DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6572317, Okada.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said paragraphs, Okada discloses a fastener for connecting a first component to a second component, the fastener comprising: a supporting disc (see Fig. 3 below), the supporting disc having a first side and a second side disposed opposite to each other; a connection portion (see Fig. 3 below), the connection portion being connected to the first side of the supporting disc and extending in an axial direction of the supporting disc; and a sealing portion (5), the sealing portion being connected to a circumferential edge of the supporting disc, and the sealing portion comprising a side wall (see Fig. 3 below) and an extension portion (see Fig. 3 below),wherein the side wall extends from the circumferential edge of the supporting disc in a direction away from the connection portion, the extension portion is located on an outer side of the side wall and extends from a distal end of the side wall toward the supporting disc, and a receiving groove (see Fig. 3 below) is formed between the extension portion and an outer surface of the side wall.
[AltContent: textbox (Connection Portion)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Contact surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Receiving groove)][AltContent: textbox (1st Contact surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Extension Portion)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Side wall)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Supporting disc)][AltContent: rect]
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said paragraphs, Okada discloses the outer surface of the side wall of the sealing portion (150) comprises a first contact surface (see Fig. 3 above), the first contact surface extending obliquely away from a central axis of the supporting disc in a direction from a proximal end to the distal end of the side wall.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said paragraphs, Okada discloses an inner surface of the extension portion comprises a second contact surface (see Fig. 3 above), the second contact surface extending obliquely away from a central axis of the supporting disc in a direction from the distal end of the side wall to the supporting disc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada.
In regards to claim 2, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for the fastener being integrally formed from a thermoplastic material. Applicant has failed to show criticality for the fastener being integrally formed from a thermoplastic material, and the Okada invention is fully capable of being integrally formed from a thermoplastic material. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the fastener from a thermoplastic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 7, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for the extension portion having a smaller thickness than the side wall. Applicant has failed to show criticality for the extension portion having a smaller thickness than the side wall, and the Okada invention is fully capable of being modified with the extension portion having a smaller thickness than the side wall. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the extension portion with a smaller thickness than the side wall, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 and 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679