NON-FINAL REJECTION
DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 in view of Hanson et al. (US 2017/0109101) and U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 recites:
A non-volatile dual in-line memory module (NVDIMM), comprising:
a first memory device configured to receive a command from a host (claim 1: a command from a host to the first memory device);
a controller coupled to the first memory device (claim 1: a first memory device coupled to the controller),…calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (claim 10: the second memory device is configured to calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host); and
a second memory device coupled to the controller and the first memory device (claim 1: a second memory device coupled to the first memory device and the controller), wherein the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations (claim 1: the second memory device is in an idle state and is configured to perform garbage collection) based on the calculated period of time (claim 11: the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations based on the calculated period of time).
U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 does not recite “wherein the controller comprises a time calculator configured to” calculate. However, Hanson et al. disclose:
wherein the controller comprises a time calculator (FIG. 5 tPD) configured to calculate ([0032] memory controller 150 determines a period of inactivity or low usage…based on the receipt of a memory command indicating a future period of inactivity, such as a low-power state command)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 and Hanson et al. before him/her, to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 with the Hanson et al. teachings of a time calculator because doing so would enable the calculation of the period of time to complete execution of the host command. The combination would enable the NVDIMM to know how much time is available to perform background operations.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, further comprising a multiplexor configured to isolate the second memory device from the host (claim 2: a multiplexor isolates the second memory device from the host).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 2, wherein the multiplexor is configured to isolate the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device (claim 2: wherein a multiplexor isolates the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 2, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the number of background operations in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host (claim 3: wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the garbage collection in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device stops performing the number of background operations in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command (claim 4: wherein the second memory device stops performing the garbage collection in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the number of background operations include garbage collection (claim 1: the second memory device is in an idle state and is configured to perform garbage collection).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 6, wherein the garbage collection clears unused data from the second memory device (claim 1: garbage collection to clear unused data from the second memory device).
Regarding claim 8, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the number of background operations based on the calculated period of time in response to detecting the command from the host (FIG. 2 step 203 Perform flash-specific overhead activities).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device is in an idle state prior to (claim 1: wherein the second memory device is in an idle state) performing the number of background operations based on the calculated period of time (claim 11: the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations based on the calculated period of time).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 recites:
A non-volatile dual in-line memory module (NVDIMM), comprising:
a first memory device is configured to receive a command from a host (claim 1: a command from a host to the first memory device);
a controller coupled to the first memory device (claim 1: a first memory device coupled to the controller),…calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (claim 10: the second memory device is configured to calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host); and
a second memory device coupled to the controller and the first memory device (claim 1: a second memory device coupled to the first memory device and the controller), wherein the second memory device is configured to:
…perform the selected background operation (claim 1: the second memory device is in an idle state and is configured to perform garbage collection) based on the calculated period of time (claim 11: the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations based on the calculated period of time).
U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 does not recite “wherein the controller comprises a time calculator configured to” calculate and “select which background operation to perform based on the calculated period of time.” However, Hanson et al. disclose:
wherein the controller comprises a time calculator (FIG. 5 tPD) configured to calculate ([0032] memory controller 150 determines a period of inactivity or low usage…based on the receipt of a memory command indicating a future period of inactivity, such as a low-power state command)
select which background operation to perform based on the calculated period of time ([0032] When the memory controller 150 determines that there is no immediate activities or tasks to perform on the memory module 100, for example, memory reads or writes, the memory controller 150 can instruct the flash controller 140 to perform flash-specific overhead activities (step 203); [0041]);
The motivation for combining is based on the same rational presented for rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 10, comprising a multiplexor configured to isolate the second memory device from the host (claim 2: a multiplexor isolates the second memory device from the host).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 11, wherein the multiplexor is configured to isolate the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device (claim 2: wherein a multiplexor isolates the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 12, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the selected background operation in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host (claim 3: wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the garbage collection in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 in view of Hanson et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 and Hanson et al. do not disclose while U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582 recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 12, comprising a register clock driver (RCD) coupled to the multiplexor (claim 1: a register clock driver coupled to the multiplexor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449, Hanson et al. and U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582 before him/her, to modify the combined teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 and Hanson et al. with the U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582 claims to include a register clock drive (RCD) because such a modification would have amounted to little more than combining “familiar elements according to known methods” and would have been obvious because it would have done “no more than yield predictable results.” (MPEP 2143 I.A.) The RCD is a known element for receiving commands on a bus from the host in a DIMM.
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 11,762,582 further recites:
The NVDIMM of claim 14, wherein the RCD is coupled to the controller (claim 14: the host is configured to send a command to the second controller via the register clock driver (RCD)).
