DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US20210360493A1) in view of Frenger et al. (US20190289639A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shrestha teaches a communication method, comprising: generating, by a first network device, common system information, wherein the common system information comprises a plurality of information elements (Paragraph [0165]: At 505, the UE 115-e may receive a set of SIBs common to a set of cells of an NTN supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., common SIBs). In some aspects, the set of SIBs received at 505 may include an indication of one or more parameters common to the set of cells for communications with the set of cells. Paragraph [0170]: In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the first cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505.)
a value of a parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a parameter in the system information of the first cell (Paragraph [0165]: At 505, the UE 115-e may receive a set of SIBs common to a set of cells of an NTN supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., common SIBs). In some aspects, the set of SIBs received at 505 may include an indication of one or more parameters common to the set of cells for communications with the set of cells. In some cases, the set of cells may include every cell supported by the satellite 120-d, every cell of the NTN, or both. Additionally or alternatively, the set of cells may include a sub-set of cells supported by the satellite 120-d, a sub-set of cells of the NTN, or both. The set of SIBs may include an indication of a set of PIDs associated with the set of cells. Paragraph [0170]: At 525, the UE 115-e may communicate with the first cell supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., first cell of the NTN). In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the first cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505.)
and sending, by the first network device, the common system information (Paragraph [0164]: In the example of FIG. 5, the satellite 120-d and the UE 115-e may be in communication with each other via an NTN. Paragraph [0165]: At 505, the UE 115-e may receive a set of SIBs common to a set of cells of an NTN supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., common SIBs).)
Shrestha does not explicitly teach that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell.
However, Frenger teaches that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell (Paragraph [0064]: With continuing reference to FIG. 13, FIG. 14 illustrates a block diagram of an embodiment of a system information block 1400. The system information block 1400 includes a PCI common field 1410 having common system information associated with a plurality of cells including a first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 and a second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350. The system information block 1400 includes a first cell specific field 1420 having first cell specific system information indexed to the first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 (indexed to PCI 17). The system information block 1400 includes a second cell specific field 1460 having second specific system information indexed to the second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350 (indexed to PCI 18). Paragraph [0065]: The PCI common field 1410 includes a PLMN ID of 12345. The first cell specific field 1420 includes a beam common field 1430 (with a GCID of 54321), a first beam specific field 1440 (with a PRACH preamble of 36) and a second beam specific field 1450 (with a PRACH preamble of 37). The second cell specific field 1460 includes a beam common field 1470 (with a GCID of 54322), a first beam specific field 1480 (with a PRACH preamble of 11) and a second beam specific field 1490 (with a PRACH preamble of 12). Thus, the system information block 1400 facilitates a hierarchal architecture for cells and corresponding beams wherein the first cell specific field 1420 and the second cell specific field 1460 include their own respective common fields and specific fields.)
a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell (Paragraph [0064]: The system information block 1400 includes a PCI common field 1410 having common system information associated with a plurality of cells including a first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 and a second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350. The system information block 1400 includes a first cell specific field 1420 having first cell specific system information indexed to the first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 (indexed to PCI 17). The system information block 1400 includes a second cell specific field 1460 having second specific system information indexed to the second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350 (indexed to PCI 18).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and parameters that are specific for the cell can be encode in another part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shrestha and Frenger teaches the communication method according to claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
Shrestha does not explicitly teach sending, by the first network device, a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device.
However, Frenger teaches sending, by the first network device, a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device (Paragraph [0042]: A PCI 705 is signaled by an index of NR-PSS/NR-SSS 710; a MIB 715 is signaled in a first broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH 1 735; and the periodically broadcasted SIBs 740 are signaled in a second broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH2 745. Of course, additional information fields or different channels may be included or used as well. A synchronization signal (“SS”) block provides the PCI 705 and the MIB 715.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first network device, a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that the PCI of the cell of the network device can be made available to the UE to access the communication system (Frenger: Paragraphs [0042], [0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Shrestha teaches a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, common system information from a first network device, wherein the common system information comprises a plurality of information elements, a value of a parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a parameter in the system information of the first cell (see rejection for claim 1);
and determining, by the terminal device, system information of a target cell based on the common system information (Paragraph [0164]: In the example of FIG. 5, the satellite 120-d and the UE 115-e may be in communication with each other via an NTN. Paragraph [0165]: At 505, the UE 115-e may receive a set of SIBs common to a set of cells of an NTN supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., common SIBs). Paragraph [0176]: At 545, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., second cell of the NTN). In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505.)
