DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le (US 2019/0244572).
Regarding claim 21, Le discloses a method comprising:
displaying a frame (302, fig. 3) at a display device (see fig. 1, fig. 11) during a frame period (fig. 3), the display device having a plurality of illumination regions (206, fig. 2 and para. 61);
initiating during the frame period and based at least in part of a first brightness representation (see average brightness in para. 62-63) associated with a first illumination region of the plurality of illumination regions (para. 62-63; wherein average brightness is maintained in each illumination region), a first illumination strobe (see left 306, fig. 3) at a first temporal position within the frame period for a first illumination region (e.g. left 206 in fig. 2) of the plurality of illumination regions (para. 64, 61); and
initiating, during the frame period and based at least in part on a second brightness representation associated with a second illumination region (see average brightness in para. 62-63) of the plurality of illumination regions (para. 62-63; wherein average brightness is maintained in the second illumination region), a second illumination strobe (right 306 in fig. 3) at a second temporal position within the frame period for a second illumination region (right 206 in fig. 2) of the plurality of illumination regions (para. 64, 61), the second temporal position being different than the first temporal position (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Le discloses wherein the first illumination region is adjacent to the second illumination region (see left 206 and right 206 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Le discloses wherein the second temporal position is later in time than the first temporal position (see left 306 and right 306 in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Le discloses wherein initiating the first illumination strobe comprises initiating the first illumination strobe at a first illumination level (see leftmost first 506 in fig. 5), and wherein initiating the second illumination strobe comprises initiating the second illumination strobe at a second illumination level (see second 506 in fig. 5) that is different than the first illumination level (see fig. 5 and para. 64, 66; wherein the illumination levels are adjusted by changing the width of the pulse).
Regarding claim 25, Le discloses wherein each illumination region of the plurality of illumination regions comprises a subset of one or more rows of the display device (para. 61).
Regarding claim 26, Le discloses wherein the first and second temporal positions are based at least in part on a frame rate of the display device (see fig. 3 and para. 63; wherein temporal portions of 306 are located based on the current frame rate, wherein the locations differ between a 240Hz frame rate and a 60Hz frame rate).
Regarding claim 27, Le discloses further comprising applying to the first illumination region (para. 83) at least one of a front illumination fill (see left 0.5 in 1504 in fig. 15) preceding the first illumination strobe (see left 0.75 in 1504 in fig. 15) and having a first illumination level (e.g. 0.5 in fig. 15) or a back illumination fill (see 0 in 1504 in fig. 15) following the first illumination strobe and having a second illumination level (e.g. 0 in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 28, Le discloses wherein the first illumination level is different than the second illumination level (see fig. 15; wherein 0.75 is different from zero).
Regarding claim 29, Le discloses wherein at least one of the first illumination level or the second illumination level is based at least in part on an illumination level of the first illumination strobe (see para. 83-84; wherein the second illumination level 0 is based on the first illumination strobe of 0.75).
Regarding claim 30, Le discloses further comprising applying to the second illumination region (para. 83) at least one of a front illumination fill (0 in 1504 in fig. 15) preceding the second illumination strobe (see right 0.75 in 1504 in fig. 15) and having a third illumination level (e.g. 0 in fig. 15) or a back illumination fill (see right 0.5 in 1504 in fig. 15) following the second illumination strobe and having a fourth illumination level (0.5 in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 31, Le discloses wherein the first illumination level is different than the third illumination level (para. 64 and fig. 15; wherein the greater the width of the pulse the greater the amount of the amount of BLV’ in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 32, Le discloses wherein the second illumination level is different than the fourth illumination level (see fig. 15; wherein 0.5 is different from zero).
Claims 33-41 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 21-32, respectively. See above rejections.
Regarding claim 42, Le discloses wherein the front illumination level (is different for the at least two of the plurality of illumination regions (see 1504 in fig. 15 and para. 64; wherein the front fill 0.05 in 1504 is different from the other front fill zero in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 43, Le discloses wherein the back illumination level is different for the at least two of the plurality of illumination regions (see 1504 in fig. 15 and para. 64; wherein the back fill zero in 1504 is different from the other back fill 0.5 in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 44, Le discloses wherein the respective temporal position comprises an indicated respective starting time within the frame period (see 306 in fig. 3).
Claims 45-56 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 21-29 and 42-44, respectively. See above rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628