DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraals (US Patent No. 4,270,672), and further in view of Revelle (US Patent No. 1,992,442).
Re: Claim 1, discloses the claimed invention including a feeder for a packaged food, comprising: a housing, wherein the housing comprises a food storage area (16) and an accommodating area (30), and the accommodating area is in communication with the food storage area except for a coupling element, However, Revelle teaches a coupling element (17) attached to a housing (16), and the coupling element is configured to hold a food package in the accommodating area (Depicted in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a coupling element as taught by Revelle, since Revelle states in col. 2, lines 14-15 that such a modification securely lodges a portion of the food package to keep the package in proper position during actuation.
Re: Claim 2, Kraals a discloses the claimed invention including the coupling element comprises a fixing strip (28), and an end of the fixing strip is attached to a side portion of the housing (Depicted in Fig. 1).
Re: Claim 3, Kraals as modified by Revelle in the rejection of claim 1 above discloses the claimed invention including the coupling element further comprises: a hole, wherein the hole is provided on the housing (Fig. 1 depicts hole); and a protrusion (17), wherein a first end of the protrusion is attached to an interior of the hole, and a second end of the protrusion protrudes out of the hole (Fig. 1, protrusion protruding out of hole).
Re: Claim 4, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including a groove (35) is provided on the side portion of the housing, and the end of the fixing strip is located in the groove (Fig. 1).
Re: Claim 5, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including a squeezing element (38) attached to the housing, wherein the squeezing element is movable between an initial position (Fig. 2 but capable being placed adjacent to hole 50) and a final position (Fig. 3) relative to the housing.
Re: Claim 6, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including the squeezing element comprises a squeezing block (38), an end of the squeezing block is slidably attached to the side portion of the housing (Depicted in Fig. 4), and a gap is defined between the end of the squeezing block and the side portion of the housing (Depicted in Fig. 4).
Re: Claim 7, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including the squeezing block comprises a guide section (40) at a bottom of the squeezing block, and in view of Revelle’s second end of the protrusion protruding out of the hole would press against a starting end of the guide section (Revelle: Fig. 3 depicts a second end protruding which would come into contact with the guide), and the guide section is configured to guide the squeezing block to move upward (Revelle: Fig. 3 depicts a second end protruding which would come into contact with the guide allowing it to only move upward).
Re: Claim 8, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including a terminal end of the guide section smoothly transitions with a surface of the bottom of the squeezing block (Depicted in Fig. 4).
Re: Claim 9, Kraals discloses the claimed invention including a surface of the guide section from the starting end to the terminal end is a convex curved surface (Depicted in Fig. 4 having a convex shape).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of housings with squeezing blocks.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754