Shrestha does not explicitly teach that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell.
However, Frenger teaches that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and parameters that are specific for the cell can be encode in another part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Shrestha teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to: (Paragraph [0245]: The device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including a communications manager 1310, a network communications manager 1315, a transceiver 1320, an antenna 1325, memory 1330, a processor 1340, and an inter-station communications manager 1345. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1350). Paragraph [0250]: The memory 1330 may store computer-readable code 1335 including instructions that, when executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 1340) cause the device to perform various functions described herein.)
generate common system information, wherein the common system information comprises a plurality of information elements, a value of a parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a parameter in the system information of the first cell; and send the common system information (see rejection for claim 1);
Shrestha does not explicitly teach that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell.
However, Frenger teaches that the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of information elements comprise a first information element and a second information element, the first information element comprises values of a plurality of parameters in system information of a first cell, the second information element comprises a value of a first parameter in system information of a second cell, a value of a second parameter in the system information of the second cell is equal to a value of a second parameter in the system information of the first cell, a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the first information element is a physical cell identifier of the first cell, and a value of a physical cell identifier included in the first parameter in the second information element is a physical cell identifier of the second cell, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and parameters that are specific for the cell can be encode in another part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shrestha and Frenger teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: (see rejection for claim 10);
Shrestha does not explicitly teach to send a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by a first network device.
However, Frenger teaches to send a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by a first network device (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send a first synchronization signal block, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by a first network device, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that the PCI of the cell of the network device can be made available to the UE to access the communication system (Frenger: Paragraphs [0042], [0072]).
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US20210360493A1) in view of Frenger et al. (US20190289639A1), and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US20200351055A1) and Jin et al. (US20180027482A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shrestha and Frenger teaches the communication method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the first network device, first information, wherein the first information indicates a common physical cell identifier, wherein the sending, by the first network device, the common system information comprises: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Shrestha and Frenger does not explicitly teach determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier; scrambling, by the first network device, the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and sending, by the first network device, the common system information as scrambled common system information
However, Manolakos teaches determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier; scrambling, by the first network device, the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and sending, by the first network device, the common system information as scrambled common system information (Paragraph [0102]: That is, in some cases (e.g., for CSS signaling), a TRP may scramble data (e.g., of a transmission) based on its PCI. For example, a TRP may scramble PDSCH using a PCI of the TRP when the PDSCH is scheduled using DCI format 1_0 in CSS. More generally, broadcast messages carried in PDSCH (e.g., remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), paging, random access channel (RACH) response, etc.) and dedicated messages using DCI format 1_0 in CSS, may be scrambled with PCI of the signaling TRP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier; scrambling, by the first network device, the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and sending, by the first network device, the common system information as scrambled common system information, as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Shrestha and Frenger, so that the network device can broadcast system information based on the PCI, and the UE can use the associated PCI for descrambling the PDCCH carrying the system information broadcast message (Manolakos: Paragraphs [0100], [0102]).
The combination of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos does not explicitly teach determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier.
However, Jin teaches determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier (Paragraph [0025]: the base station further includes: a scrambling unit, configured for the base station to: when the extended PCI identifies the target cell, scramble, according to a second scrambling code, data transmitted in the target cell, where the extend PCI information is corresponding to the second scrambling code; or a scrambling unit, configured for the base station to: when the combination of the extended PCI and the PCI of the target cell identifies the target cell, scramble, according to a second scrambling code, data transmitted in the target cell, where a combination of the extended PCI information and the PCI information is corresponding to the second scrambling code. Paragraph [0068]: Optionally, the extended PCI is a cell identity of a global cell identity; or the extended PCI is a combination of a cell identity of a global cell identity and all bits or some bits of a location area identity of the global cell identity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the first network device, a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos, so that the terminal can determine the scrambling code/sequence based on the extended PCI, which identifies a global cell (Jin: Paragraphs [0025], [0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
The combination of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier.
