DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 12 recites the limitation “a thermal actuator” in line 2 which is unclear and render the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is the actual structure corresponding to the limitation. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a thermal sensor” (paragraph [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGinnis et al. (5,368,227).
Regarding claim 1, McGinnis discloses a hot water system, comprising:
a water valve (36, 38 and 50) coupled between a hot water supply inlet (28) and an outlet (24 and 29 and 57 and 58) comprising a hot water outlet (29 and 24) and a purge outlet (57 and 58; see figures 6-7);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode (see figure 6), water passes through the hot water system to the outlet (29 and 24) at a first volumetric flow rate (see figure 6);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode (see figure 7) different from the first mode (see figure 6), water passes through the hot water system to the outlet (29 and 24) at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero (see figures 6-7); and
wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode (see figure 6) to the second mode (see figure 7) when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature (higher than the predetermined temperature; McGinnis discloses the hot water enters at the inlet 28 and exits at the outlet 24 when the water temperature reaches a predetermined temperature Col. 4, lines 30-45; when the water temperature is higher than the predetermined temperature, the water would not passes through the outlet 24 but the unblock outlet 58; Col. 3, lines 29-34 and Col. 4, lines 49-66; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 5, McGinnis discloses the water valve (36, 38 and 50) is configured to automatically switch from the first mode (see figure 6) to the second mode (see figure 7) in response to movement of a thermal actuator (36) within the water valve (36, 38 and 50; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 6, McGinnis discloses the water valve (36, 38 and 50) comprising a spring (54) positioned within the water valve (36, 38 and 50) and configured to bias the water valve toward the first mode (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, McGinnis discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode (see figure 7), the water valve (36, 38 and 50) is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (29 and 24; see figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, McGinnis discloses a hot water system, comprising:
a water valve (36, 38 and 50) coupled between a hot water supply inlet (28) and an outlet comprising a hot water outlet (29 and 24) and a purge outlet (57 and 58; see figures 6-8);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode (see figure 6), water passes through the hot water system to the outlet (29 and 24) at a first volumetric flow rate (see figure 6);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode (see figure 7) different from the first mode (see figure 6), water passes through the hot water system to the outlet (29 and 24) at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero (see figures 6-7); and
wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode (see figure 6) to the second mode (see figure 7) and stop at least a majority of water flow through the hot water system when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature (higher than the predetermined temperature; McGinnis discloses the hot water enters at the inlet 28 and exits at the outlet 24 when the water temperature reaches a predetermined temperature Col. 4, lines 30-45; when the water temperature is higher than the predetermined temperature, the water would not passes through the outlet 24 but the unblock outlet 58; Col. 3, lines 29-34 and Col. 4, lines 49-66).
Regarding claim 12, McGinnis discloses the water valve (36, 38 and 50) is configured to automatically switch from the first mode (see figure 6) to the second mode (see figure 7) in response to movement of a thermal actuator (36) within the water valve (36, 38 and 50; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 13, McGinnis discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode (see figure 7), the water valve (36, 38 and 50) is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (29 and 24; see figures 7)).
Regarding claim 14, McGinnis discloses a hot water system, comprising:
a water valve (36, 38 and 50) coupled between a hot water supply inlet (28) and an outlet (29 and 58) comprising a hot water outlet (29) and a purge outlet (58; see figures 6-8 and 11);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a first volumetric flow rate (see figure 6);
wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode (see figure 7) different from the first mode (figure 6), water passes through the hot water system to the outlet (29) at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero (see figure 7); and
wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode (see figure 6) to the second mode (figure 7) when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature (higher than the predetermined temperature; McGinnis discloses the hot water enters at the inlet 28 and exits at the outlet 24 when the water temperature reaches a predetermined temperature Col. 4, lines 30-45; when the water temperature is higher than the predetermined temperature, the water would not passes through the outlet 24 but the unblock outlet 58; Col. 3, lines 29-34 and Col. 4, lines 49-66).
Regarding claim 18, McGinnis discloses the water valve (36, 38 and 50) comprising a spring (54) positioned within the water valve (36, 38 and 50) and configured to bias the water valve (36, 38 and 50) toward the first mode (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 19, McGinnis discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode (see figure 7), the water valve (36, 38 and 50) is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (29 and 24; see figure 7).
Regarding claim 20, McGinnis discloses the hot water outlet (29 and 24) is separate from the purge outlet (57 and 58; see figures 6-7).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,275,023 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses a hot water system, comprising: a water valve coupled between a hot water supply inlet and an outlet comprising a hot water outlet and a purge outlet, wherein the hot water outlet is separate from the purge outlet; wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a first volumetric flow rate; wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode different from the first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero; and wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode to the second mode and stop at least a majority of water flow through the hot water system when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 2, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system selectively purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet instead of through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 17).
Regarding claim 3, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet and through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 19).
Regarding claim 5, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode to the second mode in response to movement of a thermal actuator within the water valve (see claims 11 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses the water valve comprising a spring positioned within the water valve and configured to bias the water valve toward the first mode (see claims 11 and 13-14).
Regarding claim 7, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode, the water valve is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 16).
Regarding claim 8, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses a hot water system, comprising: a water valve coupled between a hot water supply inlet and an outlet comprising a hot water outlet and a purge outlet; wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a first volumetric flow rate; wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode different from the first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero; and wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode to the second mode and stop at least a majority of water flow through the hot water system when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature.
Regarding claim 9, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system selectively purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet instead of through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 17).
Regarding claim 10, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet and through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 19).
Regarding claim 12, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode to the second mode in response to movement of a thermal actuator within the water valve (see claims 11 and 15).
Regarding claim 13, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode, the water valve is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 16).
Regarding claim 14, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses a hot water system, comprising: a water valve coupled between a hot water supply inlet and an outlet comprising a hot water outlet and a purge outlet; wherein when the hot water system operates in a first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a first volumetric flow rate; wherein when the hot water system operates in a second mode different from the first mode, water passes through the hot water system to the outlet at a second volumetric flow rate less than the first volumetric flow rate and greater than zero; and wherein the water valve is configured to automatically switch from the first mode to the second mode when a temperature within the water valve rises above a predetermined temperature.
Regarding claim 15, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system selectively purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet instead of through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 17).
Regarding claim 16, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the first mode, the hot water system purges water from the hot water supply inlet through the purge outlet and through the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 19).
Regarding claim 18, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses the water valve comprising a spring positioned within the water valve and configured to bias the water valve toward the first mode (see claims 11 and 13-14).
Regarding claim 19, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses when the hot water system operates in the second mode, the water valve is configured to direct the water toward the hot water outlet (see claims 11 and 16).
Regarding claim 20, US 12,275,023 B2 discloses the hot water outlet is separate from the purge outlet (see claims 11 and 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference McGinnis taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed operation feature of the hot water system as required in claims 4, 11 and 17. Also, the prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivations to modify the hot water system of McGinnis in order to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 4, 11 and 17 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763