DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is rejected because it is unclear what steps occur when the cross-talk condition is not fulfilled. In other words, it is unclear if the adapting steps are optional if and when cross-talk does not occur. Claims 7-9 inherit Claim 1’s issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) steps to operate a magnetic resonance facility for recording a dataset including multiple, simultaneous slices including steps of establishing a slice ordering rule, evaluating if the sequence includes a cross talk condition and if so, adapting the recording sequence to move/displace a slice group “centrally”. Such steps can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper to see if adjacent slices are next to one another in the acquisition ordering. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim fails to include any image acquisition step The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no other elements recited and merely implementing the abstract idea with a computer is not sufficient (MPEP 2106). Dependent Claims 2-6 fail to include additional limitations to quality the claims as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 and merely relate to sequences that have not actually been performed (e.g. fat saturation, inversion recovery module, SPAIR) and other types of reordering (e.g. odd/even).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0400970 to Carinci et al. “Carinci”.
As for Claim 1, Carinci discloses an MRI system and method for operating an MR device to acquire MR data slices simultaneously, evaluating a cross-talk condition for the sequence and if the cross-talk condition is fulfilled, the acquisition order is adapted according to an adaptation rule such that a larger temporal acquisition distance between the acquisition of the first slice and the second slice is provided (Abstract; Paragraphs [0009]-[0010] and [0016]). In one embodiment (Figs. 4-5), a slice group is displaced “centrally” to avoid the crosstalk between slices s13 and s14.
As for Claim 4, Carinci discloses an exemplary embodiment where slices are numbered according to their spatial arrangement in a stacking direction and a plurality of concatenations and taking into account acceleration factors and modulo (Paragraphs [0050]-[0055]). In one embodiment, a list of slice groups are sorted in an ascending or descending manner according to their lowest slice number results and if the concatenation number is one, two sub-lists are scheduled, one containing all even slice numbers and one containing uneven slices numbers (Paragraph [0020]). If the concatenation number is greater than one, slice groups according to the list are successively assigned to different concatenations in a defined order (Paragraph [0020]). Such disclosures are considered to read on the claimed limitations in tis broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, Carinci makes it clear that other adaptation rules may also be applied including changing other slices/other slice groups further away than segment section 12c and its possible to change the position in time (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding Claim 5, Carinci explains in preferred aspects, to evaluate the crosstalk criterion, wherein the reduced number of slices is defined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, it is checked whether a first integer, defined as the reduced number of slices, modulo a second integer, defined as the concatenation number, equals one (Paragraphs [0029], [0035] and [0055]).
With respect to Claim 6, Carinci discloses wherein the simultaneous, multi-slice technique includes a sequence section of the used magnetic resonance sequence resonance signals from a simultaneity number, which is equal to an acceleration factor, of at least two slices are measured simultaneously, wherein an acquisition order comprising an association of slices to respective sequence sections of at least one repetition sequence, wherein the at least one repetition sequence covers all slices of at least one associated concatenation, is determined using at least one ordering rule (Paragraph [0001]; Claim 1).
As for Claims 7-9, Carinci discloses wherein the MRI system control device includes at least one processor and at least one storage means with functional units (Paragraphs [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carinci in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0271741 to Paul et al. “Paul”.
As for Claims 2-3, Carinci discloses a simultaneous, multi-slice MRI system and method addressing cross-talk as described above. However, Carinci does not expressly disclose wherein the simultaneous, multi-slice acquisition includes a preparation pulse in a fat saturation, inversion recovery or SPAIR technique.
Paul teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI systems and methods were conventional acquisitions include fat saturation techniques such as SPAIR (Paragraph [0052]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented Carinci’s cross-talk correction techniques with other conventionally known MRI sequences such as SPAIR as described by Paul in order to minimize cross-talk artifacts in other MRI acquisitions. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,841,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims include independent claims which are directed to computer implemented MRI methods comprising steps to use an SMS imaging technique to acquire multiple slices and to address slice cross-talk by changing the order to slices. The presently pending claims specifically refer to moving the slice centrally where the patented subject matter is broadly refers to re-ordering which may include a central reordering. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct. Claims 7-9 of the presently pending application also disclose the MRI system and NT-CRM specifics found in Claims 12-13 of the ‘409 patent. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,883,147. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims include independent claims which are directed to computer implemented MRI methods comprising steps to use an SMS imaging technique to acquire multiple slices and to address slice cross-talk by changing the order to slices. The presently pending claims specifically refer to moving the slice centrally where the patented subject matter is broadly refers to re-ordering which may include a central reordering. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct. Claims 7-9 of the presently pending application also disclose the MRI system and NT-CRM specifics found in Claims 11-12 of the ‘147 patent. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797