However, Frenger teaches wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier (Paragraph [0064]: The system information block 1400 includes a PCI common field 1410 having common system information associated with a plurality of cells including a first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 and a second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350. Paragraph [0065]: The PCI common field 1410 includes a PLMN ID of 12345.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Frenger in the combined system of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shrestha and Frenger teaches the communication method according to claim 5, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first information from the first network device, wherein the first information indicates a common physical cell identifier, wherein the receiving, by the terminal device, the common system information from the first network device comprises: (see rejection for claim 5);
The combination of Shrestha and Frenger does not explicitly teach receiving, by the terminal device, a signal from the first network device; determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier indicated by the first information; and descrambling, by the terminal device, the signal by using the descrambling sequence, to obtain the common system information.
However, Manolakos teaches receiving, by the terminal device, a signal from the first network device; determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier indicated by the first information; and descrambling, by the terminal device, the signal by using the descrambling sequence, to obtain the common system information (Paragraph [0100]: Therefore the described techniques may provide for TCI state and PCI association, such that a UE may identify one or more PCIs associated with a TCI state in use. Further, the UE may, in cases where the TCI state is associated with multiple PCIs, select a default PCI (e.g., to use or try first for descrambling PDSCH/PDCCH, RLM resource monitoring, etc.) according to the techniques described. As such, the UE may know the PCI associated with each TRP. Paragraph [0102]: That is, in some cases (e.g., for CSS signaling), a TRP may scramble data (e.g., of a transmission) based on its PCI. For example, a TRP may scramble PDSCH using a PCI of the TRP when the PDSCH is scheduled using DCI format 1_0 in CSS. More generally, broadcast messages carried in PDSCH (e.g., remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), paging, random access channel (RACH) response, etc.) and dedicated messages using DCI format 1_0 in CSS, may be scrambled with PCI of the signaling TRP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, by the terminal device, a signal from the first network device; determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier indicated by the first information; and descrambling, by the terminal device, the signal by using the descrambling sequence, to obtain the common system information, as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Shrestha and Frenger, so that the network device can broadcast system information based on the PCI, and the UE can use the associated PCI for descrambling the PDCCH carrying the system information broadcast message (Manolakos: Paragraphs [0100], [0102]).
The combination of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos does not explicitly teach determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier.
However, Jin teaches determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier (Paragraph [0025]: the base station further includes: a scrambling unit, configured for the base station to: when the extended PCI identifies the target cell, scramble, according to a second scrambling code, data transmitted in the target cell, where the extend PCI information is corresponding to the second scrambling code; or a scrambling unit, configured for the base station to: when the combination of the extended PCI and the PCI of the target cell identifies the target cell, scramble, according to a second scrambling code, data transmitted in the target cell, where a combination of the extended PCI information and the PCI information is corresponding to the second scrambling code. Paragraph [0068]: Optionally, the extended PCI is a cell identity of a global cell identity; or the extended PCI is a combination of a cell identity of a global cell identity and all bits or some bits of a location area identity of the global cell identity. Paragraph [0081]: Specifically, the terminal device may generate a first scrambling code by using the PCI information of the target cell. The first scrambling code is a descrambling sequence of the broadcast channel, and the first scrambling code may be used to parse the broadcast message sent by the base station to obtain the information carried in the broadcast message. Paragraph [0085]: Specifically, the terminal device may generate the second scrambling code by using the extended PCI information or the combination of the extended PCI information and the PCI information of the target cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the terminal device, a descrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos, so that the terminal can determine the scrambling code/sequence to descramble, based on the extended PCI, which identifies a global cell (Jin: Paragraphs [0025], [0064], [0068], [0081], [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier.