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 in view of Eliash et al. (US 2020/0225856).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 recites:
A method, comprising:
receiving a command at a first memory device from a host (claim 1: a command from a host to the first memory device);
calculating a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (claim 10: the second memory device is configured to calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host);
…performing the number of background operations at a second memory device (claim 11: the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations based on the calculated period of time).
U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 does not recite “wherein the controller comprises a time calculator configured to” calculate and “selecting what number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time.” However, Eliash et al. disclose:
selecting what number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time ([0044] controller 102 may be configured to determine the number of background management operations that need to be processed based on one or more factors, such as, utilization of the storage system, types of host commands, operational environment factors, voltage events of the storage system);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 and Eliash et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 with the Eliash et al. teachings of background operations because determining the number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time facilitates the overall system power consumption minimization and memory latency reduction (Eliash et al. [0002]; [0014]).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The method of claim 16, comprising performing the number of background operations by adjusting threshold voltages (claim 8: wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the background operation by adjusting threshold voltages).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The method of claim 16, comprising performing the number of background operations by performing a reconcile operation (claim 9: wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the background operation by performing a reconcile operation).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The method of claim 16, comprising completing execution of the command at the first memory device (claim 4: wherein the second memory device stops performing the garbage collection in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 12,229,449 further recites:
The method of claim 19, comprising stopping the number of background operations at the second memory device in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command (claim 4: wherein the second memory device stops performing the garbage collection in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command).
In the event that any claim is not completely anticipated by at least one claim of a patent
above, the claims would still be rejected on the grounds of obvious nonstatutory double
patenting in further view of the prior art below that teaches or makes obvious that missing part,
and one of ordinary skill in the art could have incorporated such teachings prior to the effective
filings date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanson et al (US 2017/0109101).
Regarding claim 1, Hanson et al. disclose:
A non-volatile dual in-line memory module (NVDIMM), comprising:
a first memory device configured to receive a command from a host (FIG. 2 step 201 Receive memory commands; FIG. 1 DRAM from-end cache 110; [0032] the memory controller 150 receives memory commands from the host computer 160 via the DRAM memory channel 155 (step 201); [0030] According to one embodiment, memory commands received via the DRAM memory channel 155 include a power-down command, a power-savings mode command, and a self-refresh command, amongst others. These commands can indicate the main controller 150 to perform device-internal maintenance functions and invoke flash-specific overhead-related procedures for the flash devices 141);
a controller coupled to the first memory device (FIG. 1 Main controller 150), wherein the controller comprises a time calculator (FIG. 5 tPD) configured to calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (FIG. 2 step 202 Low usage state; [0032] Based on the memory commands, the memory controller 150 can determine that the memory module 100 will enter into low usage state (step 202). For example, the memory controller 150 determines a period of inactivity or low usage…based on the receipt of a memory command indicating a future period of inactivity, such as a low-power state command; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an example for initiating SSD background tasks based on a power-down entry command, according to one embodiment. A power-down exit can be issued tPD after a power-down entry. At least during this idle time before the power down time tPD expires, the memory controller knows that no read or write commands are issued to the DRAM rank. The main controller 150 can initiate background SSD operations upon receiving the power-down entry command); and
a second memory device coupled to the controller and the first memory device (FIG. 1 Flash back-end storage 120), wherein the second memory device is configured to perform a number of background operations based on the calculated period of time (FIG. 2 step 203 Perform flash-specific overhead activities; [0032] When the memory controller 150 determines that there is no immediate activities or tasks to perform on the memory module 100, for example, memory reads or writes, the memory controller 150 can instruct the flash controller 140 to perform flash-specific overhead activities (step 203); [0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device stops performing the number of background operations in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command ([0032] If DRAM commands are received by the memory controller 150 in step 201, the DRAM inactivity state is determined continuously and either continues to allow the initiation of SSD background tasks, or returns back to a SSD performance mode that deprioritize initiation of SSD background tasks).
Regarding claim 6, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the number of background operations include garbage collection ([0024] background tasks for the SSD can include, but are not limited to, garbage collection).
Regarding claim 7, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 6, wherein the garbage collection clears unused data from the second memory device ([0024] Garbage collection refers to a process for erasing garbage blocks with invalid and/or stale data of a flash memory for conversion into a writable state).
Regarding claim 8, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the number of background operations based on the calculated period of time in response to detecting the command from the host (FIG. 2 step 203 Perform flash-specific overhead activities).
