DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Starting from line 4 in claim 1 to claim 6. The following should be correct accordingly as applicable if any or all of;
“the external member” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the non-conductive external member” ---.
“the internal member” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the non-conductive internal member” ---.
“the fixing member” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the conductive fixing member” ---.
“the elastic member” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the conductive elastic member” ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US Publication No. 20080172684).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses an electronic device (i.e., such as electronic device 20; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) comprising: a non-conductive external member (i.e., such as non-conductive external member plastic 22; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); a non-conductive internal member (i.e., such as non-conductive internal member plastic 211, 212; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) disposed on an inner side (i.e., such as inner side at numeral 25 in fig. 4; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) of the external member (i.e., such as non-conductive external member plastic 22; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); a conductive fixing member (i.e., such as conductive fixing member metal 23, 24; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) that is exposed to an outside (i.e., such as outside at numeral 21 in fig. 3; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) at an outer surface (i.e., such as outer surface 227; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) of the external member (i.e., such as non-conductive external member plastic 22; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) and fixes the external member (i.e., such as non-conductive external member plastic 22; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) to the internal member (i.e., such as non-conductive internal member plastic 211, 212; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) in a first direction (i.e., such as first direction of X-axis with respect to the parallel lines of numerals 227; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); a conductive elastic member (i.e., such as conductive elastic member metal 225, 229; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) in elastic contact (i.e., such as 225 is in elastic contact with 23 and 229 is in elastic contact 24; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) with the fixing member (i.e., such as conductive fixing member metal 23, 24; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) in the first direction (i.e., such as first direction of X-axis with respect to the parallel lines of numerals 227; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); and a static eliminating member (i.e., such as static eliminating member metal 223; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) that is electrically connected (i.e., such as electrically connected; for instance, one end of the second elastic stopper 229 is bent to form a U-shape end 2292 for wedging into and being electrically connected with the traverse cover 223. The other end of the second elastic stopper 229 is formed an elastic clasp 2293 to prop against and be electrically connected with the second rail 24. The traverse cover 223 and the second rail 24 become another conductive loop by the connection of the second elastic stopper; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) to the elastic member (i.e., such as conductive elastic member metal 225, 229; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) and eliminates electricity (i.e., such as eliminates electricity; for instance, in the electrostatic discharge protection device for an optical disk drive according to the above-described preferred embodiment of the invention, at least a conductive elastic stopper is electrically connected to the traverse cover and the rails, so that the static electricity can be grounded via the rails. Thus, the static electricity can be eliminated without passing through the flexible flat cable, so as to avoid the static electricity interfering the transmission of signal and data. In addition, a great quantity of static electricity can be eliminated due to more circuit lines of the flexible flat cable. Furthermore, in addition to being electrically connected to the traverse cover and the rails, the elastic stopper of the present invention can also be the blocking lump of the tray for enhancing the braking efficacy when the tray suffers a bump because of its metallic elasticity and toughness. Thus, it is capable of avoiding the deviate and harm of the tray, so as to eject disks and insert disks normally, hence the reliability of the optical disk drive is increased. Meanwhile, the electrostatic discharge protection device of the invention makes the rails at two sides become a link of the static electricity eliminating loop, hence the advantage of easy touch in operating is achieved. Besides, the accumulated static electricity can be grounded and eliminated by the metallic rails isolated by the plastic guides and the tray, hence the harm of the precision electrical components in the optical disk drive can be reduced; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) of the fixing member (i.e., such as conductive fixing member metal 23, 24; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) via the elastic member (i.e., such as conductive elastic member metal 225, 229; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the electronic device (i.e., such as electronic device 20; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); wherein the static eliminating member (i.e., such as static eliminating member metal 223; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) is a metal frame (i.e., such metal frame chassis 223; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) that supports (i.e., such as 223 supports physically via being frame cover to 22 and supports electrically via being metal chassis to ground/eliminate any electrostatic; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) the internal member (i.e., such as non-conductive internal member plastic 211, 212; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the electronic device (i.e., such as electronic device 20; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]); wherein the frame (i.e., such metal frame chassis 223; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) supports (i.e., such as 223 supports physically via being frame cover to 22 and supports electrically via being metal chassis to ground/eliminate any electrostatic; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) a circuit board (i.e., such as circuit board 213; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]), and a ground potential part (i.e., such as ground potential part 216; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) of the circuit board (i.e., such as circuit board 213; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) is electrically connected (i.e., such as 216 is electrically connected to 223; for instance, please refer to FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 at the same time, when users eject disks by pressing the eject key 222, the static electricity from the users is transmitted to the traverse cover 223 via the gap between the panel 221 and the eject key 222. Then, the static electricity can be grounded and eliminated by the conductive loop of transmitting from the extending part 2231 at the rear end of the traverse cover 223 to the contact part 2252 of the first elastic stopper 225, and then from the first rail 23 propped against the sliding part 2254 to the conductive sponge 216, then to the case 21. Or, the static electricity can be grounded and eliminated by the conductive loop of transmitting from the U-shape end 2292 of the second elastic stopper 229 to the second rail 24 propped against the elastic clasp 2293, and then from the conductive sponge 216 to the case 21. Thus, the electrostatic discharge protection device for an optical disk drive of the invention is achieved; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]) to the frame (i.e., such metal frame chassis 223; see for example figs. 3-4, para. [0021]- [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the invention set forth above. However, Yang does not particularly teach wherein the fixing member is a fixing screw including a head portion exposed to the outside, and a male screw portion extending from the head portion in the first direction, the external member includes a through hole penetrating in the first direction and through which the male screw portion of the fixing screw passes, and the internal member includes a female screw hole engaged with the male screw portion of the fixing screw.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 3-5 depend on objected claim 2, consequently claims 3-5 will also be deemed allowable.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838