However, Frenger teaches wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier (Paragraph [0064]: The system information block 1400 includes a PCI common field 1410 having common system information associated with a plurality of cells including a first cell associated with the first radio access node 1310 and a second cell associated with the second radio access node 1350. Paragraph [0065]: The PCI common field 1410 includes a PLMN ID of 12345.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Frenger in the combined system of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7);
Shrestha further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the system information of the target cell based on the common system information comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, from a second network device, wherein comprises a physical cell identifier of the target cell managed by the second network device; and determining, by the terminal device, the system information of the target cell from the common system information based on the physical cell identifier of the target cell (Paragraph [0167]: In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the first cell at 515 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some aspects, the first SIB associated with the first cell may include a first PID associated with the first cell. In this regard, the UE 115-e may determine whether the first cell is included within the set of cells associated with the set of parameters common to the set of cells based on the set of PIDs associated with the set of cells, the first PID associated with the first cell, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0175]: At 540, the UE 115-e may receive one or more SIBs associated with a second cell of the NTN supported by the satellite 120-d. The one or more SIBs received at 540 may include cell-specific information indicating a second set of cell-specific parameters for communicating with the second cell. For example, due to the movement of the satellite 120-d, the UE 115-e may experience changing cell coverage, and may move from the first cell to the second cell. In this example, the UE 115-e may receive a second SIB associated with the second cell, where the second SIB includes cell-specific information associated with the second cell which indicates a second set of cell-specific parameters for communications with the second cell. In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the second cell at 545 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some cases, the UE 115-e may identify differences, if any, between the set of common parameters indicated by the common SIB(s) received at 505 and the second set of cell-specific parameters indicated by the cell-specific SIB(s) received at 540. Paragraph [0176]: At 545, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., second cell of the NTN). In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505, the second set of cell-specific parameters associated with the second cell indicated in the SIB(s) received at 545, or any combination thereof.)
The combination of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin does not explicitly teach a second synchronization signal block, wherein the second synchronization signal block comprises a physical cell identifier.
However, Frenger teaches a second synchronization signal block, wherein the second synchronization signal block comprises a physical cell identifier (Paragraph [0042]: A PCI 705 is signaled by an index of NR-PSS/NR-SSS 710; a MIB 715 is signaled in a first broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH 1 735; and the periodically broadcasted SIBs 740 are signaled in a second broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH2 745. Of course, additional information fields or different channels may be included or used as well. A synchronization signal (“SS”) block provides the PCI 705 and the MIB 715.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second synchronization signal block, wherein the second synchronization signal block comprises a physical cell identifier, as taught by Frenger in the combined system of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin, so that the PCI of the target cell can be made available to the UE to access the communication system (Frenger: Paragraphs [0042], [0072]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 8, wherein in response to the physical cell identifier of the target cell being the physical cell identifier of the first cell, the determining, by the terminal device, the system information of the target cell from the common system information based on the physical cell identifier of the target cell comprises: (see rejection for claim 8);
Shrestha further teaches obtaining, by the terminal device, the first information element comprising the physical cell identifier of the first cell from the common system information; and using, by the terminal device as the system information of the target cell, the values of the plurality of parameters comprised in the first information element (Paragraph [0165]: At 505, the UE 115-e may receive a set of SIBs common to a set of cells of an NTN supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., common SIBs). In some aspects, the set of SIBs received at 505 may include an indication of one or more parameters common to the set of cells for communications with the set of cells. In some cases, the set of cells may include every cell supported by the satellite 120-d, every cell of the NTN, or both. Additionally or alternatively, the set of cells may include a sub-set of cells supported by the satellite 120-d, a sub-set of cells of the NTN, or both. The set of SIBs may include an indication of a set of PIDs associated with the set of cells. Paragraph [0167]: In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the first cell at 515 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some aspects, the first SIB associated with the first cell may include a first PID associated with the first cell. In this regard, the UE 115-e may determine whether the first cell is included within the set of cells associated with the set of parameters common to the set of cells based on the set of PIDs associated with the set of cells, the first PID associated with the first cell, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0170]: At 525, the UE 115-e may communicate with the first cell supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., first cell of the NTN). In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the first cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505. Paragraph [0175]: At 540, the UE 115-e may receive one or more SIBs associated with a second cell of the NTN supported by the satellite 120-d. The one or more SIBs received at 540 may include cell-specific information indicating a second set of cell-specific parameters for communicating with the second cell. For example, due to the movement of the satellite 120-d, the UE 115-e may experience changing cell coverage, and may move from the first cell to the second cell. In this example, the UE 115-e may receive a second SIB associated with the second cell, where the second SIB includes cell-specific information associated with the second cell which indicates a second set of cell-specific parameters for communications with the second cell. In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the second cell at 545 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some cases, the UE 115-e may identify differences, if any, between the set of common parameters indicated by the common SIB(s) received at 505 and the second set of cell-specific parameters indicated by the cell-specific SIB(s) received at 540. Paragraph [0176]: At 545, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell supported by the satellite 120-d (e.g., second cell of the NTN). In some aspects, the UE 115-e may communicate with the second cell based on the one or more parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505, the second set of cell-specific parameters associated with the second cell indicated in the SIB(s) received at 545, or any combination thereof.)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shrestha and Frenger teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: send first information, wherein the first information indicates a common physical cell identifier, wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Shrestha and Frenger does not explicitly teach to determine a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier; scramble the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and send the common system information as scrambled common system information.
