DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,598,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations are similar.
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,306,667. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations are similar.
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,761,390. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations are similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto (U.S. Publication 2007/0137591), hereinafter “Sugimoto” in view of Kitch (U.S. Publication 2011/0042964), hereinafter “Kitch”.
Regarding claim 1, Sugimoto discloses the same invention substantially as claimed such as a dual fuel generator (1) comprising: a dual fuel engine (30) operable on a first fuel from a first fuel source (Fa, 61, paragraph 71) or a second fuel from a second fuel source (Fb, 71, paragraph 73); a fuel selector (12) to provide for selection of a first fuel flow from the first fuel source or a second fuel flow from the second fuel source (Fb, 71, paragraph 73) to the dual fuel engine, the fuel selector (12) comprising: a valve assembly (assembly for valve 12, paragraph 83) fluidly couplable to each of the first fuel source and the second fuel source and operable to selectively control the first fuel flow and the second fuel flow to the dual fuel engine; and a selector switch (12) to allow an operator to manually select the first fuel flow or the second fuel flow (shown in figure 5 that user can actuate the switch 12), but is silent to disclose an alternator. However, Kitch teaches the use of an alternator (paragraph 33) for the purpose of converting mechanical energy from the engine to electrical energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sugimoto by incorporating an alternator for the purpose of converting mechanical energy from the engine to electrical energy.
Regarding claim 2, Sugimoto and Kitch disclose the dual fuel generator of claim 1 wherein the valve assembly is configured to selectively supply fuel to the dual fuel engine from only one of the first and second fuel sources responsive to selection of the first fuel flow or the second fuel flow via the selector switch and a corresponding operation of the valve assembly (Sugimoto, shown in figure 5). It is clear from figure 5 of Sugimoto that only one fuel can be provided at a time based upon the switch selections.
Regarding claim 3, Sugimoto and Kitch discloses the same invention substantially as claimed, but is silent to disclose a first fuel valve having open and close positions to selectively control the firs fuel flow to the dual fuel engine; and a second fuel valve having open and closed positions to selectively control the second fuel flow to the dual fuel engine. However, Poehlman teaches the use of a first solenoid fuel valve (45) with open and close positions and a second solenoid fuel valve (43) with open and closed positions (column 4, lines 21-30) for the purpose of preventing leakage and providing fast response times. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sugimoto
by incorporating solenoid valves to provide the different fuel flows of the different fuel
sources as taught by Poehlman when and operator makes a fuel source selection
through valve 12 of Sugimoto for the purpose of preventing leakage and providing fast
response times. Examiner notes that Sugimoto allows for a user to selectively operate
which fuel to use and with Poehlman in combination, allow for the fuel to be provided
with a faster response time and without leakage. Poehlman is brought herein as a
reference only to teach the different valves for each fuel source since Sugimoto is silent,
and would not destroy the invention of Sugimoto nor Kitch.
Regarding claim 6, Sugimoto and Kitch disclose the dual fuel generator of claim 3 wherein the selector switch (Sugimoto, 12) provides for manual actuation of the first fuel valve (Poehlman, 45) and the second fuel valve (Poehlman, 43) between the open and closed positions. Examiner notes that a used actuates the selector switch (120 of Sugimoto and therefore the valves would be considered as being actuated manually.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto and Kitch, and further in view of Mott (U.S. Patent 3,696,333), hereinafter “Mott”.
Regarding claim 7, Sugimoto and Kitch disclose the same invention substantially as claimed except for a carburetor solenoid switch. However, Mott teaches the use of solenoid (24) controlled by a switch (25) for a carburetor (31) for the purpose of opening the automatic choke to allow for the carburetor to operate effectively when enough pressure is built up (column 2, lines 15-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sugimoto and Kitch by incorporating a carburetor solenoid switch as taught by Motts for the purpose of opening the automatic choke to allow for the carburetor to operate effectively when enough pressure is built up.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art teaches all the limitations of claims 4-5, but more specifically the detailed description of the first and second valves each having valve handles or that the valve are mechanical valves and not solenoid valves.
No prior art teaches all the limitations of claim 8, but more specifically, when the selector switch is moved, automatically actuating a carburetor solenoid switch to activate and prohibit the second fuel flow to the engine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
/SYED O HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 2/5/2026