Regarding claim 9, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, wherein the second memory device is in an idle state prior to performing the number of background operations based on the calculated period of time ([0017] background tasks of the SSD such as garbage collection, wear leveling, and erase block preparation are performed during a presumed idle state of the memory module [0024] background tasks can take substantial amounts of time, and prevent the use of certain flash resources (reducing performance). Thus, scheduling these background tasks during an idle I/O period improves operational effectiveness; [0039] he memory module 100 has been in an idle state sufficiently long, the main controller 150 can trigger the flash controller 140 to perform background tasks of the flash devices 141).
Regarding claim 10, Hanson et al. disclose:
A non-volatile dual in-line memory module (NVDIMM), comprising:
a first memory device is configured to receive a command from a host (FIG. 2 step 201 Receive memory commands; FIG. 1 DRAM from-end cache 110; [0032] the memory controller 150 receives memory commands from the host computer 160 via the DRAM memory channel 155 (step 201); [0030] According to one embodiment, memory commands received via the DRAM memory channel 155 include a power-down command, a power-savings mode command, and a self-refresh command, amongst others. These commands can indicate the main controller 150 to perform device-internal maintenance functions and invoke flash-specific overhead-related procedures for the flash devices 141);
a controller coupled to the first memory device (FIG. 1 Main controller 150), wherein the controller comprises a time calculator (FIG. 5 tPD) configured to calculate a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (FIG. 2 step 202 Low usage state; [0032] Based on the memory commands, the memory controller 150 can determine that the memory module 100 will enter into low usage state (step 202). For example, the memory controller 150 determines a period of inactivity or low usage…based on the receipt of a memory command indicating a future period of inactivity, such as a low-power state command; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an example for initiating SSD background tasks based on a power-down entry command, according to one embodiment. A power-down exit can be issued tPD after a power-down entry. At least during this idle time before the power down time tPD expires, the memory controller knows that no read or write commands are issued to the DRAM rank. The main controller 150 can initiate background SSD operations upon receiving the power-down entry command); and
a second memory device coupled to the controller and the first memory device (FIG. 1 Flash back-end storage 120), wherein the second memory device is configured to:
select which background operation to perform based on the calculated period of time ([0032] When the memory controller 150 determines that there is no immediate activities or tasks to perform on the memory module 100, for example, memory reads or writes, the memory controller 150 can instruct the flash controller 140 to perform flash-specific overhead activities (step 203); [0041]); and
perform the selected background operation (FIG. 2 step 203 Perform flash-specific overhead activities).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 2016/0349817).
Regarding claim 2, Hanson et al. do not appear to explicitly teach while Kumar et al. disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 1, further comprising a multiplexor configured to isolate the second memory device from the host ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation).
Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. are analogous art because Hanson et al. teach performing background operations and Kumar et al. teach a multiplexor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of Hanson et al. with the Kumar et al. teachings of a multiplexor because implementing the multiplexor enables memory devices to be isolated from the host.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 2, wherein the multiplexor is configured to isolate the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the isolation of the second memory device “in response to” detecting the host command because doing so would ensure that the second memory device does not receive host commands while performing background operations).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 2, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the number of background operations in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the performance of the background operations “in response to” the isolation of the second memory device from the host because doing so would ensure that the second memory device does not receive host commands while performing background operations).
Regarding claim 11, Hanson et al. do not appear to explicitly teach while Kumar et al. disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 10, further comprising a multiplexor configured to isolate the second memory device from the host ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation).
The motivation for combining is based on the same rational presented for rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 11, wherein the multiplexor is configured to isolate the second memory device from the host in response to detecting the command from the host to the first memory device ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the isolation of the second memory device “in response to” detecting the host command because doing so would ensure that the second memory device does not receive host commands while performing background operations).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. further disclose:
The NVDIMM of claim 12, wherein the second memory device is configured to perform the selected background operation in response to the multiplexor isolating the second memory device from the host ([0022] RDIMMs traditionally use passive multiplexers to isolate the internal bus on the memory devices from the host controller. In one embodiment, an RDIMM can be used for an NVDIMM implementation; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the performance of the background operations “in response to” the isolation of the second memory device from the host because doing so would ensure that the second memory device does not receive host commands while performing background operations).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kumar et al., and further in view of Yoon (US 2017/0277463).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. while Yoon discloses:
The NVDIMM of claim 12, comprising a register clock driver (RCD) coupled to the multiplexor ([0141] The command and the address of the controller 940 outputted from the command/address control logic 1420 are transferred to a register clock driver (RCD) 1440 through a multiplexer 1450. The register clock driver 1440 may buffer a command, an address and a clock provided from the memory controller 9 of the host or the controller 940 of the NVDIMM, and may provide the command, the address and the clock to first and second groups of volatile memory devices 911 to 914 and 921 to 924 through the control bus CMD/ADDR_BUS).
