Remarks
Since applicant amended claim 21 to depend on claim 31. Examiner hereby withdraw the election of species requirement and examine claims 21 and 23-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 21, 23-34 and 38-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anguera Pros et al (CN 102084542 A), hereinafter Anguera.
Regarding claim 31, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches a radiation booster (1401) comprising:
a polyhedral shape having six faces and a conductive element (para [0228]),
wherein the radiation booster is included in an integrated circuit package for a wireless device (para [0056]), the integrated circuit package including a semiconductor chip (para [0130]), and
wherein the radiation booster is configured to be connected to a radiofrequency system and coupled to a ground plane layer (1462) (para [0056]) within the wireless device (para [0100]) and mounted on a cut-out portion of the ground plane layer, to enable transmission and reception of radio waves in a frequency band .
Regarding claim 32, as applied to claim 31, Anguera teaches that the wireless device operates within a frequency range including frequencies in a range between 2.4 GHz and 2.5 GHz (para [0041]), and operates in one or more communication standards selected from the group consisting of: Bluetooth, WiFi, ZigBee, IEEE802.11, WiMax, and WiBro (para [0030]).
Regarding claim 33, as applied to claim 31, Anguera (para [0057]) teaches that the radiation booster has a maximum size smaller than 1/30 times a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band.
Regarding claim 34, as applied to claim 33, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches that the radiation booster 1401 is configured to be mounted on a gap (slot 1461) whose perimeter is delimited by a plurality of segments defining an open curve, the open curve intersecting a perimeter of the ground plane layer within the wireless device, the gap including a port with a first connection point at a first edge on the perimeter of the gap, and a second connection point at a second edge opposite the first edge of the gap.
Regarding claim 38, as applied to claim 31, Anguera (para [0057]) teaches that the radiation booster has a maximum size smaller than 1/50 times a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band.
Regarding claim 39, as applied to claim 31, Anguera (para [0057]) teaches that the radiation booster has a maximum size smaller than 1/100 times a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band.
Regarding claim 40, as applied to claim 31, Anguera (para [0228], Figure 14c) teaches that the radiation booster (1401) includes two or more conductive elements on one or more surfaces of the polyhedral shape.
Regarding claim 21, Anguera (Figure 1b, abstract, para [0035]) teaches a wireless device (100) comprising the radiation booster of claim 31; and a processing module (102), a memory module (103), a power management module (105), and a communication module (104) arranged in the integrated circuit package, wherein the wireless device is configured to be connected to a ground plane layer and a radiofrequency system and to transmit and receive radio waves in a frequency band.
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 21, Anguera (para [0030]) teaches that the integrated circuit package includes a printed circuit board, wherein the ground plane layer is contained in a layer of the printed circuit board (para [0054]).
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 23, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches that the ground plane layer 1462 has a gap (slot 1461) defined therein.
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 24, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches that a perimeter of the gap is delimited by a plurality of segments defining an open curve, the open curve intersecting a perimeter of the ground plane layer.
Regarding claim 26, as applied to claim 25, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches that the radiation booster 1401 is located substantially within the gap.
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 26, Anguera (Figure 14c, para [0229]) teaches that the gap includes a port including a first connection point along one side of the perimeter of the gap and a second connection point along an opposite side of the perimeter of the gap.
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 27, Anguera (Figure 14c) teaches that the radiation booster 1401 is connected to a point along the perimeter of the gap.
Regarding claim 29, as applied to claim 27, Anguera (para [0041]) teaches that the frequency band includes frequencies in a range between 2.4 GHz and 2.5 GHz.
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 29, Anguera (para [0030]) teaches that the wireless device operates using one or more communication standards selected from the group consisting of: Bluetooth, WiFi, ZigBee, IEEE802.11, WiMax, and WiBro.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 35-37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anguera.
Regarding claims 35-37, Anguera teaches the claimed invention except explicitly mention that a maximum size of the gap is smaller than 1/15, 1/20 or 1/30 times the free-space wavelength corresponding to the lowest frequency of the frequency band. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arbitrary select the maximum size of the gap with respect to the radiation booster in order to achieve a desired radiation characteristics.
Conclusion
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845