DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “spectral filters”; “Daubechies wavelet order 4, level 3”; “power spectral density”. Each of these element is recited in the originally filed claims and have priority back to the originally filed claims in the parent application 13559116, but do not seem to be discussed in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 14 have been amended to recite “determining an indication of a seizure onset in response to a first determination that the ratio reaches an onset threshold”. However, the next element of initiating the electrical therapy based on “the seizure onset determination” has not been amended to reflect the change of the previous element, by including the “an indication of”. In view of the amendment, Examiner believes this to be an oversight and a typographical error and thus is including it as an objection instead of a clarity rejection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a seizure onset/termination unit” in claims 10, 12 – see [0084] (using Pg Pub for paragraph numbers) including “The seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise software module(s) that are capable of performing various interface functions, filtering functions, etc. In another embodiment, the seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise hardware circuitry that is capable of performing these functions. In yet another embodiment, the seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise hardware, firmware, software and/or any combination thereof.”, [0085]-[0086], [0099]-[0100], Figs. 2, 5
“a time window control module” in claims 10, 12 - see [0084], [0089], [0100], Figs. 2, 5
“a spectral filter module” in claim 12 - see [0084] including “The seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise software module(s) that are capable of performing various interface functions, filtering functions, etc.”, Figs. 2, 5
“a ratio determination unit” in claim 12 - see [0084] including “The seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise software module(s) that are capable of performing various interface functions, filtering functions, etc.”, Figs. 2, 5
“a ratio threshold comparison unit” in claim 12 - see [0084] including “The seizure onset/termination unit 280 may comprise software module(s) that are capable of performing various interface functions, filtering functions, etc.”, Figs. 2, 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 10-13, 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3-4, 10-13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Per MPEP 2161.01 "It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015)" and "Similarly, original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. ".
Claim 3, 10, 16 recite “wherein at least one parameter selected from the sliding foreground time window, the sliding background time window, the spectral filter, the onset threshold, or the termination threshold is selected based on at least one of:” (or claim 10 “time window control module uses parameters. . .”) and is followed by the list “a level of safety risk associated with an activity; at least one of an age, a physical state, or a mental state of the patient; a length of a window available for a warning; a degree of circadian and ultradian fluctuations of a patient's seizure activity; a performance of a detection method as a function of a patient's sleep/wake cycle or vigilance level; a dependence of a patient's seizure activity on at least one of a level of consciousness, a level of cognitive activity, or a level of physical activity; a site of a seizure origin; or a seizure type”. The specification recites a functional intent, to determine/set parameters, without disclosing how the intent is achieved. There does not appear to be adequate support for all of these variations, namely how one of the first group is selected based on one of the second. For example, there is only one mention of “sleep/wake cycle or vigilance level” see [0104] (using PG Pub for paragraph numbers), and it does disclose how this element occurs as claimed. The claims depending from these claims share this issue and are rejected for the same reasons. See the below portion of MPEP 2161.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-13, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the time window control module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no mention earlier in the claim of “a time window control module”, thus it is unclear what control module is being referenced. For the above reasons the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of what is claimed and is indefinite. The claims depending from this claim share this issue and are likewise indefinite.
Claim 12 recites “a time window control module” however in claim 10 it recites “the time window control module” which causes a lack of clarity. Is this the same time window control module or is it another time window control module? For the above reason the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the second body signal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Neither claim 18 nor claim 14 from which claim 18 depends recites a second body signal (Examiner notes claim 14 did prior to the preliminary amendment). As such it is unclear what the metes and bounds of this claim are and the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20050197590 to Osorio et al. (hereinafter Osorio).
Regarding Claim 14, an interpretation of Osorio discloses a non-transitory computer readable program storage unit encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more medical devices, performs a method (abstract, [0087], [0090]), comprising:
receiving via the one or more medical devices a time series of a first body signal of a patient obtained from one or more sensors (Teaches an invention directed towards seizure detection based on obtained EEG or ECoG signal data and an output for prevention or abatement, or recording pertinent data, see abstract, [0088], Fig. 1);
determining a sliding foreground time window and a sliding background time window for the time series of the first body signal ([0043], [0064], Fig. 2);
applying a spectral filter to each of the sliding foreground time window and the sliding background time window (Teaches at Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0069], [0128] and [0140] using a finite impulse filter for detecting seizures in the signal data, wherein the FIR filter is considered to read on a broad and reasonable interpretation of a spectral filter. Teaches at paragraph [0128] and [0157] describing applying this filtering to moving foreground and background windows. Teaches at paragraph [0107]-[0108] describing calculating the power spectral density within ictal signals and between ictal (interictal) and using these for seizure detection, wherein the combination of using the impulse filtering and calculated power spectral densities reads on the step of applying a spectral filter having a defined power spectral density.);
determining a ratio of a spectral power between the sliding foreground time window and the sliding background time window (Teaches using a ratio between the windows and when the ratio reaches a particular threshold a seizure is signaled, see paragraph [0044]-[0045], [0069], [0107]);
determining an indication of a seizure onset in response to a first determination that the ratio reaches an onset threshold (describes using a ratio between the windows and when the ratio reaches a particular threshold a seizure is signaled, see paragraph [0044]-[0045], [0115]);
initiating an electrical therapy based on the seizure onset determination ([0024], [0040], [0089]-[0090]);
Regarding Claim 18, an interpretation of Osorio further discloses a second body signal comprises a measurement a patient's heart activity ([0032], [0093], [0118], [0121]).
Regarding Claim 19, an interpretation of Osorio further discloses initiating the electrical therapy by delivering the electrical therapy for the seizure at a particular time, the particular time is based upon the determination of the seizure onset ([0024], [0038], [0048], [0089]-[0090], [0133]; reference discloses starting electrical treatment immediately based on determinization of seizure onset); or issuing a warning for the seizure, wherein the warning is based upon the determination of the seizure onset ([0010], [0024], [0038], [0048], [0089], [0133]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10537251. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1, 5 and 13 of ‘251 are of slightly narrower scope than claims 1 and 14 of the current application thus read on those claims.
Claim 16 of ‘251 reads on claim 10 of the current application.
The dependent claims of ‘251 read on the dependent claims of the current application.
Claims 1-9, 14-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11672431. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1, 5 and 13 of ‘251 are of slightly narrower scope than claims 1 and 14 of the current application thus read on those claims.
Claim 16 of ‘431 reads on claim 10 of the current application.
The dependent claims of ‘431 read on claims 2, 4, 6-9, 15, 17-19 of the current application.
Claims 1-9, 14-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12226193. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1 of ‘193 discloses claim 1 of the current application; Claims 1 and 8 of ‘193 disclose claim 14 of the current application thus read on those claims.
The dependent claims of ‘193 read on the dependent claims 2, 4, 6-9, 15, 17-19 of the current application.
Conclusion
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792