DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 2014/0003616) herein Johnson.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses an information processing apparatus (information processing apparatus, [Abstract]) comprising: a controller (data processor 8, [0026], Fig. 4); and an audio system (audio system 1, Figs. 1-4, [0022]- [0026]), wherein the controller is configured to, when connection between the audio system and a sound source is detected, measure an output level of a test signal output to the sound source (data processor 8 is configured to, when connection between audio system 1 and a sound source is detected, measure an output level of a test signal output to the sound source, [0005], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0057], [0058], [0075], [0077]), and determine an output gain of a voice signal output from the audio system to the sound source based on the output level (output amplification for audio output signal (interpreted to meet voice signal) is based on the output level of the test signal determining which mode of operation to execute, [0030], [0033]-[0034], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047]-[0050], [0057], [0058], Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses wherein the controller determines the output gain based on an impedance of the sound source corresponding to the output level, a rated power consumption of the sound source, and an internal resistance of the audio system (output gain/levels determined based on an impedance of the sound source, a power consumption of the sound source and an internal resistance of the audio system 1, [0034], [0054]-[0070], Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses wherein the test signal has a frequency component having a frequency higher than an audible band (test signal is inaudible with a frequency above hearing frequency, [0003], [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses a control method of an information processing apparatus including a controller and an audio system (information processing apparatus with controller 8 and audio system 1 control method, [Abstract]), the control method comprising: causing the controller to execute (data processor 8, [0026], Fig. 4), when connection between the audio system and a sound source is detected, a step of measuring an output level of a test signal output to the sound source (data processor 8 is configured to, when connection between audio system 1 and a sound source is detected, measure an output level of a test signal output to the sound source, [0005], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0057], [0058], [0075], [0077]); and a step of determining an output gain of a voice signal output from the audio system to the sound source based on the output level (output amplification for audio output signal (interpreted to meet voice signal) is based on the output level of the test signal determining which mode of operation to execute, [0030], [0033]-[0034], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047]-[0050], [0057], [0058], Figs. 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2014/0003616) herein Johnson.
Regarding claim 3, while Johnson does not specifically teach wherein the controller determines a maximum voltage of the voice signal based on the impedance of the sound source, a maximum power consumption of the sound source and the internal resistance, Johnson does teach determining a voltage of the voice signal based on the impedance of the sound source, a power consumption of the sound source and the internal resistance (voltage for the output audio voice signal is determined based on an impedance of the sound source, a power consumption of the sound source and an internal resistance of the audio system 1, [0034], [0054]-[0070], Figs. 5-7), and it would have been obvious to determine a maximum voltage based on a maximum power consumption and the above factors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage determination of Johnson to determine a maximum voltage of the voice signal based on the impedance of the sound source, a maximum power consumption of the sound source and the internal resistance in order to ensure a safety threshold is not exceeded while maximizing the amplification of the voice signal. The Examiner takes Official Notice.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2014/0003616) herein Johnson in view of Jones (US 2001/0053228).
Regarding claim 5, while Johnson does not specifically teach further comprising: a rectifier element configured to rectify the test signal and output a rectified signal; and a low pass filter configured to extract a low pass signal from the rectified signal, wherein the controller measures an output level of the low pass signal, Johnson does teach the use of a band pass filter (use of band path filter, Johnson: [0080]) and it is well known in the art to utilize a rectifier element configured to rectify the test signal and output a rectified signal; and a low pass filter configured to extract a low pass signal from the rectified signal, wherein the controller measures an output level of the low pass signal as demonstrated by Jones (low-pass signal is extracted after the test signal is rectified (square wave gets rectified), wherein the controller measures an output level of the low pass signal to determine what voltage is needed to power the device, Jones: [0096]-[0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johnson to include a rectifier element configured to rectify the test signal and output a rectified signal; and a low pass filter configured to extract a low pass signal from the rectified signal, wherein the controller measures an output level of the low pass signal, Johnson does teach the use of a band pass filter as suggested by Jones in order to reduce distortion in the audio path (Jones: [0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691