However, Manolakos teaches to determine a scrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier; scramble the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and send the common system information as scrambled common system information (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a scrambling sequence based on the physical cell identifier; scramble the common system information by using the scrambling sequence; and send the common system information as scrambled common system information, as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Shrestha and Frenger, so that the network device can broadcast system information based on the PCI, and the UE can use the associated PCI for descrambling the PDCCH carrying the system information broadcast message (Manolakos: Paragraphs [0100], [0102]).
The combination of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos does not explicitly teach to determine a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier.
However, Jin teaches to determine a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a scrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Shrestha, Frenger, and Manolakos, so that the terminal can determine the scrambling code/sequence based on the extended PCI, which identifies a global cell (Jin: Paragraphs [0025], [0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Shrestha, Manolakos, and Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier.
However, Frenger teaches wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first information comprises the common physical cell identifier, as taught by Frenger in the combined system of Shrestha, Manolakos and Jin, so that parameters that are common can be encoded in a first common part, and thus unnecessary large overhead can be reduced (Frenger: Paragraphs [0036] – [0039], [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Shrestha further teaches wherein the first information comprises a difference between the common physical cell identifier and a physical cell identifier of a cell managed by a first network device (Paragraph [0167]: At 515, the UE 115-e may receive one or more SIBs associated with a first cell of the NTN supported by the satellite 120-d. The one or more SIBs received at 515 may include cell-specific information indicating a first set of cell-specific parameters for communicating with the first cell. For example, the UE 115-e may receive a first SIB associated with the first cell, where the first SIB includes cell-specific information associated with the first cell which indicates a first set of cell-specific parameters for communications with the first cell. In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the first cell at 515 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some aspects, the first SIB associated with the first cell may include a first PID associated with the first cell. In this regard, the UE 115-e may determine whether the first cell is included within the set of cells associated with the set of parameters common to the set of cells based on the set of PIDs associated with the set of cells, the first PID associated with the first cell, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0169]: At 520, the UE 115-e may identify differences, if any, between the set of parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505 and the set of cell-specific parameters indicated by the cell-specific SIB(s) received at 515. For example, the UE 115-e may identify a cell-specific parameter of the first set of cell-specific parameters indicated in the cell-specific information received at 515 that is different than a parameter of the set of parameters common to the set of cells indicated by the set of SIBs received at 505. By way of another example, the UE 115-e may identify a difference between a parameter of the set of parameters common to the set of cells and a cell-specific parameter of the first set of cell-specific parameters associated with the first cell.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Shrestha further teaches wherein the first information comprises a difference between the
common physical cell identifier and a physical cell identifier of a cell managed by a first network device (see rejection for claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
Shrestha further teaches wherein the first information comprises a difference between the
common physical cell identifier and a physical cell identifier of a cell managed by a first network device (see rejection for claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 16 wherein before the determining, by the terminal device, the descrambling sequence based on the common physical cell identifier indicated by the first information, the communication method further comprises: (see rejection for claim 6, 16);
