DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2025, August 12, 2025 and November 12, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0091369).
With regard to independent claim 1, although Zhong et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 7) comprising: a first lens (Figure 7, element E1), a second lens (Figure 7, element E2), a third lens (Figure 7, element E3), and a fourth lens (Figure 7, element E4) disposed on an optical axis, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power (page 10, paragraph [0094], line 1), wherein one or more of the first to fourth lenses comprises one or more anamorphic lenses each having at least one surface comprising a first profile including the optical axis different from a second profile including the optical axis, and a first length different from a length of the second profile (page 6, paragraph [0079], wherein AAS is defined as a lens surface which is in non-rotationally symmetry and page 10, Curvature radius data for S5, corresponding the object-side surface of the third lens), Zhong et al fails to teach such an optical imaging system satisfying the conditional expression: 0 < |(fx-fy)/fx| < 0.01, as defined. Zhong et al does teach such an optical imaging system wherein |(fx-fy)/fx| = 0.01 (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surfaces S5 and S6, wherein f3x = 1.56; f3y = 1.54; wherein |(fx-fy)/fx|| = 0.01), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical imaging system, as taught by Zhong et al, since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens is an anamorphic lens of the one or more anamorphic lenses (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S8).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S1).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S3).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S5).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S7).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system further comprising a fifth lens, (Figure 7, element E5), wherein the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side (Figure 7).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Zhong et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 9, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 10, Table 10, Curvature radius data for Surface S9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper. Although Zhong et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0091369) teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Zhong et al fails to teach such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens is an anamorphic lens of the one or more anamorphic lenses, as claimed in dependent claim 2; or wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, as claimed in dependent claim 8.
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
21 September 2026