Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 21, 27, 28, 34, 35, 38 and 40-44 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anguera Pros et al (US 2014/0015728 A1), hereinafter Anguera Pros.
Regarding claim 21, Anguera Pros teaches a Bluetooth device (para [0011]) comprising:
a processing module; a memory module; a communication module; a power management module (para [0013]); and
a radiating system including:
a radiating structure (abstract, Figure 1) comprising a ground plane layer (102) and a radiation booster (101a); and
a radiofrequency system providing impedance matching to enable the radiating system to transmit and receive wireless signals in a frequency band (para [0017]),
wherein a reactive part of an impedance of the radiating structure is non-zero within the frequency band when disconnected from the radiofrequency system (para [0134]).
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 21, Anguera Pros (Figure 19) teaches that the ground plane layer is one of a plurality of ground plane layers (1904 and 1905) respectively disposed in a plurality of bodies of the device, with a ground connection (1906) between the plurality of ground plane layers.
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 27, Anguera Pros (Figure 19) teaches that first and second bodies of the plurality of bodies lie along non-parallel axes.
Regarding claim 34, as applied to claim 21, Anguera Pros (para [0034] and [0108]) teaches that the ground plane layer and the radiation booster are embedded in a printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 35, Anguera Pros teaches a WiFi device (para [0011]) comprising:
a processing module; a memory module; a communication module; a power management module (para [0013]); and
a radiating system including:
a radiating structure (abstract, Figure 1) comprising a ground plane layer (102) and a radiation booster (101a); and
a radiofrequency system providing impedance matching to enable the radiating system to transmit and receive wireless signals in a frequency band (para [0017]),
wherein a reactive part of an impedance of the radiating structure is non-zero within the frequency band when disconnected from the radiofrequency system (para [0134]).
Regarding claim 38, as applied to claim 35, Anguera Pros (para [0108]) teaches that the device comprises a plurality of printed circuit boards respectively disposed in a plurality of bodies of the device; and the ground plane layer is one of a plurality of ground plane layers respectively integrated into the plurality of printed circuit boards.
Regarding claim 40, as applied to claim 38, Anguera Pros (para [0011] and [0012]) teaches that the device operates in a plurality of frequency regions of the electromagnetic spectrum, the frequency regions being separated by a gap.
Regarding claim 41, as applied to claim 35, Anguera Pros (Figure 1, para [0108]) teaches that the radiation booster is a first radiation booster (101a), the device further comprising a second radiation booster (101b); the radiofrequency system is a first radiofrequency system, the device further comprising a second radiofrequency system; and the first and second radiation boosters are respectively connected the first and second radiofrequency systems (para [0152], claim 16).
Regarding claim 42, as applied to claim 41, Anguera Pros (Figure 1, para [0108]) teaches that the ground plane layer and the first and second radiation boosters are embedded in a printed circuit board, the first and second radiation boosters being coupled to the ground plane layer.
Regarding claim 43, as applied to claim 35, Anguera Pros (para [0011]) teaches that the device is configured to transmit and receive both WiFi and cellular communication signals.
Regarding claim 44, as applied to claim 43, Anguera Pros (para [0223]) teaches that the device further comprises a plurality of radiating systems for cellular communication signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anguera Pros.
Regarding claim 25, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 21, except explicitly mention that a thickness of the device is less than 8 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to arbitrary select a desired thickness of the device to be less than 8 mm to satisfy preferred user’s requirement.
Regarding claim 26, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 21, except explicitly mention that the ground plane layer has a maximum dimension between 0.1 and 0.8 times a longest operating wavelength of the device. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a maximum dimension of the ground plane layer to be between 0.1 and 0.8 times a longest operating wavelength of the device to achieve a desired antenna’s radiation patter, gain and impedance matching for optimum antenna performance.
Claims 22-24, 29-33, 36, 37 and 39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anguera Pros in view of Mumbru et al (CN 102084542A), hereinafter Mumbru.
