DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/26/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "there is more than likely a corresponding method of how to both make and use the apparatus", thus would not be a search burden. This is not found persuasive because searching for the apparatus and the corresponding method of manufacture and method of use would require a number of different searches using different text-limiters in different subclasses. Further, it is not guaranteed that a reference containing the claimed apparatus would disclose either or both claimed method. For example, a number of different methods may be used to manufacture such a device, so it need not be disclosed as claimed in the present invention and would require further search and/or consideration. Likewise, a device similar to the claimed device need not be directed to deploying an intravascular treatment device and could be used in a materially different process, such as deploying a medical device into a luminal organ or perhaps not in the medical field, such as deploying a device into a plumbing pipe. Thus, the three inventions are independent and distinct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the extendable section of the intermediate hypotube is positioned within the lumen of the delivery tube”, however, claim 6, from which thus claim depends includes the same limitation “wherein the intermediate hypotube comprises an extendable section, and wherein the extendable section is positioned within the lumen of the delivery tube”. Thus, claim 7 fails to further limit the claim from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keren (US 20180280667 A1) (noted on IDS) in view of Bardsley et al. (US 20200229957 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Keren discloses an intravascular delivery system (Figure 1-3C, Paragraphs 0013; 0035; 0052-0056; 0059; 0061-0067) comprising:
a delivery tube (46) sized to be delivered through a patient to a treatment site (Paragraph 0059);
an intermediate hypotube (31) affixed to the delivery tube and extending in a proximal direction from a proximal end (proximal end of 46) of the delivery tube (Figure. 1 and 3A; Paragraph 0052; 0066);
a pull wire (36) extending through a lumen (lumen of 31) of the intermediate hypotube and through a lumen (lumen of 46) of the delivery tube (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0066),
a sheath (34) attached to the intermediate hypotube (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0066),
wherein the pull wire comprises an engagement bump (52) affixed thereto and positioned in the proximal direction in relation to a proximal end (proximal end of 31) of the intermediate hypotube (Figure 3A-3C; Paragraphs 0013; 0035; 0066-67), and wherein the engagement bump is sized to inhibit movement of the engagement bump into the lumen of the intermediate hypotube (Figure 3A-3C; Paragraphs 0013; 0035; 0066-67).
Keren fails to explicitly disclose wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath.
However, Bardsley is directed to an intravascular delivery system and teaches wherein a proximal portion (1260) of the intermediate hypotube (1262) comprising a breakable attachment (1264) is positioned within a lumen of the sheath (1265) (Figure 117A-C; Paragraph 0189; 0216).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Keren such that wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath, as taught by Bardsley, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to implant delivery devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keren with the teachings of Bardsley by incorporating wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath in order to disengage the shaft to release an implant (Bardsley Paragraph 0186).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Keren and Bardsley further teaches wherein the breakable attachment is movable in a distal direction in relation to the proximal end of the intermediate hypotube (the present breakable attachment is a welding and Bardsley states the weakened portion can comprise two shafts connected via welding, thus the breakable attachment would be fully capable of being movable in a distal direction since it has the same structure as the breakable attachment of the present disclosure) (Bardsley Paragraph 0189).
Regarding claim 4, Keren further discloses wherein an intravascular treatment device (26) is positioned approximate a distal end of the intravascular delivery system (Figure 3A-C; Paragraph 0062; 0064), and wherein the pull wire is movable to deploy the intravascular treatment device (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0052; 0064).
Regarding claim 5, Keren further discloses wherein a distal end of the intermediate hypotube is positioned within the lumen of the delivery tube (Figure 3A-C; Paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 10, Keren further discloses wherein a distal end of the intermediate hypotube is affixed within the lumen of the delivery tube (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0065).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keren and Bardsley as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20090270877 A1) (noted on IDS) and Chou et al. (US 20200015876 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Keren as modified by Bardsley discloses the intravascular delivery system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate hypotube can be attached with a second breakable attachment to the delivery tube on a proximal side of an extendable section of the intermediate hypotube, the extendable section located near the proximal end of the delivery tube.