Hanson et al., Kumar et al., and Yoon are analogous art because Hanson et al. teach performing background operations; Kumar et al. teach a multiplexor; and Yoon discloses operating NV-DIMMs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hanson et al., Kumar et al., and Yoon before him/her, to modify the teachings of Hanson et al. and Kumar et al. with Yoon’s teachings of because a register clock driver (RCD) because implement the RCD coupled to the multiplexor enables buffer a command, an address, and a clock received from the memory controller of the host of the controller of the NVDIMM..
Regarding claim 15, Yoon further discloses:
The NVDIMM of claim 14, wherein the RCD is coupled to the controller ([0141]).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. and Eliash et al. (US 2020/0225856).
Regarding claim 16, Hanson et al. disclose:
A method, comprising:
receiving a command at a first memory device from a host (FIG. 2 step 201 Receive memory commands; FIG. 1 DRAM from-end cache 110; [0032] the memory controller 150 receives memory commands from the host computer 160 via the DRAM memory channel 155 (step 201); [0030] According to one embodiment, memory commands received via the DRAM memory channel 155 include a power-down command, a power-savings mode command, and a self-refresh command, amongst others. These commands can indicate the main controller 150 to perform device-internal maintenance functions and invoke flash-specific overhead-related procedures for the flash devices 141);
calculating a period of time for the first memory device to complete execution of the command from the host (FIG. 2 step 202 Low usage state; [0032] Based on the memory commands, the memory controller 150 can determine that the memory module 100 will enter into low usage state (step 202). For example, the memory controller 150 determines a period of inactivity or low usage…based on the receipt of a memory command indicating a future period of inactivity, such as a low-power state command; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an example for initiating SSD background tasks based on a power-down entry command, according to one embodiment. A power-down exit can be issued tPD after a power-down entry. At least during this idle time before the power down time tPD expires, the memory controller knows that no read or write commands are issued to the DRAM rank. The main controller 150 can initiate background SSD operations upon receiving the power-down entry command);
…performing the number of background operations at a second memory device (FIG. 2 step 203 Perform flash-specific overhead activities; [0032] When the memory controller 150 determines that there is no immediate activities or tasks to perform on the memory module 100, for example, memory reads or writes, the memory controller 150 can instruct the flash controller 140 to perform flash-specific overhead activities (step 203); [0041]).
Hanson et al. do not appear to explicitly teach “selecting what number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time” However, Eliash et al. disclose:
selecting what number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time ([0044] controller 102 may be configured to determine the number of background management operations that need to be processed based on one or more factors, such as, utilization of the storage system, types of host commands, operational environment factors, voltage events of the storage system); and
Hanson et al. and Eliash et al. are analogous art because Hanson et al. and Eliash et al. teach performing background operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hanson et al. and Eliash et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of Hanson et al. with the Eliash et al. teachings of background operations because determining the number of background operations to perform based on the calculated period of time facilitates the overall system power consumption minimization and memory latency reduction (Eliash et al. [0002]; [0014]).
Regarding claim 17, Eliash et al. further disclose:
The method of claim 16, comprising performing the number of background operations by adjusting threshold voltages ([0037] background management operations include, but are not limited to threshold calibration operations performed to find optimal read voltages for one or more memory blocks of a non-volatile memory device).
Regarding claim 18, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The method of claim 16, comprising performing the number of background operations by performing a reconcile operation ([0024] device-internal maintenance functions and invoke flash-specific overhead-related procedures for the flash devices 141; [0029] device-internal maintenance functions such as garbage collection, wear leveling, and erase block preparation; [0030] device-internal maintenance functions and invoke flash-specific overhead-related procedures for the flash devices 141).
Regarding claim 19, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The method of claim 16, comprising completing execution of the command at the first memory device ([0032] If DRAM commands are received by the memory controller 150 in step 201, the DRAM inactivity state is determined continuously and either continues to allow the initiation of SSD background tasks, or returns back to a SSD performance mode that deprioritize initiation of SSD background tasks).
Regarding claim 20, Hanson et al. further disclose:
The method of claim 19, comprising stopping the number of background operations at the second memory device in response to the first memory device completing execution of the command ([0032] If DRAM commands are received by the memory controller 150 in step 201, the DRAM inactivity state is determined continuously and either continues to allow the initiation of SSD background tasks, or returns back to a SSD performance mode that deprioritize initiation of SSD background tasks).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, Helmick et al. (US 2018/0059945), and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it discloses NV-DIMMs.
/TRACY A WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137