device 10 by 180° degrees with respect to the initial direction (direction F3 in FIG. 3)).
Vinati teaches dividing the orientation of the controller into quadrants but does not explicitly teach the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment and a second segment; and
Rantala discloses [abstract] A method and equipment for controlling a lifting device, wherein a main steering direction of the control device.
Rantala further teaches the three hundred sixty degrees of rotation is divided into a first segment ([0038] FIG. 1 shows a simplified figure of a use case 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 1 shows a first usage situation wherein, seen from the above, an operator 110 is positioned in a first direction.) and a second segment (illustrated in FIG. 1; [0040] FIG. 1 also presents a second usage situation, wherein the operator 110 is positioned in a second direction, such as facing one end of a factory hall.)
Rantala further teaches (as illustrated in FIG. 1) a direction indicator representative of the steering direction hereby teaching and ([0040] This time, in the operator's front direction, there is a second mark 140′ of a main steering direction, which is a mark formed to be distinguishable from the mark 140 of the first main steering direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control device of Vinati to incorporate the teachings of Rantala so as to include dividing the orientations into two segments. As set forth in MPEP § 2143 (I)(E)(See Examples 1-9), as established by Rantala ([0053] Optionally, the main steering direction can be selected from four different main steering directions.), there are a number of different methodologies to divide up an orientation axis, and choosing a particular method from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is considered an obvious modification.
Examiner Remarks
In lieu of compact prosecution and to solely advance prosecution, the Examiner recommends the Applicant to clarify the claim limitation of the independent claims to be more specific in response to receiving the transmitted signal of how the material handling system is physically or mechanically operated based upon receiving the command signals as a possible means to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240043246 A1 – haptic feedback for sway control regarding a machine crane using a joystick
US 20230134225 A1 – joystick steering device for a loading device
US 20200307966 A1 – joystick control for a crane for actuating movements
/J.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117