However, Johnson is directed to a medical device deployment system and teaches a tube (34) attached with a breakable attachment (42) to a delivery tube (36) on the proximal side of the tube (Figure 4; Paragraph 0031).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Keren as modified by Bardsley such that wherein the intermediate hypotube can be attached with a second breakable attachment to the delivery tube on a proximal side of the intermediate hypotube, as taught by Johnson, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to deployment catheters. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keren as modified by Bardsley with the teachings of Johnson by incorporating wherein the intermediate hypotube can be attached with a second breakable attachment to the delivery tube on a proximal side of the intermediate hypotube in order to allow the user control of the tubes separately (Johnson Paragraph 0031).
Further, Chou is directed to a medical device and teaches wherein a shaft (110) comprises an extendable section (114) (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0516). Since the intermediate hypotube of Keren is proximal the delivery tube, when combined, the extendable section would be located near the proximal end of the delivery tube.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Keren to include an extendable section of the intermediate hypotube, as taught by Chou, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to medical catheter devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keren with the teachings of Chou by incorporating an extendable section of the intermediate hypotube in order to provide variable force to the tube and increase range of motion (Chou Paragraph 0517).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keren and Bardsley as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chou et al. (US 20200015876 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claims 6-7, Keren as modified by Bardsley discloses the intravascular delivery system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate hypotube comprises an extendable section, and wherein the extendable section is positioned within the lumen of the delivery tube.
However, Chou is directed to a medical device and teaches wherein a shaft (110) comprises an extendable section (114) (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0516). Since the intermediate hypotube of Keren is located inside the delivery tube, when combined, the extendable section would be positioned within the lumen of the delivery tube.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Keren as modified by Bardsley such that wherein the intermediate hypotube comprises an extendable section, as taught by Chou, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to medical catheter devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keren as modified by Bardsley with the teachings of Chou by incorporating wherein the intermediate hypotube comprises an extendable section in order to provide variable force to the tube and increase range of motion (Chou Paragraph 0517).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Keren and Chou further teaches wherein a distal end of the intermediate hypotube is in a distal direction relative to the extendable section, as the flexible/compressible section 114 of Chou is located between a distal and a proximal end (Chou Figure 3A).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Keren and Chou further teaches wherein the proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube is in a proximal direction relative to the extendable section as the flexible/compressible section 114 of Chou is located between a distal and a proximal end (Chou Figure 3A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12419645 B2 in view of Bardsley et al.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of US 12419645 B2 claims an intravascular delivery system (Col 11, line 59) comprising:
a delivery tube sized to be delivered through a patient to a treatment site (Col 11, line 60-61);
an intermediate hypotube affixed to the delivery tube and extending in a proximal direction from a proximal end of the delivery tube (Col 11, line 62-64);
a pull wire extending through a lumen of the intermediate hypotube and through a lumen of the delivery tube (Col 11, line 65-66); and
a sheath attached to the intermediate hypotube (Col 11, line 67),
wherein the pull wire comprises an engagement bump affixed thereto and positioned in the proximal direction in relation to a proximal end of the intermediate hypotube (Col 12, line 1-4), and
wherein the engagement bump is sized to inhibit movement of the engagement bump into the lumen of the intermediate hypotube (Col 11 line 5-7).
US 12419645 B2 fails to claim wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath.
However, Bardsley is directed to an intravascular delivery system and teaches wherein a proximal portion (1260) of the intermediate hypotube (1262) comprising a breakable attachment (1264) is positioned within a lumen of the sheath (1265) (Figure 117A-C; Paragraph 0189; 0216).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify US 12419645 B2 such that wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath, as taught by Bardsley, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to implant delivery devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified US 12419645 B2 with the teachings of Bardlsey by incorporating wherein a proximal portion of the intermediate hypotube comprising a breakable attachment is positioned within a lumen of the sheath in order to disengage the shaft to release an implant (Bardsley Paragraph 0186).
Regarding claim 2, see claim 2 of US 12419645 B2.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 3 of US 12419645 B2.
Regarding claim 4, see claim 4 of US 12419645 B2.
Regarding claim 5, see claim 5 of US 12419645 B2.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 6 of US 12419645 B2.
Conclusion
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771