Regarding claims 22 and 36, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claims 21 and 35, respectively, wherein the radiation booster fits inside a booster box. Anguera Pros does not explicitly mention that the booster box having a maximum dimension smaller than 1/3rd of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band.
Mumbru teaches a Bluetooth device (para [0030]) having a radiation booster fitting inside a booster box with a maximum dimension smaller than 1/3rd of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band (para [0232]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Anguera Pros’ radiation booster to fit inside a booster box with a maximum dimension smaller than 1/3rd of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band, as taught by Mumbru, doing so would effectively enable the booster to handle multi-frequency or harmonic matching.
Regarding claims 23 and 37, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claims 21 and 35, respectively, wherein the radiation booster fits inside a booster box. Anguera Pros does not explicitly mention that the booster box having a maximum dimension smaller than 1/30th of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band (para [0232]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Anguera Pros’ radiation booster to fit inside a booster box with a maximum dimension smaller than 1/30th of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band, as taught by Mumbru, doing so would effectively enable the booster to support multi-frequency protocols.
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 23, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the booster box to have a thickness less than 2% of the lowest frequency of the frequency band to achieve a desired radiation characteristics as well as miniaturization.
Regarding claim 29, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 21, except explicitly mention that the radiation booster includes a gap on the ground plane layer, the gap being delimited by one or more segments defining an open curve intersecting the perimeter of the ground plane layer.
Mumbru (Figure 14, para [0229]) teaches a Bluetooth device (para [0011]) comprising a radiation booster (1401) including a gap (1405) on the ground plane layer (1402), the gap being delimited by one or more segments defining an open curve intersecting the perimeter of the ground plane layer.
Regarding claim 30, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 21, except explicitly mention that the radiation booster is arranged on a clearance of the ground plane layer such that a majority of a projection of a footprint of the radiation booster onto a plane of the ground plane layer does not intersect the ground plane layer.
Mumbru (Figure 14c) teaches a Bluetooth device (para [0011]) comprising a radiation booster (1401) is arranged on a clearance of the ground plane layer (102) such that a majority of a projection of a footprint of the radiation booster onto a plane of the ground plane layer does not intersect the ground plane layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the Bluetooth device of Anguera Pros with the radiation booster arranged on a clearance of the ground plane layer such that a majority of a projection of a footprint of the radiation booster onto a plane of the ground plane layer does not intersect the ground plane layer, as taught by Mumbru, doing so would effectively increases antenna bandwidth and total efficiency.
Regarding claim 31, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 21, wherein the radiation booster comprises a first radiation booster and a second radiation booster.
Anguera Pros does not explicitly teach that the first radiation booster is a planar booster and the second radiation booster is a volumetric booster.
Mumbru (para [0084]) teaches a Bluetooth device comprising a first radiation booster and a second radiation booster, wherein the first radiation booster is a planar booster and the second radiation booster is a volumetric booster.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Bluetooth device of Anguera Pros to comprise the first radiation booster being a planar booster and the second radiation booster being a volumetric booster, as taught by Mumbru, doing so would achieve different radioelectric performance of the radiating structure.
Regarding claim 32, as applied to claim 31, Mumbru (Figure 14a) teaches that the planar booster (1405) comprises a gap in the ground plane layer (1402).
Regarding claim 33, as applied to claim 31, Mumbru (para [0232]) teaches that each of the first and second radiation boosters has a maximum dimension smaller than 1/30th of a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of the frequency band.
Regarding claim 39, Anguera Pros teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 38, except explicitly mention that the first and second printed circuit boards of the plurality of printed circuit boards are not parallel to each other.
Mumbru (para [0032]) teaches a Wifi device comprising first and second printed circuit boards of the plurality of printed circuit boards are not parallel to each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Anguera Pros to comprise first and second printed circuit boards of the plurality of printed circuit boards are not parallel to each other, as taught by Mumbru, doing so would allow the device to have a clamshell, swivel or flip-type configuration for portability, screen protection and versatile ergonomics.
Conclusion
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845