Shrestha further teaches determining, by the terminal device, the common physical cell identifier based on the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device and the difference, in the first information, between the common physical cell identifier and the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device (Paragraph [0167]: At 515, the UE 115-e may receive one or more SIBs associated with a first cell of the NTN supported by the satellite 120-d. The one or more SIBs received at 515 may include cell-specific information indicating a first set of cell-specific parameters for communicating with the first cell. For example, the UE 115-e may receive a first SIB associated with the first cell, where the first SIB includes cell-specific information associated with the first cell which indicates a first set of cell-specific parameters for communications with the first cell. In some aspects, the UE 115-e may receive the cell-specific SIBs from the first cell at 515 based on receiving the configuration message including the indication of the set of downlink resources at 510. In some aspects, the first SIB associated with the first cell may include a first PID associated with the first cell. In this regard, the UE 115-e may determine whether the first cell is included within the set of cells associated with the set of parameters common to the set of cells based on the set of PIDs associated with the set of cells, the first PID associated with the first cell, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0169]: At 520, the UE 115-e may identify differences, if any, between the set of parameters common to the set of cells indicated in the SIB(s) received at 505 and the set of cell-specific parameters indicated by the cell-specific SIB(s) received at 515. For example, the UE 115-e may identify a cell-specific parameter of the first set of cell-specific parameters indicated in the cell-specific information received at 515 that is different than a parameter of the set of parameters common to the set of cells indicated by the set of SIBs received at 505. By way of another example, the UE 115-e may identify a difference between a parameter of the set of parameters common to the set of cells and a cell-specific parameter of the first set of cell-specific parameters associated with the first cell.)
Shrestha does not explicitly teach receiving, by the terminal device, a first synchronization signal block from the first network device, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device.
However, Frenger teaches receiving, by the terminal device, a first synchronization signal block from the first network device, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device (Paragraph [0042]: A PCI 705 is signaled by an index of NR-PSS/NR-SSS 710; a MIB 715 is signaled in a first broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH 1 735; and the periodically broadcasted SIBs 740 are signaled in a second broadcast channel denoted NR-PBCH2 745. Of course, additional information fields or different channels may be included or used as well. A synchronization signal (“SS”) block provides the PCI 705 and the MIB 715.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, by the terminal device, a first synchronization signal block from the first network device, wherein the first synchronization signal block comprises the physical cell identifier of the cell managed by the first network device, as taught by Frenger in the system of Shrestha, so that the PCI of the cell of the network device can be made available to the UE to access the communication system (Frenger: Paragraphs [0042], [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shrestha, Frenger, Manolakos, and Jin teaches the communication method according to claim 8, wherein in response to the physical cell identifier of the target cell being the physical cell identifier of the second cell, the determining, by the terminal device, the system information of the target cell from the common system information based on the physical cell identifier of the target cell comprises: (see rejection for claim 8);
Shrestha further teaches obtaining, by the terminal device, the second information element comprising the physical cell identifier of the second cell from the common system information; obtaining the values of the plurality of parameters in the first information element from the common system information; replacing, by the terminal device, a value of the first parameter in the plurality of parameters with the value of the first parameter in the second information element, to obtain updated values of the plurality of parameters; and using, by the terminal device, the updated values of the plurality of parameters as the system information of the target cell (Paragraph [0167]: In some aspects, the first SIB associated with the first cell may include a first PID associated with the first cell. In this regard, the UE 115-e may determine whether the first cell is included within the set of cells associated with the set of parameters common to the set of cells based on the set of PIDs associated with the set of cells, the first PID associated with the first cell, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0171]: At 530, the UE 115-e may receive a downlink message from the satellite 120-d, where the downlink message includes an indication that an update to the first set of cell-specific parameters associated with the first cell (e.g., SI update) is available. The downlink message may include an indication of at least one cell-specific parameter of the first set of cell-specific parameters associated with the first cell. In some cases, the UE 115-e may identify or determine that the update to the set of parameters associated with the first cell is available based on the downlink message received at 535. In additional or alternative aspects, the UE 115-e may determine that the update is available based on determining an expiration of a validity period associated with the first SIB associated with the first cell. Paragraph [0198]: In some examples, the cell parameter manager 820 may identify that an update to the set of parameters associated with the second cell is available.)
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461